Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad news for Limerick City in the census

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

vkid wrote:
    Thought exactly the same thing.
    Of course there's no crime in Dublin Cork etc.. sure the recent shootings in Dublin didn't really happen at all...:rolleyes: My last visit there was during a guy robbing a double decker bus and going loony around Dublin and before that the hgigh speed gun chase on the M50..
    Never seen a sulky race on the Shannon dual c'way and i've travelled it for nearly 20 years. Not saying it didn't happen but its hardly a regular occurence. Honda civics maybe..Hate this kind of ****e from people.

Vkid did you hear about the bomb scare at Dublin Airport the other week.. jeez that's scary... is'nt that near Dublin?? :D the weather in Dublin is overcast... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

mysterious wrote:
    I'm not even to explain to you, how washed out you are... Your from Limerick and you seem to worship him, I may seem way out of line, but you "just know he's didn;t live here" I don't have proof.. dang...

Your even reacting to his comment about the weather,:rolleyes: :D it was about stab city... it's now about the weather wake up Am....

Try again in english?

Love the way you try and show Limerick isn't an aggressive, unfriendly place by being both aggressive and unfriendly.

I'm serious in my criticisms of Limerick, this time last year I posted we were at the beginning of a 10 year plan to turn this city and it's reputation around. A year on and I think definate progress has been made but we're still far off the mark in loads of ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Sure Michael O'Leary reckons its Beiruit! Wouldn't be far off.:D
    I really think though that if the present Dail representatives for Limerick/Clare are voted back in next election, the people of the region have only themselves to blame for inaction. The current boom in the Shannon region is being generated by private enterprise for the most part(and it is booming, probably more than any other city outside Dublin, there is cranes everywhere!).
    But the current TD's have done very little for the region in general. The boundary extension is only one example of things that have been left fester while our representatives should be putting the pressure on. Don;t think thats happening. This area has so much more potential that is yet to be realised and it can;t all be left to the private businessman. The Wester rail corridor is another and so is the spur link to Shannon Airport. People have to stand up and be heard in this. If Limerick was that bad there would be no private enterprise investment (or not at least at the current amazing rate of change in the region.. I know I've voted FF for years but never again because imo they have abondoned cities like Limerick/Waterford and to an extent Cork in favour of the Greater Dublin Area bollox. They also seem to have a penchant for Galway but sure I suppose it has to be well served for the tent at Race Week. They only way for change to happen is to vote for change!

Don;t want to get all political on ye but its true. Pity the poor TD that calls to my door looking for a vote. It really angers me that the focus of the government is on GDR...as usual..we pay tax too.

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭ellenmelon

even if something was done about the boundary extensions/housing/jobs/public transport (which is dire) etc i would never live here again. never ever ever. im sorry, but i think its a big pile of ****e really in my opinion.
    i honestly cannot see what tangible improvements have been made or will be made in the next few years. we're in the 21st century and it reminds me what the town of a similar size that i was born in, was like 10 years ago. it could be a great place but its taking too long to get there.
    im moving back to new zealand and my limerick boyfriend is coming with me, and im sure ill be back for visits but wild horses couldnt drag me back to live.

Is the problem Limerick or Ireland or missing NZ ellen? Sounds like a long way to go if you just dislike Limerick.

Tangiable improvements, made or coming.

City Centre bypass and pedestrianisation

Main Drainage

Shannon Tunnel

Western Rail Corridor and Atlantic Motorway

New Stadia, from rugby to greyhound racing

Canal Bank Restoration

New City Centre (ie Opera Centre, Bedford Row Centre, proposed redevelopment of Arthurs Quay

New Docklands

UL Medical, Commerce and Arts facilities proposed.

One campus Art College on Clare street.

