Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Cup betting

• 04-06-2006 5:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭

What does everyone think are worthwhile bets and what will you be betting on?

I wont be going mad, am just going to put down a few small bets to make things a bit more intresting.

Heres what im doing:

Brazil to win (just cant see them being beaten despite this competition being in Europe and their defence not being to great)
    20 euro at 6-2. Not great odds but i cant see them losing.

Top goalscorer, im going to put a number of smaller bets on a few players due to the unpredictability of these tournaments:

3euro Ronaldinho at 14-1
    3euro Luca Toni at 20-1
    2euro Podolski at 28-1
    2euro David Villa at 28-1
    2euro on Tevez at 40-1
    2euro Crochie at 40-1
    4euro on Kuijt at 50-1

Then 3euro on England to win the competition with Crouch as top scorer ( can see him getting a few vs Paraguay and trinadad)

If Alonso is fit, will put 2euro on him being player of the tournament at 66-1

Again i seriously think brazil wont be beaten and if they win it, that will pay back on all my other bets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Brazil to win 3-1
    Ronaldo top scorer 10-1
    Yorke to score 3 or more 100-1 varies
    Crouch not to score a goal 5-1

Then a wee bet on every game.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

So far I'm thinking

Ruud + Holland - 50-1
    Ronaldo + Brazil - 18-1

a tenner on each.

Player of the tourament is voted by the media, so even though I think Kaka will be the player of the tourament, I don't think he'll get it.

I'd love to put some bets on players preforming really well, but alas no such option :)

I'm considering a bet on

Ronaldo to be Portugals top scorer at 7-2 which aren't bad odds

Or maybe Portugal winning with Ronaldo top scorer which appears at about 100-1
    Also Spain Villa or Raul at 80-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Argentina to win 10-1 with Paddy Powers(special offer)

M. Klose to be top scorer 33/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm not even going to bother thinking about bets until just before a given game. Ladbrooks have Morientes down for potential top scorer!

Mike.

mike65 wrote:
    . Ladbrooks have Morientes down for potential top scorer!

Wonder if they would take your money regardless.

Daily betting is the way to go.

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

EUR10.00 on Englands llast game to be against Brazil. 8/1. I am pretty sure if they both win their groups they will meet in the semis. gr8 bet imo. I heard that its 43/1 for all the favourites to win their group. Can someone tell me if my facts here are right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭finnpark

KdjaC wrote:

:eek: Snap it up.

KdjaC wrote:

BTW, is this option available on betfair? If yes where, cant find it?

If no, which bookies are offering this?:)

In a paddy power shop, use the best request option on the site for mad bets like that one.

A lot of anti english bets in the shops rather than on website for all to see.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Holland's chances may have been dealt a blow after three players picked up injuries after an ill-tempered friendly with Australia - Wes Snjeider could be out of the tournament with Gio and Cocu having good chances of being fit.

i was hoping the Dutch would do well but they could be big losses.

KdjaC wrote:
    In a paddy power shop, use the best request option on the site for mad bets like that one.

A lot of anti english bets in the shops rather than on website for all to see.

kdjac

tHANKS:D wILL DEFINITELY HAVE A FLUTTER ON cROUCH NOT SCORING AT 5/1. gREAT ODDS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

just put a few bets down, cant do daily betting as i am travelling:

Winner/Top Scorer
    Brazil/Ronaldo(18/1)
    England/Crouch(80/1)
    holland/Van Nist(40/1)
    Argentina/Tevez(80/1)
    France/Henry(33/1)

England's last game to be against Brazil - 8/1

England to score most goals - 7/1

World Cup to be won on shootout - 5/1

Australia, first team to have a player sent off - 33/1

Ronaldinho - Player of the Tournament - 4/1
    Gerrard - Player of the Tournamen - 18/1

That should keep it interesting!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Call_me_al wrote:
    just put a few bets down, cant do daily betting as i am travelling:

Winner/Top Scorer
    Brazil/Ronaldo(18/1)
    England/Crouch(80/1)
    holland/Van Nist(40/1)
    Argentina/Tevez(80/1)
    France/Henry(33/1)

England's last game to be against Brazil - 8/1

England to score most goals - 7/1

World Cup to be won on shootout - 5/1

Australia, first team to have a player sent off - 33/1

Ronaldinho - Player of the Tournament - 4/1
    Gerrard - Player of the Tournamen - 18/1

That should keep it interesting!!!

Some nice bets there, especially the aussie to be first to have a man sent off, they are dirty feckers. Also England to score most goals looks decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Tevez / Argentina is a good bet (if they get out of the group!).

I would go for Germany to be the first to have a man sent off. Lehman anyone?

Ronaldo/Brazil is an excellent bet if they can keep him fit.
    Klose/Germany another bet not to be discounted.

But if you want top scorer in the tournament it's usually someone who pops in 2/3 against a weak side in the group stage and their team make the qtrs/semis. Klose in the last world cup for example. Stoichkov in 94.

