Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hardy will be there in english

• 05-06-2006 4:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

ive seen the paper, he's there :cool:

ok, i didnt see it. but he's gonna be there. only an absolute idiot would predict he won't come up.

here's the deal:
    -he hasnt been on in 6 years or something stupid like that.
    -he's not on until 2011 after this year.

conclusion:
    they won't put a poet on a course and not give a question on him :rolleyes:

end of discussion on poetry in english. now go away and learn hardy. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭michelle_ie

give me ur hardy essay u wrote then! Cause some dumb ass teachers didnt do him with us....

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭MB44

ye can i please have the essay too ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

MB44 wrote:
    ye can i please have the essay too ? :D

me too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭abercrombie

muuaahhahahahaha i've done hardy!!!!! come on A1!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

well actually ive got hardy notes done up in word.

my heart wants me to give them to yee but my head tells me otherwise :)

google him. that's my advice :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭GrumPy

smemon wrote:

google him. that's my advice :D

pssst, PM GrumPy, you know you wanna!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭NADA

Yeah hardy will be there. I didn't do him though. I'm hoping that John Donne comes up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

C'mon Hopkins :D

Why does everyone hate Hopkins What'd the guy ever do to ye :o

My final decsion - I'm learning

Hopkins :D
    Bishiop :)
    Hardy :mad:

If they don't come up then they can feck off I'll be in denial and write an essay on hopkins and just scratch out the other poet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

Stupid Hardy, worst poet on the course. Except Bishop, who is a disaster. And maybe Longley, who just annoys me, the beardy bastard. Yet those three look certain to come up. Hopefully a bit of Donne will ease the pain.

i'm doing

Hardy - Cause i can write on him, and he's bound to come up.
    Plath - Cause i love her poetry, and could easily write 5/6 pages on her (she's not coming up though :()

Donne - Meh... I can answer on him...
    Longley - Love Ceasefire, and can mould other answers to that.
    Eliot - Meh..

But Hardy and Plath are the ones i'm doing most

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

I hope he does come up cos I've learnt (learned? oh fúck!) his stuff the best.

[edit]I'm talking about Hardy, of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭MB44

Bishop = the biggest b*tch who wrote poetry. all she talks about is fish. avoid her like the plague. i couldnt write a half page on her. Now donne better come up or hardy but i ned a good essay on hardy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Rockerette

All she talks about it fish?!?!

seriosuly guys, do some of you just not UNDERSTAND poetry???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Elizabeth Bishop is probably my fav. poet on the course, and The Fish my favourite poem! I know it's not what she intended...but I can't help but feel soo sorry for it! When I read it I was like....she better not ****in kill the fish, and then she didn't so it was all good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Muiriosa

smemon wrote:

ok, i didnt see it. but he's gonna be there. only an absolute idiot would predict he won't come up.

end of discussion on poetry in english. now go away and learn hardy. :cool:

Did u learn any other poet Smemon???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭michelle_ie

see elizabeth bishop was a raging alcoholic with like no stability in her life and who talked about fish and slyvia plath cooked herself in the oven............... hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm weirdossss

Muiriosa wrote:
    Did u learn any other poet Smemon???

we done longley, bishop and plath in class along with hardy.

i myself have just focused on hardy. i'll run over bishop tomorrow night (just to make sure she's dead :p )

hardy all the way. 100% banker. dont waste your time on anything else.

smemon wrote:
    we done longley, bishop and plath in class along with hardy.

i myself have just focused on hardy. i'll run over bishop tomorrow night (just to make sure she's dead :p )

hardy all the way. 100% banker. dont waste your time on anything else.

That's such a 'famous last words..' line

Funkstard wrote:
    That's such a 'famous last words..' line

we'll see about that in 2 days time. i'll be the one laughing :p

i'll be laughing whilst your head is full of useless poetry from other poets in english going into the irish exam:D

Er...I wish I was like that....I haven't actually gotten around to learning any actual poetry though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭willowmegs

Ive studied bishop, hardy and longley

Funkstard wrote:
    Er...I wish I was like that....I haven't actually gotten around to learning any actual poetry though..

good man, better to be that way than learning every bit of information you receive off by heart.

i hate textperts. bluffing all the way :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭bobneedshelpnow

smemon wrote:

google him. that's my advice :D[/QUOTE

Thank you -you are my god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Sawa

Ok so which year did he come up so i can see a question on him?
    Im just gonna abandon Eliot and do Hardy now even though I didn't do anything on him all year, Im just gonna look at three of his poems:
    Drummer Hodge
    When I set Out
    Convergance of the Twain

should that be alright?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Rockerette wrote:
    All she talks about it fish?!?!

seriosuly guys, do some of you just not UNDERSTAND poetry???

I know right?Bishop is a fantastic poet imo,and a lot easier to write on then Hardy.

Learnt Bishop,Plath,Longley and Yeats because I hate Hardy and his grim little poetry with a vengence.

Sawa wrote:
    Ok so which year did he come up so i can see a question on him?
    Im just gonna abandon Eliot and do Hardy now even though I didn't do anything on him all year, Im just gonna look at three of his poems:
    Drummer Hodge
    When I set Out
    Convergance of the Twain

should that be alright?

No-you need to write on 6 poems during the essay.Write a few paragraphs on 4 of them(and you can't pick all of the ordinary level poems either)and refer to two other ones somewhere duringthe essay.

Writing on 3 will leave you with a pretty large disadvantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Sawa

In my mock i did an essay on longley and only mentioned two poems got 35/50, but i dunno...

Yeah i just realised there are no questions on Hardy, has anyone got a sample question on Hardy?? Just so I can see what they could ask?

Oddly enough the other English teacher in the school seemed to think that writing on three only was alright.

However I regard him as a bit of a tit so 4 analysed and 2 briefly it is. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Rob30888

Usually 4 is good and a reference somewhere along the way to another. A lad in the class only did three though and got the highest in the mocks, though...

Also, be sure and say somewhere along the way "my personal fave poem is..." Examiners love it ;)