I expect all the above to have significant impact on Limerick and it's surrounding region.

disliking limerick..and in fact most of ireland.nice place to visit but not a fan of the place living wise. i would've been home sooner but other things kept me.

all of the things that you listed are valid, but a lot of them wont make a difference to me personally (especially bloody greyhound racing)
    those things should've been put into action a long time ago.as i said earlier its 2006 not 1986. a few buildings will make the place look nice but there are still flaws in the general infrastructure here. for example i never ever want to get sick here as irish hospitals are dismal and i could never make a living here even if these proposals go ahead.
    and drainage? that makes me want to stay why ? :)

ellenmelon wrote:
    disliking limerick..and in fact most of ireland.nice place to visit but not a fan of the place living wise. i would've been home sooner but other things kept me.

all of the things that you listed are valid, but a lot of them wont make a difference to me personally (especially bloody greyhound racing)
    those things should've been put into action a long time ago.as i said earlier its 2006 not 1986. a few buildings will make the place look nice but there are still flaws in the general infrastructure here. for example i never ever want to get sick here as irish hospitals are dismal and i could never make a living here even if these proposals go ahead.
    and drainage? that makes me want to stay why ? :)

Parts of Limerick had 80% unemployment in the 1980's, the country was poor, really really poor actually, we're really only catching up now and I've no problem saying of the 4 big cities Limerick is furtherest behind, catching up fast though. People forget than when Southill or Moyross were built, literally nothing was provided for the residents, it takes years to undo that kind of neglect. Very often in those areas it's a street by street job to improve the whole area.

The main drainage is an interesting one, a generation ago you could swim in the Shannon (well parts of the Shannon) near to the city. One effect of the main drainage will be to make that possible again. Imo, it's already made the river alot cleaner but it will take years for the damage to be undone.

2 new private hospitals are being built in Limerick, and hopefully UL will get a medical school very soon so things are changing.

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Arathorn

This isnt very P.C but when ever I walk around town especially william street area it always strikes me just how ugly the people are (en masse). Im not saying im an oil painting myself but I try and look presentable/respectable. Too many unwashed slobs around, if they dont care about themselves how will they care about the city. I know Cork, Dublin etc has the same but Limerick stands out to me for this, maybe its the negative attitude people talk about twisting there appearance. What was this thread about again??

Interesting theory, I always felt the same about Galway (and God help me) the Northside of Dublin, guess you'll see fugly's anywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭1huge1

fenris wrote:
    I think Limerick is in an in between state, caught between being a modern city and a country town. The Garda are doing great work, when they are allowed to by the community, my feeling is that there is still the "keep it local / in the family" attitude of a small town but the issues are those of a modern society, the cops are not the enemy, but to do their job they need the consent and participation of the local community. The alternative as practiced in many small and not so small towns across Ireland was "rough justice" by the community. The deal with modern society is that justice and the law enforcement is handled by the appropriate state organs. There is no effective in between state as demonstrated over the last few years.

From a layout perspective, Limerick pretty evenly alternates between "nice" & "nasty" areas. The folks in the nice areas tend to mind their own business, commute, sleep and keep themselves to themselves. Not so much a community as a group of people crashing in the same hotel. This leads to a lack of "buy in" to the locality. So when graffiti starts to appear, scumbags begin to loiter and break ins start,they nod to themselves and decide that it is time to move to Kilaloe, Adare or just not here.

I felt that there was a very strong "somebody should do something" attitude in limerick but riteous indignation never reached the stage of somebody becoming I, or something becoming anything. It is your city, take responsibility, for it, own it, take it back, don't be run out of the place. Just as you get the government you deserve, you also get the community you deserve and are prepared to work for. If you want to live in a modern dynamic city, live like you already are and don't put up with that which drags your city down. This to me is precisely where Limerick differs from Waterford, Dublin, Kilkenny, Cork and Galway. Those cities are to me places you live in, Limerick always had a transitory feel.
    that has got to be the biggest load of crap ive ever heard

what did you do go around to everyones house and do a questionnaire

Try again in english?

Love the way you try and show Limerick isn't an aggressive, unfriendly place by being both aggressive and unfriendly.

