Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

5 Things That Make You Smile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

1. My Wife's smile
    2. My Son's innocence
    3. Hill-walking on Inishbofin
    4. A good steak with fried onions & tomatoes, & mashed potatoes
    5. Summer evenings in my back garden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

1. the missus when she is in one of 'those' moods

2. guinness

3. good customer service

4. good jokes

5. my job

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,377 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Thoughts of...
    A cuddle on a cool night
    A passionate kiss
    Walking hand-in-hand
    A heart-felt hug
    Spooning as I drift off to sleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

The sappiness in this thread also brings a derisive smile to my face :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

1. A winning lotto ticket.
    2. A new car.
    3. Dogs.
    4. Holidays.
    5. Father Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

The smell of lilacs in bloom
    The sound of the waves crashing outside of my apartment window
    When my lover takes my hand while we're walking
    A beautiful sunrise over the ocean
    Sitting on a bench in the sun on Stephen's Green watching people walk by
    The innocence of children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

A cuddle on a cool night
    A passionate kiss
    Walking hand-in-hand
    A heart-felt hug
    Spooning as I drift off to sleep

They're good ones :)

I'll also add;

An unexpected call during a bad day from someone ringing just to see how your days going/how you are. That always cheers me up.

And my dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

See post #2 :)

Pretty much the same as then:
    1. Waking up beside my gf every morning

2. Having a few hours to read a good book, with a cuppa and some chocolate, preferably something caramel :)

3. Being with my friends, sitting outside a cafe (in summer) with a beer, preferably Belgian beer

4. Landing at Dublin Airport and realising I'm home for a few days :D

5. Christmas, my favourite time of year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The Friday morning feeling, still get it after all this time.

My wife

My cats messing about

Wearing class schmutter for the first time.

Seeing ol fellas playing football or whatever with their small kids, especially boys.

Sitting down to a pint, preferably on a weekend or holiday, with all your friends around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Truth :)
    r3nu4l wrote:

3. Being with my friends, sitting outside a cafe (in summer) with a beer, preferably Belgian beer

5. Christmas, my favourite time of year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

oww, time to show my feminine side... I wrote a list of these a while back as the list of things I hated about my job where starting to linger in my head more so I needed a counter balance, but i've since lost it :(

So afair the top 5 where:
    1. The look of curiousity on my wifes face
    2. Old Irish men pottering about
    3. Sitting around the hearth in a cottage in the west with a succinct group of friends talking about nothing
    4. Smell of fresh cut grass
    5. Wet dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

1, getting new emails pic of my two neices
    2, wating up thinking you have slept for hours and have to get up soon, looking at the clock and relaising you still have hours to sleep!
    3, getting my confirmation email from the aer arann after i have book my flight
    4, waking up in bed, turning over and see my bf sleeping beside me, and knowing i have a few more mornings of it
    5, the first hug from himself when i arrive at his house after not seeing him for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,262 ✭✭✭Elessar

This thread has made me realise that I smile about nothing :confused::(

I cant remember the last time in fact. The only thing that makes my mouth go upwards is a comedy film or joke or something. Surely I'm not alone here? Or am I just emotionally broken?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Well I always assumed there was somebody that was the opposit of me, as I always am smiling and laughing.
    Ah, you old Vulcan you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

1. A good solid dump circa 0930(Company time-talking nothing but net here)

2. Striping a golf ball 250 mtrs down the fairway

3.Knocking back the first cold beer of the day

4. Connecting solidly with the neighbours dog after deposit on the lawn

5.Fresh brown bread with marmalade.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Really Good freinds, that just get me.
    Fuc|<ing eejits, and being glad I amn't one of them.
    Working at my own leisure.
    Achieving my goals, or just passing exams etc.
    That Gorgeous Wonderful Man of Mine.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

2. Striping a golf ball 250 mtrs down the fairway
    Ah, a very good one. Great feeling, every single time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Elessar wrote:
    This thread has made me realise that I smile about nothing :confused::(

I cant remember the last time in fact. The only thing that makes my mouth go upwards is a comedy film or joke or something. Surely I'm not alone here? Or am I just emotionally broken?
    Yeah, you're really just a shell of a person tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

Lovely Topic..!!

