Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Commentator Quotes of the World Cup

• 20-06-2006 3:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭

What have been your favourite so far?

Mine is definitely the cracker from an Irish commentator, think it was Ger Canning, in the Ghana and Czech Republic game.

"poborsky can break here....but comes up against a wall of white bodies"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

mine has to be, think it was jay jay okocha on Guus Hidink when the female presenter asked him what he thought of him:

well he's very dutch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

"Akwa is clearly a great player for Angola,but he doesn't tend to score many goals. Although he did get five in eight qualifying games and is their top goalscorer of all time"

Guess Who? Its Georgey Hamilton of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

Bring back dangerhere :(

<edit> just checked and seems to have been updated for the first time in a looong time :)

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭bazzman

not too sure who said it but it was during one brazils earlier matches, i presume it good old jimmy of RTE

no ball on the pitch and then he says
    "even the brazilans cant play with a ball!!!!"

just pure quality, well worth the tv licence.

• Registered Users Posts: 396 ✭✭Fitzo

Jimmy Magee-Iran vs. Mexico

"and Borghetti seems to be playing the same role for Mexico as Ali Daei is doing for the Iranians - Ineffective"

brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭BOHSBOHS

jimmy magee at the opening ceremony
    as the ivory coast flag is paraded

"and theres the ireland flag ...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭rcs

Johnny Giles commentating with George Hamilton:

that dude with the bald head apart from 3 dreads as a fringe, cant remember his name, tried to kick the ball but completely miss kicked.

George: "That nearly came of his shin there, John"
    Johnny: "I think he nearly hit with his hair DER George"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Dont know whpo it was but it was a BBC commentator for the England-T&T match.

"The goal is coming, but we might run out of time"

How they can actually come up with stuff like these is beyond belief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Daragh maloney commentating on the Japan v Australia game:
    "Nakamura to Nakata back to Nakamura, they really are getting the nack here".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

fade2black wrote:
    What have been your favourite so far?

Mine is definitely the cracker from an Irish commentator, think it was Ger Canning, in the Ghana and Czech Republic game.

"poborsky can break here....but comes up against a wall of white bodies"

I liked that one as well, had me laughing for a while, just a typical Irish commentary comment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Jimmy Magee again, Italy vs Ghana.

"The Referee is not to fond of the whistle, James Galway he ain't "

Brilliant, love Jimmy.

Ger Canning is an idiot, cant commentate on GAA never mind football !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

That guy again with the shaved head and dreadlocks at the front making a poor attempt at a shot, probably the same shot mentioned above... german commentator

"... and that shot was even worse than the haircut.."

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

England vs. Sweden last night, after Gerrard's goal to put England 2-1 up with 84 minutes on the clock, George Hamilton comes out with his usual dumbass comment:

"And thats the winner!" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

espn today:

"and this is portugal's first attacking set piece........after that corner a few minutes ago"

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    England vs. Sweden last night, after Gerrard's goal to put England 2-1 up with 84 minutes on the clock, George Hamilton comes out with his usual dumbass comment:

"And thats the winner!" :rolleyes:
    Terry Butcher came out with something similar on Five Live. Went something like: "...and that ends the 36 year hoodoo the Swedes have had over us".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Jimmy Magee in the Japan v Croatia match

"And it's a wasted cross as none of the Japanese have stilts"

And for the entire game he kept making references to how small the Japanese are. Legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

On ESPN the other day...

"And it's Michael Beckham with the free kick"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

An espn commentator on the Mexican goalkeeper Ricardo's father passing away before their match
    "He'll be disappointed with that"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

vorbis wrote:
    An espn commentator on the Mexican goalkeeper Ricardo's father passing away before their match
    "He'll be disappointed with that"

Unreal :rolleyes: Silly Yanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

FatherTed wrote:
    On ESPN the other day...

"And it's Michael Beckham with the free kick"

Hahahahaha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

That feckin eejit Tommy Smyth on ESPN.

"Look at the Dutch, they never skip a note!" (during the national anthems)

"Christina Aguileras father is from Ecuador, how about that!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭dohboy

Ger Canning, Togo Vs South Korea

"The last time i remember commentating on a match with the roof closed was in the Toronto Skydome at the 1994 World Cup."

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Mentioned it before, but ITV's one does it for me - "EQUALISER!!!!!!!!!" when USA scored a disallowed goal against Italy with the scores tied at 1-1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

My old friend the RTE commentator from the Spain-Ukraine game has just informed me that Argentina beat Holland 3-1 on penalites in the 1978 World Cup final.

