Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the country coming too?

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

On a slightly different note,if somebody is trying to crush your hand whilst shaking it,extend your index finger so its pointing at thier wrist,no matter how strong they are they wont be able to crush it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭TheBlock

Julep:
    thank you for your input.
    however, this thread is about how each person deals with every day scumbaggery.
    if you don't have anything relative to this thread, then please don't post in it again.

I don't believe this is a thread about how each person deals with "scumbaggery". But rather a Penis measuring competition with guy's trying to "Out Hard" each other.
    Best way to deal with scumbags is to ignore or avoid them not try to be harder then them which could end up resulting in an altercation causing needless violence.

This looks like a thread promoting violence which is against the after hours charter is it not?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

TheBlock wrote:
    Julep:
    thank you for your input.
    however, this thread is about how each person deals with every day scumbaggery.
    if you don't have anything relative to this thread, then please don't post in it again.

I don't believe this is a thread about how each person deals with "scumbaggery". But rather a Penis measuring competition with guy's trying to "Out Hard" each other.
    Best way to deal with scumbags is to ignore or avoid them not try to be harder then them which could end up resulting in an altercation causing needless violence.

This looks like a thread promoting violence which is against the after hours charter is it not?

Nobody here is trying to be hard,somepeople are relating stories relative to the original post and some people are giving advice on perhaps how to deal with a situation.Not one person has promoted an pre-emptive strike as a solution and any story that involved violence was purely as a reaction to a situation that they themselves did not start.Sometimes its impossible to ignore or avoid scumbags and a problem may be unnavoidable,its this situation that needs to be adressed should it arise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

TheBlock wrote:
    But rather a Penis measuring competition with guy's trying to "Out Hard" each other.

On the contrary.....i began the thread to get peoples opinion on what i saw as being the first overt sign of obvious racism that i myself have witnessed.

From there we got some stories from people who have actually been affected by such things, and others who know people.

Granted the thread went somewhere i did no intend but as someone who has dealt with this type of character for many years now i am more than happy to offer some safety tips to others who may not know all there tricks.

Wow....i was unwilling to sh1t on my principles by shaking the guys hand and indicating a degree of agreement with him about his racist remark??? So this means i am trying to "act hard"? I don't think so.....i am simply a person who lives by his principles....to the point where this has cost me my job in the past.

Happily i grew out of my "i'm so hard" phase when i was 18.

Any advice that I or most other people in this thread have given is how to best to avoid such a confrontation or incident from turning violent. I was happy to deal with whatever the guy wanted to do from my refusal to shake his hand....big deal....i have been in far worse situations that a crowded street with wannabe hardmen and made it out in one piece, so to be honest this siutation did not worry me in the slightest.

Had i felt in any danger, or the situation been more stacked in there favour then i MAY have acted differently....my principles have gotten me in trouble before so i would say they might do so again.

Since then most of the conversation has been about how to spot the signs and what to avoid, and the best way to deal with circumstances should the arise. I outlined what i would have done should the situation go bad. I also outlines several ways to avoid that happening.

If it was as simple as "ignoring or avoiding them" then life would be great and we would never have stories in the news about people getting mugged or beaten, but sadly it happens because they did not know the best way to avoid such things....simple being oblivious to a problem does not make it go away.

I find it more worrying that just because such a discussions occurs a message board it instantly means we are all checking our penis size and trying to outhard each other.

But to be honest, if even one person reads the thread and spots some possible danger because of it then it will have been worth the typing.

But what do i know, I'm just trying to prove how "hard" i am, afterall. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

TheBlock wrote:
    Best way to deal with scumbags is to ignore or avoid them not try to be harder then them which could end up resulting in an altercation causing needless violence
    Dermington wrote:
    I still have to say I just cant bring myself to get physical about it

Glad to see your listening :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Getting back to the main point - overt cases of racism (?) - just hang around any city (Dublin) center Centra/Spar ... wait for the gorrilla/gook/stink/etc type comments from little scumbag skanger sh1tes ... happens all the time, I often tell the ignorant fuppers to shut the hell up can't imagine how the staff put up with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

I live around talbot street. As a foreigner i was thinking about getting a t-shirt reading "drink your dole" to feel part of the pack. You think is appropiate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

they're just a bunch of rats, individually weak so they have to hang around in groups to intimidate. Pussies. I deal with their type all the time...
    I wouldnt even bother spitting on them. And to be honest though, if I was a foreigner I dont think id take too much offence to any racist remarks coming from their mouths, just have to look at 'em and realise they're not the kindest of folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

^^I'm thinking probably not.

