Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Thunderdome - Justifiable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

The Muppet wrote:
    If it were my child I would be very pissed about what wasallowed happen in that thread. I suggest most parents would fell the same.
    This hits on an interesting point.

Boards is a grown-ups site.

It's not an "adult" site, since for some reason "adult" is taken to mean material of a pornographic nature (the fact that "adult" means this, rather than a wider range of material suitable for those who are not children, probably says something less than complimentary about our culture, but that's another matter).

It's not a "mature" site, since "mature" sometimes means the same as "adult" above and even when it doesn't, this site is often pretty immature (not a bad thing, if it doesn't distract from the more sensible discussions).

It's not a children's site either though. It's a grown-ups site. Some children have, from the sites conception, been able to hold their own and contribute meaningful intelligent posts, so we've never had an over-18s rule, and besides plenty of the inarticulate sub-morons around are well past the age of majority. None-the-less it's not a children's site and we don't have to think about the children.

CSG doesn't tend to strike me as an intelligent poster (what is the point of the OP saying the attacks are "apparently based solely on her posts in other threads" - it's if they were based on anything other than her innane posts that it would be unfair) but has dealt with the thread in an intelligent manner; ignoring it and waiting until it quickly turned into a row between other people about other things, as any Thunderdome thread that doesn't just die will do.

Personally I wasn't too sure of the whole idea of the Thunderdome, and I'm still not now, but this thread doesn't weigh against it much.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Would a parent of some 10 year old be more concerned about a thread where two people are abusing each other or a thread where people are going on about being drunk and trying to pull? Or a thread about abortion? Or age of consent? Or denouncing the existence of God? etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 digit7

Talliesin wrote:
    This hits on an interesting point.

Boards is a grown-ups site.

It's not an "adult" site, since for some reason "adult" is taken to mean material of a pornographic nature (the fact that "adult" means this, rather than a wider range of material suitable for those who are not children, probably says something less than complimentary about our culture, but that's another matter).

It's not a "mature" site, since "mature" sometimes means the same as "adult" above and even when it doesn't, this site is often pretty immature (not a bad thing, if it doesn't distract from the more sensible discussions).

It's not a children's site either though. It's a grown-ups site. Some children have, from the sites conception, been able to hold their own and contribute meaningful intelligent posts, so we've never had an over-18s rule, and besides plenty of the inarticulate sub-morons around are well past the age of majority. None-the-less it's not a children's site and we don't have to think about the children.

<snip>

As much as you would probably like that all to sound like fact, it is nothing more than your opinion. Unless you have done an indepth study on all the members, their ages etc etc?

Where does it say boards.ie is a grownups site? Where does it say any where what type of site it is other than "a popular irish bulletin board"
    It grew from gamers. Back in the day circa 99-2000 it was prodominatly teens using it. Not nessecarily of the younger teen variety but teens none the less. The counter strike board would be a good example.

You might be an "adult" now and the people you associate with "adults" now, but please don't speak on behalf of the other 50 odd thousand members in such a made up factual way. It makes you come across like one of those [qoute]inarticulate sub-morons around are well past the age of majority[/quote] you mentioned.

Boards.ie is an irish bulletin board. That was the founders vision of the future. A very inclusive Irish bulletin board. You don't even have to be over 13 to post here but you do have to mention it if you are under 13 when signing up.

I think he was trying to highlight that boards isn't aimed at and doesn't pretend to cater for children and younger teens. They are not prevented from posting here but neither does the site aim to be "child safe" across the board. To be fair though, according to the Boards Census the vast majority of the posters here are over 18. So his points are justified in that sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 digit7

nesf wrote:
    I think he was trying to highlight that boards isn't aimed at and doesn't pretend to cater for children and younger teens. They are not prevented from posting here but neither does the site aim to be "child safe" across the board. To be fair though, according to the Boards Census the vast majority of the posters here are over 18. So his points are justified in that sense.

CTYI Board?
    Junior Cert.

I'd call that "catering for" and those boards where here before the Sex board.
    That CTYI board has been here for donkeys ages!

Basically he put across his opinion as fact. Be that intentional or not. You may try and presuppose him and as such back him up on it but that still does not make it so. It is his opinion and he is welcome to it. But it should be stated as such.

Shut up Merc_Tilt, you're banned already, your opinions don't count for anything here.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Talliesin wrote:
    Shut up Merc_Tilt, you're banned already, your opinions don't count for anything here.

on the contrary, the opinion of the poster (i dont assume to know who it is) counts for exactly the same as yours.

and they do have a point. what you say is only your opinion, and not fact.

but thats a different debate.

personally i would wonder why someone would bother reading thunderdome if they dont like it, or get upset about it.