Torres for top scorer is my hot tip. Just look at their group!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I've 20e worth of bets, spread across the following:

Argentina to win outright 15/2
    Germany to win, Ballack Top Scorer 125/1
    Germany to win, Podolski Top Scorer 85/1
    Italy to win, Toni Top Scorer 40/1
    Brazil to win, Ronaldo Top Scorer 20/1
    Spain to win, Villa Top Scorer 125/1
    Czech Rep to win, Baros Top Scorer 200/1
    England to win, Lampard Top Scorer 125/1
    Holland to win, Van Nistelrooy Top Scorer 50/1
    Japan to reach semi-finals 40/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

Brazil we all think (well a majority) that they'll win the cup, but @ 5/2 they are absoultely no value at all. Id say a nice each-way bet on germany, italy or argentina is the way to go, 1/2 the odds to get to the final.
    On the top goalscorer front i quite fancy Van nistelrooy at 18/1, whether he stays at old trafford or not the man has a point to prove!! Also i think Rooney to be top english goalscorer is a nice bet at 7/1. England have banged in a few recently, all be it against nothing teams, i see the top english scorer scoring 2 maybe 3 max, if rooney gets a game or two i think he might just get 1 or 2 thus taking the top english scorer crown.
    Other than that paddy power have a nice few specials going some of which have been mentioned above, im looking forward to the spectacle, and hopefully a chunk of cash!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

RVN top scorer - 25/1
    Cisse top scorer - 185/1 (completely unlikely I know, only put a minimal bet on it)
    Mexico to reach semis - 15/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

i`ll probably do scorecasts and Accumilators

*check gambling forum*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

heres some a few of the ones i am going for:

Switzerland to finish first and Japan 2nd = 20/1

Switzerland to finish first and Australia 2nd = 15/1

France to finish 2nd and Japan 2nd = 18/1

France to finish 2nd and Australia 2nd = 13/1

T&T, Togo and Saudi Arabia to finish with 0 points = 30/1

H Larsson (50/1, e/w)

J Borgetti (50/1, e/w)

RVN (16/1)

D Villa (28/1)

M Kezman (66/1, e/w)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Top goalscorer.
    Henry 14/1
    Torres 33/1

Both are in week looking groups so there will be an oppurtunity to build up a few goals early on. I'm surprised people are putting Van Nistlerooy up, Holland are up against Serbia and Argentina in the group stages, Serbia had the best defensive record in the European qualification.

Brazil, Germany, Portugal, France and England to win their groups is just under 6/1, they each look by far the most likely group winners.

Portugal are .92/1 on Betfair at the moment to win their group, that looks great value againts Mexico, Iran and Angola. Mexico are the obvious dangers but they generally don't do too well in Europe.

I also like the 5/1 on Crouch not to score that has already been mentioned, if Rooney is fit for any of the group matches he'll be out of the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

masterK wrote:
    Portugal are .92/1 on Betfair at the moment to win their group, that looks great value againts Mexico, Iran and Angola. Mexico are the obvious dangers but they generally don't do too well in Europe.
    Thought they did ok in the Confederations Cup in Germany last year?
    *Goes to disprove own statement*

<edit>

They beat Japan and Brazil, drew with Greece and then came undone against Argentina and Germany in the 3rd place match, both games going to extra time.

It's not too important a tournament but it'll have been a good experience for them of playing in both Europe and Germany.

Brazil to finish first (1/4) and Japan 2nd (7/2) = 5.63/1

Brazil to finish first (1/4) and Australia 2nd (12/5) = 4.25/1

Switzerland to finish first (7/2) and France to finish 2nd(3/1) = 18/1

I'm not sure you'll be able to do these bets as the result of one influences the other and the bookies may not accept them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

masterK wrote:
    I'm not sure you'll be able to do these bets as the result of one influences the other and the bookies may not accept them.
    Yeah, it certainly won't work online. You could always try your local bookies and see if you get away with it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

masterK wrote:

Hmm i was thinking that aswell. I'll stick some of the best with other ones then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

the following has to be the bet of the tournament:

Double:
    Winners: Italy 9/1
    Top Scorer: Luca Toni 20/1

180/1

i'll be having 2 singles and a double on it anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

Switzerland to finish first and Japan 2nd = 20/1

Switzerland to finish first and Australia 2nd = 15/1

France to finish 2nd and Japan 2nd = 18/1

France to finish 2nd and Australia 2nd = 13/1

Just shop around and do them all in differnet bookies;)

[nicK] wrote:
    the following has to be the bet of the tournament:

Double:
    Winners: Italy 9/1
    Top Scorer: Luca Toni 20/1

180/1

i'll be having 2 singles and a double on it anyway..
    You can't calculate the odds of those kinds of doubles like that. If Italy win the world cup there's more chance of Toni being top scorer and vice versa. I'd be very suprised if Toni is not there or thereabouts if Italy win the world cup. Italy to win and Toni top scorer is 50/1 with Paddy Power.

