Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How sick we will be if England win the world cup

• 30-06-2006 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

Do you reckon the English will rub in the victory if they go ahead and take the title.

How sick will we be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭wba88

yeah. so much sick they will have to rename the liffey to the sicky.....thats such a **** joke :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

How sick will swingking be when everybody slags the fcuk out of him and his thread gets locked after less than 12 posts. You should be ashamed swingking. Brit Bashing isn't cool anymore. David Beckham is 7 times the man you are and at least 3 times better looking.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I don't think that the English could care less about what the Irish think of them if they were to win. The Irish are free to not watch/ read the English media though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

swingking wrote:
    Do you reckon the English will rub in the victory if they go ahead and take the title.

How sick will we be?

sorry what's this world cup you talk of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

Not really & i don't ill be sick about it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

it will be very sick,i`ll make sure to PM you every day for the next forty years;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

I like to see them doing well, and have been cheering for them so far. I do want to see them beat Portugal too, but I have to admit, I dont really want to see them winning the whole thing, just because it would be all we hear about for god knows how long.

Have no fear, either Germany or Argentina should walk all over them in the semi's if recent form is anything to go by.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

skywalker wrote:
    Have no fear, either Germany or Argentina should walk all over them in the semi's if recent form is anything to go by.
    That would be the final I think you'll find, Brasil or France in the semi's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

i love the way you blocked out your porn and warez bookmarks Cremo ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

since this thread seems to be still here i'll add my two cents on the topic.

I would LOVE to see england win, i really would, but tbh i don't want them to win playing ****ly. If they played a bit of entertaining football like argentia or france then i'd like to see it but going on their long ball to crouch or their put all our hopes on 4 strikers two who were unfit, one who's the english niall quinn and one that hasn't played any premiership football this year (wallcott) they won't win.
    tuxy wrote:
    i love the way you blocked out your porn and warez bookmarks Cremo
    nah it's torrent sites and warez sites, this is a family computer :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Joliegood

swingking wrote:

How sick will we be?
    I'd have been quite happy to see them win it if they had played well. But I think they are the second worst team still left and have been rubbish to watch so can't say they deserve to win it. You have the choice of reading British papers and watching their television channels, it's not enforced on you.I doubt they would care less what the Irish or any other nation would think to be honest. By the way, I've been in the UK a couple of times when Ireland have been playing and the English were cheering on the Irish big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

maybe this thread wont be locked coz its not exactly anti english!

i personally won't mind them winning it. however i dont think they deserve to win it from the games they played so far. they are not good to watch. i do hope they get beat. but if they played decent attractive football i wouldnt mind them doing well.

there was a time i would of said, if you dont want to hear about the english team, then don't watch the UK channels but now RTÉ are talking equally as much about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

i wouldnt like to see them win..they are bad winners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

At the beginning of the tournament, I was rooting for them. I enjoy seeing how much the World Cup means to people, and I figured if England won, I would certainly see over and over what it meant to the English people. But if they win by playing the dull, drab football they've been playing recently it will be a loss to the game. I really hope the style teams like Argentina and, to an extent, Brazil, Portugal, France, Germany come out and wallop teams like England and Ukraine (I'm undecided on Italy) - it will be a victory for good football.

On a similar note, with the exception of the Africans and a few others, I'm glad the 'big' teams mainly got through to the quarter finals. I've noticed that a lot of the smaller teams (Switzerland, Croatia, Ecuador and Sweden in particular) haven't gone out to win games against better teams, but have gone out to stop those teams playing. It's understandable, but it makes for some boring football. Hopefully the fact that they've all been knocked out will learn 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

I'm still sick about them bastards winning in 1966. Imagine the pain of watching those overrated, overpampered, cosmetic endorsing gits lift the trophy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Jaysus it'll be terrible, the Irish won't shut up about it for 40 years...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I really hope the style teams like Argentina and, to an extent, Brazil, Portugal, France, Germany come out and wallop teams like England and Ukraine (I'm undecided on Italy) - it will be a victory for good football.
    feck that, Italy have been better to watch than France. :) It's a bit hard to play as well as you want when a defender gets sent off after 50 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

eirebhoy wrote:
    feck that, Italy have been better to watch than France. :) It's a bit hard to play as well as you want when a defender gets sent off after 50 minutes.

Fair point, I suppose. And I quite enjoyed Italy's performance against Australia, like they were just saying "Right, everything is going against us, but **** it lads, they are not scoring!!". After Argentina, I'd probably have Italy as the team I'd most like to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

There are more important things to get worried about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Emmo

I would love to see Crouch, Carragher, Carson and Gerrard all winning world cup winners medals.

Emmo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I would be very very sick, I have laid them from the start and lose 4 figures if they win it. Apart from that and the bad style of football they play I wouldnt care if they won it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Apart from the 'football' they 'play' I wouldn't care. We don't have to read their media, or watch their television. Many Irish live for the success of clubs that grew from, and continue to live on, English soil.

Why should it bother us what they do? Although, I do think those that dwell on the successes of English clubs should have the balls to stand up and cheer for England. All that should matter to us is we don't have a chance to make our imprint on the competition.