I'm serious in my criticisms of Limerick, this time last year I posted we were at the beginning of a 10 year plan to turn this city and it's reputation around. A year on and I think definate progress has been made but we're still far off the mark in loads of ways.

Ok... I'll speak english, even though I don't have time.

This is agressive... F*** YE LIMERICK IS NOT BAD, I'LL I'LL KIC....

Now this is sense.
    I'm not going to take false opinions of someone who blackened the city in every way by bringing personal "stuff" into it.

Secondly I don't believe the guy who claimed what Limerick was anyway, hes just looking for a reaction, the greatest load of nonsense i've ever heard in this limerick thread, to be frank. I mean Limerick is bad because of the weather, now I could go on, but, that would put me to an idiotic level that he's on, so I'm not out of line, if anyone is out of line it's him, feeding negativety like the media, he's doing EXACTLY what the media does, suppose hes looking for attention too.

Thirdly, I don't believe people easily over the Net especially ones like this...:rolleyes: I mean I was laughing quite naturally to the guy comments;

Limerick is a city with problems, yes "we" might be far off the mark in other ways, yes get over it, This is like the same scenrio as if your on the bus and someone is chatting on the phone, and the guy pipes up we're on the bus... the rest on the bus sigh "we know"

no one here is denyng Limerick has a problem, if not problems,your adding to the problem by taking him litterly. Piping up the way he did, is also causing problems,Some stuff hes says i hear from Dubs all the time. He dosn't fool me. Should I just agree for the sake of him, no I don't think so.

The thread ends with, it's not as bad as what the "guy" made it out to be, he just wanted to start a rant here, from old beliefs that the media circulate..

P.s I'm having a cup of tea, and quite relaxed.

Interesting theory, I always felt the same about Galway (and God help me) the Northside of Dublin, guess you'll see fugly's anywhere.

Agreed on that, I mean take it another way, some parts of Limerick is like D4 with a prenounced posh accent. Willams street stands out because it's sadly one of our prime streets.

1huge1 wrote:
    that has got to be the biggest load of crap ive ever heard

what did you do go around to everyones house and do a questionnaire

haha glad you agree 1huge1.... lol he's lived in all the cities, and observes the "feelings" :D I've being to Waterford and i like it but I didn't live there so I don't know what it "feels" like.. but if you want to know you know who to ask..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

Wow I go away ot the UK for a couple of days and the wesht goes mad!

First I am not a dub, I just work there, I have both lived in Limerick and spent the better part of 8 years traveling to and from Limerick. You are entitled to disagree with me, fair play to you, at least you have an opinion and a bit of passion about Limerick.

The original question was why is Limerick losing population. I outlined my feeling as to the main reasons from my view point. That viewpoint is one of an outsider, who met a girl who was studying in UL, traveled up most weekends for 5 years, changed job to move to Limerick, lived in Limerick, socialised in Limerick and was constantly rained on in Limerick. I am no longer living in Limerick, I visit Limerick on ocassion, but I would not move back there with my family (yep married that girl eventually), for the reasons outlined.

If you want to bring up the population, you need people who are prepared to live in Limerick and reproduce i.e. make more people instead of just practicing (as enjoyable as that is). If you population is dropping you need to figure out why people both native of Limerick and blowins like me work there for a while and then move away. There is no problem getting people to go to Limerick, just a problem getting them to stay there. Moving is a pain in the arse, you do not do it unless you feel you have to. I have visited some interesting placed, would go back to most, but would not bring up my kids there. Also for the population to drop, native Limerick people have to move out, If you cannot keep the people who were born and bred in the place, how do you expect to attract and retain people who have to leave the place where their families and friend are, and relocate to Limerick?

