Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hot Garda

• 26-06-2006 10:01pm
    Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭

More of those plain close Gardai in operation around the city this evening. Some guy got pulled around Christchurch. A really hot long legged Garda(female) was issueing the ticket with her male partner. the two looked more like they were heading out a quiet drink rather than traffic checks.

On a motoring note: The Focus belonging to the Gardai had extra side indicators flashing blue. Should make spotting of unmarked squad cars easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭$Leon$

4 ariels, no hub caps, saloon car and 2 big fellas touching shoulders in the front usually is enough to give it away. Most of the time you can see the lights behind the grill and a few scratches on the bumpers.
    Is it just me or are the guards the only people who buy red ford mondeos? Every one I see is an unmarked car

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Every time I see a Mondeo 1.8 LX, I think "Cop Car"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

colm_mcm wrote:
    Every time I see a Mondeo 1.8 LX, I think "Cop Car"

Haha, so true.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Or a Xsara with no hubcaps or anything with more than 2 Arials

Never saw a Xsara cop car.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

kikel wrote:
    On a motoring note: The Focus belonging to the Gardai had extra side indicators flashing blue. Should make spotting of unmarked squad cars easier.
    Flashing blue lights = Gardaí...noted. Thanks!!!111!

• Registered Users Posts: 78,411 ✭✭✭✭Victor

$Leon$ wrote:
    4 ariels, no hub caps, saloon car and 2 big fellas touching shoulders in the front usually is enough to give it away.
    Also no personalisation - stickers, fluffy dice, stuff in the back window etc.

But I saw a Fiat Garda car .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭junkyard

They used to have Renault 4 garda cars before. There's a Fiat Punto Garda car in Drimoleague in west Cork. The local unmarked car here is a silver Toyota Avensis 02-D of course. I've seen a few other strange ones in my time but just can't think of them now. A few years ago I was up at a Garda auction buying an old state Merc to build a hearse and they had all sorts of cars, vans and even jeeps and trucks and they were all ex Garda vehicles not just seized vehicles. I was surprised what they had as you would never think that some of the stuff would be used by them as they looked very ordinary everyday kind of vehicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭$Leon$

They've bought a few Suburu Foresters recently some marked some unmarked. Haven't spotted either yet. Corollas also seem to be popular as well.
    They never have dealer stickers and outside Leinster they're easier to spot due to the D reg.
    Saw a Volvo S80 last week with the 2 black squares on the back window. It looked like it was the Commisioner being chaufer driven near the Pheonix park

I've seen one of the Foresters, the guards look huge in them!

Some of the undercover Garda's cars WILL have dealer stickers on them

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Or around our local, the old model corolla is the unmarked car. :D

I seen a hot blonde Garda one time in Rathmines, and If I didn't know better, she would fit in well on a stag night.
    She was one lady I wouldn't mind being handcuffed by. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 51,243 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The traffic cops down my neck of the woods used to drive an unmarked 00 Opel Vectra V6 and they had a MkII Ford Mondeo 2.5 V6.

They do tend to drive all sorts of vehicles, I seen them drive Fiesta vans, Nissan Terrano 4x4s, Opel Astras to Saab 9-3s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Before you go overboard congratulating yourselves on your powers of observation and the "outing" of all these undercover Garda cars can I point out:
    A Mondeo with 4 aerials and two large male occupants and a Dublin registration is not an undercover Garda car its a mode of transport for the two plain clothes officers on board as they go about their OVERT daily duties.

Nobody has posted a decent sighting of what they suspect may be an undercover car.
    Mondeos are the norm for investigation teams, foresters are on issue to Traffic (the lads with the bright yellow jackets!!)

Do you seriously believe succesful specialist units in the guards such as surveillance, ERU, Drugs squad could function in Mondeos with advertising aerials etc...

Next time you're spotting undercover cars and you're stopped in traffic beside a 3 series BMW driven by a greasy looking dude with a pony tail and a stud in his nose he might be worth a second look!!!

