Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog Bite

• Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Just now, she called him over, asked him to sit, to give him a treat and he wouldn't maintain eye contact and growled. Why? You could understand this if she mistreated him and he was afraid.

That is a clear indication that something DID happen, however much unintented and unnoticed by you GF. He would not do that without a prior incident in which he felt threatened or hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Enilorac

Only just caught up with this, and thanks to the person concerned for tipping me off about this thread. JRTs are my passion and my life.

You've had some very good advice from people here, so I can only reiterate. From what you've described, and given the history you've provided us with, I can only wonder if your girlfriend made a movement that either caught your little boy unawares, or caused him pain. A visit to the vet 'a few weeks' ago is irrelevant, a lot can happen to a little dog in a few weeks.

I'd like a few more questions answered if you can.

What had the dog been doing in the 10-20 minutes prior to this behaviour episode?

Does your girlfriend wear rings/bracelets or similar, long nails even, that could catch the hair (or worse) and cause pain without her knowing?

What time of day was it (this MAY be relevant honestly!)

What exercise had he had that day? was it different to the norm in any way?

What had you and girlfriend been doing in the 10-20 mins or so previously...keep your reply clean and family-friendly, but dogs can get very jealous/possesive when their 'person' gets close to another human.

What is dog fed on, and how often? Had his diet changed recently? Could he have eaten something that day that he shouldn't have?
    Is he pooing normally and regularly?

Is there any history of fitting/seizures for this little dog. At 2½ years of age, he's pretty textbook for the onset of idiopathic epliepsy, and this can explain sudden irrational behaviour.
    On the same theme, how was his behaviour within 10-15 minutes after the incident? What did he do, tell me even the mundane things that seem unimportant...panting, drinking, licking lips etc.

Do you know anything about the breeding of this dog? Do you know his breeder? If I remember correctly you didn't get him until he was one, is this correct. Was there any reason for this? Did you get him from a breeder or had he already had a home? Do you know his history at all from before you had him?

Has he been to a vet since, and if not, why not?

Tell your girlfriend to avoid direct eye contact for now...treat or no treat. Direct eye contact will be seen as a direct threat...and as EGAR has mentioned already, this is fairly indicative that something has happened between him and her, and that he sees her as a threat for whatever reason.. Ask her to ignore him completely, no eye contact, no attention, don't speak to him, don't pet him and no treats...

Treat the growling as a polite request to give him some space...its his 'polite' mechanism, the clearest way he can tell you that something or someone is in his space and he doesn't want it there.

Is he OK with other girls/women?

Lots of things could have caused this. You need a vet to rule out any medical conditions that might be causing pain. You need to think about changes in his environment/feeding/routine that might have disturbed him...and if nothing there gives you any pause for thought then you need to consult a decent, qualified dog behaviourist to help you. Having him put to sleep shouldn't even be considered as an option at this point, you're no where near exhausting all avenues of help.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

fathersymes

Any news?

Did the vet find anything?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Have two Terriers at home - if I or anyone else accidently caused them pain - for example accidently stepping on a paw etc. then they would be hurt, horrified and shrink into a corner submissively.

If they decided to take it upon themselves to retaliate with as described "a frenzied attack" I would have either beloved dog put down within 20 mins. How is this acceptable ???

There is something wrong in this scenario and in my opinion no "leader of the pack" - Fido thought it was "savage limbs day" every damn Tuesday mentality excuses this incident.

Furthermore what this animal could perhap be capable of doing to someone he has never seen before should be a cause for concern, discussion and extreme caution in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Hi OP, I'm very sorry to have to tell you this, but my opinion is that the dog should be put down. I'm nearly crying writing that, by the way, I've been in the same position, twice, both times with JRT's, both times much loved family pets. The first was 16 years ago and I still think of her a lot. They told me she was going to a big farm... :)

the point is, it doens't matter why your dog attacked your girlfriend, even if there are a million good reasons why it did, the fact is that you now know there is a possibility that your dog will go into a frenzied attack without warning. I'm afraid you don't have the right (obviously IMO) to decide that it's worth chancing that the dog won't do it again, how could you live with yourself if (and I know it's been said before) the dog attacked a child? Never mind about the law, you would know yourself that the dog had done it before, and you had done nothing. You could try keeping the dog indoors, or in a muzzle, but, again IMO, this is unfair to the dog, who won't know why they are being punished.

