Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pedigree dogs.... whats the point

Options
  • 24-06-2006 2:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭

i have been working in practice for two years now and to say straight, why do breeders keep breeding dogs who have genetic faults, ie english bulldog, yeah i know that brachycephalic breeds will always have issues but it was just a question i wanted to ask...... why breed animals that have the potential to die at and early age or not gonna have a good quailty of life due to life long medication and tests, i know ill prolly get a public lashing for this but i have had first hand experience with this problem and its heart breaking.... and also docking tails.... one simple question, WHY????

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Because there's a market for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Arcadian

Perhaps that's a question better posed on a board that has good breeders on it? At least that way you may get some informed answers about health issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

ok granted... but is it not just another act of being cruel, breeding for profit, personally i would never buy a dog, yeah ok going to a shelter or pound and payin for it there, but isnt there already enough unwanted dogs with out breeding ones that are genetically defective!!!!! come on ppl i thought we loved animals!!!!! or are they just another way to make a euro or two..... its just not right.... and i understand the health issues just want to get ordinary peoples opinion on the subject

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil