Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Best Celebration Ever?

• 15-07-2006 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,908 ✭✭✭✭

With only a few weeks to go to the kick off of a season there is no doubt that someone will come up with a new innovative celebration that will be acted out in Sunday Leagues up and down the country.

But what is the best one ever?

Personally I have to say the Sharpey shuffle. I know he played for the scum but what a celebration.

Interested to hear what other people would go for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Well done banned for a week.

You read the charter and agreed to it.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

For pure entertainment value it's gotta be Crouchy doing the robot :D

For purely a memorable celebration I know its not the most original one but it's gotta be Ryan Giggs for *that* goal against Arsenal. Forget the chest hair, running around spinning his shirt in the air with hundreds of fans running on to the pitch in pure ecstacy will always stick out in my mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Crouchinho doing the robot!"

All the way tbh! :D

http://img506.imageshack.us/img506/9917/crouchrobot6cu.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Vladimir Smicers goal in the champions League Final. The look on his face still gives me the chills now. It was all 'come on we can do this!!!!!'

Desperation, joy,relief and happiness all in one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Shefki Kuqi ftw :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Not really a celebration but Tardelli's reaction to scoring in the 82 final is my favourite response.

I also liked Terry Phelans psycho-stare after Ray Houghton scored for us in wc94.

TBH I actually hate all those poncy NFL-touchdown-style responses to goals that have become the norm since the 90's. I'm content enough that it started out genunely enough as a way of celebration (eg Roger Milla) but in this day and age I'm convinced it's purely a marketing tool encouraged by agents to increase their players profiles. It seems to work too ,eg no one outside the game had even heard of Peter Crouch until he started doing the robot. Now he's a household name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Has to be the Nigeria player grabbing the net and almost crying after they scored their first WC goal ever in '94. He was overcome by scoring.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

i dunno, maradona running toward the camera in '94 shouting like a crazy man on cocaine was pretty memorable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Again not the greatest celebration but one that sticks out for its significance. Cantona after scoring the penaly against Liverpool at OT, first game back after 8 (?) months suspension....I missed him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

At the time, I thought klinsmann's dive was inspired - just for the context of it all.

The worst celebration ever has to be Tony Adams after the 1993 league cup final... dropping Steve Morrow and breaking his arm is not the way a captain should reward someone for scoring the winning goal....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I still love Romario's celebration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

psi wrote:

The worst celebration ever has to be Tony Adams after the 1993 league cup final... dropping Steve Morrow and breaking his arm is not the way a captain should reward someone for scoring the winning goal....

ROFL

I wonder what the worst injury from a celebration was? Lua Lua hurt himself with a backflip this year. Kuqi hurt himself?

Just remembered a celebration I saw on They Thinks Its All Over, it was Reyes when he was in Spain. He scored, all the players piled on top of him and one of the guys decided to bite his genitals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,845 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Personally, mine would be - Ryan Giggs vs Arsenal F.A Cup Semi 1999 (ya know the year the treble was won)

But I suppose Klinnsman, Lua Lua and Lee Sharpe deserve a mention.

No mention of Gazza's flute celebration I see? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Actually, that was pretty funny now that you mention it. Well done him. He's so daft he probably didn't know what it was about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Ravanelli!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I remember Vinnie Jones injuring himself during training after doing some sort of celebration so he kept it very low key when he scored in the real game. :)
    One of my favourites is Scunthorpe United and their duck celebration. *waddles around as teamates follow* :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭kensutz

Earnie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

I have to go with Tardelli in 1982. "Il passionate" as they call it in Italy.

Roger Milla was great too in 1990!

And of course, you can't beat Lua-lua's for sheer showboating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Ray Houghtons superb athletic celebration after that tap in against Italy in USA 94

Haha, what about our own Damien Duff and the bow in Japan. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

el rabitos wrote:
    i dunno, maradona running toward the camera in '94 shouting like a crazy man on cocaine was pretty memorable

He wasn't on Cocaine in that game, he was banned for ephidrone, which is a stupid to get banned for because it doesn't do anything....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Another one I thought was good, was the Fowler line-snorting celebration against Everton.

Was ridiculous at the time that he got a ban for it. The amount of stick that he had indured at that point, he acts the bigger man and has a sense of humour about it and he gets punished. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Yea, definitly fowlers celebration. It was brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Gotta be Ray Houghton's role-over in '94 against Italy (:p)...I like Robbie Keane's too...seeing any of those feels so great, that I love the celebration (especially Keanes Vs Germany in '02, my favourite sporting moment for over a decade)

But from a neutral perspective, it has to be Lualua's treble backflip and then summersault in the air or whatever it is...superb :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Spider_Baby!