I personally found the weather was much wetter than Waterford, Cork or Dublin because to me Limerick weather is constant overcast, light rain, sporadic showers, whereas the othe cities weather is more regular, when it rains it rains for a day instead of light rain and patchy showers for a week. Same amount of water, just more miserable to live through. When I moved to Limerick in early 1999 it rained every day for the first two months. Granted when the weather is good Limerick is fantastic, but those two weeks of sunshine carry a heavy price in terms of the rest of the year.

Yes everywhere has its problems and issues, the difference is Limericks issues are outweighing the benefits derived from the current enhancements programme to the extent that you are losing population. Getting angry at me will not change that, you votes for your politicians, you put up with your scumbags, you give the Gardai the level of support you deem appropriate, your city your responsibility.

Fair play for having a go at me, at least you care and don't exhibit the same apathy that has gripped the rest of your cityfolk. Now instead of directing it at people who have been driven from Limerick by a tolerance for a level of crime beyond what I deem acceptable in a modern society, try looking out for some of the things I mentioned, don't turn away when you see them, do something about it.

fenris wrote:
    Wow I go away ot the UK for a couple of days and the wesht goes mad!

First I am not a dub, I just work there, I have both lived in Limerick and spent the better part of 8 years traveling to and from Limerick. You are entitled to disagree with me, fair play to you, at least you have an opinion and a bit of passion about Limerick.

The original question was why is Limerick losing population. I outlined my feeling as to the main reasons from my view point. That viewpoint is one of an outsider, who met a girl who was studying in UL, traveled up most weekends for 5 years, changed job to move to Limerick, lived in Limerick, socialised in Limerick and was constantly rained on in Limerick. I am no longer living in Limerick, I visit Limerick on ocassion, but I would not move back there with my family (yep married that girl eventually), for the reasons outlined.

If you want to bring up the population, you need people who are prepared to live in Limerick and reproduce i.e. make more people instead of just practicing (as enjoyable as that is). If you population is dropping you need to figure out why people both native of Limerick and blowins like me work there for a while and then move away. There is no problem getting people to go to Limerick, just a problem getting them to stay there. Moving is a pain in the arse, you do not do it unless you feel you have to. I have visited some interesting placed, would go back to most, but would not bring up my kids there. Also for the population to drop, native Limerick people have to move out, If you cannot keep the people who were born and bred in the place, how do you expect to attract and retain people who have to leave the place where their families and friend are, and relocate to Limerick?

I personally found the weather was much wetter than Waterford, Cork or Dublin because to me Limerick weather is constant overcast, light rain, sporadic showers, whereas the othe cities weather is more regular, when it rains it rains for a day instead of light rain and patchy showers for a week. Same amount of water, just more miserable to live through. When I moved to Limerick in early 1999 it rained every day for the first two months. Granted when the weather is good Limerick is fantastic, but those two weeks of sunshine carry a heavy price in terms of the rest of the year.

Yes everywhere has its problems and issues, the difference is Limericks issues are outweighing the benefits derived from the current enhancements programme to the extent that you are losing population. Getting angry at me will not change that, you votes for your politicians, you put up with your scumbags, you give the Gardai the level of support you deem appropriate, your city your responsibility.

Fair play for having a go at me, at least you care and don't exhibit the same apathy that has gripped the rest of your cityfolk. Now instead of directing it at people who have been driven from Limerick by a tolerance for a level of crime beyond what I deem acceptable in a modern society, try looking out for some of the things I mentioned, don't turn away when you see them, do something about it.

Ok...

Crime

and weather..

Please tell me more..

Have you lived in Waterford? which you seem to have the experience to say all the above towns in Ireland have a better transitory feeling:rolleyes:

In fact Limerick is drier than cork.. but you know all the regions so, to come up with a pessismistic view of this city. the weather, still goes back to my point...

Crime is not extravagant, and your words really do exaggerate it... Limerick has being overshadowed by the government so blatantly in the last few years,

Cork and Galway are cities Limerick is'nt, as you said it's a village, with no transitory feeling and almost everyone is scared out of thier wits of getting stabbed. Oh it's stressful.

