Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xbox 360 Drive Flashing

• 30-07-2006 6:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭

Has anyone here flashed there xbox 360?

Im getting one 2m and wanna flash the drive for personal reasons..lol
    but wanna know if its safe to do and jus get a bit of good old trusty
    Irish view on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Picked up a 360 on Saturday, plan on flashing mine tonight. I'll let you know how I got on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

Let me know how you get on Ciaran
    seems like its easy enough.

Dunno about that, I havent checked but I bet I have a poxy Hitachi drive in mine.

Not sure if my SATA chipset is supported without hacking mtkflash either.

Apparently my DL burner has compatability issues as well!

Yep, its a feckin hitachi alright, which means even if I can get Birdys 2.2 R3 on there without bricking the drive, my NEC ND-3500AG wont burn bootbable disks.

Might as well wait for GaryOPA 2.0 now anyway as it seems more stable. I'll build the PC i intend to use for these mods instead tonight.

*edit* SATA chipset (SataLink Sil3112act144) also no use, so I need a new Pioneer 111D DL DVD Burner (altough there is a xbh thread which makes a brief mention of geremiahs fw patch, which might help) and a new PCI SATA Card. I've bought some networking gear, the VGA cable, some DVD+R DL disks and the core system already, so it'll have to wait till next month.

Hope you get on better ricey

Cracked the 360 open tonight to see what the story was.

Tricky enough to open, I used these guides:

http://www.anandtech.com/systems/showdoc.aspx?i=2610&p=1
    http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=22818

(Geebees is fairly comprehensive for the whole mod)

Stuck the S-ATA Raid card into my newly built junker, hooked up the 360 dvd drive to one of the SATA ports, booted with the PC with SLAX:

http://radipshare.de/files/18684918/live-cd.iso.html

Interestingly, SLAX didnt boot to completion, seemed to have some kind of kernel panic, but that happened after it recognised the SATA chipset and set the drive to modeb (modeb is neccessary for win/linux to recognise it).

Warm rebooted the PC, windows (xp) took an age to boot (like 10 minutes) but eventually i got in and could see the xbox drive fine in explorer.

Thats as far as I went, i have no way of burning a valid backup without my new DVD burner so I cant verify if my flash would work or not. Even then we are waiting on GaryOPA 2.0 to be able to dump backups/Security Sectors from the Hitachi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

If you have an hitachi, just get a usb2sata adapter off ebay and use this guys guide:

http://utterchaosx.blogspot.com/ (half way down or so)

Its too easy tbh!

Hitachi's are much better now than they were weeks ago due to recent releases.

edit:
    http://cgi.ebay.ie/USB-2-0-to-SATA-CABLE-ADAPTER-CONVERTER-UK-ADAPTER_W0QQitemZ250014757432QQihZ015QQcategoryZ74941QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Thats the one i got

That adapters pretty handy. Might pick one up at some stage. I'll stick with SATA RAID controller for now.

Dam this is hard...lol

Anyone in Limerick wanna do this for me? Hehe amd il pay
    ya 4 the time, no bull**** i will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭GrumPy

If you have an hitachi, just get a usb2sata adapter off ebay and use this guys guide:

http://utterchaosx.blogspot.com/ (half way down or so)

Its too easy tbh!

Hitachi's are much better now than they were weeks ago due to recent releases.

edit:
    http://cgi.ebay.ie/USB-2-0-to-SATA-CABLE-ADAPTER-CONVERTER-UK-ADAPTER_W0QQitemZ250014757432QQihZ015QQcategoryZ74941QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Thats the one i got

Sounds easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Well lads, I have lost touch with the whole xbox thing for a while.
    I have the original xbox modded plenty.
    Tell me, what are we capable of doing with the 360 (in a nutshell)

Are there now some mods for it. I see ye are flashing it now, what is achievable??:confused:

Features
    Here it is, the long awaited World's first Xbox 360 backup firmware
    modification to boot game backups on Hitachi GDR-3120-L DVD drives!

But, now complete with "Security Sector" Extraction to make your
    own backup of original Xbox 360 and XBOX 1 games on your system.

Boots all Xtreme Xbox 360 backups
    Boots all Xtreme Xbox 1 backups supported by emulator
    Boots all Xbox 360 originals
    Boots all Xbox 1 originals supported by emulator

Use on Xbox Live at your own risk

Anyone running backups yet?
    I took mine apart tonight just to have a look, I think I will have a right go at it on Saturday, I will take the whole thing apart.
    Still feel iffy about going ahead with the whole flash :confused:

There are loads of people running backups and it works 100% but its
    just as you said having the ball$ to go ahead and flash it...lmao

Let me know how you get on.

There are some good guides around all the same.
    I think you would want to key the room door, if you have any distractions you will wreck the whole job.
    There seems to be alot in it.
    Then backing up your games seems a pain too.
    It wont be long now and a decent mod will go mainstream.

I will report back though:eek:

Jus dl the games or not cuz thats illegal..!

Well, finally got this working last week using a USB -> SATA adapter and these guides along with the ones i posted above:

http://utterchaosx.blogspot.com/2006/07/running-virtual-machine-with-live-cd.html
    http://utterchaosx.blogspot.com/2006/07/slax-live-cd-in-vm-summary.html

Roll on homebrew

if anyone cant flash their 360 themselves then dont bother at all, theres new fw's out every few weeks, so if ur paying someone to do it,your gonna be paying them a lot of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Would this be a better option than the chip? And if so, would installation be that hard?

chips have no advantage, just thieving companies trying to make money, most of them are selling all sorts of junk like pieces of plastic to help you open your 360! Just get the usb to sata adapter and follow that utterchaos guide and you'll be laughing, thats if you have a hitachi drive that is, if you have a samsung you need a sata motherboard or a specific sata pci card.

Well, you can switch the chips off, which is nice if you want to go on live with far less risk of being banned. They also automatically knock themselves off if they detect an original disk, which is nice.

Lads, what is the easiest way to go about this hack.
    What chip is available and what can it do.
    I have had a quick look around the net but I cant make sense of any chips for the 360??
    Any help appreciated

All the info you require is available at xbox-scene.com.

This sort of stuff is not for folks who are too lazy to read.

Ciaran man, im not lazy, I am sick of reading the stuff. The problem is I dont understand most of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 richard.palan

hey anybody from waterford can do the hack 4me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭That Guy 901

If anyone wants an easy tutorial on how to flash your 360 or if they want their Xbox's flashed, go here:

360flashingireland.com

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

samsung drives are easy. got mine on the 5th of march and i have flashed 3 drives, one of them the mighty ms28, 100% success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Dicksboro_man

Hi lads!is there anyone who can flash my xbox 360 in Kilkenny?I'll pay,no prob.

Will someone reply?

got my 360 flashed by a gentleman with a username "the_god_swan".It was done quick and everything works fine.he is a nice man to have business with.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Mikebyrne

I'm in the Kildare area and can flash drives

PM me if interested