Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Survivor Round 4

• 25-06-2006 5:54am
    Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭

Well i have read through the replies on the other thread and taken it all into account for this round.

Let me see, let me see...........

I want you to pick a fight with a random stranger and let that stranger win the fight..... no wait, thats been done....

What I really want you to do is Write a Shakespearean Sonnet about a fellow UCD boardsie. The Rhyming scheme must be ABABCDCDEFEFGG

here is an example of one of my favorites from the man himself

Let me not to the marriage of true minds
    Admit impediments. Love is not love
    Which alters when it alteration finds,
    Or bends with the remover to remove.
    O no, it is an ever fixed mark
    That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
    It is the star to every wand'ring barque,
    Whose worth's unknown although his height be taken.
    Love's not time's fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
    Within his bending sickle's compass come;
    Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
    But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
    If this be error and upon me proved,
    I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

Regards
    Cpt Grimensteiner

• Registered Users Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Eek!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Good challenge :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Good work excellent challenge, pity I cant compete:(
    shower of bastards:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭dajaffa

Be gone those who bequeath to thou Grimes,
    For 'tis to give, not be given,
    Across the days, across the times,
    Thou some stripes may speak of a heathen,
    What is needed of us is not of grandeur,
    No gold nor francincense nor mir for me,
    No, this that on which to ponder,
    That which may be worthy of thee,
    The sweet song of a sparrow yields not enough,
    Perhaps something that is of inconcieveable value,
    Not my works, the pages are too rough,
    What posseses me now is the thought of a yew,
    Poisonous for man to drink,though not touch,
    But live forever?, it's lives for much.

Yeah, I'm a bit of a lick amn't I.... Don't dis the sonnet though, c'mon, a decent attempt for a sciencey kid surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

panda rhymes with lots and lots and Id love a sonnet written about me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Whens the deadline? It might take some people a while to think of anything.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,727 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

This is a little more Donne-esque than Shakespearean, but I prefer Donne anyway, so here goes:

hullaballoo's Sonnet
    Garrulous wretch, thee panda100
    Who doth no good that I can find,
    I’ve done it thrice, if ever I undid,
    Thine malignant script; want of kind.
    Yet against my will, and opp’site my reason,
    I hold thee dear, as a frivolous good friend.
    At once you haunt me with politics and treason,
    And happiness and laughter at no end.
    What then, can direct my favour,
    Against the twelve-click coming your way?
    A little less offal, a bit more flavour,
    No inane chatter and if I may;
    Stay away from Vainglory,
    I cannot abide by fights that gory.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

Ha, that's legendary! G'wan the hulla! Mine is in the 'I'm thinking about it' stages cos I can't decide who to write about.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

yea this ones gonna hurt poor humberts head, furiously procrastinating at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

i reckon there should be some sort of bonus points for people who manage it in iambic pentameter.

I'm not googling stupid english stuff, wtf is that??

please...

five iambs to the line. an iamb is basically an unstressed syllable followed by a stressed syllable, iirc. so ten syllables per line, alternating unstressed and stressed. shakespeare was mad for it, so he was.

edit: thusly

Ah well if anything I attempt has that format it will be a remarkable fluke, now this iirc you speak of...some sort of relay chat?

EDIT: so as not to clutter up the thread, thanks page bookmarked, think shakespeare's poems could do with a bit more "lingo"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

humbert wrote:
    Ah well if anything I attempt has that format it will be a remarkable fluke, now this iirc you speak of...some sort of relay chat?

http://www.boards.ie/wiki/index.php/Lingo

humbert wrote:
    use google you lazy be-atch :p

emm, eh, google's broke:o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Is a sonnet just a poem with a skipped line rhyming scheme and lots of waffly long words in it? I'm an engineer I dont know these things!

In science one tries to tell people, in such a way as to be understood by everyone, something that no one ever knew before. But in poetry, it's the exact opposite. Paul Dirac

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Right mine is about Hullaballo and mods in general. It may not make much sense but don't laugh, like I said I'm an engineer not a writer!