I have lived in those towns and to me and they have a better feeling, I only claim knowledge of the places I have been.

Weather is a natural event, Limerick gets the worst weather straight in off of the atlantic, by the time weather systems cross the country they have lost a lot of their rain, Limerick is the first port of call, then there are mountains, then there is Cork and Waterford. rain falls, there is less left by the time it crosses the south east. Much as I would like to get credit for the weather, it is a fact of life, so I deal with it. I want to live somewhere with better weather so I move to where the weather is better, simple really.

I have not exagerated my experience of crime in Limerick. If anything I have minimised it down to a few pertinant examples. You tolerate a level of crime that most other parts of the country would not put up with. People stoping their cars to help kick a Garda half to death is not normal behaviour.

The only stabbing I refered to was a chap getting a screwdriver stuck in his neck and paralysed for the better part of two years for the grevious crime of being a student while we were boarding a bus outside termites.

I do feel that having a motorbike stolen, a car broken into, and finding two uninvited guests who turned out to be armed robbers out on bail trying to decide if my video and TV was worth the effort of robbing, a little excessive , at least it is excessive to non natives of Limerick, you may view this as normal and just local colour. For me it was too much, maybe I am being a tad over sensitive. May be I should have just voted for the nice chap who told us that our street would be "protected" if he was elected, maybe I just misunderstood the whole democracy and civil society thing.

Development is great, you build it we come, we get robbed, assaulted, told we are whinging when we mention the fact, they you wonder why we leave and raise our families else where.

The question was, why is Limerick losing people, I am sorry that you don't like the answer, and prefer to come up with more comforting answers. Bad press explains people not going to Limerick, but when people are actively leaving the place, you have to look at the hard truths closer to home, or just dismiss them and go back to whining about the rough deal that you get from the politicians you elect. Maybe if we voted for the guy who could "protect for free" rather than the chap we bought groceries from at the milkmarket things would have been different, but that would not be my idea of a nice place to raise a family.

Parts of Limerick had 80% unemployment in the 1980's, the country was poor, really really poor actually, we're really only catching up now and I've no problem saying of the 4 big cities Limerick is furtherest behind, catching up fast though. People forget than when Southill or Moyross were built, literally nothing was provided for the residents, it takes years to undo that kind of neglect. Very often in those areas it's a street by street job to improve the whole area.

The main drainage is an interesting one, a generation ago you could swim in the Shannon (well parts of the Shannon) near to the city. One effect of the main drainage will be to make that possible again. Imo, it's already made the river alot cleaner but it will take years for the damage to be undone.

2 new private hospitals are being built in Limerick, and hopefully UL will get a medical school very soon so things are changing.

there is no difference between the private hospitals and the public hospitals. they are both rotten to the core with shocking middle and upper management and a lot of poorly trained staff. i do not see any improvements being made. the state of irish hospitals is why my mother (a nurse for 20 years and who just finished training as a midwife) moved away from limerick after only 3 years (the move was originally permanent) to australia to work. the work environment is pretty effed up (ward sisters or whatever they are called here outrageously abusive),a lot of wards are lacking basic facilities (including basic bandages and kits to clean wounds) and teaching methods and general practice (mainly in the maternity hospital) that are stuck in 80s.both hospitals that my mum worked in (regional and maternity) are two of the filthiest hospitals that she has ever worked in. women that are HIV+ sharing bathroom facilities with woman who arent (i dont need to go into details about giving birth and bodily fluids) but that would never happen anywhere else.

my dad, who was admited with severe gall stones was in a hospital bed for three days before he saw a doctor. he was then discharged and an appointment was made for an operation 2 months later which just wasnt good enough. in australia, at the hospital where he worked, he was there 2 weeks and he had the operation free of charge, as it was a state hospital and they treat their employees well. irish and limerick hospitals have no respect for patients or staff lower down in the food chain.

as for the new medical school? UL needs to get its act together before it even thinks of opening a medical school.there are a lot of qualms about it. my mum did her midwifery training through UL and came out with qualifications that make her pretty much a glorified obstetric assistant (which she was about 15 years ago when she worked on maternity wards as a new nurse). she now has to work in a hospital for 2 years in australia or new zealand before she can set up a practice of her own. because they didnt teach the students what they needed to know.

there are so many more horror stories about limerick hospitals.

god forbid in the two months before i left that i got so ill i had to go to hospital. i would rather fly home sick than go near an irish hospital.

fenris wrote:
    I have lived in those towns and to me and they have a better feeling, I only claim knowledge of the places I have been.