Nope, Merc_Tilt's opinion isn't to be entered into this because he's not allowed to post on any forums except Prison (and if I'm wrong about it being Merc_Tilt, though his claiming to be able to read the admin's minds would indicate that, as would a few other matters, it's not someone who's any good at pretending to have registered in Jun 2006).

Someone else having expressing the same opinion - fine. Merc_Tilt expressing any opinion - something for him to do on some site he isn't banned from.

personally i would wonder why someone would bother reading thunderdome if they dont like it, or get upset about it.

I've found that if I assume that people just enjoy getting upset and complaining about it the world makes far more sense.

ah yes, but we do all know that some people just like to complain because it gets them airtime....

It is definitely a perk of the hobby.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Kaiser3000 this you knows: the years travel fast and time after time I done the tell. But this ain't one body's tell; it's the tell of us all, and you've got to listen it and member, 'cause what you hears today you gotta tell the birthed tomorrow.

I's lookin behind us now, into history back. I sees those of us that got the luck and started the haul for home and I 'members how it led us here and how we was heartbroke cause we seen what they once was. One look and we knew'd we'd got it straight. Those what had gone before had the knowin' and the doin' of things beyond our reckonin', even beyond our dreamin'. Time counts and keeps countin' and we knows now, findin' the trick of what's been and lost ain't no easy ride.

But that's our trek. We gotta travel it and there ain't nobody knows where it's gonna lead. Still, in all, every night we does the tell so that we member who we was and where we came from.

But most of all we 'members the man who finded us, him that came the salvage, and we lights the city not just for him but for all of 'em that are still out there, cause we knows there'll come a night when they sees the distant light and they'll be comin' home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

I hope you copied and pasted that Gordon ;)

Ermmm I partook in the debacle thread in question, mostly out of boredom one day in work when it was quiet. I'll preface the rest of this post by saying, I probably have one of the lowest tolerances for idiots on boards and as such, I think I've read maybe 5 of CSGs posts ever (I wish I had a cool acronym that everyone used). I would guess that in all her posts she has never actually posted anything of worth.

However, I've pretty much the same opinion of the majority of posters on that thread, especially the main protagonists.

Now, I'm not at all concerned about a thunderdome thread (I was initially quite amused to find the place existed - and then quickly very bored) and threads of mass flamage are not a new thing to boards (or indeed me for that matter).

What does strike me as a bit off is that some user should see themselves fit to follow another user around boards just to bully them. Now alot of users with rivalries tend to follow up one anothers posts on various forums, usually thats a two way thing. In this case one user has appointed herself the task of attacking the other until she learns the error of her ways. That is effectively bullying and it is not confined to Thunderdome.

The fact that posts from Kiera and silas themselves contain the wit, intelligence and worth of the faeces of a diarrhoeal mongrel, compounds the problem.

Take this doozy
    kiera wrote:
    Get bent PSI, just because she has fúck all cop on to defend herself against me doesn’t make me a bully! She’s not replying to me coz she’s a fúcking plank, no two ways about it. It is not my fault that I can hold my own and she needs internerds to defend her!

It appears that by Kiera's reckoning, picking on people who can't defend themselves "isn't" bullying. I'm not an expert on bullying, but if that isn't bullying, can anyone come up with a definition for me?

Personally, I think they should all be dealt with, preferably in a manner that concludes with the use of quicklime, but failing that I think that out-and-out bullying, as opposed to flamewars/rivalries should be eliminated from the site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Lads, firstly nothing I say on the thunderdome should ever be taken too seriously. I only got involved in the thread to try and start the Kiera vs CSG thing up again. I actually don't care about any of it. It's only friendly banter. If you can't take a slagging then you shouldn't go to the thunderdome. Likewise, if someone slagging you off over the internet affects you psychologically (as suggested earlier) you should pull the plug out of your computer and never turn it on again, ever.

Some people got worked up with what I was saying on there. I assure you none of it was serious. If people took me up the wrong way, which they obviously did, then that's your problem. I like the thunderdome because the insults can be hilarious. I don't think it's damaging at all. The same way I don't think freedom of information is damaging either.
    "Don't let those people read, they'll become intelligent and they could do ANYTHING!"

Closing the thread or the forum would be silly IMO. Some of us have stressful lives and would love to have a go at someone because of something they say on a forum - the thunderdome allows you to do this without bringing the level of intelligent conversation a forum offers, down.

I hope by now people will realise that I was never trying to help CSG at all. It was just a base from which I could get involved in the thread.

