Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

music

• 17-06-2006 7:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭

hey all!! iv only 2 exams left cant wait to finish!

just wondering has any1s teachers given tips on what could come up as the main work this year.

coz my teacher didnt give netin... hate em!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

Since 2000 (as far as i know) it has always been the baroque pieces (i.e Bach).

but i cant see how it matters because they all come up as nearly the same marks if not the same.

Learn about SEAN nOs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Rockerette

Barry was up last year as the main one though no??

and as ^ said, does it matter?! you have to know them all...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Barry came up last year, so dunno where you're getting only Baroque pieces come up?
    Tchaikovsky came up in my mocks, dunno about other ones.
    There's never been the same work asked two years in a row so I think you can count out Barry coming up as the main work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Particle-Boy

Rockerette wrote:
    Barry was up last year as the main one though no??

and as ^ said, does it matter?! you have to know them all...

Goddammit i hope Barry doesn't come up again. C'mon Bach! I love that Cantata. I'm rooting for the Aria Duetto!! If that comes up I will DANCE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭porn_star

I'd love if Barry came up again...although I know he won't...lol..I remember last year when barry came up and everyone turned over they're paper and groaned and then they all looked at me and I was like 'YAAAAAAAAAY' lol...****ing love that piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

Queen hasnt come up as a main question yet, so keep your fingers crossed.

Slurms wrote:
    There's never been the same work asked two years in a row so
    I think you can count out Barry coming up as the main work.

im almost sure Bach came up 2 years in a row a while back.. cant quote the years, but i think it did.

The questions on Barry arent usually very hard though, i got best marks in him for the mocks (ok, so i did desperate in the rest, and got like, 8/10 for Barry...).

Tchaivoksky was on our mocks too, did absolutely crap.. hopefully i've copped on a bit since then

Is Aria Duetto, is that the 2nd movement?? i love that one. i sing along in my -i-dont-know-german-but-hell-i'll-sing-along-anyway way :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Barry is my favourite, a masterpiece imo. Don't count on any one in particular coming up, just learn them all the best you can. If anyone went to those workshops on music and got the notes just learn them and you'll be grand. There's more than enough information in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭porn_star

yeah, I don't think there's anypoint in trying to figure out whats going to come up as a long question, cos in reality you need to know them all anyways.
    I'd rather if queen didn't come up as the long question cos I think it's a bit hard to answer on...and I suck at Back cos I was out sick when they were doing it in school last year...and then this year when I was repeating, I missed them doing it again..ioh well, Ill soldier on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Sawa

exiot wrote:
    Queen hasnt come up as a main question yet, so keep your fingers crossed.

Queen cant really come up because there is not enough material to ask on and its a bit easy. Is any one else doing Ordinary Level?
    My teacher told me I should drop down because I got a D2 in the mocks, so I only played two songs for my practical. The Ordinary is so good though!! :D

If Bach comes up and No.6 Bass Aria is the piece I will actually sing it. I love that piece, Ive even learnt off all the words in German to it!

Sawa wrote:
    Queen cant really come up because there is not enough material to ask on and its a bit easy. Is any one else doing Ordinary Level?
    My teacher told me I should drop down because I got a D2 in the mocks, so I only played two songs for my practical. The Ordinary is so good though!! :D
    There is plenty of material for Queen, they cant put the score down on the sheet because its not all correct but it can come up as the main question, why would you complain if it did?

Anyway Music is an easy subject, the easiest subject I would say. It has the nicest questions, you can predict whats coming up question wise, not the sections. Learn off 2 or 3 essays and you will be grand.

Sawa wrote:
    Queen cant really come up because there is not enough material to ask on and its a bit easy.

theres loads to ask!

and some people dont find it easy at all... i knew a few people and the idea of a riff, or studio techinques confuse the hell outta them

On wednesday night i need to super-cram my irish music theory 10mark bit,
    -singing tradition
    -fusions
    -sean o'riada, just.. in general

shall be what i learn, anything else comes up, they can feck off..

Slurms wrote:
    If Bach comes up and No.6 Bass Aria is the piece I will actually sing it. I love that piece, Ive even learnt off all the words in German to it!
    Tenor Aria ftw. Love playing the flute part, tis cool.