Obafemi Martins as well, thats pretty impressive! Though, it makes you wonder if hes wasting alot of energy on the celebration, which could be used for playing football!

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Newcastle's Ketsbia kicking seven shades of shìte out of the advertising board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Charlton celebrating Houghton's goal against England at Euro88 by hitting his head off the dugout. :D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Cantona against Sunderland for me. Summed up what the man was all about, pure class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭dohboy

John Aldridge for Real Sociedad - on his knees, punching the air, and his langer poking out the bottom of his shorts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

When Zidane was playing at Juventus he scored and went to run over to the fans but triped and fell as he jumped the advertising hoardings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I thought Gazza's celebration against Scotland was good. The one where he lay back and the lads poured water down his throat mimicking their off field drinking antics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭jobonar

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Cantona against Sunderland for me. Summed up what the man was all about, pure class!

alot of players would have been classed as arogant for doing that but not Cantona! that moment just summed up Cantona so well as the genius that he was!!!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Not a goal celebration, but the image of David Pleat in his motty style jacket leaping across the pitch in the 70's is an all time calssic. For goal celebrations, my favourite has to be Tardelli's as well, pure emotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,591 ✭✭✭patmac

I remember some guys at the World Cup (Nigeria I think in '94) immitating a dog peeing on the corner flag very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Keith C

Ian Wright had a few good ones, was it him that took the piss outta Dicanio pushing the ref over???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Emmo

What about Totti's child birth.

Sticks the ball up his Jersey and lies on his back.

His mates circle around while one of them helps him "give birth" to it and then he cradles the ball.

Deadly.

Emmo

jester77 wrote:
    I thought Gazza's celebration against Scotland was good. The one where he lay back and the lads poured water down his throat mimicking their off field drinking antics!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Ozl0T2wDec&search=%20dentist%20paul%20gascoigne

Didnt see a link for tardelli in there, so

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RzngxQPC88&search=tardelli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Magic Pips

There must be footage of this somewhere...

MEXICO - BULGARIA, USA '94 (July 5th 1994)

Bulgaria win the penatly shoot out and a pile on ensues... the sub keeper jumps on and (inadvertently-maybe?) sticks his finger up one of the guys bum!

I think it's this match...

If we can find this, it is the best celebration ever - thank god he had his gloves on eh??

anyone else remember this?

i cant remmeber if it was from that game in particular, but i certainly do remember the video :) It was a constant feature on " They think its all over... " for years!

Magic Pips wrote:
    There must be footage of this somewhere...

MEXICO - BULGARIA, USA '94 (July 5th 1994)

Bulgaria win the penatly shoot out and a pile on ensues... the sub keeper jumps on and (inadvertently-maybe?) sticks his finger up one of the guys bum!

I think it's this match...

If we can find this, it is the best celebration ever - thank god he had his gloves on eh??

anyone else remember this?

*shudder* They showed that picture on every comedy show for a couple of months after that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

5starpool wrote:
    Not a goal celebration, but the image of David Pleat in his motty style jacket leaping across the pitch in the 70's is an all time calssic.

Think that was early 80s after Luton avoided relegation on the last day at.....hmmmm...Maine Road?

i cant remmeber if it was from that game in particular, but i certainly do remember the video :) It was a constant feature on " They think its all over... " for years!
    Ruu wrote:
    *shudder* They showed that picture on every comedy show for a couple of months after that. :)

Thank jeebus, i never saw it except Live as it happened, i was wondering if i was loosing me marbles!!

come on someone find the footage....!!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Grosso's celebration when he scored against Germany in the semi's was excellent. The look of pure joy which teetered on the edge of crying was fantastic. Can't make that **** up.

I once saw a celebration on Fantasy Footballs' pheonix from the flames, where there was a pile on after the goal had been scored, a couple of guys hugged your man, while another guy grabbed his c0ck and balls and jiggled them around, so funny.

Magic Pips wrote:
    Thank jeebus, i never saw it except Live as it happened, i was wondering if i was loosing me marbles!!

come on someone find the footage....!!! :o

Its best left in the archives. :)

Ruu wrote:
    Its best left in the archives. :)

haha...

Content-wise... DEFFO!!!

but its some sort of perverse crusade of mine at this stage...

oh the shame:o :o