I really feel for you, and wouldn't judge you whatever you do, but if it were me, I'd have to get the dog put down. sorry.

Whoa !

Slow down there ....

Raiser and tbh,

First off and in general, a dog is a dog, a domesticated predatory animal. Every dog has the capability to bite and every dog will bite eventuelly, if pushed hard enough.

Every dog owner has to realise this and it is their responsibility to socialise the dog, to train the dog and to protect it so that it will not find itself in a situation where it has no other choice but to bite.

If the dog bites, the owner has failed (it).

Be that the the dog was unsupervised, badly trained, overly aggressive or overly afraid, or left in pain ...ultimately the owner hasn't fulfilled his/her responsibility toward the dog.

So please don't advocate euthanising the dog for human failure.

As for the OP's case:

The dog "functioned" properly before and all of a sudden it bit.There had to be a reason for this. This has to be found and rectified ...not the dog put down.

And before the discussion starts drifting off into horrific examples of dogs doing injuries to little children ...

1) I will concede that there are dogs out there who are beyond rectifying and that need to be put down ...but they are only a tiny, tiny percentage

2) Much more importantly ...every dog that attckas somebody or something else in a really damaging manner WILL have shown signs beforehand that should have been noticed, investigated and corrected ...so down to the owner's responsibility again.

peasant wrote:
    Whoa !

Slow down there ....

Raiser and tbh,

First off and in general, a dog is a dog, a domesticated predatory animal. Every dog has the capability to bite and every dog will bite eventuelly, if pushed hard enough.

Of course every dog has the potential to bite if pushed hard enough. Two points:

1. The op doesn't know what caused the dog to bite, and so can never be sure that the dog won't do it again.

2. It doesn't sound to me like the dog was fighting for it's life or whatever, so I don't know why you think the argument that "push it far enough and it will bite" is relevant.
    Every dog owner has to realise this and it is their responsibility to socialise the dog, to train the dog and to protect it so that it will not find itself in a situation where it has no other choice but to bite.

If the dog bites, the owner has failed (it).
    you are saying that the owner should have trained the dog not to bite while it is being patted?
    Be that the the dog was unsupervised, badly trained, overly aggressive or overly afraid, or left in pain ...ultimately the owner hasn't fulfilled his/her responsibility toward the dog.

So please don't advocate euthanising the dog for human failure.

The op hasn't said that the dog was any of these things, it's a well-loved pet in what seems to be a stable environment, and it went mad with no warning.

Honest Question: Would you keep that dog in your house if you had kids? and if not, what about the neighbours kids? The whole point is that the OP knows the dog has attacked without warning before. Maybe rehoming the dog could be an option, but you simply cannot just pretend nothing happened, and run the risk that the dog will do it again.
    As for the OP's case:

The dog "functioned" properly before and all of a sudden it bit.There had to be a reason for this. This has to be found and rectified ...not the dog put down.

And before the discussion starts drifting off into horrific examples of dogs doing injuries to little children ...

1) I will concede that there are dogs out there who are beyond rectifying and that need to be put down ...but they are only a tiny, tiny percentage
    no matter how small the risk, it's not worth it. ESPECIALLY if you KNOW the dog has done it before.
    2) Much more importantly ...every dog that attckas somebody or something else in a really damaging manner WILL have shown signs beforehand that should have been noticed, investigated and corrected ...so down to the owner's responsibility again.
    ahh I don't agree with that at all, tbh, and I don't think it's at all helpful

tbh

You are refusing to see that a dog owner has the responsibility to

- ensure that everything is done (including medical checkup) that the dog will not come into a situation where it has no other choice but to bite

- if the dog does bite, to do everything possible to find out why and rectify the circumstances so that it doesn't happen again

Instead you advocate killing all dogs once they've bitten because they could do it again.

The logical consequence of that argument is that there should be no dogs at all ...after all they all have the potential to bite and (unless one takes responsibility for them) one will never know when they might just do it.