Weather is a natural event, Limerick gets the worst weather straight in off of the atlantic, by the time weather systems cross the country they have lost a lot of their rain, Limerick is the first port of call, then there are mountains, then there is Cork and Waterford. rain falls, there is less left by the time it crosses the south east. Much as I would like to get credit for the weather, it is a fact of life, so I deal with it. I want to live somewhere with better weather so I move to where the weather is better, simple really.

I have not exagerated my experience of crime in Limerick. If anything I have minimised it down to a few pertinant examples. You tolerate a level of crime that most other parts of the country would not put up with. People stoping their cars to help kick a Garda half to death is not normal behaviour.

The only stabbing I refered to was a chap getting a screwdriver stuck in his neck and paralysed for the better part of two years for the grevious crime of being a student while we were boarding a bus outside termites.

I do feel that having a motorbike stolen, a car broken into, and finding two uninvited guests who turned out to be armed robbers out on bail trying to decide if my video and TV was worth the effort of robbing, a little excessive , at least it is excessive to non natives of Limerick, you may view this as normal and just local colour. For me it was too much, maybe I am being a tad over sensitive. May be I should have just voted for the nice chap who told us that our street would be "protected" if he was elected, maybe I just misunderstood the whole democracy and civil society thing.

Development is great, you build it we come, we get robbed, assaulted, told we are whinging when we mention the fact, they you wonder why we leave and raise our families else where.

The question was, why is Limerick losing people, I am sorry that you don't like the answer, and prefer to come up with more comforting answers. Bad press explains people not going to Limerick, but when people are actively leaving the place, you have to look at the hard truths closer to home, or just dismiss them and go back to whining about the rough deal that you get from the politicians you elect. Maybe if we voted for the guy who could "protect for free" rather than the chap we bought groceries from at the milkmarket things would have been different, but that would not be my idea of a nice place to raise a family.

So your saying you lived

In Cork
    Waterford
    Galway
    Dublin
    and Limerick naturally enough. Fair enough IF you have your view on how bad Limerick is, but it's not fitting in with the facts entirely.

Limerick from My recollection, is a bit further inland from the Atlantic and sheltered more than Cork Or Galway, It has the Moutains in north Kerry and some in west Clare to sheilds some of the winds and rain. Then if your right then, is Galway drier? I would like a response.

Your trying to compare climate of a country which is redicously small, and the example you are mentioning are places less than a 100 miles in distance:eek:

Did you ever see light in this city. My BIG ISSUE is no matter what is good or bad about a place, if someone projects a negative image on it, it only feeds it. People wil have it in the back of their minds, and expect the worst and the result will bound to be also negative. Like the Media..

It's getting a bit tiresome, that Limerick is getting this plaque over and over, I mean I personally believe that some of the bad stuff that goes on is triggered by sterotyoing, because it's only adding fear, paronia, a transitory feeling as you described etc...

why did you feel more positive or whatever in Waterford. I would like you to answer me this. I'm looking forward to your response on it. describe to me the feeling... lol

