Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions wanted - Audi TT 180 BHP Quattro

• 07-06-2006 11:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,253 ✭✭✭

I'm thinking of getting an Audi TT. Currently I have a 98 VW Passat. Want to give the Passat to my better half so looking for something else with a bit of power. Don't want to go down the Jap car road so wanna stay with European cars. Thinking of spending between 15-25k.
    The only car to catch my eye is the TT.

Anyone have one, would you buy one? Why/why not :)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

A Golf V6 4Motion will give you more power, more space, more refinement and a better view out. On the other hand, the TT wears a prettier frock. Which is more important to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭$Leon$

i've always found them to have a very hard ride.
    you seem to always have to fight them into gear.
    back seat only suitable for someone under 5ft.

on the plus side they look good and go fast.

would consider the golf 4motion (rare enough i'd say)
    how bout 130bhp TDi golf/ a3 or the same 1.8redT 180bhp quatro in the a3/a4?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,253 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

I'm not a Golf fan, don't like th cut of their jib

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

kerbdog wrote:
    I'm not a Golf fan, don't like th cut of their jib

If how the car looks is more important to you than anything else, then buy a TT. Be aware, however, that everyone will assume you're an IT nerd even if you're not.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

Nothing but trouble IMO. People here slag off Alfas for reliability issues, but I personally know two people who've had 'em and couldn't wait to get rid, it put me right off even considering one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Ayashii

I drive a 180 TT coupe and yes am an IT nerd... :D

Love the car and finding it hard to find anything else to replace it with. Engines are bulletproof as its the tried and tested 1.8T VAG engine thats been around a while.

Only once had a problem with it and that was to do with coilpack which is common with all VAG cars even the new GTI. Simple fix even outside warranty as its a known prob.

Give me a shout if u want more info or want a spin.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Love the car and finding it hard to find anything else to replace it with. Engines are bulletproof as its the tried and tested 1.8T VAG engine thats been around a while.

That would be one of the resons that they are not bulletrpoof. The 1.8 is one of VAG's least reliable motors.

From "honest John"
    What's Good
    Totally individual shape. No other car looks remotely like it and you either love them or hate them. 13' 3" long by 6' 1" wide and 1,475kg. All original UK spec cars have Haldex clutched four wheel drive with either 180 bhp or 225 bhp, which is a lot from 1.8 litres. RHD Roadsters arrived early 2000, but lots of grey imports before then. Three year warranty. 225s are very sure footed and great fun to drive on a severely twisting road. You can buy a used LHD two wheel drive German import TT 180 coupe for £8,000 from an import specialist. Four star NCP crash safety rating awarded January 2003. Cut price front drive 150bhp TT roadster available from Summer 2003 from £21,450. 250PS 3.2 litre chai- cam VR6 top engine from Autumn 2003. Offers 155mph and 0-60 in 6 seconds. Has a paddle shift electric twin clutch six-ratio 'Direct Shift Gearbox', first of its kind. Does 29mpg combined. UK Price £29,155. 3.2 DSG roadster from November 2003, priced £31,405 OTR. From July 2004, front-drive TT Coupé available to order priced at £20,725 OTR for the 5-speed manual, or £22,125 OTR for the 6-speed Tiptronic automatic. Has 180PS and 235Nm torque, does 0-60mph in 7.5 secs (auto 8.1), max speed 142mph (auto 140mph), combined mpg 34.8 (auto 31.0). 16-inch seven spoke alloy wheels, leather and Alcantara upholstered sports seats, electronic climate control, a leather-upholstered sports steering wheel (with tiptronic shift controls for automatic models) and a Driver’s Information System. Electronic Stability Programme (ESP) and Electronic Differential Lock (EDL) traction control ensure good traction.
    240PS 1.8 turbo TT Sport quattro coupe announced Feb 2005 with first UK deliveries May 2005 priced £29,335. No back seat or spare wheel to reduce weight and bring 0-62 time down to 5.9 seconds. Top speed 155mph. Exclusive 15 spoke wheels. Sportiest TT of all to drive.

From August 2005, 4 cylinder Coupé and Roadster benefit from a power upgrade. Power for TT Coupé and TT Coupé quattro models rises from
    180PS to 190PS. Power for TT Roadster 150PS rises to 163PS. Power for TT Roadster quattro 180PS rises to 190PS. Production of TT Coupé and Roadster 225PS models ends and 240PS TT Coupé quattro Sport becomes four-cylinder TT range flagship. TT Coupé and Roadster 3.2 V6 quattro models continue as before.