Any of the female Gardai down my way would eat you without salt, they're all Rothweilers and they're not exactly hot either.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭Conar

CLADA wrote:
    Before you go overboard congratulating yourselves on your powers of observation and the "outing" of all these undercover Garda cars can I point out:
    A Mondeo with 4 aerials and two large male occupants and a Dublin registration is not an undercover Garda car its a mode of transport for the two plain clothes officers on board as they go about their OVERT daily duties.

Nobody has posted a decent sighting of what they suspect may be an undercover car.
    Mondeos are the norm for investigation teams, foresters are on issue to Traffic (the lads with the bright yellow jackets!!)

Do you seriously believe succesful specialist units in the guards such as surveillance, ERU, Drugs squad could function in Mondeos with advertising aerials etc...

Next time you're spotting undercover cars and you're stopped in traffic beside a 3 series BMW driven by a greasy looking dude with a pony tail and a stud in his nose he might be worth a second look!!!

Only one person mentioned "undercover" before you, everyone else has been talking about unmarked cars!
    No one even breathed a word about surveillance,ERU or similar!

The rapid response unit have a black Toyota Landcruiser with blacked out windows.
    The Customs have a lot of very ordinary stuff and a lot of jeeps. There's a dark blue Landrover Discovery with a winch fitted on the front of it down here on 04-D plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Kilkenny traffic corps have a beat up 93 D ford escort. :D

Bond-007 wrote:
    Kilkenny traffic corps have a beat up 93 D ford escort. :D

They probably seized it for no tax and insurance.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭IrishEmperor

police_car061.jpg

police_car092.jpg

police_car095.jpg

more here courtesy of Masa

• Registered Users Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

What have we down here....

05 D Light Blue Mondeo
    04 D Focus saloon Silver
    04 D Focus saloon Grey
    05 D Renault Traffic Van Black
    98 D Renault Megane Grey

Town of ~22,000 people in the West.
    Of late, the young lads in the force have been driving around in the newly acquired Silver Focus and the Mondeo in black Adidas hoodies. Classical.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I spotted one of the new subaru forresters around Clonmel alright.

They have a varied selection of unmarked cars since the EU presidency as they bought in some to transport VIP's and stuff.. Some 7 seaters and some of the bigger cars such as Toyota Camry's.

Some cars are easy to spot alright, usually the older ones but they are changing that and using various makes and models. Badly needed imo, the usual Mondeo or Corolla saloon with no hubcaps etc stood out a mile.

Tox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

seen them rushing somewhere in a clapped out pre 95 fiesta van along the M50 the other day.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

back on topic of Hot female gardai, there is one based or used to be based in the bridewell, she was in uniform.. met her once or twice.. very very nice!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

ok undercover car in cork there was a 97c silver almeria:cool:
    i think its customs have a black rexton blacked out windows and flashing lights
    i've seen a fiat panda somewhere around north cork and it was marked nearly crashed from laughter
    and hot gardai midleton co. cork has got an absolute stunner keria lee oh my god shes hot :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

ToxicPaddy wrote:
    back on topic of Hot female gardai, there is one based or used to be based in the bridewell, she was in uniform.. met her once or twice.. very very nice!! :D
    bridewell cork or dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

there's a nice one in killaloe co. clare aswell

oh and the under cover cops in limerick drive around in a done up civic and dress like knackers, i sh1t you not. Caps ear rings and accents

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Vegeta wrote:
    there's a nice one in killaloe co. clare aswell

oh and the under cover cops in limerick drive around in a done up civic and dress like knackers, i sh1t you not. Caps ear rings and accents

There's a beauty working in civies in Limerick City centre (Henry Street?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

Was in Florence a few months back and the cop cars there were Alfas, about 15 years old!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Ay Cee wrote:
    Was in Florence a few months back and the cop cars there were Alfas, about 15 years old!!!

I thought this thread was about hot Gardaí - not their cars! :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭kikel

I thought this thread was about hot Gardaí - not their cars! :D

It was meanty to be about hot Gardai. But cars seems to have taken over. I did try and start a new thread "marked and unmarked"
    There is a fiine line between hot women and cars. Both get the pulse racing