Man your have opinion, but I'm sorry I just don't believe in all you say, cus I believe the negativity plays a major role in your decisions about the place, I'm also aware that you are only adding to the negativity. that is mosty in the past if it were true. I mean of course bad things can happen, but sorry to cut your short it happens in the other regions too. go to the crime poll, there on this this thread and see for yourself. your perception on Limerick has changed even if it were bad, because the fact is Limerick is the safest out of the cities you mentioned overall, some things limerick need work on, not denying that.
    Limerick has short of Gardai staff for a long time however of recently the Gardai have being given a good record in Limerick. IMO I feel safer in Limerick than I do In Dub. Now If I was in a rough area in either of the cities I would'nt naturally. You must not forget for the size of this city and the surroundings. THere is only one garda station! or well two another small base in Roxoborough. There is not enough gardai in this city to be honest. They have being begging for a base at Castletroy due to the time it takes for the Gardai to arrive at destination. Crime figures are improving in Limerick, is there anything wrong with you saying this. Could I ask you were living in a rough area of Limerick as this could be apart of the reasons to your experiences.

The weather thing is petty.. I will find the facts for it. Cus the last day I was in Limerick it was baking. Though we live in Ireland too.

When I respond you add more negativity why is this?;) am i missing something here.

Cus if not I'll quote it..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Fenris is just giving his opinion. He did not like living in limerick for various reasons, why cant anyone accept that ffs. Get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 nazthing

fenris wrote:

The question was, why is Limerick losing people, I am sorry that you don't like the answer, and prefer to come up with more comforting answers. Bad press explains people not going to Limerick, but when people are actively leaving the place, you have to look at the hard truths closer to home, or just dismiss them and go back to whining about the rough deal that you get from the politicians you elect.

It's not a given that the population decrease is due to "fear of knackers" as it might have been in your case. Seems this thread has derailed into the same "too many scumbags" rehash you can find all over the board, which is unfortunate.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭jonski

I would have thought the explanation was quiet simple , where once you had a lot of people living in houses and flats within the city limits now all these people are living outside them . They are still working/shopping/socialising in Limerick , they have just moved to where the houses are being built and are cheaper , I believe .

Am agreeing for the most part with Fenris, except the weather, Galway gets the worst weather ever! Don't know about Cork, but Galway is like rainville.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

OK, we all ok now?

Limerick is grand, but we really dont stick together, if Limerick is bashed people will either agree or get aggressive. Look at Cork, feck if Limerick had the support of its population like that... it'd be a completley different place.

I'm just back from a 7 week holiday to Chicago, and i realised people here dont smile, be it local or national but there isnt a feeling that you could shout out "HEY EVERYBODY, GOOD DAY TO YOU" and people would smile or some would come up to you and say "good day to you too".
    Shouting out like that rather then getting a positive repsonce I'd more likely get Limerick lowlifes telling me i was gay.

Thats the other thing i noticed, once again... may be local, may be national, but here people tend to put you down. Like i went to the Gay Games opening cerimony before i came over, I'm not gay but i wanted to support them and feck, its the closest to an oylmpic cerimony I'll probably ever get (plus i got to cheer on the irish team), but saying it in America the reposnce is "Oh wow.. what was that like, was it spectacular?" and here i was saying it and my friend (strong word, companion) started laughing and said "Oh my god, your gonna get such a slagging about this"!!??

In Chicago i felt free to be myself and say whatever, coming back i've had to toughen up again just so my feelings arnt hurt.. which when you think about it, isnt the greatest feeling to come back 'home' too.

I love this city, its where i was born and bred... and with the DeadBattery Entertainments 'City of Dreams' proposal hopefully we will make a difference. But what we really need is help, i even went on radio to promote the idea, get feedback and hopefully volunteers to help us, but even though texts were flying in saying it was a great idea and limerick really needs it, no one actually has offered to help out (other then a small number of friends). BTW, if you wanna help out (in any way, paper work, fianical, helping get sponsers, etc go to www.deadbattery.net and email John, plus City of Dreams is the link to find out more.