Btw CARARAC is the way to remember the order of the Cantata if you're stuck in the exam.

Chorale
    Aria Duetto
    Recitative
    Aria <tenor>
    Recitative <Bass>
    Aria
    Chorale

I think anyway, I've got a music class tomorrow so I'll be well refreshed by tomorrow night.

Daddio wrote:
    Btw CARARAC is the way to remember the order of the Cantata
    You went to the Trinity grind thingys aswell?

Daddio wrote:
    Tenor Aria ftw. Love playing the flute part, tis cool.

Btw CARARAC is the way to remember the order of the Cantata if you're stuck in the exam.

Chorale
    Aria Duetto
    Recitative
    Aria <tenor>
    Recitative <Bass>
    Aria
    Chorale

I think anyway, I've got a music class tomorrow so I'll be well refreshed by tomorrow night.
    Its not really the order you need to know, its the name of the actual part when its being played.. which Im hopeless at, I know what Im going to be listening to non-stop on my iPod now.. ha ha

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭Ballerina

jees are people actually looking at music as an actual exam???!!!ooops....better start studying.....:o

Slurms wrote:
    You went to the Trinity grind thingys aswell?
    I was indeed.
    Good times, the best, maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

The way I look at it is that it's best to spend the bulk of your time getting the written paper firmed up - you could nearly bluff your way through the aural paper with the 3 set works counting for about 35mks out of 100 (35/400 of the overall exam).

On the first paper I'd advise doing question 1 - if it's a minor or compound time and you're unsure of it have a look at Q.3 (dance style) but make sure to note if they ask you to do it in a certain form (e.g. a b a1 b1/ a b b1 a1) and watch for the anachrusis. Don't even consider looking at Q.2.

For the other question I like the one that asks you to fill in the boxes with the chords and do the bass line, but it's really a personal preference. Things to watch out for is your cadences (make sure that the final line ends in V-I perfect cadence), to never use the chord II but use IIb (the first inversion) instead, if you have two root chords on either side of an awkward chord like

(I) (blank) (I)

a great progression to use is (Ib) (7b) (I), and if you're using roman numerals instead of letters make sure that the minor chords are in lowercase or you'll lose shedloads of marks. Generally it's I-ii-iii-IV-V-vi-vii but it'll be on the paper to the left anyways.

I'm gunning for Tchaikovsky on the aural paper - it definitely won't be Queen anyhow. For the history segment if you know one trad (planxty) and one fusion (horslips) you should be all right.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 emertheleemer

jimi_t wrote:
    The way I look at it is that it's best to spend the bulk of your time getting the written paper firmed up - you could nearly bluff your way through the aural paper with the 3 set works counting for about 35mks out of 100 (35/400 of the overall exam).

On the first paper I'd advise doing question 1 - if it's a minor or compound time and you're unsure of it have a look at Q.3 (dance style) but make sure to note if they ask you to do it in a certain form (e.g. a b a1 b1/ a b b1 a1) and watch for the anachrusis. Don't even consider looking at Q.2.

For the other question I like the one that asks you to fill in the boxes with the chords and do the bass line, but it's really a personal preference. Things to watch out for is your cadences (make sure that the final line ends in V-I perfect cadence), to never use the chord II but use IIb (the first inversion) instead, if you have two root chords on either side of an awkward chord like

(I) (blank) (I)

a great progression to use is (Ib) (7b) (I), and if you're using roman numerals instead of letters make sure that the minor chords are in lowercase or you'll lose shedloads of marks. Generally it's I-ii-iii-IV-V-vi-vii but it'll be on the paper to the left anyways.

I'm gunning for Tchaikovsky on the aural paper - it definitely won't be Queen anyhow. For the history segment if you know one trad (planxty) and one fusion (horslips) you should be all right.

