Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Hazards of Belief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'm not one to take pleasure in the suffering of the elderly, but the only people at fault there are the fools who thought they could park illegally. It's difficult to have sympathy for someone who could have read the signs and found somewhere better to park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Sarky wrote: »
    I'm not one to take pleasure in the suffering of the elderly, but the only people at fault there are the fools who thought they could park illegally. It's difficult to have sympathy for someone who could have read the signs and found somewhere better to park.

Stop stepping on their religious freedom !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

koth wrote: »
    It's beside a hospital. If ever there was a place not to park illegally, near a hospital would be up at the top of the list.

A hospital that's not easy to get into at the best of times, never mind the old Sunday drivers who think leaving the car anywhere between the wall and the central island is safely parked.

As Bigopinion states in the comment section:
    I'm sorry but ignorance is the sole reason these people have received clamps! I do not belive for a second that these people could not see the signs! They more than likely spotted the signs and said 'ahh **** it, ill chance it'

And that's a the attitude of a lot of people who I know go to mass at St. John's (it's my fathers home parish, so O know a few).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭pauldla

Sarky wrote: »

Perhaps they thought they were protected by Luke 3:17, "And lo! the LORD said unto them, when you visit my house, you may parketh wheresoever thou see fit, and I shall cause the clampers to avert their eyes from thy wagon. And the Apostles rejoiced, and parked on double yellow lines, and not a ticket was received! And they were glad"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,591 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

^ that deserves a +1 just for what you did with the 'LORD' text.

Hey I can do it too now :)

'FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER'

Scrap the cap!

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Ah, so that's what Jewish people do with their sons' foreskins: they keep them safe in case their son becomes a messiah.

Or source material for cloning into skin grafts

http://avcmc.iinet.net.au/images/fore.gif (NSFW if your boss has no sense of humour)

Scrap the cap!

ninja900 wrote: »
    Or source material for cloning into skin grafts

http://avcmc.iinet.net.au/images/fore.gif (NSFW if your boss has no sense of humour)

One of Terry Pratchett's co-authors on the Science of Discworld series, Jack Cohen, used go around NY collecting the cut off foreskins, FOR SCIENCE!

I'm off to IDWCon the weekend after Gaelcon, I might just ask him about that :pac:

Wish I could go to Gaelcon :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Banbh

Wish I knew what it was and also IDWcon.

It's a con. For Gaels.

Actually, it's lots and lots of games. RPGs and suchlike. Great fun, if you're in to that sort of thing.

Wish I knew what RPG were - not rocket propelled grenades, I suspect.

Banbh wrote: »
    Wish I knew what RPG were - not rocket propelled grenades, I suspect.

Role playing games. Pimply Freds smiting each other with Swords +2 damage against Undead, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭hairyheretic

Only when LARPing. Otherwise its mostly sitting round a table, rolling oddly shaped dice :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

In Texas this weekend? Looking for something to do? Why not visit "Hell House" which portrays "the consequences of sinful choices, depicting hell and the devastation that satan can cause for those not expressively serving Christ"

"It's a theater-type production with various scenes like abortion, school shooting, bullying and paranormal, as well as hell and heaven," said Jennifer Harvey, spokesperson for Clawson:

http://www.christianpost.com/news/texas-churchs-anti-abortion-sin-filled-bloody-hell-house-a-tool-for-salvation--107403/

The blood-spattered photos + bedclothes are worth a look.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I'm surprised "bullying" is something that they saw as negative...of course, "disagreements" with teh ghey probably doesn't fall under that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I was going to post this news over in the funnies, but then I thought how sad it all is:
    A leading Saudi cleric warned women who drive cars could cause damage to their ovaries and pelvises and that they are at risk of having children born with "clinical problems."

"If a woman drives a car," Al-Loheidan told Saudi news website sabq.org in an interview, "it could have a negative physiological impact ... Medical studies show that it would automatically affect a woman's ovaries and that it pushes the pelvis upward."

More everywhere on the net.

France's top appeals court has upheld a fraud conviction and fines totalling hundreds of thousands of euros against the Church of Scientology, for taking advantage of vulnerable followers.

No doubt concerned about being accused of the same themselves, other religious organizations seem to be keeping very quiet indeed about this case.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/france/10384877/Scientologys-fraud-conviction-upheld-in-France.html
    The Cour de Cassation rejected the organisation's request that a 2009 conviction for "organised fraud" be overturned on the grounds it violated religious freedoms.

