Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Hazards of Belief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

legspin wrote: »
    BWAHHHHAHAHAHAHA.
    OI!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭human 19

Poor kids. Saw this on the jakarta globe earlier but they seem to have removed it

Indonesia teen Students Charged With Blasphemy for Having ‘Moves Like Jagger’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

human 19 wrote: »
    Poor kids. Saw this on the jakarta globe earlier but they seem to have removed it

Indonesia teen Students Charged With Blasphemy for Having ‘Moves Like Jagger’.

Nightclubs must be some craic over there, although we have a blasphemy law as well, actually has anyone every been charged with breaking it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Banbh

Though it hasn't been used, our blasphemy law is still on the books and was an inspiration to other theocratic governments to continue or introduce similar abuses of civil rights.

And, lest we forget, Fianna Fáil who brought us that law (with the help of the Green Party) will be back in government very shortly.

Did Labour/Fine Gael promise to remove it or am I thinking of the Seanad? There were so many false promises that I forget.

It's staggering that such a thing exists in a modern country (well we're supposed to be modern). Fear of offending the non existent, you couldnt make it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

krudler wrote: »
    It's staggering that such a thing exists in a modern country (well we're supposed to be modern). Fear of offending the non existent, you couldnt make it up.

You'd think God would have thicker skin... If he was so easily offended he would never have made Christopher Hitchens.

Creator of the universe and everything in it, takes offence to polyester blends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

krudler wrote: »
    Creator of the universe and everything in it, takes offence to polyester blends.

Well he has a point about polyester. Nasty clingy sweat inducing stuff.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Well he has a point about polyester. Nasty clingy sweat inducing stuff.

And crops too close together, you can murder all the first born, but not the crops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

TheChizler wrote: »
    Surely that's a parody? It's a collection of statements that we would deem the most ridiculous.

AHA!
    http://www.snopes.com/photos/signs/sciencetest.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Catholic bishops are to write to
    assembly members urging them to vote against a motion which would legalise
    same-sex marriage.

The Presbyterian Church has also written to politicians re-stating its
    opposition to any change in the legal definition of marriage.

The motion, tabled by Sinn Fein, is due to be debated at Stormont on
    Monday.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-22299206
    Amazin what brings people together, isn't it....

Nodin wrote: »

Ireland - united by bigotry.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Cult Leader on the Run After Sacrificing Baby for Being the Antichrist.
    Four members of a Chilean cult were arrested yesterday for allegedly participating in the ritual sacrifice of a three-day-old baby.

According to local investigators, the cult's leader, 36-year-old Ramón Gustavo Castillo Gaete, ordered his followers to burn the baby alive because he believed it to be the Antichrist and a harbinger of doomsday.

"The baby was naked. They strapped tape around her mouth to keep her from screaming. Then they placed her on a board. After calling on the spirits they threw her on the bonfire alive," investigator Miguel Ampuero is quoted as saying.

The "healing ritual," which reportedly took place last November in the town of Colliguay, was attended by the baby's mother, 25-year-old Natalia Guerra, who allegedly gave the sacrifice her blessing.

Castillo Gaete is rumored to be the baby's father.

The cult is said to have 12 members in all, and was founded in 2005 by Castillo Gaete, who calls himself "Antares from the Light."

Police are still searching for Castillo Gaete, who was last seen in February on his way to Peru to purchase a hallucinogenic brew used as part of the cult's rituals and possibly start a new sect.

There's no limit to what a person will do, once they believe in magic (religion). A cult is like a net, which is specifically designed to only catch the helpless and the weak. Cult leaders should be labelled criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Oh God, I feel sick after reading that.

^fcuking hell, that reads like something from Game of Thrones, not real life

• Registered Users Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Brace yourselves, fundies are coming. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

robindch wrote: »
    Yup, that's it.

Welcome to Planet Daily Mail!

Hey, we're talking about the paper which refuses to either retract or apologise for its war time support for National Socialism. The odds are that the actual study concludes the opposite of what the Heil says.

It's funny how the newspaper that hires Peter Hitchens likes to partake in moral relativity. :pac: Hey, that reminds me of a certain someone who resembles a shrivelled-up Sith Lord...

Richard Desmond, Rupert Murdoch or Paul D'acre?

Best we get our Lord Palpatine look-alikes sorted out early.

Richard Desmond, Rupert Murdoch or Paul D'acre?

Best we get our Lord Palpatine look-alikes sorted out early.

Nah, I'm thinking of a certain pious German in his mid-80s. ;)

James Last?

Nah, Pope-Emeritus Nazi isn't nearly crinkled enough. He needs a bit more frying if you ask me.

Local leaders in northern Ghana have announced the abolition of the ritual killing of babies born with physical disabilities, who were believed to have been possessed by evil spirits.