See now why taking responsibility is so important?

peasant wrote:
    tbh

You are refusing to see that a dog owner has the responsibility to

- ensure that everything is done (including medical checkup) that the dog will not come into a situation where it has no other choice but to bite

- if the dog does bite, to do everything possible to find out why and rectify the circumstances so that it doesn't happen again

Ok, if the vet says "your dog has an abscess on it's tooth, which causes it pain, and your girlfriend patted it and caused it to react" then, ok, fair enough. but what if the vet examines the dog and says "I can't find any physical reason why the dog did what he did." What then?
    Instead you advocate killing all dogs once they've bitten because they could do it again.

unfortunately, if the dog can't be rehomed, and I had no way of knowing what caused the dog to attack, then yes, I would advocate euthanizing the dog.
    The logical consequence of that argument is that there should be no dogs at all ...after all they all have the potential to bite and (unless one takes responsibility for them) one will never know when they might just do it.

What?!? How is that the logical consequence? What I am saying is, once bitten, twice shy. I've had dogs - lots of dogs - all my life, and the only biters were JRT's - and not even all of my JRT's. I have a lab that would let you scoop her eyes out without biting you. However if YOU KNOW that a dog has attacked someone in the past, for no reason, then you physically cannot be sure that the dog will never do it again. I'm not saying that everyone should be locked up because we could all commit murder if pushed. Thats ridiculous
    See now why taking responsibility is so important?
    ahhh. So you *were* being patronising the first time around. I am a responsible dog owner. I feel that one of the responsibilities I have is towards the community as a whole - If I have a dog I know could go into a frenzied attack - remember this wasn't a nip - then I'm afraid my responsibility means I cannot expose the community to that risk. I think anyone who has ever been around dogs knows that they can freak out all of a sudden. They don't always bite, but saying you can always predict when they are going to attack - again, in the case where you ALREADY KNOW the dog has done it before - is naive in the extreme. It's a pity, because I hate to see a dog put down, but that's the reality as I see it.

I'm giving my opinion on a very specific example. The dog savagely attacked someone for no reason. I'm not saying every biter should be put down, but I am saying this dog should be, assuming they can't find a reason for the attack. Thats responsibility - making a sacrifice for the greater good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Lexie

We didnt put our terrier to sleep because he bit someone. Found the problem and rectified it and he stoppped biting. Problem solved.

Totally agree with peasant!

My dog a Jack Russell went into a frenzy today, bit my girlfriend badly.....He attacked for no reason, simply being patted at the time.... but the danger is he will attack again.
    The exact situation when he attacked was; he was in the submissive position (on his back) and being stroked....It wasn't just a 'Snap' but a full on frenzied attack!.....don't want to lose him but also don't want a situation where he savages her face next time.
    Just now, she called him over, asked him to sit, to give him a treat and he wouldn't maintain eye contact and growled. Why? You could understand this if she mistreated him and he was afraid.

Hmmmm sounds like all the friendly family dogs I've owned & encountered - I'm sure that this dog is perfectly safe with people/kids as long as they don't pat it, offer it treats or generally approach it in any way.

The fact of the matter is that if the OP follows all of the well-intentioned advice above with this troubled, spontaneously aggressive dog and compounds it with a 3 week stay at the top dog health spa in Switzerland under the care of the top 15 dog psychologists in the World...There is no guarantee that he won't chew some poor souls face of at some unexpected point in the future. FACT.

unfortunately, if the dog can't be rehomed, then yes, I would advocate euthanizing the dog.

Could you please make up your mind?

First you advocate killing all the dogs that have bitten once ...now you want to pawn them off to someone else ...

However if YOU KNOW that a dog has attacked someone in the past, for no reason, then you physically cannot be sure that the dog will never do it again

"no reason"

That is where youre whole argument falls together like a house of cards.

There alway IS a reason. A normally socialised, trained, bred, kept dog WILL NOT bite without reason.

Not realising what the reason was is no justification to kill the dog.
    There always are warning signs ...a lot of people just don't see them.

I think anyone who has ever been around dogs knows that they can freak out all of a sudden.

What on earth are you doing to your dogs?

No dog that I have ever owned or been around has ever "freaked out"

Raiser wrote:
    Hmmmm sounds like all the friendly family dogs I've owned & encountered - I'm sure that this dog is perfectly safe with people/kids as long as they don't pat it, offer it treats or generally approach it in any way.

