Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charlesland Residents' Association Meeting

• 06-06-2006 9:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭

THURSDAY 8TH JUNE 8:00 PM PUROGA - CHARLESLAND RESIDENTS' ASSOCIATION INAUGRAL MEETING

Puroga (Creche beside Superquinn) is booked for a Resident's Association meeting.

Need to get as many attending as possible.

PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD, WE'LL BE DISTRIBUTING FLIERS BUT PLEASE FEEL FREE TO DO YOUR OWN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Marcais

Please distribute BEFORE tomorrow !!!

http://www.footypix.com/files/ResidentsAssociation.doc

Print-cut down the middle and away you go.

See you there.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Thread stickied. No chance of putting the URL to this forum on the flyers, or is it too late (http://SayHi.To/Charlesland)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 FVC

a bit too late. INCH delivered a lot of them yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 scratchyy

Hi people

I am afraid I am new to all of this, and am posting as I learned last evening that there is to be a meeting this evening of Charlesland residents in the creche.

I haven’t had a chance to look through all the various posts, so forgive me if you already know some of the following.

The Charlesland Court residents committee has been in place since March (I am a member) and has been quite active on a range of fronts since then; in fact, we have a newsletter going out to residents in the Court in the next week or so to update them on various matters.

Based on research carried out recently, there is one other committee currently in place in Charlesland and that is in Charlesland Wood and we hope to begin a process of liaison with them. In relation to the Park and Grove, there will be one committee appointed for these estates at their AGM, which I believe is on July 17 and there will also be committees set up for the Fairways and the Crescent - a total of five committees. When all are in place, we in the Court had envisaged establishing a network of communication on matters of common concern. There is an overall Charlesland Residential Management Company, comprising about six directors - this was put in place by the developers.

There will continue to be, to my mind, a committee for each of these estates as we are all separate legal entities and it probably means we can look after things a little better in each of our estates, though I do think there is a lot of benefit to be had from co-ordinating our efforts. In relation to the setting up of an overall Charlesland committee this evening, you may want to consider the following suggestion (only a suggestion):

Where there is already a committee in place that those committees be asked to nominate two/three reps to the overall committee (we are having a meeting in the next couple of weeks and could look at this); where there is not a committee in place in the other estates, you may wish to wait until the AGM of the Park/Grove, Crescent and Fairways when committees will be appointed - this is the normal route that one would have. Otherwise you may have a situation where the reps on the "local estate" committee elected at the AGM are different to those on the overall Charlesland committee and this could present challenges in terms of them being aware of what is going on their own patch. Of course, if you decided to proceed on the basis outlined, pending the relevant AGMs taking place, you could also try to ensure that the persons elected on the overall committee would be put forward to the "local estate" committee to avoid this scenario.

In relation to various items mentioned, quite apart from matters which are only pertinent to our estate, we have been quite active on a number of these fronts:

· The post box is due to be installed by An Post in the next month or so.

· Dublin Bus are actively considering extending their 84 and 184 services, and we are awaiting developments.

· The fees are a matter for each estate’s management company and their overseeing committee (though we all pay a contribution to the overall Charlesland Residential Management Company for the upkeep of the spine road, insurance, landscaping, shuttle bus, etc.).

· We are also actively pursuing a number of measures in relation to parking on the spine road (mainly a Court/Wood problem) which is a health and safety hazard both for people driving up and down the road and, more particularly, for people emerging from within the estates.

· We are also planning to set up a Neighbourhood Watch for the Court and have been lobbying the local council about cleaning up the river beside us.

I found out about this meeting by word of mouth last evening, but hope to be there. I have informed the Chairman of our committee and the Secretary will also be there. However, I am not sure how many residents from the Court have been advised of the meeting. If representatives were being appointed from other estates, it would be important that every household in that estate had been informed of the meeting - this may well be the case.

I hope the above is of help and it is great to see so much interest being shown in the place. I can be reached at donontherun@hotmail.com if anyone wishes to get in touch directly.

Cheers

Donnacha

(Deputy Chair, Charlesland Court Residents Committee)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

It is my understanding that the committee in the Wood, where I live, is merely a function of the operation of the Management Company and to date has had no active role that residents have been made aware of.

The purpose of this thread is to establish a residents association to look after the interests of all the residents in Charlesland, which probably will overlap with the purpose of the Management Co.'s committees, but will have a much broader spectrum.

I can't, for example, see the Committee in the Wood wanting to address the planning issues, nor should it, given the interests of any management company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 honest

Any update from the res meeting last night?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 honest

Any update from the res meeting last night??:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭The Yipper

I left early.
    Poorly organised IMO:o

The Yipper wrote:
    I left early.

Probably better organised than the one organised by you. Thanks for your efforts.