I hope ye dont feel I'm advterising here, but we're not selling anything... it just would give people in limerick stuff to do, which i feel would cut back on SO much!!

i get shot down too a wee bit, like limerick_man says..
    you say anything vaguely against the grain you get a wierd look.people think you're sh*t stirring..im just expressing an opinion.people seem to be afraid of having constructive arguments here...im loving this thread because even though we all disagree, at least we get to say our bit without being drowned out literally by a chorus of "YOU'RE WRONG!" or something to that effect. heaven forbid people should have differing opinions! *gasp*

I lived in John St, The Pines and Landsdowne Gardens (off Ennis Road) before moving to Bunratty after escorting two of Limericks finest out of my sitting room, on the advice of one of the Garda regarding not sticking around after pissing off those who have a history of violence and nothing to lose.

You may dismiss the weather thing, you grew up there and know no better. I grew up less than 100 miles away and know that that distance was enough to make a difference. You would put up with the weather all other things being equal, but to me life is too short to put up with needless misery if it can be avoided. So I acted to avoid the weather and the other factors, I would have been stupid not to.

I have tried not to be too negative and leave things general, but you keep asking for more info, that info is not flattering. I am sorry if my experiences do not show your town in the best light. I have given you enough detail to satisfy a reasonable person that I have actually spent time in your city. I understand why you would like me to go away, why you would like me to be proven to be a troll.

fenris wrote:
    I lived in John St, The Pines and Landsdowne Gardens (off Ennis Road) before moving to Bunratty after escorting two of Limericks finest out of my sitting room, on the advice of one of the Garda regarding not sticking around after pissing off those who have a history of violence and nothing to lose.

You may dismiss the weather thing, you grew up there and know no better. I grew up less than 100 miles away and know that that distance was enough to make a difference. You would put up with the weather all other things being equal, but to me life is too short to put up with needless misery if it can be avoided. So I acted to avoid the weather and the other factors, I would have been stupid not to.

I have tried not to be too negative and leave things general, but you keep asking for more info, that info is not flattering. I am sorry if my experiences do not show your town in the best light. I have given you enough detail to satisfy a reasonable person that I have actually spent time in your city. I understand why you would like me to go away, why you would like me to be proven to be a troll.

I'm not, I'm asking for your reponse for two of my question's In my last post, am I asking to much.;)

Which two questions?

I thought I had answered everything apart from the Galway question, which I didn't answer as I have never lived there or spent more than the ocassional weekend there.

Also the Waterford / everywhere else question, just to spell it out

I felt more comfortable there because I never had

My bike stolen
    Car stolen
    any confrontations with violent criminals.

The warm fuzzy feeling came from the fact that I had a reasonable expectation of leaving my house / car / bike and finding them the way I left them. This gave a feeling of security and stability.
    These two feeling are basic criteria for a safe environment to bring up kids, most people will actively seek places where these criteria exist, conversly people will tend to leave places where these criteria are not met. My point would be to address the issues that adversely impact these criteria as a priority.

I hope that answers you question.

And do you see any improvement in Limerick? I honestly think it's getting safer, nicer and better week by week. It's now probably the best place for shopping outside the Dublin region, has several topclass restuarants, and the guards seem to be making progress in fighting the petty crime thats held this city back for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

I would say that the reason the city is losing it's population is because the major housing estate development is being done outside the city boundry ie: Raheen, Annacotty, Caherdavin, Westbury. Also, city people are moving to the country because you get a bigger house and garden than you would get in the city (this is the case everywhere).
    All of the people who moved to other cities did so because they feel that there are more job opportunities quite often in sectors which aren't very prolific in Limerick ie: pharmaceutical.
    It has nothing to do with the weather and nothing to do with crime (as any Limerick person will tell you that most other cities are as bad).
    We could do with being a bit more friendly but that's pretty much countrywide except for areas that rely on tourism.
    So in order to improve Limerick as a place to live all members of this discussion should make an effort to look at people as they walk down the street, smile, be polite in shops, talk to people in queues and help the elderly, pregnant women, disabled people etc. It's the people who make a place great to live in so start being nice - I am serious by the way.