The fact of the matter is that if the OP follows all of the well-intentioned advice above with this troubled, spontaneously aggressive dog and compounds it with a 3 week stay at the top dog health spa in Switzerland under the care of the top 15 dog psychologists in the World...There is no guarantee that he won't chew some poor souls face of at some unexpected point in the future. FACT.

NONSENSE

You're just being polemic ...

I'll just repeat myself:

There alway IS a reason. A normally socialised, trained, bred, kept dog WILL NOT bite without reason.

peasant wrote:
    Could you please make up your mind?

First you advocate killing all the dogs that have bitten once ...now you want to pawn them off to someone else ...

If the dog really can go to a farm or somewhere where they won't be in contact with people, and especially kids, then great! how realistic is that for most people?

"no reason"

That is where youre whole argument falls together like a house of cards.

I'm sure there is. Maybe the dog had a flashback to a trauma it suffered at the hands of a similar looking girl? Maybe it had a hormonal imbalance? the point is, if you don't know what the cause was - and please, please try to understand this - you cannot prevent it from happening again. And maybe the dog shook it's paw three times before it attacked. Are you saying the op should follow the dog around for the rest of it's life so that they can check? Seriously, lets say the dog took the face off a child. Where would all your arguments be then? If it were the first time the dog had attacked, then maybe you would say "thats life". but if the dog had attacked before - and this was your child - how mad would you be?

Some questions for you:
    What are your theories for why this dog went mad, and how would you train the dog not to do it again (assuming it's nothing physical).

If you don't know, how would you suggest the OP go about finding out?

And if the OP cannot say "this is 100% the reason why the dog did what it did", what do you suggest the OP do?

peasant wrote:

then what do you think the owner should do?

By the way, you are quoting a lot of stuff about dogs behave as fact, do you mind me asking what your background is? Are you a vet, or are you just talking from your personal experience? Just to establish context.
    A normally socialised, trained, bred, kept dog WILL NOT bite without reason.

so, if the dog is all of the above, they may still bite, you just have to hope the reason is obvious so you can prevent it in future.

Also, can you let me know how to spot the difference between A normally socialised, trained, bred, kept dog and any other type of dog? Is it the Collar?

tbh wrote:
    Some questions for you:
    What are your theories for why this dog went mad, and how would you train the dog not to do it again (assuming it's nothing physical).

If you don't know, how would you suggest the OP go about finding out?

And if the OP cannot say "this is 100% the reason why the dog did what it did", what do you suggest the OP do?

I will not speculate on the OP's situation. I wasn't there, I don't know him, his girlfriend or their circumstances ...and I don't know their dog either.

My suggestions for th OP were a) vet b) independent advisor to assess the situation (trainer)

In general I would say though:

- people who are unwilling to take up the aforementioned responsibility for their dogs
    - people who do not understand their dogs
    - people who fail to realise when there is something wrong or out of the ordinary with their dogs
    - people who refuse to understand that a dog isn't a on/off appliance but a sensient being with feelings and instincts
    - people who fail to protect their dogs

...those people shouldn't have dogs ...because they'll only end up putting them down

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Wokie

I'm totally with Peasant on this one! I have been the lucky recipient of a dog who has bitten a child. The previous owner was either (a) going to give dog back to breeder:eek: (b) get it put down:eek: :eek: Anyway she talked to me and I agreed to take the dog on, on a trial basis to see how she got on. That was over a year ago and she is such a lovely pet. HOWEVER, she's a lovely pet with us...and absolutely cannot be allowed off lead or to have anybody else pet her. This means it is entirely our reponsibility to keep her safe along with any else who might come into her space. There is always a sign when she is getting stressed due to someone coming too close to her. The thing is, it is again up to us to read these signs and to get her out of the stressful situation. I'm learning how to read the signals and how to keep her as relaxed and happy as possible and (blowing my own trumpet now:D ) but we've got a lovely partnership where she's safe and happy and I've got a beautiful pet. At the end of the day....as Peasant says, there is always a reason and a dog will always give a warning....WE need to know what these warnings are and how to read them and even more imporantly in protecting the children.....who on earth in this day and age would leave their dog unsupervised in the presence of kids:confused:

Wokie wrote:
    HOWEVER, she's a lovely pet with us...and absolutely cannot be allowed off lead or to have anybody else pet her. This means it is entirely our reponsibility to keep her safe along with any else who might come into her space. There is always a sign when she is getting stressed due to someone coming too close to her.

* You can keep a wheelie bin full of rattlesnakes in a Creche if you're careful enough - I think you are 100 miles from reasons/spirit of the OPs intial question.

* What if you sneeze on the street and drop the lead and Spot maims a 6 month old who failed to recognise this lovely pets warning signs :rolleyes:

* A dog with a f*cked up dispostition can be as dangerous as one that has been pushed into being aggressive by knackers or whatever else.

Finally at what point do you people stop excusing unacceptable [to the sane] behaviour and perhaps make a judgement that the animal is just plain dangerous ???

Won't be shocked when someone posts about the adorable Terrier at home that is perfectly safe and a lovely pet and only liable to attack if you happen to wear blue clothing, part your hair or carry coins in your pockets :rolleyes:

Finally @ Peasant I would certainly question the basis/foundations/sources of your assertions - all dogs are not inherently safe and stable - some [like people] can just be plain nasty.

Simple ...dogs have been bred for thousands of generations by people for people. Add the fact that dogs inherently have absolutely amazing social skills and want nothing else more than to be integrated into a group ...be that a group of dogs or people. And the fact that as pack animals by design their social skills are honed towards conflict avoidance.

The end result is an animal that is safe and stable with and around people ...as long as people know the limits and stick to them.

Dogs that are not safe and stable were made that way or are mentally ill.

Raiser wrote:

* You can keep a wheelie bin full of rattlesnakes in a Creche if you're careful enough - I think you are 100 miles from reasons/spirit of the OPs intial question..

I totally accept that I didn't directly help OP's initial question. Just trying to illustrate the point that one I agree with Peasant and why I do, and that a dog does not NEED to be put down just because it has bitten...that there are options.

From OP - Just now, she called him over, asked him to sit, to give him a treat and he wouldn't maintain eye contact and growled. Why? You could understand this if she mistreated him and he was afraid.

OP - the dog not maintaining eye contact is its way of trying to calm himself down and get away from what he perceives as being a stressful situation. Was your GF staring at him - trying to maintain full on eye contact?
    Raiser wrote:
    * What if you sneeze on the street and drop the lead and Spot maims a 6 month old who failed to recognise this lovely pets warning signs :rolleyes: .

Oh please.....
    Raiser wrote:
    *A dog with a f*cked up dispostition can be as dangerous as one that has been pushed into being aggressive by knackers or whatever else..

I agree.....but it can be managed with knowledge and care it doesn't have to be an automatic response of putting a dog to sleep. As it happens, I think my dog may have been born with a negative disposition possibly with a bit of a mental problem? Certainly not going to put her to sleep.
    Raiser wrote:
    Finally at what point do you people stop excusing unacceptable [to the sane] behaviour and perhaps make a judgement that the animal is just plain dangerous ??? .

'you people' :confused: What's this meant to mean? :rolleyes:

Wokie wrote:
    OP - the dog not maintaining eye contact is its way of trying to calm himself down and get away from what he perceives as being a stressful situation. Was your GF staring at him - trying to maintain full on eye contact?
    Wokie wrote:
    'you people' :confused: What's this meant to mean? :rolleyes:

Now Wokie I don't know you personally but if you are indeed [?] making a comment implying that the OPs girlfriend foolishly brought a frenzied dog attack upon herself by letting her master/pet eyeball discipline falter for just that crucial second - then I would have to class you as being a member of a certain fringe group that exists in my head - and I reserve the right to refer to them as "you people".

This group, "you people", sometimes keep sheep in their attic and I've heard of one that believes that a couple of thousand years of domestication has made the Canine species as cool, calm, suave and sophisticated as Roger Moores Bond - while being as gentle and benign as baby Jesus.

Raiser wrote:
    I've heard of one that believes that a couple of thousand years of domestication has made the Canine species cool, calm, suave and sophisticated *snip*- while being gentle and benign *snip*.

It has made them thus indeed ...until members of the "master" persuasion like you get their dominating, power crazy little hands on them.