I was there.

I would agree that it wasn't the best organised meeting I've ever attended, however, given that it was organised with some urgency they did the best they could. I was disappointed that there was no agenda and the focus was cleary on the Park and the Grove.

First up was the reason for the meeting: Possible change of use of land behind the Park from Light Commercial to Residential. It was generally agreed that it should be objected to, although it did smack of NIMBY. That said, where I'm located it has no effect on my house at all.

After that the meeting did fall apart with too many people wanting to discuss their own problems at length rather than just putting together a list of the problems that could be addressed in more detail later.

Marcais, I appreciate the reason for the meeting and would advise that there is no haste in creating a Residents' Association to cover the entire area. More so because it seemed to me that there seemed to be a push to create an ad-hoc committee for it there and then. If it was only for the Park and Grove, it wasn't made clear. If it was for the entire development, then I believe you need to wait and organise it properly, so that the existing committees in the Wood and Court are also involved.

As far as I could tell, Wifey and I were the only residents of the Wood there, although I'm open to correction. As such, I chose not to step forward to form a committee as I believe that there should be proper representation from every area of the development and that some form of a democratic process should take place. Volunteering for a role shouldn't be the only criteria for getting it.

If another meeting is called, it should be publicised to all areas, and the Management Committees need to be involved initially, as there is bound to be some overlap in the mandates which would need to be addressed.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Plenty

As far as I could tell, Wifey and I were the only residents of the Wood there, although I'm open to correction. As such, I chose not to step forward to form a committee as I believe that there should be proper representation from every area of the development and that some form of a democratic process should take place. Volunteering for a role shouldn't be the only criteria for getting it.

If another meeting is called, it should be publicised to all areas, and the Management Committees need to be involved initially, as there is bound to be some overlap in the mandates which would need to be addressed.

Correction mike, I was there and as far as I could see two more from the Wood were there also.

I have to concur with you comments though, it was very one sided and personal problems aired. Don't get me wrong, everyone wanted their say and is very entitled to so do and I hope it works out for better for all of the Charlesland estates.

As it was the inaugural meeting, it was a bit rough around the edges. Over time, the meetings will run more smoothly. Fair Play Marcais and all involved in organising the meeting.

honest wrote:
    Any update from the res meeting last night?:)

Thanks to Puroga for helping the homeless. A bit hard to squeeze into the kindergarten chairs but it was free and much appreciated!

We eventually! set up an interim committee and jotted down some action points.

Eoin is going to set up a general e-mail address for Charlesland Park/Grove residents to use to correspond with the committee going forward.

On the issue of teh development of the land around Charlesland, we'll be in contact with Tom Fortune and Fiachra to discuss the next steps.

Any other issues won't be discussed here but please see Scratcchy's (Don Delaney) post above http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=51510797&postcount=5 as it was agreed that we will continue in the same vein as with Charlesland Court Residents Committee i.e. Charlesland Park/Grove residents will be represented by Charlesland Park/Grove Residents Committee and we will not be "Charlesland Resdients association"

Cuala's AGM is on July 17th and we should receive notifiaction to attend at least 21 days beforehand. Candidates names will be put forward to sit on the committee at the AGM.

It was never going to be well organised given that: there was no organising committee (kind of a chicken and egg situation!) it was with such short notice and some of us don't get home until 7:30pm so that goes without saying...(i.e. Feck Off if you had a problem with it. It didn't need to be said. ;) )

Future meetings stemming from last night will be for Charlesland Grove/Park residents. This meeting was primarily to see what format the committee would adopt and as is apparent from Don, other areas are already represented. Don may be able to advise you as to whom you should contact if you are resident of the Wood or the Court.

The objectives of the meeting were very much met in that we have a much clearer picture of how we should proceed. We'll keep you advised of progress but probaly not on here.

Anyway, on a more pressing matter, OLE PARAGUAY!

I have merged the two threads.

Well done to Marcais and the lads for getting it organised - possibly an agenda may have been a good thing, but given that it was the very first meeting I think it was always going to be a case of playing it by ear.

Can we have it somewhere a little warmer though next time?

...although I'm open to correction...
    Plenty wrote:
    Correction mike, I was there and as far as I could see two more from the Wood were there also.

I stand corrected!

If, in the future, it is agreed that another meeting is held for all residents of all parts of the development, is it possible to get the building between the apartment blocks on the Fairways? It looks like that might hold a couple of hundred people comfortably.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Plenty

You're grand Mike!

Good idea about the "mock apartment show house" building. Hamiltion Osbourne King would know more about that. I thought It was going to be a community centre (that was just my opinion)

I thought that was supposed to be a temporary structure, but it should/could be used for community purposes. Maybe even as a hall for music/amdram or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭Sparks115

The Yipper wrote:
    I left early.