Road test 3.2DSG at www.honestjohn.co.uk/road_tests/index.htm?id=91

For more info link to Sportscar Guides:- www.sportscarguides.com

More at www.audi.co.uk

What's Bad
    A spate of high-speed autobahn accidents led to a German recall for suspension modifications to be made, ESP system and a rear spoiler to be fitted. Some doubt as to whether these accidents were caused by the car, by lack of skill or by a rear suspension joint seizing up. A new hood for the Roadster costs £5,000. Timing belt, tensioner and waterpump need replacing at 60k miles, not the 80k Audi specifies. This is a difficult £500 job because access is poor. 1.8 20v engines are snapping their timing belts at 65k - 80k miles, often after the belt-driven waterpump seizes, and the extensive damage this causes is sometimes not repairable. Car will usually need a replacement engine. 1.8 20Vs suffering problems with air mass sensors which cost around £200 to replace. All 1.8 20V turbos built from around August 2001 to October 2002 can suffer from failure of one or more of the four ignition coils, which lead to a dispute butween VAG and a supplier and a severe shortage of coils from November 2002 to January 2003. No stars for pedestrian safety in NCAP tests. Dashpods seem to fail rgularly on older cars and cost £690 - £900 to replace. Audi will pay up for UK sourced cars up to 5 years old and independent import sup to two and a half years old. Poor only 75% breakdown free in 2003 Which survey (due to the coils problem). Audi had average warranty repair costs in 2003 Warranty Direct Reliability index (index 101.16 v/s lowest 31.93). Link:- www.reliabilityindex.co.uk Audi TT the 2nd least reliable car in 2005 Warranty Direct Reliability Survey with 59 repair claims per 100 cars. Link:- www.reliabilityindex.co.uk, largely due to the problem with ignition coils. Rated Poor for breakdowns, problems and faults in 2003 Which survey but probably almost all as a result of the coils problem. Mere 79% of cars up to 2 years old breakdown-free over previous 12 months in 2004 Which? survey, again most likely to be due to the coils problem.

What to Watch Out For
    The car's history. Many are grey imports and it's important to know what you are paying for (such as whether fwd or four wheel drive) and pay accordingly. Some doubts as to longevity of the 225 bhp engine. Anything left on the rear parcel shelf could shatter the glass rear window of the Roadster when the hood is electrically lowered. It can't be replaced and means a new hood at £5k. Check the instruments carefully as a new dashpod is £900. Roof of TT Roadster has a wear problem where it folds, so never, ever buy a TT Roadster with the roof down. Always raise it and carefully inspect it. Problem of plastic fuel tanks splitting at the seams so check for fuel smells in boot.
    Recalls
    All 2,430 official UK imports recalled to Germany for extensive modifications to be made, including the fitting of ESP stability and traction control and a rear spoiler. Work took several weeks. Owners were supplied with an A4 courtesy car. Source Auto Express 16/2/2000. Official recall notice issued 17/4/2000. Official recall 25/9/2001: On cars built up to March 2000 the bottom rear hub carrier ball joint can corrode and seize, leading to the lower suspension arms snapping at the hub ends. Owners to call Audi Customer Services on 0800 699 888. 16-10-02: On cars with 3 spoke steering wheels airbags may not work. Airbag to be replaced, but affects only 79 of 4,400 cars.

Personally with 15-25K or so, I would be looking at an older M3. It seems like a lot of money to pay for a golf with one of VAG's most troublesome powerplants.

Yes I work in IT, but whats this about being an IT nerd? IT=TT? heh

Anywho, thanks for the input lads. Food for thought, will tell yea how I get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭cargrouch

Short novel of faults
    Cheeky;) Fecking Alfa's. Always breaking down. What...we're talking 'bout Audi? But sure they're German, they're fierce reliable :D

OP - I'd say BMW given your non-jap preference and the list of problems above. There were loads of TTs in Cork when they first came came out but I rarely see any these days.

Celica, Nissan Silvia/200sx or Altezza would be things I would look at over that price range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Slinky>

kerbdog wrote:
    I'm thinking of getting an Audi TT. Currently I have a 98 VW Passat. Want to give the Passat to my better half so looking for something else with a bit of power. Don't want to go down the Jap car road so wanna stay with European cars. Thinking of spending between 15-25k.

If your genuinely looking for something with a bit of power I think you will be disappionted with 180bhp particularly in a 4WD not too light coupe. If it had to be European I would get an older M3

• Registered Users Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

If you are a girl - then yes buy it nice car for a girl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

A golf is a farmers car. Get a TT.

egan007 wrote:
    If you are a girl - then yes buy it nice car for a girl

*handbags*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

Further reading, most of it bad. Also, there's a geezer I work with who is convinced he's David Beckham, and he's got a roadster. The word 'Tart' springs to mind...

Parkers Owners Reviews

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭ando

ah forget the TT, its a girls car.. like the Mini

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

Ayashii wrote:
    Only once had a problem with it and that was to do with coilpack which is common with all VAG cars even the new GTI.