I did the leaving cert last year - the aural paper is worth 100 marks in total. Remember you already have 200 marks done from your practical. The four set works are actually worth 50 marks out of 400 (10, 10, 10 and 20 for the big question.) Its is possible that any of the four works will come up and they have repeated the bach question a number of years in a row previously so it's impossible to predict what will come up. Chances are that Bohemian will come up because it hasn't come up before. THere are a lot of questions they can ask on recording techniques, instrumental techniques (panning, multitracking, overdubbing, licks etc). Write as much as you can in explaining and naming each of these things. Its easy to read a question that says name and explain. a lot of people would name something and forget about the explaining part which could be worth most of the marks for the question. The pieces are mostly played for you in the exam. Thats why its really important to trust your ear. same applies to irish music section (15 marks for aural, 10 marks for essay) You can afford to waffle the essay.
    Then there is the aural unseen piece. I found this to be the hardest question last year and its worth a lot of marks (20) Its the final question in the aural exam and concentration tends to go. Again trust your ear. Its all you have with this question.

The composition paper then in the afternoon tends to be quite challenging. Lats year they had a really awful chords question with a suspended bass line. If there is a horrible bass line, you can always stick in a boring rhythm (correction made Thanks Jimi T!) as long as you put a different note under each box and the rhythm adds up!or whatever, if you think you will make a mess of it the other way. Style of bass is worth either 8 or 12 marks so its not that much really. In relation to the chords,(60 marks) you could in fact get a cadence at the end which is the chord of four going to one. Also watch out for 1C to five to one. We were never allowed to use the chord of seven so unless you know how to use it avoid it. Same applies to the chord of three. Don't start experimenting!
    Melody question is worth 40 marks. To find out if its a minor melody look at the instructions at the top of the page. Remember you DO NOT have to modulate to the dominant in a minor key so the instruction to modulate will be there if its major. It will not be there if its minor. Don't get bogged down on whether its major or minor because the answer is right in fromt of you! With the melody again stick with your ear. Try to sing it in your head. I know its easier said than done! anyways good luck to you all!

. Lats year they had a really awful chords question with a suspended bass line. If there is a horrible bass line, you can always stick in minims or whatever, if you think you will make a mess of it the other way.

Don't even CONSIDER this if it's in compound time!! You'll lose all credibility with the examiner. Also, if you are going to do this make sure that the rhythmn adds up - if it's in 3/4 and there's 3 boxes... Well :)

Otherwise, good advice emer

Good point! You seem to know your stuff!

Yep on Wednesday, gunning for the a1 big style to try and compensate for my... less harmonious subjects :D

Was a student in the DIT for the last decade and, in fairness, they did hammer a lot into me plus my teacher in school is an absolute prince (His compositions were set works on the GCSE course in England AFAIK :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Sawa

jimi_t wrote:
    Yep on Wednesday, gunning for the a1 big style to try and compensate for my... less harmonious subjects :D

Sounds like you've got it all sorted but mate just make sure you don't forget to turn up on thursday!!!

Sorry!!

Daddio wrote:
    I was indeed.
    Good times, the best, maybe.
    I had a great time trying to send stuff to the womans computer with my phone over Bluetooth. I even changed my name to Tchaikovsky Rocks my Socks after her Tchaikovsky lecture. Was great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bribri

ok now you guys are freeking the crap out of me cos i have spent tha last week on studyin chema dn havent even lookad at my music, by the way my teacher is tippin queen to come up but ya mite aswell learn it all and as one of the messages said you can bluff through the aural i need to work on the composing thank good for the irish music wat a piece of p##s:) good luck to ye all though!!

bribri wrote:
    ok now you guys are freeking the crap out of me cos i have spent tha last week on studyin chema dn havent even lookad at my music, by the way my teacher is tippin queen to come up but ya mite aswell learn it all and as one of the messages said you can bluff through the aural i need to work on the composing thank good for the irish music wat a piece of p##s:) good luck to ye all though!!
    Relax I havent even studied for Music once this year. It's all simple stuff that can be crammed the night before.
    Now Classics, is another beast entirely!

aye im not too fussed about it really.. hopefully it'll all go graaaaand on teh day

and 50% is already done, so the worst bits over i think

jimi_t wrote:

Was a student in the DIT for the last decade and, in fairness, they did hammer a lot into me plus my teacher in school is an absolute prince (His compositions were set works on the GCSE course in England AFAIK :) )

Thats cool man! Hope you get it:D you sound like me last year- now im doing music in college and loving it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Pez

Could sum1 tell me what the continuo is? Its in most of the bach piece lol