From their Los Angeles headquarters, the group slammed the court ruling as "an affront to justice and religious liberty," in a statement that accused the French government of "anti-religious extremism". "The Court failed to address the fundamental violations of the human rights of each of the defendants that infected every level of this case," said the Scientology church, vowing to pursue the matter "at the international level". The group has previously indicated it will appeal the conviction to the European Court of Human Rights.

The conviction saw Scientology's Celebrity Centre and its bookshop in Paris, the two branches of its French operations, ordered to pay 600,000 euros ($812,000) in fines for preying financially on followers in the 1990s. The original ruling, while stopping short of banning the group from operating in France, dealt a blow to the secretive movement best known for its Hollywood followers, such as Tom Cruise and John Travolta.

France regards Scientology as a cult, not a religion, and had prosecuted individual Scientologists before, but the 2009 trial marked the first time the organisation as a whole had been convicted. The head of a parliamentary group on religious cults in France, lawmaker Georges Fenech, hailed the ruling.

"Far from being a violation of freedom of religion, as this American organisation contends, this decision lifts the veil on the illegal and highly detrimental practices" of the group, said Fenech. The court case followed a complaint by two women, one of whom said she was manipulated into handing over 20,000 euros in 1998 for Scientology products including an "electrometer" to measure mental energy.

A second woman claimed she was forced by her Scientologist employer to undergo testing and enrol in courses, also in 1998. When she refused she was fired. The Church of Scientology said in its statement that the involvement in the trial of UNADFI, a French anti-cult association, "polluted the proceedings, transforming it into a heresy trial."

Founded in 1954 by US science fiction writer L. Ron Hubbard, the Church of Scientology is recognised as a religion in the United States. It claims a worldwide membership of 12 million, including 45,000 followers in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

robindch wrote: »
    France's top appeals court has upheld a fraud conviction and fines totalling hundreds of thousands of euros against the Church of Scientology, for taking advantage of vulnerable followers.

No doubt concerned about being accused of the same themselves, other religious organizations seem to be keeping very quiet indeed about this case.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/france/10384877/Scientologys-fraud-conviction-upheld-in-France.html
    Delighted. It's only recently I've looked into scientology at all and I had no idea the stuff they've managed to get away with in the past.

Operation Snow White, the largest infiltration of the US government in history? Can you imagine if a Muslim group did that?

Operation Freakout remains one of the most disgusting things I've ever heard of, a dedicated effort by the church to gaslight a writer, Paulette Cooper, to the extent that she would be hospitalised in a mental institution or (ideally) kill herself. They followed her, sent letters to her neighbours saying she was a sexual pervert and had an STD, put her personal information up on the street so she would be inundated with obscene phone calls. They planted her fingerprint on a letter threatening to blow up scientology buildings and she was arrested put in front of a grand jury.

All because she wrote a book critical of Scientology. It boggles the mind.

A professor of christian theology points out a bunch of christian beliefs which are more frightening than anything cooked up by the pagans for Halloween:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/on-faith/wp/2013/10/28/five-christian-theologies-scarier-than-halloween-2/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,522 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Megan and Grace started asking themselves what they were up to, and what their church and extended family really believed in. There were, Megan confirms, “a lot of conversations” between them, “not about leaving, but about aspects of the church, the theology and its application. Over time, we started to see things that made us think, ‘Wait a second, there’s something wrong here. This doesn’t fit together.’ ”

But that questioning proved difficult, due to the strict interpretation of scripture that Mr. Phelps – “Gramps” to Megan and Grace – insists WBC members adhere to. “It was always very much all-or-nothing,” Megan explains. “The way the church presents it is, there’s the WBC and the rest of the world. And the rest of the world is evil. The WBC is the only place in the world in our generation that is telling the truth of God. Over time, those little things built up, and there were so many of them. Once you step out of it for a second, and you’re out of that vacuum, things change.”

That led to a decision to leave the square two-block section of Topeka where Megan and Grace say most followers of the WBC live. In what Grace describes as “the hardest day of our lives,” the two told their parents and their nine brothers and sisters that they needed to leave the church and their home.

“Hurting my mom was the worst thing of all,” Megan says. The discussion led to a number of members of the church stopping in – almost all of them extended family members – to try to convince Megan and Grace to stay. Their family made it clear: If they left, it would be a clean break. “They believe that they cannot care about anything but what God thinks,” Megan says. “And they are so sure about what God thinks that there can be no other option.”

Interview with two family members who have left the Westboro Baptist Church

Hope they can move on in whatever way one can after being part of a group like that. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

"The Hasidic yeshiva of Gur, has banned students from eating any soy based product out of fear that it might cause an increase in gay sexual activity, according to a report in the Haredi World.