So, Kaiser2000, you seriously need to lighten up buddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

psi wrote:
    I hope you copied and pasted that Gordon ;)

Ermmm I partook in the debacle thread in question, mostly out of boredom one day in work when it was quiet. I'll preface the rest of this post by saying, I probably have one of the lowest tolerances for idiots on boards and as such, I think I've read maybe 5 of CSGs posts ever (I wish I had a cool acronym that everyone used). I would guess that in all her posts she has never actually posted anything of worth.

However, I've pretty much the same opinion of the majority of posters on that thread, especially the main protagonists.

Now, I'm not at all concerned about a thunderdome thread (I was initially quite amused to find the place existed - and then quickly very bored) and threads of mass flamage are not a new thing to boards (or indeed me for that matter).

What does strike me as a bit off is that some user should see themselves fit to follow another user around boards just to bully them. Now alot of users with rivalries tend to follow up one anothers posts on various forums, usually thats a two way thing. In this case one user has appointed herself the task of attacking the other until she learns the error of her ways. That is effectively bullying and it is not confined to Thunderdome.

The fact that posts from Kiera and silas themselves contain the wit, intelligence and worth of the faeces of a diarrhoeal mongrel, compounds the problem.

Take this doozy

It appears that by Kiera's reckoning, picking on people who can't defend themselves "isn't" bullying. I'm not an expert on bullying, but if that isn't bullying, can anyone come up with a definition for me?

Personally, I think they should all be dealt with, preferably in a manner that concludes with the use of quicklime, but failing that I think that out-and-out bullying, as opposed to flamewars/rivalries should be eliminated from the site.

^ what he said ^

The problem is Kieras obsession with CSG. She obviously hates the fact that CSG is getting some action and she's not so decided to start a crusade against her by searching for all CSG posts and replying to them slagging her off.

Rename the thread "Kieras pitiful bitter Jealous obsessive unprovoked attacks on CSG" and remind her to put CSG on her ignore list. (is there anyway admins can automatically make Kieras account ignore CSG) That would be great, drive the cnut mad.

Do you reckon CSG turned down Kieras sexual advances at some stage and this is why Kiera hates her so much. Unrequited love perhaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Nothing that extravagent I fear, clownbag, it's more a fight for attention. They both love it. Lately, CSG has been getting more attention than Kiera and it's killing her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

What a silly little twit you are, Clown bag! It’s the Thunderdome, like most have said in here, if you don’t like it then don’t go there! Its all a bit of a laugh. There have been many insults thrown my way and still I read it. I think too many of you take it to heart. Csg has admitted herself that she finds it funny so leave it be. The people who seem to be taking this to heart is everyone else bar myself and csg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Can i use abuse in here or restricted to the Thunderdome?

work away.

although, the level of insults has gotten really bad recently. i cant even bring myself to post there anymore. its been an awful long time since i saw a good burn there.
    you may abuse in here if you wish. of course, you do run the risk of being banned by the admins, but if its a risk youre willing to take, go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Big Nelly wrote:

Why bother. A few more clicks and you're in the safety of the thunderdome...

Kiera wrote:
    What a silly little twit you are, Clown bag!

:eek: cant belief you called me a twit :( there was no need for that.

All I said was that you have an unhealthy obsession with CSG probably as a result of her turning down your sexual advances. I reckon CSG is more of a lady than you ever will be. I just reckon you're petty and bitter, that’s all, no need for the profanities calling me a twit. :( That was really hurtful.

clown bag wrote:
    :eek: cant belief you called me a twit :( there was no need for that.
    Stop being a cnut.

Gordon wrote:
    Stop being a cnut.

:eek: now I'm a cnut. :eek:

love that word :p

clown bag wrote:
    :eek: now I'm a cnut. :eek:

love that word :p
    Well you did use it as an adjective of Kiera earlier in the thread and since you seemed to get offended by the description of "twit" I think the term "cnut" suits you.

I mean, talk about pot - kettle - hitler
    hitlereyes2fa.gif

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Big Nelly wrote:
    Just post insults in teh thunderdome and link your post in other fora, handy.

The Thunderdome is fine. Oh boo hoo, somebody tried to hurt my feelings on teh internet. However shall I sleep at night.
    Great forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

WRT sustaining drama, it transpires that the OP is in fact slipping his "silly sausage" to CSG on a regular basis. As the lady herself said... Kudos to Roundey Mooney for realising this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

I, for one, am devastated that I'll be missing those beers.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Oh, the scandal!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hmm, i may avoid this one or go especially, who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Thanks Shabadu.

I'm intrigued now, I may even make the long journey up from darkest Cork, just to attend.