Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Flaming Lips - Vicar Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Lorax wrote:
    Anyone know what my chances are of getting tickets for the gigs in vicar st or should I just give up now :) And is anyone here goin? Ya lucky **** is all ill say

Hey man,

Be optimistic. You might think you have no chance but if you do your work on the night you will increase your chance of ending up with a ticket. Maybe even two. At face value, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Mr Rivers

Lorax wrote:
    And is anyone here goin? Ya lucky **** is all ill say
    Goin to both nights! :D

Thinkin of dressin up for one of them, maybe both if it goes well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Going on the sunday myself. Their shows have gained almost mythical status. Can`t wait tbh. Haven't been this excited about a concert this much in years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ArcadeFred

I sold my ticket for this...face value... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I can't wait to see them in a small venue. They seem like such a festival band so I'm hoping they prove me wrong.

Both nights are back on sale on Ticketmaster.

Just picked up two Sunday Standing tickets. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Both nights are back on sale on Ticketmaster.

Just picked up two Sunday Standing tickets. :)

Just got two for Sunday as well. Thanks a million!!!!!!!!!!!! Was considering paying over the top for two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 fmf

<snip>

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Yes the Party gig of the year is getting close:D

Had a great time down at killkenny gig in the summer.
    From what I see on the Lips forum ..things are going great at the UK gigs. The set List is not much different to the Killkenny one, but in the Tivoli it should be ten times better

I know a few folks got on stage as Aliens & Santa's
    ( Ref Christmas on Mars film on the way next year.)

We have a gang of 12 going on the Sat 18th , I think we will have to get into the xmas party mood and make a little effort and dress up. ( I would love a Superman outfit ;) )

Who went tonight? How was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

I did.

1st Lips gig, I saw them at Glasto a few years ago but wasnt really interested. Since then ive met several Oklahoman ppl who have told me i must go see them.

I did, it was fantastic.

I love gigs where you might know a few songs,not all, but leave with the feeling that the whole thing was enjoyed by everybody, not just the nutters down the front.

ANyway, if ur going tomorrow, it will blow you away.

The laser pointer things where quite fun as well!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Redegg

Yea was great. Two encores. An excellent cover(won't ruin it for the ones going tmr!) but yes the lazers were great. The strangest thing I have been to in a while definitely. Magical stuff. No Wayne in a bubble!

Advice for people tmr. Stay in the bar till 9:30. support were not so good! The annuals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 focusman

I left after the first encore - which was AMAZING :) What was the final song of the gig?

Great fun, great gig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Ant_

Had great time =D hugely fun gig
    i was lucky enough to be one of the fellas in a santa suit on saturday night
    one of the lads said they wanted to do the bubble entry bit for wayne but there wasn't enough room :/
    Just back to belfast a while ago, i'll try to upload some pics etc later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Toast

Excellent stuff. Shame they had to have the break in the middle. It kinda messed with the flow but I loved that they recovered even though the enticement of a free show was tempting (for those not there their guitarist had to leave the stage during The Yeah Yeah Yeah song because of a sinus problem and they band were off stage a good 10 minutes or so). Afterwards though the crowd screaming Steveo all the time was a nice touch. I think he was equal parts confused and flattered.

Also the Aliens were way better than the Santas! Go Aliens!

Toast wrote:
    Also the Aliens were way better than the Santas! Go Aliens!

Yeah, I was in front of the Santas and they spent the majority of the show on their mobiles texting their friends. The aliens gave it socks, fair play to them. Great gig AND I've got a new laser pointer for my presentations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

Ugh... don't mention the Santas to me... they irritated me for the whole gig! How did they get that gig, half the time they were barely dancing and or texting people on their mobiles mid song! The aliens were giving it socks, fair play to them... damn santas were like the embodiement of half the crowd... what was up with the line or so of mopey dry people in the front? For most of the night the people at the barrier seemed to be totally uninterested, I'm not suprised Wayne felt he had to keep trying to get the crowd going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Was at the sunday gig. Unvelievable concert. The opening was especially unbelievable. The view from the balcony propbably heightened that, as you could see all the mania.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭monomaniac

Awesome gig - saw them at Kilkenny in June and knew that I had to see a full gig - did not disappoint.
    The lasers were a great touch - though I was getting really p*ssd off at people pointing them in Wayne's face when he was talking - particularly the George Bush speech. I bet those guys felt really big and clever (because they are).

Must admit the prospect of another free gig was incredibly tempting. I was so satisfied at that stage that I wouldn't have been that disappointed if they couldn't have finished the set. But what an ending and what atmosphere - great audience!

Slightly disappointed we finished with War Pigs when other recent gigs finished with Bohemian Rhapsody and Waiting For Superman. Can't please everyone though!

Hey RE*AC*TOR - saw you posted over at the flaming lips official BB. Must do the same myself later! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

Anybody got links to photos from last night. was there but only had my crappy phone camera with me :mad: . What a gig though :D . i brought two lips virgins with me an boy were they happy they came! best opening to a gig ever

Have to agree with monomaniac's coment on the lasers. Why the hell would someone want to point it in Wayne's eyes. Pretty childish.