Officials at the yeshiva and the boys school ordered students to stay away from any food containing soy because even eating a soy based product just once a week can cause unwanted arousal.

Officials at the school believe that soy based products contain harmful hormones that damage the spirituality of students by accelerating sexual maturity."
    http://www.yourjewishnews.com/2013/10/n29787.html

I had always known that vegan hippies were to blame for teh ghey and am pleased the wisdom is spreading.

Fetching pic of the Rabbi too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Soya is the new Viagra? Does it work even if you're not circumcised?

Naples lends some of 21,610 religious baubles to Rome for a while - including a bishop's hat with 3,964 diamonds.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-24731504

Frank is reported to be unlikely to visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

robindch wrote: »
    Naples lends some of 21,610 religious baubles to Rome for a while - including a bishop's hat with 3,964 diamonds.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-24731504

Frank is reported to be unlikely to visit.

With all this rejection of apparent affluence by the current pope this collection got me thinking - i miss... i miss benny from the block.

Who-oa Pope Benny, wham ba dam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

The creator of "cyanide and happiness" was banned from Facebook for 12 hours because of a comic he posted months ago. It was taken down, presumably because religious people found it offensive.

Take a look at it, it's pretty tame.

Obviously, it's not the end of the world that he couldn't enter a site for a few hours but I find it interesting how facebook found that offensive enough to take down when they recently said that videos showing beheadings and people being murdered are fine. (I'm not kidding).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    The creator of "cyanide and happiness" was banned from Facebook for 12 hours because of a comic he posted months ago. It was taken down, presumably because religious people found it offensive.

Obviously, it's not the end of the world that he couldn't enter a site for a few hours but I find it interesting how facebook found that offensive enough to take down when they recently said that videos showing beheadings and people being murdered are fine. (I'm not kidding).

Facebook's policies would be very different if Jesus has been beheaded.

(It also would have made jesus's disappearance from his tomb far more impressive )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Facebook's policies would be very different if Jesus has been beheaded.

(It also would have made jesus's disappearance from his tomb far more impressive )
    Eh, I don't think it's quite as sinister as that. From the looks of it, he fell prey to a semi-automated system, his whole point is that maybe facebook needs to take a look at properly moderating the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »

That's just about as offensive as breastfeeding, which Facebook also have a massive problem with.

Israel - where religion is law.
    http://www.haaretz.com/news/national/.premium-1.555612
    Yael Elbag, in her fifties, was accused of participating in a doubles match on the Day of Atonement, thus ignoring a Culture and Sports Ministry directive banning Israeli athletes from competing on Yom Kippur.

Eh, I don't think it's quite as sinister as that. From the looks of it, he fell prey to a semi-automated system, his whole point is that maybe facebook needs to take a look at properly moderating the process.

We're talking about a site which thinks that women breastfeeding their kids is more offensive than men cutting of people's heads with swords.

I don't think you can actually come up with a scenario for banning the artist where you can plausibly say "that's too sinister for facebook".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

We're talking about a site which thinks that women breastfeeding their kids is more offensive than men cutting of people's heads with swords.

I don't think you can actually come up with a scenario for banning the artist where you can plausibly say "that's too sinister for facebook".

but NIPPLES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:eek:

Nodin wrote: »
    but NIPPLES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:eek:
    If that's what it takes, then I'm willing to be shocked.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Salem Fortune Teller Shop Accused Of Fraud
    “If they’re a fraud, then we’re all frauds, and all religion is a fraud."

The words: "I'm taking you ALL down with me!" spring to mind.
    An individual named Ryan Reid from West Henrietta, N.Y., initially alerted the authorities of Fatima’s fraudulence, claiming that he spent $16,800 for a “shield” that would remove his curse.

This poor unfortunate thought he was living under a 'curse', and some charlatan relieved him of almost $17,000. Talk about adding insult to injury.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/republic-of-ireland/10422085/Martin-ONeill-lines-up-Roy-Keane-to-form-dream-Republic-of-Ireland-manager-coach-duo.html

This made me cringe:
    O’Neill represented Northern Ireland as a player and captained them at the 1982 World Cup, but as a Catholic, as well as the outstanding candidate, he will be warmly welcomed by supporters and media alike.

Unfortunately, the British media here is only echoing the prevailing public belief that Ireland remains a state where religion remains important to how the country operates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/republic-of-ireland/10422085/Martin-ONeill-lines-up-Roy-Keane-to-form-dream-Republic-of-Ireland-manager-coach-duo.html

This made me cringe:

Unfortunately, the British media here is only echoing the prevailing public belief that Ireland remains a state where religion remains important to how the country operates.