Ah come on the Yipper!!! It was organised at the last minute and people had come together who didnt know each other to try and organise the first meeting so what did you expect a fricking board meeting with coffee and minuts taken and agendas and Graphs!!!!!:mad:

People had taken time there own free time out to help others and are trying to get the next meeting organised that will be more structured but of course it was going to be all over the place on the first meeting ....its not a business its a Residents commitee about to setup!! You are better of adding constructive critisim to help those involved get up and running or maybe you should volenteer your wise services to the be on the commitee in oder to help them stay on the right track!!

Yes it was a bit all over the shop but lots of people wanted to speak their mind and the organisers didnt want to upset people by not letting them air their views as no commitee has been formed yet so no decisions have been made on the structure of meetings etc....but as soon as it has I am sure the next meeting will have more of a proper format and maybe... just maybe you might stay a bit longer the next time and be a volenteer to help or even join the commitee with your wisedom!!!:D

Cheers to all who turned up and volenteered and hopefully soon we will have a super duper Charlesland Grove/Park commitee!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭The Yipper

I've just erased what I was going to write. I'd be afraid that the guy with the angry lookin' face might come around to my house and bash me.

As I have difficulty with confrontation, I feel that I can only truly express my opinions on this forum, but now I'm running scared....tail between legs etc...

Next time I have an OPINION to express, maybe I'll keep it to myself.
    Anyone else weigh slightly less after the meeting???
    .....I'm tellin' ya....better than a sauna that place!!!!

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Sounds like you need to set an agenda and get the rules from how to run a meeting. Nominate an interm person to chair the next meeting and someone to take minuites and go from there.

Make sure that standing orders are observed and everyone knows what they are and what the agenda and the running order of the meeting is and allow plenty of time for any other business and for socialising afterwards.

http://www.tpascymru.org.uk/publications/Constitutions.pdf

http://www.york.ac.uk/student/gsa/Constitution/GSAAppendix.htm

The Yipper wrote:
    I've just erased what I was going to write. I'd be afraid that the guy with the angry lookin' face might come around to my house and bash me.

As I have difficulty with confrontation, I feel that I can only truly express my opinions on this forum, but now I'm running scared....tail between legs etc...

Next time I have an OPINION to express, maybe I'll keep it to myself.
    Anyone else weigh slightly less after the meeting???
    .....I'm tellin' ya....better than a sauna that place!!!!

:(
    Of course you're entitled to an opinion, mate, but in fairness to Marcais, and as I have said already, it was organised in a hurry, so was never going to be the perfect meeting. Marcais at least had the courage of his convictions and acted on them!

Anyway, back to the topic...

Marcais, how did you get on with the Labour MCC? Also, can you PM me an e-mail address for you so I can pass on some info you may find useful.

Also, can you PM me an e-mail address for you so I can pass on some info you may find useful.

charlesland@gmail.com

Thanks Eoin!

eoin_s wrote:

Just to clarify - the above address is/will be accessible to all the people on the res association, it is not a personal email address for Marcais.

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭Sparks115

hey Yipper of course u are allowed voice an opinion:D .... i just felt for Marcais and co that had organised it in a rush and yes it was all over the place and they know that themselves and with an interm commitee they will defo improve. :D things can only get better!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 anony-mouse

hello again,
    as Im a new kid on the block when it comes to this site, I have missed the meeting! I didnt know / hear about it.
    When the next one planned does anyone know yet?
    thanks and cheerio:o

hello again,
    as Im a new kid on the block when it comes to this site, I have missed the meeting! I didnt know / hear about it.
    When the next one planned does anyone know yet?
    thanks and cheerio:o

AM, should be a meeting soon. Been busy trying to meet the June 15 deadline for submissions re. the Greystones/Delgany Plan (and try to have some sort of life!! ;) Fairly successful, given the 4 "business" days between the residents meeting and drafting up and finalising a coherent submission on the plan.

There is great interest in the committee and the issues in general so hopefully we can get something together soon. 17th July is the AGM for Cuala in which residents committe members are elected (open to all) and they should send notification soon (although I didn't get any last year :confused: ). The first meeting gave us something to build upon and hopefully we can get the council, developers etc. etc. to take heed and act in outr favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 anony-mouse

Thanks Marcais, I will try and attend - good to be in the loop and have a say in what goes on.

Has anything happened with the Res. Assoc. since the initial meeting (the blazing heat outside reminded me of the meeting in the creche)?

eoin_s wrote:
    Has anything happened with the Res. Assoc. since the initial meeting (the blazing heat outside reminded me of the meeting in the creche)?

Eoin, I'll give you a shout tomorrow.