Last GTI of particular years yes, new GTI it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Funxy

I used to have a tt and loved it at the time. Beautiful interior, always comfortable and certainly had alot of go in it! If its the only car that catches your eye then go for it but if any others do test drive them compared to that. I test drove most of the cars around the price range at the time and there was no question for me which one i wanted to be sitting in everyday ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

kerbdog wrote:
    *handbags*

Well you are looking for opinions
    If you have a thread like this for a car like this you are obviously curious what people will think when you drive by in it.

I'm not trying to be rude - just an honest opinion - that's what i would think..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Anan1 wrote:
    A Golf V6 4Motion will give you more power, more space, more refinement and a better view out. On the other hand, the TT wears a prettier frock. Which is more important to you?

both cars are hairdressers cars...

had the new GTi, had to sell it again, very disappointed with it. lacking in everything, besides every hairdresser and gay from here to Timbuktu drives them.

try something with a bit of power and class like a Subaru or Mitsubishi.
    or push the boat out with a skyline... now your talking performance, grip and raw power.

had the new GTi, had to sell it again, very disappointed with it. lacking in everything

Yeh you did. ;)

Someone who is into the likes of Skylines wouldn't have even thrown an eye on something like a GTI as it wouldn't interest them. Plus, your VAST knowledge of cars would have stopped you wasting so much money!!!

Big Balls wrote:
    Yeh you did. ;)

Someone who is into the likes of Skylines wouldn't have even thrown an eye on something like a GTI as it wouldn't interest them. Plus, your VAST knowledge of cars would have stopped you wasting so much money!!!

listen the OP asked our opinion, so if you want give it to him.

But your so right... and next time i wont be wasting my money on a GTi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

"try something with a bit of power and class like a Subaru or Mitsubishi."

Power = yes. class = LOL.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

I'm also an IT nerd and drive a 180bhp quattro TT. I love mine, I think it looks great and it's fairly nippy. However, it IS a girly car :D

There's enough space to fit a small monkey in the back which is wonderful if you don't like giving out lifts but obviously if you need to transport a rake of kids it's useless.
    Gearbox is clunky all right. Only problems I've had so far is with the electrics and window regulator which I got sorted out by going to an independent guy. Word of warning, stay away from the main dealers if you do buy one. I sent mine in to get the window regulator changed (pretty standard for VW's and Audis) and ended up being completely ripped off and the car came out with stuff wrong with the electrics which were fine before I sent it in.

I might be biased though, I've been in love with the car for years, and bought one without ever having sat in or driven one before :)

listen the OP asked our opinion, so if you want give it to him.

But your so right... and next time i wont be wasting my money on a GTi.

So what help does waffling on about Subarus give to the OP who is asking about TTs?

kerbdog wrote:

if i was you i would go down the road with a jap... they don't break down and they leave any hairdressers (golf or tt) behind...
    beside do ya really want drive down the road looking like a gay hairdresser.
    i thought not, go jap

OP - you're clearly interested in the TT.

Unless you are homophobic (not pointing fingers at anyone in particular) then I wouldn't worry about the hairdresser comments. A Hyundai Coupe is a hairdressers car fair enough but I don't see many hairdressers buying TTs or Golf GTIs.

Big Balls wrote:
    OP - you're clearly interested in the TT.

Unless you are homophobic (not pointing fingers at anyone in particular) then I wouldn't worry about the hairdresser comments. A Hyundai Coupe is a hairdressers car fair enough but I don't see many hairdressers buying TTs or Golf GTIs.

from a GTi driver i bet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭jayok

from a GTi driver i bet.

You're talking to a brick wall here \m/_(>_<)_\m/. Big Balls is a GTI driver and no matter what the facts are the GTI (in Big Balls view) is simply the best car in the world and nothing else comes close. Had him on a Civic Type-R thread and claimed the GTI was quicker (it's not) and when challenged on it it was stated "but by only 0.3s". Maybe but even if only 0.0001s of a second quicker it is still quicker. Then came the claim that the GTI was an "all round quicker car" and that it had a higher top-speed of 147MPH (GTI) versus 146MPH (CTR). Fair enough it's faster, but not quicker! :)

To the OP - If you like the TT buy it, if you like the Golf buy it. Personally, I think the TT is good looking and had dated well. However, I just don't think they are *that* special anymore. That's just a personal view. For the kind of money they are commanding I too would buy an M3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Ernie Ball

It's really a sad commentary when hatchbacks (hatchbacks!) are upheld as 'manly' cars while sports cars are derided as 'girly' or 'gay.'

How did things come to this?

Hatchbacks!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Ernie Ball wrote:
    It's really a sad commentary when hatchbacks (hatchbacks!) are upheld as 'manly' cars while sports cars are derided as 'girly' or 'gay.'

How did things come to this?

Hatchbacks!

Insurance premiums meant that only women can drive 'em!