Seems pretty true that scumbags who bother to engage you in conversation are looking for a cowardly way to start a fight. The most recent experience I had with this was in Maynooth on a night out with a two mates. We were walking down the main street when two scumbags walk by; "Hav yis goh a smoke on ye?". We replied we didn't; we don't smoke. So we hear...half-muttered, half-spoken aloud "Ye yis fukin faggits". Now I was happy to keep walking but when I saw this utterance had stopped my mate dead in his tracks to turn and face them, I stopped and stared too. It took about half a second of squaring up for these mad-yokes to turn sheepish "Ah I'm only messin' wit ye bud...etc"

Later while waiting for a taxi we saw the two boys again, fuming around the place like angry little bulls, one of them actually saying to himself over and over, "I'm lookin' for a foigh! I'm lookin for a foigh!" :rolleyes:
    'Course we kept our heads down at this point, didn't want the easy-avoidable hassle of having this bloke recognising us from earlier :)

A friend of mine from London was staying in Dublin recently. Himself and his girlfriend (who is Israeli) were getting a kebab in town at 2.00am or whatever one night and in the queue some prick turns around to 'em saying something like "fukin' foredgners!", so my friend, putting on his best (i.e. worst!) Dublin accent tells the chap to fuck off. And the bloke clams up. Racist cunt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Degsy wrote:
    On a slightly different note,if somebody is trying to crush your hand whilst shaking it,extend your index finger so its pointing at thier wrist,no matter how strong they are they wont be able to crush it:D

Tried this earlier today, a mate was doing the crushing and it worked wonders! He was red in the face while I was just laughing. Good call!

I remember the headbutt trick too, did a self defense course a while ago and it was one of the points. Under no circumstances throw your head back! Unless of course you love your dentist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

TheBlock wrote:

I didn't read this as everyone trying to "out hard each other". all i saw were some stories relating to how people dealt with mouthy scumbags and being attacked my said scumbags. there are no posts advocating the initiation of violence.
    if you have a problem with any of the posts in this thread, then use the "report post" option. your complaint will be dealt with by one of the moderators.
    juanjo wrote:
    I live around talbot street. As a foreigner i was thinking about getting a t-shirt reading "drink your dole" to feel part of the pack. You think is appropiate?
    only if you want your ass kicked. :)
    he most recent experience I had with this was in Maynooth on a night out with a two mates.
    you didn't need to say any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭lazylad

The topic for this post is what is this country coming too/
    1.ok funny thought but im sure a 1950s scanger type wouldn't be too polite either.
    2.You get the scangers everywhere. Or in some countries are everyone welcoming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Of course you get scumbags everywhere, but we're here. So we're complaining about our ones. If I lived in America I'd still complain about them there!

julep wrote:
    you didn't need to say any more.
    Howja mean? ...I shouldn't have said it? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Cardinal

juanjo wrote:

Do it! It'd be so great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

juanjo wrote:

Yes, very appropriate!!!! Too many muppets taking advanatge of the system, get them out into the curragh and either shoot them one by one or just drop a nuke in on all of them. They're scum and everyone wants them out!!!!

Dragan, what you incurred was narrow minded teenagers who obviously had it passed down from their parents/siblings. I've seen it happen locally and it's not nice, especially when it's your friend who is foreign and receiving the abuse. You always get the "all these bleedin foreigners takin' all the bleedin' jobs!!!!" when the people that are actually saying it only get off their ****ing arses to collect the dole so that they can go buy some ****ing dutch gold!!!!! GET SOME JOBS YOU ****ING LEECHES!!!!! (that went off topic a bit but basically, scum out!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Howja mean? ...I shouldn't have said it?

nah. i was just taking the piss out of Maynooth.

Ah right, yeah. Has to be done :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Yes, very appropriate!!!! Too many muppets taking advanatge of the system, get them out into the curragh and either shoot them one by one or just drop a nuke in on all of them. They're scum and everyone wants them out!!!!

YEAH!!! Them damn foreigners!!! *Shakes fist!* :mad:

Oh wait, you weren't talking about them were you? I'm sorry, I get confused when I see that kind of vitriol being spewed, I could easily mistake you for some kind of sub-stormfront racist goon. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,504 ✭✭✭Archeron

Dragan wrote:
    But to be honest, if even one person reads the thread and spots some possible danger because of it then it will have been worth the typing.

QUOTE]

Well said. Despite the fact that I was born and bred in Dublin, I was never familiar with the handshake leading to headbutt thing, so I'm grateful to those of you who've pointed out the right way to respond. I did have my own experiences with scumbaggery, but not involving headbutts, so cheers.
    Perhaps someday my jaw or nose will be grateful that this nugget of info is in my brain now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

juanjo wrote:

<3 foreigners :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,782 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Overseas. Got a similar problem in a nearby city. Gangs. Lots of gangs looking for trouble. If you come to LA metro, I would recommend that you do not do what you did in Dub. Sometimes they will have only one guy standing out where you can see him, try to egg you on. Once the fight starts, all his buddies show up from behind a building or pile out of a nearby car. If you are a good fighter and somehow start to get the upper hand, most of these gang members have knives and guns for backup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Overseas. Got a similar problem in a nearby city. Gangs. Lots of gangs looking for trouble. If you come to LA metro, I would recommend that you do not do what you did in Dub. Sometimes they will have only one guy standing out where you can see him, try to egg you on. Once the fight starts, all his buddies show up from behind a building or pile out of a nearby car. If you are a good fighter and somehow start to get the upper hand, most of these gang members have knives and guns for backup.

As stated, each situation needs to be dealt with based on the situation and circumstances of that situation. If i was in a foreign country, in a city i did not know with people i do not know then this would obviously affect how i would react and how i would advise others to react.

Besides, if i was in another country then the whole "**** off back to your own country" would have been accurate. ;)