"Spirit children" were thought to have been a sign of impending misfortune
    and given a poisonous drink to kill them.
    One campaigner told the BBC that improved healthcare and education meant such beliefs were becoming less common.

Activist Raymond Ayine welcomed the ban, which covers seven towns.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-22335634

Nice of them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Catholic bishops are to write to
    assembly members urging them to vote against a motion which would legalise
    same-sex marriage.

The Presbyterian Church has also written to politicians re-stating its
    opposition to any change in the legal definition of marriage.

The motion, tabled by Sinn Fein, is due to be debated at Stormont on
    Monday.
    Always looking for an excuse to repost this old gem...

"Clerics Fighting a Gay Festival for Jerusalem"

6sDqz4.jpg

Absolute numpties. All of them.

Dades wrote: »

Kick the door open, point the gun at them and say "Right Yez Shower of Shites - All the Hats In the Bag - Now!!!!!!!!!

Can I adopt their hats?

As an individual obviously as for me and my OH to adopt them as a couple would be ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Can I have the Armenian guys hat? It's pretty much the coolest hat I've ever seen.

There is one for sale here, complete with beard. I am tempted.

Edit: Left link to illustrate my stupidity. I'm lusting after a Sims costume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    Can I have the Armenian guys hat? It's pretty much the coolest hat I've ever seen.

There is one for sale here, complete with beard. I am tempted.

Edit: Left link to illustrate my stupidity. I'm lusting after a Sims costume.

Stupidity and hats. I'll tell you what's stupid! This puzzle
    4men.gif
    Shown above are four men buried up to their necks in the ground. They cannot move, so they can only look forward. Between A and B is a brick wall which cannot be seen through.
    They all know that between them they are wearing four hats--two black and two white--but they do not know what color they are wearing. Each of them know where the other three men are buried.
    In order to avoid being shot, one of them must call out to the executioner the color of their hat. If they get it wrong, everyone will be shot. They are not allowed to talk to each other and have 10 minutes to fathom it out.
    After one minute, one of them calls out.
    Question: Which one of them calls out? Why is he 100% certain of the color of his hat?
    This is not a trick question. There are no outside influences nor other ways of communicating. They cannot move and are buried in a straight line; A & B can only see their respective sides of the wall, C can see B, and D can see B & C.

Note: It's not actually a stupid puzzle. A fairly neat one by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Jernal wrote: »
    Note: It's not actually a stupid puzzle. A fairly neat one by all accounts.
    C calls out because if C had a white had then D would be able to call out, as D hasn't then C can't have the same color as B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

Dades wrote: »

6sDqz4.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SseqNp7n5FU

Gay teens starved, tortured, killed at camp to turn them into ‘men’.
    Game ranger course 'general' is on trial for murder, child abuse, neglect and allegedly forced teen to eat his own faeces.

Why I'm posting the article in A&A.
    The then-national police commissioner claimed that the camp was being investigated for ‘right-wing militia training activities.’
    Young Buys fought for his life in the intensive care unit for the past four weeks . A post-mortem examination and an inquest will be held into the cause of death. A week earlier, Echo Wild Game Ranger’s manager Alex de Koker (right) testified in the local court in front of the ‘clearly horrified’ magistrate Bruno van Eeden, that the injuries sustained by the young Buys, who was healthy and unblemished before he entered the costly training course, were 'caused by Raymond himself, for instance when he ran against the pump-house’.

Pictures submitted by the parents to the court however showed the steady deterioration of the Afrikaans youngster after his parents dropped him off at De Koker’s smallholding on 12 January 2011 until they rushed him to hospital ten weeks later. On the first photos before he started his training camp, Raymond was a healthy, cheerful and unblemished youth. His steady deterioration over the next two and a half months turned him into a walking skeleton, with numerous injuries.

His mother Wilna and her fiancee Gys Nezar told Sondag journalist Riaan Bam that her son ‘fought bravely for his life and that he now is with dear Jesus.’

What's the bets, that this sicko is in the closet?
    Alex de Koker:
    DE+KOKER+ALEX+RAN+HELL+CAMP+WHERE+YOUTH+DIED%5B6%5D.jpg

936899_456196901130864_462671714_n.jpg

Would the world be a more dangerous place if extremists weren't so stupid?

These lads decided to blow up an EDL rally but their plan needed a little more thought:
    They arrived after the rally had ended and where then pulled over by police for not having insurance on their car. The plot was discovered after the car was impounded and searched.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-22344054

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

What's the bets, that this sicko is in the closet?
    Alex de Koker:

I hope not, I don't think that association with that man would do homosexuals in that country any favours.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

These lads decided to blow up an EDL rally but their plan needed a little more thought:
    251685.jpg

kylith wrote: »
    I hope not, I don't think that association with that man would do homosexuals in that country any favours.