I might take of some of that 30/1 on those 3 teams that Chucky named getting no points. T&T certainly won't get any points so I think that is great odds. Just looking at Togo's past results and since the qualifiers they've been crap (L7, W2, D0) losing all their African Nations matches. Saudi Arabia could be the dodgy one's against Tunisia but I can't see them getting points from Ukraine and Spain. Very good find Chucky and I'll definitely have to put money on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Ye good bet, but how do I place that on Paddy Power or even Betfair?

You can't do combination bets on Betfair. For some reason it's not possible to do the bet online with most bookies so you'll have to phone them up. I talked to Will Hill live chat and they said:

"Yes, that will be fine. The bet will probably not go through online, so if you would give us a call on 1800 946 243."

It's only around 25/1 now with PP, Togo have been cut from 10/3 into 11/4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭BFassassin

http://www.gamebookers.ie/
    game bookers have an offer of a free jersey if you put a €45 bet on the outright winner. its for new customers though
    is anyone else going to do it

masterK wrote:
    It's only around 25/1 now with PP, Togo have been cut from 10/3 into 11/4.
    Boyle Sports seem to have the best odds that I can find. 15/4 on Togo, 21/10 on Saudi Arabia, 7/5 on Trinidad. It comes to almost 35/1 for the treble. I've tried to place the treble but they only allow a double. I'm going to phone them as I don't understand why a treble wouldn't be allowed for this type of bet.

Actually, a way of putting the bet on online and probably getting better odds is just doing a 9 team accumulator on Togo's, Saudi's and Trinidad's opposition. :) A treble from the 3 games of gameweek 1 comes to 4/1.

eirebhoy wrote:
    Boyle Sports seem to have the best odds that I can find. 15/4 on Togo, 21/10 on Saudi Arabia, 7/5 on Trinidad. It comes to almost 35/1 for the treble. I've tried to place the treble but they only allow a double. I'm going to phone them as I don't understand why a treble wouldn't be allowed for this type of bet.

Actually, a way of putting the bet on online and probably getting better odds is just doing a 9 team accumulator on Togo's, Saudi's and Trinidad's opposition. :) A treble from the 3 games of gameweek 1 comes to 4/1.

Good spot, I'm down to boyles now to do it.

It works out exactly the same doing 9 losses as compared to the 3 teams getting 0 points with Boyles but slightly better with Powers (but still a lot worse than boyles).

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

where about is this bet on PP coz I cant seem to find it

jimmyboy wrote:
    where about is this bet on PP coz I cant seem to find it

You've to do it as a treble, the odds are 6/5, 11/4 and 9/4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

ivory coast each way at 80/1

klosse top scorer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Betfair - Top Goalscorer - Robinho 180/1 !!!

According to ITV sports this guy is flying at the moment scored in recent friendly, best player on the pitch.

Go on ya good thing.

winners

Brazil @3/1 €45 (plus i get a free jersey)
    top scorer

Henry @9/1 €5
    Ballack @41/1 €5

I've now been really tempted by another bet which is along the lines of other mentioned.

Angola - under 2 points
    Saudi Arabia - under 2 points
    Togo - under 2 points
    Trinidad - under 1 point

14/1 with Bet365. It allows for Togo, Angola and Saudi's to each get a draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

i'm not a gambling man & am way outta my depth on this thread,:(
    but I logged on to Paddy powers this evening & found that I €9.50 in my account heres where it went.

France to win (refunded if knocked out on pen's) €3.85 returns €50.05

To qualify from group
    A}Poland B}Sweeden C}Holland D}Portugal E}Czech Rep F}Croatia G}Switzerland H}Spain............€3.45 returns €50.02

Top scorer
    Ronaldinho €1.75 returns €26.25

but mabey i should have read this thread first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭dubmick

I'm thinking of putting a few bob on Germany, England, Italy, Brazil, Argentina, Brazil, Portugal and Italy all to make to the second round. Can't see any of them being knocked out in the first round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

BFassassin wrote:
    winners

Brazil @3/1 €45 (plus i get a free jersey)

where are you getting the 3/1 on brazil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I'm thinking of putting a few bob on Germany, England, Italy, Brazil, Argentina, Brazil, Portugal and Italy all to make to the second round. Can't see any of them being knocked out in the first round.

Ah, but do you remember what happened 4 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

For people who are doing single outright betting I think first scorer in the final may tickle your fancy.

For example, Holland are in around 14/1 to win it outright, but Van Nistelrooy is 50/1 to score first in the final. If you are going for the outright bet the first final scorer is definitely worth the extra few quid.

Why oh why is there so many choices!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I put a few quid E/W on Holland at 14/, Paddy Power are playing half on runners up so even if they just make it to the final its not a bad return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

theres so much football i dont know what to put my money on but i`ll leave it to the last minute

[nicK] wrote:
    where are you getting the 3/1 on brazil?
    gamebookers.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

BFassassin wrote:
    gamebookers.ie

Its actually 3.0 being 2/1 but its a free bet thanks to the jersey

Brazil are however available at 4.o (3/1) on betfair.

doh
    ah well its a free jersey and a good bet all the same