Was "Saint" Jack a catholic, I wonder?

No, Anglican.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

No, Anglican.

I guessed as much. Just goes to show the Irish sports fan doesn't care about the religion of their sports' participants.

I remember reading a biography of him shortly after USA '94 with his full support, and in it he mentioned that he was the only non-catholic when the team and staff met Karol back during Italia Novanti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

There were idiots holding up '"Union Jack" go home' signs during his early matches. Then we started winning games, qualifying for international tournaments and even beating England and he became beloved by all but Dunphy.

Rough translation of the Torygraph snippet:
    He's a Nordie but he won't be hated in Southern Island[sic] because he's not one of them

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

http://english.alarabiya.net/en/News/middle-east/2013/10/30/Egyptian-student-arrested-on-charges-of-insulting-religion-.html
    http://www.al-bab.com/blog/2013/october/atheist-student-faces-jail-in-egypt.htm#sthash.fMAmTeI9.dpbs

Egyptian student arrested on charges of 'insulting religion'. What did he do? Start an atheist facebook group.
    Gaber's arrest was ordered after his university's administration filed a report against him on Sunday claiming he had formed a Facebook group for atheists.

With Islam even being an atheist is "insulting" the religion, although not outright illegal.
    Although it is not actually illegal to be an atheist in Egypt, Sherif Gaber, a student in the commerce faculty at Suez Canal University, is accused of "spreading atheism" and "insulting religions"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

:(
    6 year possible jail sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

biko wrote: »
    http://english.alarabiya.net/en/News/middle-east/2013/10/30/Egyptian-student-arrested-on-charges-of-insulting-religion-.html
    http://www.al-bab.com/blog/2013/october/atheist-student-faces-jail-in-egypt.htm#sthash.fMAmTeI9.dpbs

Egyptian student arrested on charges of 'insulting religion'. What did he do? Start an atheist facebook group.

With Islam even being an atheist is "insulting" the religion, although not outright illegal.

This is tragic. Our government needs to consider this crap when talking about our "blasphemy law".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

No worries, it won't happen here
    <<
    >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

biko wrote: »
    No worries, it won't happen here
    <<
    >>
    Whether or not it can or will happen here is not the important part. I suspect you know this and I am only using your post as a convenient post to respond to.

I personally think having a blasphemy law on the statue book is bad in a couple of ways. First of all, it allows countries with blasphemy laws which are used quite enthusiastically to point to Ireland and say, "well they have blasphemy laws as well." I think somewhere like Pakistan actually mentioned Ireland's blasphemy law with some approval. Seeing a supposedly modern, progressive country, like Ireland is supposed to be, with a blasphemy law lends some measure of credibility to these other countries.

The second way I believe it is damaging is is what it does to Ireland and organisations within it. Ireland should be a secular nation, but this law is used by those of religion to show, or at least to argue, that it is a catholic or christian country.

We also get the ridiculous situation where this law, which is supposedly drafted in such a way as to ensure there is no prosecutions being used to censor posts on websites. I know this has been done to death, but it is a ridiculous situation that a post that could have been moderated for any number of reasons was deemed to be blasphemous, according to this Irish law, by someone on boards, and this was announced to all. Crazy.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

this is very sad. :(

http://aawa.co/blog/shameful-shunning-in-a-thousand-words/#more-2036

Ricks-father-225x300.jpg
    This is a picture of my dad eating. He had just made lunch for me, but he couldn’t eat it with me. I had to eat it at another table with my four-year-old son while he sat there away from me.

Why? Because that’s what the Watch Tower Society tells him to do......

......For those of you who are curious, I must explain that my extended family began shunning me a year ago after I questioned the authority of the Watchtower’s Governing Body. My family’s unanimous well-meaning response to my doubts was by expressing their opinion that I “must be an apostate” and “severe shunning would surely bring me to my senses.”

After my mother died eight months ago, my dad, being all alone, went to the elders in the congregation he attended to see if he’d be allowed to visit with me. They said that since I was his son, he could visit with me at his house. But he could not discuss religion - nor could he share a meal with me at the same table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Not sad but stupid. These are adults - both father and son - behaving like children and sulking. To use a current expression, they should both grow a pair.

Would you sulk and eat your dinner on a desk while your grown-up son and grandson are eating at an adjoining table? Of course not. Would you eat your dinner with your kid at a table with granda sulking in a corner eating by himself? Of course not.

My compassion for my fellow-man just doesn't stretch to self-inflicted misery by ejits.