Gig was brilliant but I thought he talked too much about how good Saturday night was. Couldn't hear what he was saying a lot of the time too.With the exception of the lasers, the gig was pretty much a carbon copy of the Kilkenny and Electric Picnic appearances. Doesn't matter though, i will still be going to see them the next time they visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Had a ball on Sat night --6 0f us still playing with lasers in work 2 days after the show ,,- See video and PIC link below from the Lips forum.

Sorry to hear about Steve's problems last night, fair play to him for coming back on. That guy has been trough hell over the last few years ( watch "The Fearless Freaks" DVD ) and you will understand.

http://flaminglips.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/477606548/m/5381077972

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 focusman

Saturday night's show was pure entertainment, great craic. I even spotted Bono's best mate Gavin Friday in the crowd singing along to Yoshimi :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Was there Sat night, great night was had, unbelievable start to the gig. Its my 4th time to see them and will see them at next available oppurtunity, another hour would have been class along with more of the classics, spiderbite etc..

Wonder what the tosser to the right of the stage was on about a couple of times he roared Judas at Wayne. Anyway he wasn't noticed and didn't change anything.

to be fair to the "santas texting there friends"
    think find most of them were frantically clicking buttons for the camera bits of their phones for vids and pictures.
    i was one of the two fella's doing santa at the back so i kinda noticed them doing it =)
    (minus the fella at the very front who was great craic from australia, but that was his 7th time seeing them in a short time)

so no offense but the majority of people in the front rows had phones out doing the exact same thing so no doubt the ones who fluked getting on stage wanted a couple of memories of it and all, i know i did.

"How did they get that gig"
    competition winners or asked by thor etc and that lot outside randomly, maybe you should have entered a few yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

I was there on Saturday, awesome show, third time seeing them. Saw them in Kilkenny, and again in Manchester, Vicar street was by far the best venue. They played War Pigs on Sunday?? Grr...

Focusman - I spotted Gavin Friday too, well, my sister did and proceeded to get her gossip on.

As for the Santas/Aliens being picked from the queue outside, I was there since three, and no-one came out looking for volunteers. I did get to meet Michael and Kliph outside when they left for dinner, though :D

dunno about the rest but i know 3 of the girls doing santa with us were friends who got asked would they like to do it outside the place,
    same for the aussie fella and his gf.

they said normally all the santas are fella's and aliens women (think a bloke might look like ziggy in an alien costume though)
    and they normally have 2x the numbers doing both but there wasn't room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Evil Sausage

My sister was one of the aliens at the front on Sunday night. We had been with a bunch of people the Saturday night and reckoned if we just asked the next night, you might have a chance. She asked one of the obvious band crew on Sunday when she got in and got on stage.

Both shows were tremendous, but there was an odd crowd on Sunday, just seemed a little less friendly and open to you moving back and forth through the crowd. Was glad they played War Pigs on Sunday, eventhough Bohemian Rhapsody was stunning, just great to hear a different tune. And they finished Saturday with Spoonful Weighs a Ton.

But Saturday was my first time seeing them and it sure as sh1t wont be my last. Absolutely incredible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 katems

My sister was one of the aliens at the front on Sunday night. We had been with a bunch of people the Saturday night and reckoned if we just asked the next night, you might have a chance. She asked one of the obvious band crew on Sunday when she got in and got on stage.

Both shows were tremendous, but there was an odd crowd on Sunday, just seemed a little less friendly and open to you moving back and forth through the crowd. Was glad they played War Pigs on Sunday, eventhough Bohemian Rhapsody was stunning, just great to hear a different tune. And they finished Saturday with Spoonful Weighs a Ton.

But Saturday was my first time seeing them and it sure as sh1t wont be my last. Absolutely incredible!

Hey - I was an alien too! THink I was talking to you after the show... I am desperate for pics / vids because my mate forget his camera. Still can't even think about working

I just asked crew too, got talking to a few of them on Saturday night then got put on the guest list Sunday and got a dancer pass - sweet

If you have your pictures / vids posted anywhere let me know.. cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 e.doobie

aw it was wicked!
    i agree though that the crowd was a bit.. dead's the wrong word but its the first one that comes to mind...
    but the dancers were fantastic! kudos

didnt see the sat night show but seen them in Glasgo last friday and it was a big big crowd..atmosphere was unlike anything iv ever felt before and I even got to see Wayne get in his bubble at the start of the show.. and they also done war pigs at Glasgo.
    yet both shows were differant

Fantastic band, Fantastic show.
    Living legends

I agree that the Sunday crowd was a bit dead... there were some stages where it was eerily quiet, sometimes I felt I was cheering on my own.