The culture in South Africa, for the whites, is that you must aspire to live like Chuck Norris, so there's no room for 'effeminate' men.

The reason that I am suspicious of the sexuality of a man who is obsessed with gay men, is that, his life seems to based around gay men. I don't think it's a slur on the gay community, as much as it highlights the ignorance and brutality brought about by a religion that is promoted as 'compassionate'.

Someone said years ago that the most homophobic men are usually hiding something.

Nineties poster boy for gay conversion therapy reverts to homosexuality: Husband announces he has left his wife 16 years after starring on Newsweek cover.
    ‘My beliefs have changed,’ Paulk told PQ Monthly, which stands for Proud Queer. ‘Today, I do not consider myself “ex-gay” and I no longer support or promote the movement.’
    This is a huge departure from Paulk’s prime ex-gay days, when he founded and ran a ministry called Love Won Out based on what he called ‘reparative therapy.’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

The culture in South Africa, for the whites, is that you must aspire to live like Chuck Norris, so there's no room for 'effeminate' men.

The reason that I am suspicious of the sexuality of a man who is obsessed with gay men, is that, his life seems to based around gay men. I don't think it's a slur on the gay community, as much as it highlights the ignorance and brutality brought about by a religion that is promoted as 'compassionate'.

I understand, but my fear would be that it would be twisted into 'look what this pervert was doing. We were right in our opinions about homosexuals' rather than the much more likely 'look what the way we treat homosexuals has turned some people into'.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,521 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Was listening to this piece on the BBC World Service. http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p017pz17

It was about Jinns, or evil spirits that supposedly possess people, and not, you know, actual mental health problems like depression or schizophrenia. A bit scary, and there I was thinking that Jinns were only on the TV show Supernatural.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭muppeteer

'Catholic mafia' hindered priest probe, special commission of inquiry into child sex abuse hears.
    NSW police officers discussed whether a "Catholic mafia" existed within the force, deliberately hindering the investigation of pedophile priests, an inquiry has heard.

Giving evidence at the NSW Special Commission of Inquiry into child sex abuse, Detective Chief Inspector Peter Fox said he discussed these fears in 2002 with the current state Nationals MP, Troy Grant, then a serving officer.

Mr Grant "was highly critical of some senior police at Newcastle in what he perceived to be hindering his investigation" into alleged child abuse by clergy, Detective Fox said.

Interesting story to keep an eye on, seems there may have been resistance to police investigation of Catholic scandals.
    http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/in-depth/detective-failed-to-tell-superiors-of-his-investigations-into-catholic-child-sex-abuse/story-fngburq5-1226635875802

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Religious leaders in Canada are charged with running a scam:

http://www.torontosun.com/2013/05/03/3-pastors-charged-in-86-million-ponzi-scheme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

This. Is. Surreal.

in what way is it surreal? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Liamario

Hasn't she also been caught telling people that their missing loved ones were alive when they were actually dead? I wonder if her success rate is below 50%, would be pretty funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭legspin

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2013/05/03/slayer-vs-wesboro-baptist-church_n_3209888.html

Would love to see the picket go ahead myself. I think you could call it assisted suicide.

legspin wrote: »
    http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2013/05/03/slayer-vs-wesboro-baptist-church_n_3209888.html

Would love to see the picket go ahead myself. I think you could call it assisted suicide.
    Slayer-Westboro-Baptist-Church-604x518.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

According to The Band, Hanneman died when his liver failed after he became infected with a flesh eating bacterial disease necrotising fasciitis, which developed in the wound when a spider attacked and bit him, while he caroused in a hot tub.

According to Westboro Haters Club, "God killed him".

Even allowing for the possibility that God dreamed up this elaborate plan to "take him out" It still reminds me that real life is so much more interesting than the old reliable, bog standard, religious catch-all guff of "God did it."

recedite wrote: »
    According to The Band, Hanneman died when his liver failed after he became infected with a flesh eating bacterial disease necrotising fasciitis, which developed in the wound when a spider attacked and bit him, while he caroused in a hot tub.

According to Westboro Haters Club, "God killed him".

Even allowing for the possibility that God dreamed up this elaborate plan to "take him out" It still reminds me that real life is so much more interesting than the old reliable, bog standard, religious catch-all guff of "God did it."
    If it was god, surely a bolt of lightening from a clear sky, zapping Jeff on stage, just as all Slayer's pyro went off at the start of a show would've been more... metal?

\m/

Links234 wrote: »
    in what way is it surreal? :confused:

The creator of the video doesn't know singular vs plural, that's what's surreal.
    A woman, many women!

Liamario wrote: »

Jon Ronson wrote a great piece in the guardian about that nasty woman, it's a great read:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2007/oct/27/usa.jonronson