Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Salthill Airshow, Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Any idea what the weather is for Sunday?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Very good, I was aking about that the other day but no-one knew when it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Seems a pretty poor line up this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭derek27

Seems a pretty poor line up this year?
    well red arrows will be the main event as usual... line up always gets more exciting closer to the date because a lot of them cant confirm participation until closer to the date. i'd saw there'll be more by sunday.

I hear the Anti-War brigade along with the new Mayor will be releasing 99 Red Balloons down around Nimos pier as a demonstration to the involment of Military Aircraft in the Airshow.I know where 99% of people wont be going.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Attack them and burn their hemp ridden bodies.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

boo-urns boo-urns

• Registered Users Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Would you get a good view of it from Renville ?

Seven Worlds will Collide

Would you get a good view of it from Renville ?

Weather permitting you will have a good view from across the bay in Clare.If its clear blue skies its pretty class but low cloud it kinda sucks even in Salthill.

To be honest the best times i have ever saw the show is the day before the show is going to take place,although it did not happen last year.Normally the jets do a few practise runs.One year i was strolling leisurely along the prom when this harrier desides to hover about 50 ft out from the prom,shook the living sh1t out of everything in the area.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

I remember being on the beach one year watching the show. Then this ****ing jet turns on his afterburner right infront of where I was. Damn near knocked me down. The power unleashed is something else. I'll probably head down, its usually a good laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's not the same without the yanks.

I wonder will there be any rivalry between the warmongers and the hipies? One good flyby should sort out those babaloons.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I'm going out on the boat - Best. View. Ever.

And certainly beats the skanky waterfront hotel trying to charge 30euro per person to sit on a frickin balcony.

The diesel consumption on the boat wont even come to 30euro, and ill have 6 on board! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭MargeS

the line up WILL be better on Sunday!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

This is my first show so I am looking forward to it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Not too bad considering its FOC

Mind you, the funniest thing was having to have the deputy mayor open the event as the newly elected mayor was at a demonstration down the road supporting the crowd trying to ban the event.

Not much cop for a mayor trying to ensure that he has visitors to the city!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

F-15's over Oranmore :eek:

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Red Arrows were fecking awesome dude! The rest were ok-ish like.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

biko wrote:
    Red Arrows were fecking awesome dude! The rest were ok-ish like.

Back to D4 with you

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭K_user

Not too bad considering its FOC

Mind you, the funniest thing was having to have the deputy mayor open the event as the newly elected mayor was at a demonstration down the road supporting the crowd trying to ban the event.

Not much cop for a mayor trying to ensure that he has visitors to the city!!!
    I don't think he's against the event, just the glorification of weapons of war.
    He wouldn't be demonstrating if it was a non-military show.

Anyway the new mayor aside I enjoyed it, wasn’t as good as last year, but it was still worth going.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

thought it was class that one of the parachutists (sp) was gettin married in Cork 4 hours after the jump and the fact it took the blades bouyt half an hour to get here from wicklow

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭PonderStibbons

Some bits of it were a bit crap - the organisers should really realise that helicopters are not exciting to look at no matter what they're doing. Still though, the Red Arrows were great and the weather made it a very enjoyable day out. I had to laugh at the eejits crowded around near the loudspeaker, listening to the unintelligible loudspeaker guy thinking they would get a better view. The sandy part of the beach was nearly empty and was a much nicer place to sit. I took a few pictars, unforunately it's really hard to take pictures of stuff moving that fast, plus my camera is really crap:

15cw2.jpg

45na.jpg

78tk.jpg

82ft.jpg

111un.jpg

108gi.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

heres a few photos I took on the day, they were posted in the photography forum aswell, Hope you like them:

Dark.jpg

Airshow%20087.jpg

Airshow%20154.jpg

Airshow%20182.jpg

Airshow%20245.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭IrishAirCorps

K_user wrote:
    He wouldn't be demonstrating if it was a non-military show.

it was civillian and military.
    besides you wont get many at a civillian airshow you have to have the fast loud jets thats what gets the crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Lads/Ladies
    For the first time every one of my post was deleted......i think.
    Has anybody missed some some posts on this topic relating to the Mayor?

I have a few beers on me but I am nearly sure there was??????????

Some great pictures there guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

sgthighway wrote:
    Lads/Ladies
    For the first time every one of my post was deleted......i think.
    Has anybody missed some some posts on this topic relating to the Mayor?

I have a few beers on me but I am nearly sure there was??????????
    I haven't deleted any.
    Were you using the QuickReply feature?
    Are you sure the post was submitted?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭sgthighway

There were at least 4/5 comments deleted
    • the Deputy Mayor been late for his speech.
    • His car getting a flat tyre.
    • Guards bursting all the red balloons
    • A link to a news article on the red balloons
    • Sightings of the Mayor in Ballyloughanne

These comments were all made on Sunday evening, but now all gone :(
    Maybe one of the Mods delted the comments and is going to sell them all on to one of the Tabloids?????????:D

it was civillian and military.
    besides you wont get many at a civillian airshow you have to have the fast loud jets thats what gets the crowd.
    Its the military he has a problem with - he's very anti war. From his point of view civilians are being attracted to see weapons that are used to kill civillians in other parts of the world.

But I'm with you, without the military there wouldn't be a show!

sgthighway wrote:
    There were at least 4/5 comments deleted
    • the Deputy Mayor been late for his speech.
    • His car getting a flat tyre.
    • Guards bursting all the red balloons
    • A link to a news article on the red balloons
    • Sightings of the Mayor in Ballyloughanne

These comments were all made on Sunday evening, but now all gone :(
    Maybe one of the Mods delted the comments and is going to sell them all on to one of the Tabloids?????????:D
    I read that post yesterday!! Where has it gone? :confused:

cough