Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Hazards of Belief

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Become a scientologist and risk jail:

blogs.villagevoice.com/runninscared/2012/08/scientology_concentration_camp_the_hole.php

Strange they're not up in a lather about persecuting themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Quatermain

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    It does take scientific enquiry to a whole different level

The fundamentals, as it were. They get to the bottom of the issue swiftly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Byran Fischer thinks kidnapping children from their parents is a good christian thing to do:

fiscjer-2.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,856 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

A study prepared by Monash University reveals that 90 Victorians went to hospital with waxing injuries, the Herald Sun reports.

Pfft. Anyone who's seen a 70s porn movie knows waxing wasn't common then, I'm pretty sure the Victorians didn't do it at all!

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

ninja900 wrote: »
    Pfft. Anyone who's seen a 70s porn movie knows waxing wasn't common then, I'm pretty sure the Victorians didn't do it at all!

It may be an ancient technology lost and rediscovered.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Would an 1870's blue movie be in black and white?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

recedite wrote: »

sepia and light beige.

recedite wrote: »

"I say! There goes the doorbell!"

"Good afternoon, Miss. 'Tis I, Roger U. Quickly, Esquire. I've come to repair the gramophone!"

"Well, a pleasure, sir! Oh, lawks! My crinoline-springs have quite ruptured! I fear I shall become rapidly undressed!"

Quatermain wrote: »

"Good afternoon, Miss. 'Tis I, Roger U. Quickly, Esquire. I've come to repair the gramophone!"

"Well, a pleasure, sir! Oh, lawks! My crinoline-springs have quite ruptured! I fear I shall become rapidly undressed!"

Oh I do like your sense of humour :D.

Of course, given the Victorian predilection for melodrama, one can expect bondage scenes to involve a lot of train-tracks and opera coats.

Mwahahaha, etc.

Of course, given the Victorian predilection for melodrama, one can expect bondage scenes to involve a lot of train-tracks and opera coats.

Mwahahaha, etc.

and fabulous facial hair.

Next Week, on "Ribald Tales"....

And of course all the dialogue would be mimed, then appear on caption cards...

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

"But this is Horace Mapplethorn's Patent Loin Linament!"

"Genuine snake oil, is all! Now hush while we lock you into this nearby asylum!"

Gotta love the Victorians. Particularly their genuine believe that blowing tobacco smoke into the rectum was an effective means of resuscitating the drowned. Utter hilarity.

I don't know if I'm being horribly whooshed here but I do like the direction the 'Victorian' thing has gone since this, much more entertaining than Australians.

Preacherette says she can cure dead children.

http://www.rightwingwatch.org/content/cindy-jacobs-i-have-power-revive-dead-children
    RWW wrote:
    Televangelist and self-styled Apostle Cindy Jacobs possesses the supernatural power to initiate miracles. It isn’t too far-fetched, considering that her mentor and founder of the New Apostolic Reformation C. Peter Wagner has claimed that people like himself “can do the same or greater things than Jesus did.” On the August 6th edition of her show God Knows, the self-proclaimed “respected prophet” channeled her supernatural powers live on air to revive a dead child, claiming to have done so in the past as well. Jacobs has previously claimed that Satan “wants to steal God’s family and create tyranny” and that health care reform requires everyone to have a computer chip “put in their finger” in order to receive care.
    Jacobs: The bible says the same power is in us that raised Christ Jesus from the dead. I see someone; you literally had a child that just died. And I speak to the spirit of death in that child in the name of Jesus and I command you to lead that child. I speak to the spirit of infirmity that caused the child’s death and I say “Live in Jesus name! Live!’ And I see a child coughing, waking up, oh we saw that in Pakistan, we saw a little boy raised from the dead, just like that. God is on the move. God is on the move!

robindch wrote: »

She saw a child in Pakistan rise from the dead ? Has she considered the possibility that Allah raised the child from the dead? Or, and this is out there, that the child wasn't actually, like, dead?

Has she considered the possibility that Allah raised the child from the dead? Or, and this is out there, that the child wasn't actually, like, dead?
    Well, I'm kind of working from the assumption -- again, arguably just way, way out there given her obvious powers -- that the story is made up.

You mean she may be lying????:eek:

No, no, no, not at all! For that would mean that at least some religious people are liars. On the contrary, our Cindy is as pure as the wind-driven snow and I was thinking that some cold, calculating, callous busybody in Pakistan just pulled the story out of his or her sorry ass; then told Cindy who forgot to wonder if it was reasonable to think that the known laws of biology, physics and chemistry had been suspended for a while.