Where did they find this guy! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Didn't hear it myself, but read it today. George Hamilton on RTE when Gerrard scored against Sweden in the 85th minute: "And that's the winner, of that there can be no doubt".

I also thought Eoghan Correy's opening paragraph today was a classic. He wrote about the English fans and all they spoke about was My Cologne. Not the city or the after shave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Anyone hear Giles at half time? :)

Talking about Riquelme...
    Souness: "but don't you think that England are crying out for that type of player?"
    Giles: "England are crying out for every type of player"

Lineker:

"Ibrahimovic was once arrested for impersonating a police officer. He's currently at risk of being arrested for impersonating a footballer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Pigman II wrote:
    Lineker:

"Ibrahimovic was once arrested for impersonating a police officer. He's currently at risk of being arrested for impersonating a footballer"
    Beat me to it, that was quality :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,982 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Johnny Giles: Puerto Rico aren't great at defending..............Costa Rico............Cost Rica .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

Johnny Giles: "Trinidad and Costa Rica"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Steven Alkin thinking he was off air at the end of the Argentina match " Oh **** sorry about that":D

Or did I just imagine it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

On BBC when Ronaldo scored:
    "Who needs to be able to move when you can shoot like that?"

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

eirebhoy wrote:
    Anyone hear Giles at half time? :)

Talking about Riquelme...
    Souness: "but don't you think that England are crying out for that type of player?"
    Giles: "England are crying out for every type of player"

ROFFLE! Brilliant! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Somewhat unfortunately Stephen Alkin went headlong after him after the Czechs foiled a Ghana corner:

"Lack of white bodies in the box."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Black_Couch

The reason that USA are ranked so high is that they are playing teams like Barbados, Bill. Thats a holiday resort" Eamon Dunphy
    "I'm not saying England are brainless but they are a team without a brain" Eamon Dunphy
    "The great thing about Sweden is that they are intertactically interchangeable" Terry Venables
    "Worries about our strikers are mounting up a little bit like constipation" Japanese coach Zico
    "Paraguay will outpass and outdo England tactically. They will kill England" Eamon Dunphy
    "Dont forget Brazil have Emerson playing in midfield and he can hardly walk anymore, he just strolls around the pitch now" Eamon Dunphy
    "The World Cup only really begins when the Brazilians play, their players are technically brilliant and they bring great women with them" Denis Irwin
    "One of the main reasons we lost today is that Landon Donovan didn't do any work for the team" USA coach Bruce Arena
    "I've not got any problem with (Olof) Mellberg, we have resolved our differences" Freddie Ljungberg, the day before...the pair clashed in training again!
    "This is the worst Germany team I've ever seen. Klinsmann doesn't have a clue. Obviously he has sold them some new-age American idea. Eat Muesli, live healthy… if your car's got a puncture and two weeks later it's still got a puncture, you don't know how to change a tyre." Eamon Dunphy
    "What a future Hugo Viana had a few years ago." Darragh Moloney
    "Harry Kewell is a waste of space. An absolute waster. He should have been yanked off at half time and put in the bath. A scalding hot bath... and left there for a long time." Eamon Dunphy
    "Ivory Coast, seen as the dark horses of their group, if you'll pardon the pun." Newsreader on US news station CNN
    "I knew the Aussies were in town today when I found myself sitting next to an inflatable kangaroo on the train to the match." Clive Tyldsley
    "Ronaldo's playing like a bloke who got the boot from his girlfriend before the match" Ian Wright's assessment of Ronaldo's below-par display in the Brazil-Croatia game.
    "There were no Ghana players in the box there-a disticnt lack of white bodies in the box" Stephen Alkin.
    "Zlatan Ibrahimovic walked off at halftime holding his groin-I think it was some kind of statement" David Pleat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭GadgetFiend

"its like henry street at christmas in that penalty box"
    jimmy magee- mexico v iran

you dont get that on the beeb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

"its like henry street at christmas in that penalty box"
    jimmy magee- mexico v iran

you dont get that on the beeb

i agree. Macgee is King.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Black_Couch

Today's match England against Ecuador

And Bill is asking who do you think will win

Souness says he has to go for England to win then
    Liam Brady shouts in that hes going with Paraguy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Another Tommy Smyth gem. :)

"Harry is keeeewwwwellll as a cucumber and into the back of the onion bag" (back of the net) rofl!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭rcs

Motty in todays game against Ecuador:

"Beckham looks to be getting sick in the middle of the pitch, the last time he did that was in the European Championships after Zidane scored his goal"

Lawro:

"Im glad you... brought that up!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

David Pleat when Maniche scored: "It was fast as a...shot!"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Best one so far has got to be from George Hamilton refering to one of the swiss players:

"And he plays with Young Boys in Switzerland"

Classic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

haha, anyone just see the bbc coverage? qualilty puntastic stuff.

they were showing clips of people kissing in the stadium. 2 swedish girls in bikini were kissing.
    aong the line of this..

shearer: "a better pair then larrson and imbrahimovic"
    italian fella(dunno his name) : "all we need now is a brazilian"

rest of the lads just start cracking up laughing.