1. The Stars
    2. Being drunk, especially with the best friends ever! (particularly the pre-drinks in someones house, best part of the night)
    3. the Atlantic Ocean
    4. Sleeping
    5. Ani DiFranco

(an additional no.6, reading everyones posts and realising I love the same things as a lot of other folk)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Another 5 (love this thread, is a great idea by the way):
    1) Looking up at the stars especially shooting stars with a loved one
    2) Helping other people
    3) Baby animals
    4) People getting their dreams
    5) Paris and Florence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

1. running fast
    2. a open fire, a good book & a glass of wine
    3. hugs
    4. seeing a lower number on the weighing scales
    5. my BF's little girl when she is being naugthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

1) Chimps
    2) Naked women
    3) Smoking Crack
    4) Lapdances
    5) Chimps in fez hats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

1) out with the girls on a sat night
    2) when not at work..
    3) Christmas when its celebrated in the proper fashion-none of this "Christmas is here" in November crap!
    4) ^^^Hail :D
    5) Holidays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

1. My Nephew - the busiest 3 year old in the world (esp. when something goes wrong for him, and he says Jeeesismaryjophish)

2. My girlfriend sleeping under 3 feet of duvet, and her refusal to accept the fact that she nicks it every night

3. Seeing really awkward teen-age couples. Ahhh...remember that?

4. Beating my mate at Pro Evo

5. Five-hour conversations with my best mate which consist chiefly of Simpsons Quotes.

nice thread, tsubh!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Oh, I like this thread:

1: Hearing the sound of my family just laughing and joking as I come in from work

2: Buying something new (I am very materialistic)

3: Wearing something new for the first time (especially brand new PJ's)

4: The buzz in the air around Christmas time (Especially ON Christmas Eve)

5: Seeing how happy my BF is whenever I tell him I love him, or give him an unexpected hug or kiss. Makes me feel all loved, and warm inside.

1: Waking up during the night and realising I still have another while til I have to wake up
    2: Sitting in front of an open fire on a bitterly cold day
    3: Being with those that I care about
    4: Finishing work and coming home to throw on my slippers
    5: A lazy day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

1: Waking up during the night and realising I still have another while til I have to wake up
    2: Sitting in front of an open fire on a bitterly cold day
    3: Being with those that I care about
    4: Finishing work and coming home to throw on my slippers
    5: A lazy day.

Ah excellent, another poster who was born before 1960, Pighead thought Beruthial was the only poster who was an OAP. Great to see posters of all ages posting in After Hours.

Respect to the wrinklies.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭greine

- that last mile before reaching my bf's house (long distance relationship!) after driving 110 miles to get there
    - hearing my teenage daughter roaring laughing on the phone to friends
    - still getting hugs from teenage daughter
    - walking the beach on stormy days
    - 2 for the price of 1 bottles of wine with girlie friends and a real good story!

nice thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

hmmmm...

1. Having someone say thank you to me, when they really mean it! ;)

2. Fannyin about with the lads - Getting 2 hours out of one stupidass joke, brilliant! :p

3. My lil brother, haven't seen him in a while but I talk to him on the phone a lot. He's 10 and he's in love with a girl in his class :D

4. Giving my g/f a gift, cos regardless of what it is - she'll treat it like she's just won the Lotto. Always makes me smile :)

5. Getting a hug/kiss unexpectedly. Best. Thing. Ever! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Doomspell wrote:
    4. Watching CSI(Vegas + Miami) with my Dad, infront of the fire laughing at Horatio Cane

LOL! :) Me too!

1. The smell of freshly cut grass on a sunny morning
    2. Feeling the drink kicking in
    3. Mila Kunis
    4. Sarah
    5. Sexual success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,434 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

1. Gaelteachts
    2. being asked to go with my mates(feeling included)
    3. Dancing
    4. when ya get let off school early and diddnt know
    5. getting txts or msn messages from a boy i like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

That pleasant feeling of mild muscle fatigue the day after an exhaustive run!
    tbh wrote:
    ...conversations with my best mate which consist chiefly of Simpsons Quotes.
    When you listen to an album you haven't listened to in a while and it reminds you completely of the time in your life back when you were listening to it.
    Golf in the summer. And watching the masters or other tournie on a sunday in the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭bongo85

agamemnon wrote:
    3. Mila Kunis

giggidy! :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Another 5 from me :)

1 Seeing this thread has been resurrected
    2 Falling asleep and waking up beside the man I love
    3 The cosy feeling you get when you're sitting on the couch in pajamas snuggled under a rug
    4 Listening to very small kids tell jokes backwards - sooo cute!
    5 Knowing that my birthday and Christmas are just around the corner :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

1. Seeing my two young daughters trying to hide my birthday present last night.
    2. My two daughters singing happy birthday to me while handing my my present this morning.
    3. Seeing my wife's Bump get bigger ( roll on March)
    4. Knowing that I am out for a few beers with the lads tonight to celebrate my birthday
    5. The fact that I have mentioned my birthday so many times in 1 thread.