Thank goodness for that logical and reasoned explanation. I wonder if the perfidious liar in Pakistan was a Muslim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Thank goodness for that logical and reasoned explanation. I wonder if the perfidious liar in Pakistan was a Muslim?

Or even Atheist.
    No morals after all.

Or even Atheist.
    No morals after all.

A Muslim Atheist no doubt.

An elderly man with every material need satisfied tells people to put his religious beliefs ahead of their material needs.

http://www.catholicnewsagency.com/news/pope-benedict-challenges-believers-to-put-god-before-worldly-cares/#.UCU29uU5yT8.facebook
    Castel Gandolfo, Italy, Aug 5, 2012 / 12:31 pm (CNA/EWTN News).- God's promise of a new and eternal life deserves priority over earthly desires for things that can never satisfy the heart, Pope Benedict XVI taught in his Aug. 5 Sunday Angelus address at Castel Gandolfo.

“Jesus wants to help people move beyond the immediate satisfaction of their material needs, although they are important too. He wants to open a horizon of existence which is not simply that of the daily concerns of eating, dressing and career,” the Pope told pilgrims at his summer residence. The true “center of existence,” giving “full meaning and firm hope” to life, “is faith in Jesus … our encounter with Christ,” the Pope reflected.

Thousands of enthusiastic visitors listened from the courtyard of the Apostolic Palace as the Pope discussed Sunday's reading from the “Bread of Life” discourse in the Gospel of John. In it, Christ tells the multitude not to labor for the “food that perishes” but “for the food which endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give to you.” Jesus proclaims himself as “the bread of life,” declaring: “Whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst.”

Pope Benedict stressed that this encounter with Christ goes far beyond “an idea” or “a project,” to reach Jesus “as a living person” who wants everyone “to be fully involved with him and his Gospel.” In the midst of everyday concerns, Christ calls humanity to “look ahead and to open the human horizon to the horizon of God, the horizon of faith.”

During their journey of faith, believers are sustained by something infinitely greater than the miraculous manna given to the Israelites in the Old Testament. Jesus, the Pope said, does not merely “give something,” but instead “gives himself” to the faithful in Holy Communion.

“Let us put our faith in him, and let us put our trust in his promises, so that we may have life in abundance,” the Pope urged the crowd, before leading them in reciting the traditional midday Marian prayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

I'd like to see him fly his papal helicopter into some refugee camp in Africa full of starving people and start preaching that $hit.

US nuns who have come under fire
    from the Vatican say they will hold further talks with church leaders, but will not "compromise their mission".

The Vatican has said the Leadership Conference of Women Religious violated church teaching on birth control and homosexuality, among other issues.

The group made the announcement at the end of a national meeting.

Church officials have appointed three US bishops to oversee an overhaul of their organisation.

LCWR is the largest organisation of nuns in the US, representing 80% of the 57,000 nuns in the United States.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-19218870

Evidently these women have not taken on board the whole 'Your lack of a penis means you've no say so shut up' phillosophy.

(Sleazy titles for this post include "Nuns Refuse To Take It Lying Down")

Nodin wrote: »
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-19218870

Evidently these women have not taken on board the whole 'Your lack of a penis means you've no say so shut up' phillosophy.

(Sleazy titles for this post include "Nuns Refuse To Take It Lying Down")

'Mouthy Nuns refuse to take a licking'.

"Not with a Bang, but with a Wimple".

'Sisters are ringing on their own bells! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Bad Habits?

Fister Act?

Saudi Arabia plans new city for women workers only

Businesswomen behind 5,000-job scheme designed to give women greater independence while maintaining segregation
    A women-only industrial city dedicated to female workers is to be constructed in Saudi Arabia to provide a working environment that is in line with the kingdom's strict customs.
    The city, to be built in the Eastern Province city of Hofuf, is set to be the first of several planned for the Gulf kingdom. The aim is to allow more women to work and achieve greater financial independence, but to maintain the gender segregation, according to reports
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/aug/12/saudi-arabia-city-women-workers

Probably to become known as the "happy hunting grounds" to the Saudi lesbian community. And home to man-traffickers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/aug/12/saudi-arabia-city-women-workers

Probably to become known as the "happy hunting grounds" to the Saudi lesbian community. And home to man-traffickers.

And this sham of a country is an ally of the US. Huh.

Btw, Saudi Arabia is full of gheys.

A friend told me last night that the middle east has a lot of man-to-man love. I have no links/ sources. Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

A letter to a man who came out as gay to his parents via reddit:
    http://i.imgur.com/pCrHU.jpg

Hope none of our (seemingly disproportionately large) gay contingent had to go through anything like this.