I dunno what day santas you were on about, but the Sunday Santas were most definitly sending texts, this one unbelievably unenthusiastic blonde girl was definitly standing still and texting during one of the songs. I wouldn't mind them taking the odd photo, but alot of them were quite obviously just texting etc. Aliens were all about the dancing, half the time the Santas just didn't look like they were bothered.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

There's some good videos on youtube... look em up!

IS this a joke about the santas on sunday??? Do people actually care? I don't know about the rest of ye but i was watching Wayne and co and not the santas.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

mal1 wrote:
    IS this a joke about the santas on sunday??? Do people actually care? I don't know about the rest of ye but i was watching Wayne and co and not the santas.

I have to agree with you. Just alot of sour grapes. Personally if i was on stage at the flaming lips i'd have take a video clip or two and texted one or two friends. I saw them doing it and to me it didn't stop me enjoying the show. Also thought the Sunday crowd was brilliant. The fact that it's a sunday night will always make a difference but it was still one of the best shows i've been to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 voidoid

lordgoat wrote:
    I have to agree with you. Just alot of sour grapes. Personally if i was on stage at the flaming lips i'd have take a video clip or two and texted one or two friends. I saw them doing it and to me it didn't stop me enjoying the show. Also thought the Sunday crowd was brilliant. The fact that it's a sunday night will always make a difference but it was still one of the best shows i've been to.

That blondie one irritated the hell out of me. Only spotted her during the gap in the show but i've never seen anyone look so bored at a show. Seemed much more interested in organising plans for after the gig. Never wanted to be on stage myself but she didn't even look like she wanted to be at the gig. Least she could of done was drop to the back rather than standing in the most prominent position, phone in massively distracted hand.

If I knew I wouldn't miss and maybe hit someone else I'd of thrown my laser pen at her.

Great show all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

My brother had his camera at the gig. Here are a couple of shots from Sat night.

303488497_2803102f12.jpg?v=0
    303488496_35bb1ddb41.jpg?v=0
    303488495_2437f78b8d.jpg?v=0
    303488491_d9c1300551.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Savage photos..

I thought the Saturday santas were excellent. That guy in the front was living it large, never stopped clapping and lip-syncing ally night. Looks like the kinda guy who's the 5am life of the party, when everyone else is sleeping in a pile of clothes (or worse), he's the guy there shouting in yer ear "LETS GO TO THE EARLY HOUSE, IT'LL BE DEEEEEEADDDDDDLY!!!"...

But great gig. Best I've been to in a long time. Wayne talked a little more than most other front-men I've seen, but I didnt mind, people who are passionate about music and talk passionately about it always get my vote. And the whole anti-Bush thing didnt sound trite or band-waggony like most of the other president-haters I've listened to.

Didnt see the aliens until Wayne mentioned it. Sorry : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I was there on the Saturday night. Up on the balcony - great view of the whole event and since I was sick it was probably the best place for me cause I don't think I could have taken the full audio-visual onslaught from down below in my drug-adled state.

I really enjoyed it - first time seeing the Flaming Lips despite being a fan for years and I didn't think they disappointed at all. Would have been nice if they played Waitin' for A Superman but can't really complain now can you when the gig was so enjoyable.

A guy just down from us on the balcony slept through the whole thing. As for the Santas on stage texting - couldn't see what they were all up to from where we were but if you're going to go on stage as a dancer you're supposed to dance, not just stand there texting. I don't understand people who feel the need to text their friends constantly anyway - "Gess whr i m rght nw?" For ****'s sake - you can let your mates know afterwards. You're on stage, dance your socks off for an hour and a half!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 katems

Don't know how anyone could have been texting while on stage, the energy was unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Toast

A guy just down from us on the balcony slept through the whole thing.

I suspect I know who that was. Friend of mine who worked there told me he fell asleep on the Saturday (hed been moving the gear in and Flaming Lips have a LOT of gear). He got to see the show with us on the Sunday though.

lordgoat wrote:

See... maybe with any other band, but with The Flaming Lips so much is about the magic and spectacle of it all. If the stage show means nothing then you might aswell be at home listening to a bunch of cds. Oh,and as far as sour grapes, I'd much prefer enjoying the show then having the pressure of dancing on me. Why bother going on stage if you're going to do a half assed job, you're letting down the band. Lack of energy in the Sunday crowd was unreal.

^what he said.

My belated entry. Despite the fact that the setlist was in the same vein as the one down in Kilkenny last June, they were still definetly worth seeing again in such a short period. Unsurprisingly Vicar Street was a fantastic venue to see them in. The laser pointers were a great idea and I must say, the moment all the lights went out for the laser show... woah. I was sitting down the back so I had perfect view of the whole thing. ;)

While I agree with Toast that Steve's sickness and unexpected interval slowed down the momentum, it did build anticipation. In fact, it made the gig ten times better in the end; I hadn't a clue what was going to happen, and Wayne was evidently emotional from the experience before he left the stage.

As for the aliens/Santas thing, the aliens rule the roost once again. And the Sunday crowd seemed to be into it, at least from where I was sitting.