Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to know if you're "country"

• 02-06-2006 11:34am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭

having more soil inside your car than outside is country
    using a bush for a gate is country
    owning a sheepdog is country
    owning a mongrel is more country
    using baling twine as a belt is country
    tea in a glass bottle is country
    tk lemonade is country
    tho not as country as country spring 3 l bottles
    going to mass in a tractor, with a dog in the transport bx is country
    having an obese full forward on your gaa team is country
    having more soil in your underpants than outside is country
    smoking major cigarettes
    loving the smell of hay
    sunburn from the bog
    having the guy who got sent down twice for gbh as your full back is country
    hating crows is country
    calling potatoes "spuds" is country
    putting plastics bags in your leaking wellies is country
    using a hurley to drive cattle is country
    owning a gaa bag from 1987 is country
    always being afraid of the pto is country
    thinking wearing lynx makes ya sophiticated is country
    Drinking Harp is country
    knowing more about the bovine reproductive system than the human one is country
    checked shirts in cps is country
    thinking standing outside the door of the church for 40 minutes on sunday counts as mass is country
    having more dogs than kids is country
    pronouncing tea as tae
    wining the junior C hurling, and going on the beer for a week afterwards is country
    going around the parish with 12 kids hanging out of your car after winning any underage title is country
    putting three bales of hay into the back seat of your car is country
    saying 'i'll buy you a pint' instead of actually paying for something is country
    knowing why 10-10-20 is better than 18-6-12 is country
    driving around with two bags of cement on your bonnet is country
    having a 17 year old playing for the under 12s football team, and claiming you didnt know his age afterwards is country
    using a hay-shed as the base of operations for your poiteen empire is country
    knowing the proper mixture for a 2-stroke engine instinctively
    treating anyone from beyond athenry as foreigners
    pronouncing meat as mate is country
    mohrkm

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Be careful! I posted something along the same lines recently and almost had the face chewed off me because similar threads exist.

The humour Nazis are on the way...run before it's too late :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

knowing why 10-10-20 is better than 18-6-12 is country
    mohrkm

Dont get that one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭MrJones

absolutely class:D

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

iFight wrote:
    Dont get that one?

Fertilizers...and I'm a Dub!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

r3nu4l wrote:
    Fertilizers...and I'm a Dub!

Still dont, never said i was country btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭hepcat

Anyone remeber the ad for triple A golden maverick...."calves gittin scour is mighty vexatious"...for some reason we used to love that ad, now thats country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭MrJones

they are both types of fertilizers. you got me :D
    iFight wrote:
    Dont get that one?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Lives in a house, a very big house in the country

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Very good :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Brilliant :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭king_of_inismac

a few additions:

Driving for fun in a field in an old banger

Having a grass stripe in the middle of the road in front of your house

Coming home in any sort of an argricultural trailer after a days work

Having a tan line between the crack of your arse, and the bottom of your t-shirt

Thinking all vegitarians are gay

Getting your dinner from the chip van at the cattlemart on a saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Kermitt

Should I be worried that some of those actually apply to me - quite a few in fact... Nothin like headin back home on top of the trailer load of turf!!

Cheno-Unction - A quare name, but i'ts great stuff! A classic

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

iFight wrote:
    Dont get that one?
    The numbers are ratios of chemicals in fertilizers.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭foggy

going to mass in a tractor, with a dog in the transport bx is country

Going to mass in a tractor, with a dog in the Link box is country. Calling it a transport box is pure jackeen :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

I'd call it a transport box and i'm a culchie. sure the top link has many uses but defining it to one use is a nono. Mind the pto when putting the box on thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,557 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

r3nu4l wrote:
    Be careful! I posted something along the same lines recently and almost had the face chewed off me because similar threads exist.

The humour Nazis are on the way...run before it's too late :eek:

ACHTUNG!

There's also another class one doing the rounds about being a Dubliner.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭The Free Man

mighteh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Munya

Lol half of it confused me :D
    I own a mongrel Sheepdog lol :D
    tho not as country as country spring 3 l bottles

Whys that? Its true but creepy :confused:
    sunburn from the bog
    Haha TAN!!!
    calling potatoes "spuds" is country
    Spudz r cool leave em alone!

The following confused me :(
    always being afraid of the pto is country
    knowing more about the bovine reproductive system than the human one is country
    checked shirts in cps is country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Munya

Thinking all vegitarians are gay

Jezz I'm not gonna intergrate well :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Ye forgot about reminiscing about the Corncrake and hating those "bakstards the tans" oh yeah and voting Fianna Fail even if the children were rotting in the ditches from the hunger.

Burning Agri Diesel instead of proper Diesel shur if its good enough for the Massey its good enough for that 1986 Nissan Bluebird, which incidentally should have bald tyres, no tax & insurance plus about 17 different "young lads" hanging out the windows and a mongrel dog all crammed in heading to mass, for to lick the priests hand while receiving Communion. The Bluebird should also have all its seats patched with extra wide silage tape.

Never missing "the Wothar" i.e Weather. Need I go on, Gombeens, I blame Fianna Fail & the Catholic Church and their joint Dictatorship of this country.