Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Censorship of swear words

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Great. :)

Oh and just while on this topic, I don't think swear words should be censored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Expletives are the resort of the inarticulate motherfυcker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

fuck that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

On a serious f....note, I think the censorship is grand as it is in place....plenty of young people reading boards, and even though I obviously wouldn't be naive enough to think that they don't already use these words on a daily basis both on and off boards....sure very little helps :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Well I did [nocensor]**** all[/nocensor] to upset the balance really. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

HavoK wrote:
    On a serious f....note, I think the censorship is grand as it is in place....plenty of young people reading boards, and even though I obviously wouldn't be naive enough to think that they don't already use these words on a daily basis both on and off boards....sure very little helps :D

Yeah the little foul-mouthed fuckers

Thread of the year btw :D

• Registered Users Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Best thread I've read in months. Good fucking job Hagar. <3:D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Hagar wrote:
    Well I did [nocensor]fuck all[/nocensor] to upset the balance really. :D

Well atleast it shows you fucking well tried.

mmmm
    fucking great thread Hagar, j00 for president

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

There'll be no fucking j00 president as long as I'm around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

You're a fucking genius, Hagar! I've been looking for a way to get around those censors for ages!

Good news. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/banlist.php

tklemonade got perm banned...again...

The little thread spoiling [nocensor]bollix[/nocensor] had it coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Just 42 more for Gordon to take the lead....

Hagar wrote:
    Good news. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/banlist.php

tklemonade got perm banned...again...

The little thread spoiling [nocensor]bollix[/nocensor] had it coming.

Now all we need is for some well-minded mod to delete that fucker's post in this thread and we're back on track ;)

The mods are Regi, DeV and Cloud.
    Unless someone gets a Royal Flush I'm not too hopeful.

But it would be nice wouldn't it? *Cough*

• Registered Users Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

CUNT

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Ok, enough. We've all know about this work around for years.

I'm sure it will protect you from my size 9's in the ass. No honest, it will...

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

9's ? Wow Dev, plural.
    What kind of creature are you that has more than one 9 er :)

To be fair, nobody who knew how to do it revealed the workaround except that muppet tklemonade. I PMed and asked him to remove or edit his posts a couple of times but he wouldn't co-operate. He has since been site banned, again.

It was never intended to promote obscenity, in fact it probably put some posters off trying any other methods in case they would look foolish again.
    It was only a bit of fun at the expense of the more gullible posters. It's fun to search for "nocensor" and see how many people tried it. A fair few were caught. There were a few posts in the Test Forum that were quicky edited by people who should have known better.

Admittedly some liberties were taken, some worse than others, I apologise for any offence caused.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Ah yeah I don't mind that, its been an open secret and we could fix it if we wanted to but its a nice backdoor on occasion. All the same if people start to use it to get around the censor all the time , we'll simply ban them so I'm not sure what the muppets in AH who are proclaiming "poster power" etc think has changed or has been achieved, lol...

DeV.

DeVore wrote:
    so I'm not sure what the muppets in AH who are proclaiming "poster power" etc think has changed or has been achieved, lol...

DeV.

Muppets in AH? Surely not :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    CUNT

There's a joke here about colourful language...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Hagar wrote:
    There's always one. Shakes head.

You're so patronising and snide.

If I valued your opinion of me I'd be shattered now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

ah lads for [nocensor] **** [/nocensor] lets not get carried away with ourselves [nocensor] ****ing [/nocensor] hell

k thats out my system now

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i always thought the censor was there to circumvent firewalls in offices.

you were wrong. Firewalls are there to prevent people entering the network uninvited. Perhaps you meant to circumvent content filters on the internet gateway? In which case you're also wrong - C'est la vie.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,991 ✭✭✭✭Stark

julep wrote:
    i always thought the censor was there to circumvent firewalls in offices.

I thought the censor was there so people had to buy the DVD to see boobies.