Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maths Paper 1

• 08-06-2006 11:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

How did everyones exam go?

I left mine 30 minutes early having done all eight of the questions (Higher Level)

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭blahhh

I did ordinary I did all 8, but I did REALLY bad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Zeuz

blahhh wrote:
    I did ordinary I did all 8, but I did REALLY bad :(

The same all 8 well atempted all 8, i think i will be doing a repeat :-( :mad: I am Pissssed off :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

every one that did ordinary in my school are complaining about the part (c)'s

even the supervisers said they were stupid questions.... that have never came up before

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

DrMorphine wrote:
    every one that did ordinary in my school are complaining about the part (c)'s

even the supervisers said they were stupid questions.... that have never came up before

Yeah the pass people in my school were complaining of the questions too.

I did the hons exam, can't tell how I did though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Idgeitman

yeah, i was lost on most of the part C's, and hopefully i'll be able to pull myself back up on paper 2

.. now way in HELL im gonna repeat!

- idgeitman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭DonaldDuck

I did bad in honours maths.Very bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Ordinary was very, very dodgy, mostly the part C's. Some of the questions like the tax question in q1, (c) (ii), or asking to prove the triangle was right angled in q2, (c) (ii) were fairly tough, I thought. That said though, I think I did alright although it's very hard to tell at this stage :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

According to the teachers in my school, 2(c) and 5(c)(i) were horrible questions, I was certainly going nowhere with them anyway. Other than that, I made full or reasonably close to full attempts at all the other questions, a few clearly wrong answers but should get most of the marks.

Didn't do as well as I'd hoped at all but a good paper 2 and I reckon I'll do alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 schnupi

i actually thought the honors paper wasnt too hard

here is what i think of each question

1) a,b,c- piss easy.. too easy somehow
    2)a-easy, bi - easy, bii - that q confused me a little, c - i didnt get the result but was quite close i think
    3)a and b werent too bad. c was a bitch.. got weird results but was quite far
    4) a,b,c were very easy...just look at the last part of c.. that says it all :rolleyes:
    5) - didnt attempt that one because of the last log question.. i hate logs grr.. well a and b look handy enough though
    6) a and b very ok except for the sketch of the curve but c was a bitch.. i had it covered but forgot how to do it. my teachers said though that an induction question in q6 wont be marked high.. it should ve been in q4 or q5 even though it was the proof for differentiation
    7)a - easy, bi - alright, bii - hmm again very close, c - close once again but never got the result
    8)that was another easy question a,b and c

i attempted 7/8 in total and thought it wasnt too bad after screwing up english yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Ballina boy

Put it this way...if i dont get 6 outa 6 in paper 2 ill be repeating..

Some of the questions in the paper i hadent even see before..really really bad paper.[pass]

Better get craming for paper 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

honours maths wasnt too bad..was easier that last years at least

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

I did ordinary I have only covered 1-5 and 7. I would have never taught of using H2 = O2 + A2 for 2.(c)(ii). I say I got a B3 but I was hoping for an A2:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭helles belles

i did honours.
    thought it was ok, but i really wanted an A in that paper and i dont think i got it.
    question 1(c) i didnt have a clue about!
    question 2(bii) was really odd
    i didnt get the last part of the integration question to work out and my graph in the calculus question!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭porn_star

did pass.
    it was grand really.
    some of the part c's were ****ing stupid though.
    but, i reckon it was okish,
    i thought i did **** last year and i got an a2, so hopefully i'll pull it off this year too though.
    i prefer paper two anyways, so that should bring me up, either way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 tweetypie

Did the pass paper and thought it was hard enough but thats my weaker paper cause i generally always do better in paper 2! Find it a lot easier!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Thought the ordinary was decent enough, cept for those C's in 2 and 5... WTF? Loved question one though, deffo 50 marks in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

eamoss wrote:
    I would have never taught of using H2 = O2 + A2 for 2.(c)(ii).
    Damn - is that what it was? :eek:

I did the following:
    Use equation of a line: y = mx + c, and took 4/x and (x-4) [ / = square root of]

y = m x + c
    y = 4 /x
    => Slope = 4

y = m x + c
    -4 = 1 x
    1 = 1/-4 (fraction: 1 over -4)

Multiply the slopes:
    4 X -1/4 = -1
    => Two are perpendicular, hence right angle
    => Triangle is right angled

I hope it's right!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Inglorious

Higher wasnt too bad.
    Reckon I got full marks in Q1, 5, and 8.
    Perhaps about 40 in Q4, 6, and 7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

Holsten wrote:
    Loved question one though, deffo 50 marks in that.
    Very easy ques but the way they phrased part C could have gotten people. I def got 50 marks in that ques I was finished it in under 10mins.

For question 3 part C I got 2.6 did anyone get 0.1?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 k8e

ye maths caused me 2 run d pub aftrwards, ok it wsnt dat bad but i still went 2 d pub straight aftr it! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭willowmegs

Was disgusted with Maths Paper 1 (O) :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Ballina boy

me too....you think paper 2 is easier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭willowmegs

me too....you think paper 2 is easier?
    feckin better be. gonna learn my theorems til i know them backwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

Just to put off studying for Irish paper 2...

Honours paper:

Q1 was lovely, although (a) scared me for about 15 seconds.
    Q2 (a) and (b) were simple enough, I went all around the world trying to do that (c) part and got nowhere.
    Q3 I left out
    Q4 was again lovely right the way through, although that (c) part was suspiciously easy.
    Q5 (a), (b) and (c)(ii) were fine, if somebody shows me how to do (c)(i), I'd be greatly pleased.
    Q6 was annoying because I ****ed up the (b) part somewhat and my graph was a mess, but the rest of it was super.
    Q7 went well, except I just couldn't get the last few lines of (c) to work out.
    Q8 I only did this because I wasn't happy about the rest, haven't done integration in yonks. Couldn't do (b)(ii) and got (c) wrong.

Overall I was hoping for an A, but I doubt I got it (well, barring major attempt mark leniency, I didn't). I need a good paper 2 or I'll be well pissed off with myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

I'll do out 5 c (i) out for you. Hurray procrastination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭DonaldDuck

The most annoying thing for me was that I couldnt get 3 (a) out :(

I couldnt get it as a real number,How do you do it?

The question was z=2+i
    z +[U]d[/U]
       z

as a real number

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

yeah i did ordinary.

pretty simple tbh, the (a) parts are easy, full marks (60).

got a couple of (b)'s right (40) and 2 (c)'s (40).

once i knew i'd got 140, i said f-it and walked out after an hour :D to study for irish which i anialated due to my strategic approach to maths :)

a pass for me in maths but more importantly, a definate pass for me in irsh (higher) already - with paper 2 yet to go.

write it out as 2 + i + 1/(2+i) then multiply above and below by the conjugate root (2-i) then LCM, create a fraction, and equate real and imaginary parts.

d = 5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭helles belles

I didnt get 3 (a) out either!!!
    it is shameful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭michelle_ie

maths ordinary level- disgusting paper, left the exam hall in tears... spent honestly all my time and energy tryin to do that subject and i know i had to have failed.... im hoping though that because i answered the 6 questions and attempted every part of the paper that i perhaps scrap a pass....

but seriously it was a paper for higher standards students, the department dont care about the weak math students and need to understand that if u fail maths u fail ur leaving...

horrible horrible horrible