Eh that Italian fella is Brazilian World Cup winner Leonardo.

Also he said "all THEY need now is a Brazilian". The THEY being important to the joke.

Clearly scripted but something tells me they didn't explain the joke to Leo tho :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Here are some funny comments by the commentators on ESPN:

"A game that had been controlled by Argentina has turned 360 degrees."
    "Portugal and Angola, neighbors..."
    "That gives a whole new meaning to Bend it like Beckham, folks"
    "Nakata is the Terrel Owens of this Japanese team"
    "...and great disappointment for Australia."(after their first game 3-1)
    "Oh Man! I thought that baby was in there!"
    "Ecuador are the Denver Broncos of international soccer."
    "He just has no chance to win that 50-50 ball in the air"
    "In Brazil, they say soccer is like a religion... And they mean that as a compliment."
    "Cambiassa, and that means change in spanish...."
    "I like the Brazilian names because they're so much fun to say.......Say 'Kaka'. You're smiling, aren't you?"
    "and the Serbs are ready for the free kick" (During the Croatia-Japan game)

Tommy-Smythisms:
    "You don't need an umbrella when there is a hole in your shoes"
    "If you are playing this game and you have two feet you have to remember to use them"
    Main commentator: "Here's an interesting fact. The first oil well in the history of the world was drilled by a Pole."
    Smyth: "Really? I had always heard it was drilled by a bit."
    "He has more moves than Mariah Carey" on Christiano Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

they were showing clips of people kissing in the stadium. 2 swedish girls in bikini were kissing.
    aong the line of this..

shearer: "a better pair then larrson and imbrahimovic"
    italian fella(dunno his name) : "all we need now is a brazilian"

rest of the lads just start cracking up laughing.

Ye, that was cracking stuff, don't think he meant it that way though.

Italain fella was no other then Leonardo, ex Brazilian International.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

Hamilton refering to the swiss ukraine game
    Something along thre lines of "it's been as consistant as a swiss chocolate bar"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

The reason that USA are ranked so high is that they are playing teams like Barbados, Bill. Thats a holiday resort" Eamon Dunphy
    "I'm not saying England are brainless but they are a team without a brain" Eamon Dunphy
    "The great thing about Sweden is that they are intertactically interchangeable" Terry Venables
    "Worries about our strikers are mounting up a little bit like constipation" Japanese coach Zico
    "Paraguay will outpass and outdo England tactically. They will kill England" Eamon Dunphy
    "Dont forget Brazil have Emerson playing in midfield and he can hardly walk anymore, he just strolls around the pitch now" Eamon Dunphy
    "The World Cup only really begins when the Brazilians play, their players are technically brilliant and they bring great women with them" Denis Irwin
    "One of the main reasons we lost today is that Landon Donovan didn't do any work for the team" USA coach Bruce Arena
    "I've not got any problem with (Olof) Mellberg, we have resolved our differences" Freddie Ljungberg, the day before...the pair clashed in training again!
    "This is the worst Germany team I've ever seen. Klinsmann doesn't have a clue. Obviously he has sold them some new-age American idea. Eat Muesli, live healthy… if your car's got a puncture and two weeks later it's still got a puncture, you don't know how to change a tyre." Eamon Dunphy
    "What a future Hugo Viana had a few years ago." Darragh Moloney
    "Harry Kewell is a waste of space. An absolute waster. He should have been yanked off at half time and put in the bath. A scalding hot bath... and left there for a long time." Eamon Dunphy
    "Ivory Coast, seen as the dark horses of their group, if you'll pardon the pun." Newsreader on US news station CNN
    "I knew the Aussies were in town today when I found myself sitting next to an inflatable kangaroo on the train to the match." Clive Tyldsley
    "Ronaldo's playing like a bloke who got the boot from his girlfriend before the match" Ian Wright's assessment of Ronaldo's below-par display in the Brazil-Croatia game.
    "There were no Ghana players in the box there-a disticnt lack of white bodies in the box" Stephen Alkin.
    "Zlatan Ibrahimovic walked off at halftime holding his groin-I think it was some kind of statement" David Pleat.

ROFL!!! Oh some quality quotes in this thread :p