O thou who’s stern hand oft doth come on down
    On waffle, spam, junk, words and feelings too,
    Be always proud to stand and bear your crown
    Be nevermore in awe against the few
    For words when strong in tone and full of passion
    May have the strength of thoughts and feelings true
    But words when typed up just to drown a person
    Are merely words to laugh at as we do
    So go and rule and keep the peace in boardsland
    And let your law go help you as it would
    For though many may think it is a firm hand
    In firmness comes the strength to rule as should.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I hate you for this. I write poetry like poo. *glares* More melty chocolate tasks, if you please!

Shakespeare doth know not that which I know,
    Hath not seen that which I do hold so dear,
    His work existeth now, an historic show,
    Yet his experience lacketh a good Boards Beer(s).
    False tribute within me there liveth not,
    I feel no desire to heap dim praise,
    Each boardsie contributeth their own lot
    And here difficulty rises in many ways.
    Yet to choose of my peers doth be my task,
    And from in that number to praise and commend.
    How to choose just one, I am forced to ask,
    From within the number of those I call “friend”?
    Ah, my partner in Haagen Dazs who I admira,
    My choice for today must be Elmyra!

blondie83 wrote:
    Is a sonnet just a poem with a skipped line rhyming scheme and lots of waffly long words in it? I'm an engineer I dont know these things!
    sonnets don't have to have any long words. they do have to have fourteen lines though. either three four-line stanzas followed by a rhyming couplet, or an eight-line followed by a six-line stanza. i can't remember if they have to be in iambic pentameter or not.

(i'm really sucking all the fun out of this amn't i)

I think someone feels a little left out:rolleyes: I think we should be able to tag-team someone in to do a challege for us if they're willing:)

I'm so jealous of ye all right now:(

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

i think rain on has a thing for this challenge

i have a thing for rules ;) i'm glad i don't have to do it though, you couldn't pay me to write poetry.

rain on wrote:
    i'm glad i don't have to do it though, you couldn't pay me to write poetry.

yea yea, I was only half thinking of doing that.

Blush_01 wrote:
    I hate you for this. I write poetry like poo. *glares* More melty chocolate tasks, if you please!

Shakespeare doth know not that which I know,
    Hath not seen that which I do hold so dear,
    His work existeth now, an historic show,
    Yet his experience lacketh a good Boards Beer(s).
    False tribute within me there liveth not,
    I feel no desire to heap dim praise,
    Each boardsie contributeth their own lot
    And here difficulty rises in many ways.
    Yet to choose of my peers doth be my task,
    And from in that number to praise and commend.
    How to choose just one, I am forced to ask,
    From within the number of those I call “friend”?
    Ah, my partner in Haagen Dazs who I admira,
    My choice for today must be Elmyra!

Aw wow!!! Only the second poem written for me ever ever!! Thank you so so much. *saves it*. I love it! You're a leg end!

I'm working on mine but it's not going well, I've tried one for you and for about four other boardsies but my muse is away for the summer and I can't do it alone :(

When's the deadline?

Ugh, fine, here, my best effort...(i.e. the only one I managed to finish!). Think it's pretty justified though! For Danni...

She breezes through the campus,
    Posts a witty line or two,
    Her style could never cramp us,
    Rather, without her we'd be blue.
    The brightest of the bright young things,
    She leaves sunlight in her wake,
    To boards, happiness she brings
    At beers, some drink she'll take!
    I thought her the top survivor,
    I thought she'd win the game,
    A virtual boards McGyver
    that she's been ousted is a shame!
    My sonnet is for Scraggs, boardsie of the year,
    She's our favourite poster, indeed, it's crystal clear!

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
    thats so cool thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

You deserve it though chicks. *Glares at everyone who voted for the prettifulness of Scraggsy and her potential beers-organiser-y-ness.*