Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are the papers?

• 30-05-2006 8:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭

I'm sure a lot of people on here know what happens to the papers around this time as in where they are stored, how they are transported to the exam hall on the day etc. Also who prints them etc. And does anyone know what would happen if you somehow managed to find a bag containing the papers and took one. Would the entire paper be cancelled because one of the bags holding the papers was ripped open? Any info. would be interesting.
    P.S. Every year I reckon someone HAS to have seen the paper before-hand or got told by some1 high up what was on it. I mean sum1 has 2 know whats gonna come up. Imagine urself walkin around knowing full well what was on say the english paper. U're bound 2 let it slip 2 sum1. Wouldn't you???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

you're that ****ed huh?

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭SirCretop

lol. i ain't at all actually. got 460 in mocks and need 460 for the course and hav been studyin well for like the last week. i'm pretty confident of gettin wat i need but it's just outta curiosity i want to know. it'd be mad craic tryin 2 steal one if u knew where they were - not that i'd want to though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

is it that teachers submit suitable questions and an examiner puts the paper together. bcoz if it is then questions must leak now and again. i think there is back up papers. who prints them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Security over LC and JC is extremely tight. I think on many occassions the exam papers are stored at a local garda station and then transported to the schools for the exam.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I remember seeing a big case with the papers arrive on the first day of my junior. From the back of a Garda car. Someone said armed escort, but i sincerely doubt that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

whassupp2 wrote:
    is it that teachers submit suitable questions and an examiner puts the paper together. bcoz if it is then questions must leak now and again. i think there is back up papers. who prints them?
    There is a commission for each exam, its normally people who are at a high level in correcting, a company in Dublin prints the papers and yes there are backups - we know this from an incident a few years back.

The teachers send in bits of articles they think are appropiate for the exam, with questions etc.. Then a board of some sort decides on them, our French teacher submits some of the articles. 1999 was when her stuff was picked, she said that she would tell us if it was "her paper" when we finished the exam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭Faerie

obl wrote:
    I remember seeing a big case with the papers arrive on the first day of my junior. From the back of a Garda car. Someone said armed escort, but i sincerely doubt that.

ha that would be so funny if there was an armed escort!
    They are stored in the local garda station and the exam supervisor collects them in the morning.

ya they are stored on garda station alright. collected just before each and every exam. then afterwards they are brought directly to the local post office.

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Lord Oz

I'm fairly sure the exam papers have been in my school a few weeks now.

I doubt it even though all the paper (answerbooks, envelopes, graph paper etc.) is in the schools at this stage stored in them big ancient boxes with padlocks on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Aren't the papers printed in Norway or somewhere? I think that's what I read

There will be 4 million papers handed out this year. Madness.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

I heard Holland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Gambra

Jesus lads, conspiracy theories are mad at this stage aren't they!!

Those big mad ancient boxes you see in your school really do contain the papers. Good luck trying to open em though...

Just out of curiosity, myself and a friend discussed the implication of what would happen if the papers got out. For one no exams would take place as there's no back ups. Theres enough hassle making up one set of exam papers, never mind two sets. With no able to take the exams, that'd mean everyone would have to repeat.. That'd mean no one entering uni.. It'd cause absolute chaos..

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

What makes you think they've no backups?

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

My teacher's been saying for ages that there are three sets for every exam. Apparentky back-ups got used a few years ago when one of the papers was misplaced.
    Is there anywhere (a site or book) where it says officially how this all works or is this all hearsay?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Well they have backups up to a certain stage, then the chief examiner picks the exam and it gets printed up. Remember the bus crash last year in Mayo? There was a comprehension on the JC English paper or something about going on a busride...this was 2 weeks after the crash. The department didn't have enough time to print up the backups and had to go ahead with it. They got slated for doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Heart Break Kid

hey i remember a few exams leaked out a couple of years bak. and when they where correcting the papers a lot of them wher the same. a load of ppl got cought iswell

Gambra wrote:

Those big mad ancient boxes you see in your school really do contain the papers. Good luck trying to open em though...

No they dont. they're kept in the garda stations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

What if like, one of your relation's job was printing the papers :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭smiling_time

wherever the papers are, im sure they are safe and sound.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

currently the papers are probably lying safely in the sec in athlone. exam stationery(graph paper, booklets etc) is delivered to the school the day before the exams if the school has a secure area (a safe) if not they are kept in the local garda station. also, regarding the bus crash thing. they didnt do a backup because the cost would have been massive to print about 50000 papers at such short notice. the whole thing is about money, thats why the exam timetable is so congested