Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

website accessibility-your experiences

• 20-06-2006 12:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Hi. It seems that most websites are not accessible for the visually impaired and others.

Website accessibility is something I'm interested in as I'm a web designer and I believe that websites should be accessible to everyone.

So far the information I have relating to web accessibility is from books and other designers who follow the standards. That's fine and good but I doubt many of them ever really get feedback from the users of their sites for whom this is an issue.

I'd appreciate comments, personal experiences and a links to good quality accessible websites that you've found that covers all the bases.

Thanks.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭merritt

Cool that you're interested in this. But not just cool; it's being practical - and as far as I know, upholding the law.

NUI Maynooth have put quite an effort into making their site accessible www.nuim.ie. I know a student there who is blind who reports that the site is very navigable with his screenreading software. I've heard similarly good stories about Trinity's site www.tcd.ie

Just lay off the Flash!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Peter McC

Thanks for those links merritt.