**sorry about the birthday thing, i couldnt resist**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

1. The theme tune to Curb your Entusiasm

you've just reminded me that I've a load of episodes of this on Sky+ to watch.

I like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

This is the best thread ever!

1) The way my kiwi bf pronounces the words ten and seven etc.
    2) When my cat thinks he's human and talks to you
    3) Pear Kopparberg after a long crappy day in work
    4) Ringing the girls the day after a night out and finding out what everyone got up to
    5) skiing in fresh powder snow when the sun is shining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,262 ✭✭✭Elessar

rb_ie wrote:
    Yeah, you're really just a shell of a person tbh...

I think I'll start my own religion! All those in favour - frown!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

chef wrote:
    1. Seeing my two young daughters trying to hide my birthday present last night.
    2. My two daughters singing happy birthday to me while handing my my present this morning.
    3. Seeing my wife's Bump get bigger ( roll on March)
    4. Knowing that I am out for a few beers with the lads tonight to celebrate my birthday
    5. The fact that I have mentioned my birthday so many times in 1 thread.

**sorry about the birthday thing, i couldnt resist**

HAPPY BIRTHDAY :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

1)British Colombia
    2)Bill Bailey
    3)When the new Lost or Prison Break is out
    4)Feeling needed/appreciated
    5)Figuring something out

Pighead wrote:
    Ah excellent, another poster who was born before 1960, Pighead thought Beruthial was the only poster who was an OAP. Great to see posters of all ages posting in After Hours.

Respect to the wrinklies.

Im actually only 21.. young at heart me arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 BuckleUp

1) Getting two of my friends together
    2) Nice couples who are happy together (NOT sick-inducing couples)
    3) CHRISTMAS!
    4) Hearing the Donegal accent when I'm in Dublin (which is most of the time)
    5) Someone getting something they deserve (in a nice way)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Fantastic Kaz

Hmmmm.. right now,
    My best friends
    My boyfriend
    Johnny Depp
    Colin Firth
    Chocolate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

5 things that makes paul smile..... hmmmm

1. People falling
    2. jd or southie and coke
    3. my guitar
    4. sexual activities
    5. my girly

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Idgeitman

1. Being with my girlfriend
    2. My business getting clients
    3. A Big Mac after college
    4. A good cup of tea, None of his "low-fat" milk stuff
    5. Sleeping in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

1. Waking up the morning after you finally got together with the person you really fancy
    2. Coming home after a horrible wet day and getting into my jammys and watching csi with a cup a tea
    3. Vodka.
    4. Drunken texts from the one you like in the middle of the night.
    5. the hangover food hunt on sunday mornings with the girls. No subway is too far!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

1) My little cousin and everything about him - just pure adorable
    2) Spending time with friends, chatting, laughing about the most random of things, but also having proper chats too.
    3) Going for walks in the dark when you can see all the stars while listening to your favourite music
    4) The feeling I get on the rugby pitch when I've just made a big tackle/scored a try/made ground
    5) Sunday morning living - LOVE IT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Chocolate.

I love chocolate.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

1. My Friday evening, Joint, bus home listening to music, my swim & suana and a DVD with a hard earned beer.

2. My Girlfriends laugh.

3. When lads I know who are younger than me imatate or copy me.

4. When I buy clothes that fit perfectly and look great and fetch complaments when i wear them.

5. A good gig in a cosy venue around people that you never see in Supermac's after a Saturday night out.

6. Eating a good Sunday lunch in a good pub in another town and the walk around that town after.

.......and a bag of Malteesers with a strong cuppa Tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

1. A hot milky cup of tea and a kit kat

2. Watching a new prison break with the above

3. Being on the dancefloor when the song that everyone loves comes on

4. Catching a girl checking you out on the train/bus/metro

5. Simpsons / Family Guy quotes