'nuff said

Raiser wrote:
    Now Wokie I don't know you personally but if you are indeed [?] making a comment implying that the OPs girlfriend foolishly brought a frenzied dog attack upon herself by letting her master/pet eyeball discipline falter for just that crucial second - then I would have to class you as being a member of a certain fringe group that exists in my head - and I reserve the right to refer to them as "you people".

Eh...NO!! If you read through the thread you'll see that this is an incident that happened after initial attack:rolleyes: !! I was just advising the OP on one of the many little warning signs that dogs have. Jeez get hopped on for not helping OP...then hopped on for trying to help.....
    Peasant wrote:
    fathersymes

Any news?

Did the vet find anything?

yes Fathersymes....any news?
    Peasant wrote:
    It has made them thus indeed ...until members of the "master" persuasion like you get their dominating, power crazy little hands on them.

'nuff said

;) Exactly

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

Well, the worst has happened and the little fellow has been put to sleep. In my original post I failed to mentioned that he has attacked before. Attacked my mother (bad bite on hand) for petting him on the head. My girlfriend when she picked up some letters the postman had dropped in the door.

This was a very hard thing to do, the Vet said there was no question as to what should be done. Well it's like losing a family member, very very sad.

I'm on the lookout at the moment for a Wirehaired Jack Russell pup. They are an amazing breed, great fun, courageus and full of character and personality.

sorry to hear that fathersymes - it's not easy. All the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭Duras

Well, the worst has happened and the little fellow has been put to sleep. In my original post I failed to mentioned that he has attacked before. Attacked my mother (bad bite on hand) for petting him on the head. My girlfriend when she picked up some letters the postman had dropped in the door.

This was a very hard thing to do, the Vet said there was no question as to what should be done. Well it's like losing a family member, very very sad.

I'm on the lookout at the moment for a Wirehaired Jack Russell pup. They are an amazing breed, great fun, courageus and full of character and personality.

I am not an expert in dogs, I just had 2 when I was little. However I can see that all this yada yada about dog biting because he had a headache or hernia or cooties or hack knows what is total nonsense. So I think you did the best thing by putting him to sleep.

Dogs are as humans, without a proper education (or "training") or with heck knows what traumas they can become untrustworthy.

My advice would be, if you want to get another dog, go for a puppy, do not get a 1yo dog as you did in this case.

You get your own puppy, you train him (alone or assisted by a professional trainer), you take care of him and he shouldn't bite any person he knows even they beat him to death.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

Oh yes and there was a warning, All his teeth bared about 1 second before he attacked! No growling or any other signs.

Well, the worst has happened and the little fellow has been put to sleep.

:( That's very sad. As TBH says, it's not easy.

If you have the time and energy to put into a puppy, by all means go for it. Maybe check out www.irishanimals.ie when you feel ready.

Oh yes and there was a warning, All his teeth bared about 1 second before he attacked! No growling or any other signs.

Hey Fathersymes - sorry that you've lost him, its obviously a very hard thing to have to go through... best of luck to you.

Also thanks for the advice - I think it was valuable to us casual boards.ie observers that you shared the experience with us. Theres obviously varying opinions here but I've seen a gorgeous Cocker Spaniel with an impeccable history go from being gently petted to almost removing my Sisters ear in < 1 second flat and you just can't rule out the possibility of freak incident A occuring or ever subsequently say that there will not be an incident B

Finally, Wokie - appreciate your sense of humour re. the sig., - you do "you people" proud! Sorry for being such a smart-arse :o !!!

Fathersymes

I'm sad for you for losing your pet and sad for the dog for losing its' life

I'm a bit miffed that you didn't give us the whole story right from the beginning.

I' m angry that the little fella had to die, because there clearly were signs of things going badly wrong and nothing seems to have been done about it.

But I am absolutely ENRAGED that with your pet barely cold you should be on the lookout already for a "new one" to replace him.

Don't you think that this sad occasion would be a good time for reflection, for asking yourself, those around you and possibly some people in the know what went wrong and why it came to this?

Don't you think you might just maybe have some more things to learn about dog behaviour and dog training?

Wouldn't you agree that now would be a good time to learn about these things BEFORE you get another dog?

If you made any mistakes, wouldn't you rather not repeat them than have to put another dog down a few years down the line?

Sorry about the harsh words, but I just had to get this off my chest.