Perhaps all the hate leveled at gays by the religious means they tend to shy away from those religions at a higher rate? Who'd have thunk it?

*image too large to imbed.

Gbear wrote: »
    A letter to a man who came out as gay to his parents via reddit:
    http://i.imgur.com/pCrHU.jpg

Hope none of our (seemingly disproportionately large) gay contingent had to go through anything like this.

Perhaps all the hate leveled at gays by the religious means they tend to shy away from those religions at a higher rate? Who'd have thunk it?

*image too large to imbed.

My Dad just left highly abusive messages on my phone, my Mam's phone, my brother's phone, my sister's phone and my son's phone and boycotted my son's 21st birthday party when he found out I was a lesbian. And now he wonders why I am tetchy with him....

....em...why the fuck was he onto your mother, brother sister and son ? Were they supposed to have zapped ye with the gay ray?

It was hard to tell what he was on about tbh- something to do with being catlick and queer hawks and him being a 'mans man'. I think that as the time allowed per message ran out he just phoned the next person.

My brother informed him last week that my niece is a lesbian, right in the middle of Father Dearest telling brother's OH about what fun he used to have shouting abuse in the door of one of Cork's Gay bars. This eejit is 79 years old :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

A friend told me last night that the middle east has a lot of man-to-man love. I have no links/ sources. Yet.
    Allegedly there's a practice rife in middle eastern countries of men taking adolescent boys and "teaching" them the ways of the world. It's seen as a normal rite of passage. Very Greek...

My brother informed him last week that my niece is a lesbian, right in the middle of Father Dearest telling brother's OH about what fun he used to have shouting abuse in the door of one of Cork's Gay bars.
    A few years back, an elderly female relative in my extended family(*) was ranting over dinner in Bedford in the UK one evening about the perfidious English and other foreign dross buying houses in the pleasant part of West Cork where she lives. Said that West Cork was for the Westcorkonians and them alone, and nobody else should be allowed to buy property there. So I asked her whether this rule should apply to people like her, who grew up in Waterford. She went ballistic and accused me of "making her look stupid".

Which makes me wonder -- should there be a thread for support issues with difficult family members?

(*) Btw, would Popette be a good name for her? This "elderly female..." bit is getting a bit repetitive.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Which makes me wonder -- should there be a thread for support issues with difficult family members?[/SIZE]
    Sounds like you'd be a frequent poster there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Dades wrote: »
    Which makes me wonder -- should there be a thread for support issues with difficult family members?[/SIZE]
    Sounds like you'd be a frequent poster there!
    216809.png

216809.png

Push up and make space on that couch there robin. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Gbear wrote: »

Coming out as a vegetarian has literally been much harder than coming out gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,257 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Zillah wrote: »

The feck do you mean, vegetarian?

What kind of sicko abomination chooses to be a vegetarian?

Push up and make space on that couch there robin. ;)
    Ooooo, you foxy thing you :)

Zillah wrote: »

Being a meat eating lesbian (*childish titter*) was no picnic back in the 80s/90s :( .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Links234 wrote: »

Such a sick country. A shining beacon for the 'Christianity is on the rise globally' brigade. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

From Galvaseans article
    He withdrew from the outside world. Home alone for hours at a time, Peter reads the Bible he keeps by his bed for comfort. A wall decoration reads: "Jesus cares".

Eh, sorry buddy, not for your type he doesn't!

What a disgusting piece of legislation!

My atheist brain read that as 'Jesus Scares'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-19253289
    Tunisia turns the clocks back to before 1956, when women got equal rights to men.
    The Islamist-led government has unveiled a draft constitution which refers to women as "complementary to men".

Ennahda member Farida al-Obeidi, who chairs the constitutional assembly's human rights and public freedoms panel, said the wording of the draft constitution was not a backward step for Tunisian women, Reuters reports.
    Instead, the draft stipulates the "sharing of roles and does not mean that women are worth less than men", she said.

Hmmm.

biko wrote: »
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-19253289
    Tunisia turns the clocks back to before 1956, when women got equal rights to men.
    The Islamist-led government has unveiled a draft constitution which refers to women as "complementary to men".

Ennahda member Farida al-Obeidi, who chairs the constitutional assembly's human rights and public freedoms panel, said the wording of the draft constitution was not a backward step for Tunisian women, Reuters reports.
    Instead, the draft stipulates the "sharing of roles and does not mean that women are worth less than men", she said.

Hmmm.

Begs the question: if women are walking several paces behind men, can men tell when women have taken a backwards step?