Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Soccer Beers Charity Shield Day..........

• 26-07-2006 7:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭

I have to say I'm starting to feel the love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Wait until the Premierships starts again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I think we've had a collective maturing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Shut up you stupid followers of various teams. Bow to my opinions and feel my rath. There wil be war on the soccer forum again, mark my words.

ps, your teams are crap, discuss.:)

I think its time for a Soccer Forum Beers.

Charity Shield would be a good time.

What say ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Are you drunk Gulliver?

fade2black wrote:
    Are you drunk Gulliver?
    what are you insinuating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

So long as the emergency services are given sufficent warning ;)

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    what are you insinuating?

That you're talking a lot of site wide shite in the last half hour...

fade2black wrote:
    That you're talking a lot of site wide shite in the last half hour...
    I could say that you are spying on me, in a manner not befitting a lady!

:D So not drunk then? Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Seriously, I'm up for the Shield, where we beering?

C'mon, I've a few scores to settle...:D

Christ I'd have to bring a big stick with a nail at the end. For defensive reasons of course.

Where's good for footie in Dublin City Centre?

RE*AC*TOR wrote:

Christ...he is drunk.

RE*AC*TOR wrote:

Sinnotts is good apart from the battle through the crowd to the jax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Sinnotts is good apart from the battle through the crowd to the jax.

That's why god invented empty pint glasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Hopefully plastic glasses.

I could get a pub sorted for the day if you mad bastards want to have a soccer beers.

Cover charge for security personnel .....lots of em....

/thread titled edited or would have went elsewhere.

kdjac

KdjaC wrote:
    I could get a pub sorted for the day if you mad bastards want to have a soccer beers.

make it so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

I don't know if Chelsea vs. Liverpool will inspire enough controversy for this kind of event.

You've changed the title now but if you're gonna have it at this match you may as well call it "Liverpool Fan's Beers".

Stupid idea Reactor. Stupid.

fade2black - you can cheer for Chelsea I won't mind.

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    fade2black - you can cheer for Chelsea I won't mind.

Not in my nature.

Just don't call it a soccer boards beers if it's for a Liverpool match.

first day of the prem season? its not so much fun watching Gillette Soccer Saturday....

What about an Ireland match?

fade2black wrote:
    What about an Ireland match?
    good call.

an away one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Is this happening?

I'd love it to.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

fade2black whining like a girl seemed to kill it

sinnonts up in stephens green is usually filled with liverpool fans for the matches anyway, thats where i do my match watching anyway. should be a fair amount of people there for the match

well, it would in fairness be nice to get a good croos section from the forum - what about the Ireland - Germany game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TheMonster

el rabitos wrote:
    fade2black whining like a girl seemed to kill it

sinnonts up in stephens green is usually filled with liverpool fans for the matches anyway, thats where i do my match watching anyway. should be a fair amount of people there for the match
    you're over 18 - i'm surprised :p

I'd be up for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Pfft, who wants to waste money watching Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

TheMonster wrote:
    you're over 18 - i'm surprised :p

wow, u typed that yourself? ......*clap*........*clap*

Why don't you two chaps restrain yourselves until you're face to face, mano-a-mano?

Anyways, Charity Shield is good for me, Ireland-Germany is not.

Any chance the thread could be debated without me having to ban someone?

Ireland germany match would be great, i can meet in a bar in Stuttgart after the match :p

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

KdjaC wrote:

Ireland germany match would be great, i can meet in a bar in Stuttgart after the match :p

kdjac

What and ruin our reputation as good natured travellers! Would the German Police be up to Policing the soccer forum beers ?

Good point :)

Altho i do imagine 17 12 year olds sitting in the pheno with cans of Dutch gold for some reason ......:D

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

PiE wrote:
    Pfft, who wants to waste money watching Ireland.

we wont be wastinhg money watching ireland :D we'll be wasting money drinking beers and telling el_Rabitos where to go ;) The ireland game will just be a side show in the background ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

we'll be wasting money drinking beers and telling el_Rabitos where to go ;)
    I'm soooo there.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I'm in Dublin for the Charity Shield (or is it the Community Shield?), and wouldn't mind being a scouser for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

A 'soccer forum' boards meet. Wouldnt that have to be a Liverpool/Man Utd game, with Liverpool fans at one side, Man Utd at the other side and the other club followers in the middle?

Mind you, I wouldnt expect any of the neutrals to show up and have to listen to the Man Utd/Liverpool 'banter'. For some it must be difficult enough to listen to one of those at a time, never mind both.

The Community Shield match isnt a big enough one for my liking, as the game means nothing to the players and the manager and they treat it like a warm-up match. Nice to win but not really caring, although if you win it still use the opportunity to rub it in. Lets just hope from a Liverpool point of view that its injury free.

redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

I'm up for the Boards beers whatever match you pick.

Since I very much doubt it will be a Newcastle match I will support the team that has the least supporters there (just to even things up) :p

Besides despite all the posturing people do in here, when ever people meet up it's usually very civilised (from my experience with boards beers anyway).

redspider wrote:

The Community Shield match isnt a big enough one for my liking

In the interests of public order and the landlord's property thats probably a good thing...:p

I'm in Dublin for the Charity Shield (or is it the Community Shield?), and wouldn't mind being a scouser for the day.

I shall join the Dial Square one in supporting the Mickeys for the day.

Could get Mc Dowells in Inchicore for the game, would only be people from here there as its usually empty on saturdays :)

Can stick on subliminal Pats highlights during half time :D

"we are not ****"

"come buy season tickets...dont go just buy them...."
    etc:

kdjac

perhaps a public multi-choice poll. see what people would be up for?

the charity shield is meaningless enough, that people could just have a bit of craic.

Is McDowell's the one Pat's bought?

That's be a good idea if it is.

A poll is also a good idea.

seansouth wrote:
    Is McDowell's the one Pat's bought?

That's be a good idea if it is.

A poll is also a good idea.

Yup , so create one :D

kdjac