Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International sale of firearms?

• 09-08-2006 8:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 828 ✭✭✭

Most sites you see on the internet are set in america. Some of them sell to other countries but can a friend sell a gun to a friend across international borders? If so then what extra charges and taxs are applied?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

whupass wrote:
    Most sites you see on the internet are set in america. Some of them sell to other countries but can a friend sell a gun to a friend across international borders? If so then what extra charges and taxs are applied?

Basically NO! It is kind of how long is a piece of string question.
    Where are the two friends located,what type of firearm is it etc?
    Need to be abit more specific

• Registered Users Posts: 828 ✭✭✭whupass

well i wanted a ps90 or ps90 sbr it's about two grand $ and the bullets are basically only made for this gun so that would be another thing i'd have to import

EDIT: i'd probable get it as my 3 gun (hopefully) at least not as my first.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Whupass, stop please, you're melting my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

:rolleyes: Legal age for a rifle is 16 years its hard to get a licence for a .22lr let alone one of those before you hit 21.

Im guessing you around 13-15 your not allowed an airsoft gun forget about it for 10years and see if you still want one

i wasn't expecting to get it for a good few years yet anyway, and i'm 16

whupass wrote:
    well i wanted a ps90 or ps90 sbr it's about two grand $ and the bullets are basically only made for this gun so that would be another thing i'd have to import

EDIT: i'd probable get it as my 3 gun (hopefully) at least not as my first.

Sooo you want to get as close as possible to the state of the art military weaponary as is possible.To wit a gun that is issued to elite units worldwide,that is designed as a crew support weapon or Personal Defence Weapon.That shoots really hard to get ammo,is a semi auto centre fire as well??
    And the Garda cheif comissioner and the Min of Justice are VERY close and dear relatives of yours???????:eek: And you have How many years of experiance of shooting in Ireland???
    Fair fuks if they are Whupass.Otherwise DREAM ON!!

Or your local Super is [a] the nicest pro gun ownership Super in Ireland.Please let us know where you live ,as I and all of us will be moving straight in to apply for our bits and pieces
    Deaf ,dumb,and blind and doesnt know a gun from guttering.Doubtful
    [c]Is suffering from tempoary insanity and is signing off for all sort of things.In that case see[a] and letting us know where this paragon of virtue is residing.
    Piece of advice to you.WALK before you can RUN.Get somthing simple to start with,learn how to use it properly,and you will be much smarter in the ways of shooting.Forget all this full auto,starship trooper rambo crap. You wont get it here and you only make yourself look daft and dangerous to all here.Put it like this I would be more frightend of some of the people who post here who use a old bolt action,than somone armed up with the latest whizz bang Mattel toy rifle,in either a firefight or a competition.Because they will KNOW how to use their rifle to the best of it's ability.Beware the one gun man.He will know how to use it to it's best.

Whuppas, Best advice: join a club, see what goes on, take your time and then buy something. I don't hunt so cant tell ya anything about that, however target shooting is pretty cool, and can be done right to the highest level with an air rifl or .22..

See:

www.targetshootingireland.org
    www.targetshootingexcellence.org
    www.tcd.ie/Clubs/Rifle/

The links on these sites will cover most irish gun clubs

again i don't want it as my first gun!

Your cracking me up!

And my advice still stands, irrespective of whether you want an assault rifle or a bb gun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

whupass wrote:
    well i wanted a ps90 or ps90 sbr...
    Bearing in mind that the ammunition for this (5.7x28mm FN P90) was specifically designed to defeat body armour and helmets, in 9mm sized firearms, I'd imagine that one of these would blow the top off the 'Idontlikedalookodatometer'. :rolleyes:

What the hell, might as well look for a FiveSeven to go with it. :D

If he gets one of those at 16 as a first,second or twenty fifth gun.I'm applying for a double 7.62 GE mini guns to mount on my truck.:eek:

it's illegal to buy the armour peircing ammo, there is special civilian ammo. (i've been looking around)

it is a nice gun thought right?

edit:http://www.impactguns.com/store/fn_ammunition.html

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder,I guess.
    But it is about as practical as an ashtray on a motorbike over here.Specialised ammo,that is limited to two or three types,that isnt available over the counter,and could be stopped at any time or diverted to military sales only.Unless you are going to take up reloading as well and reforming your brass from other casings. I would run away very quickly from this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

whupass wrote:
    it is a nice gun thought right?
    Oh, don't get me wrong, it's mad cool all right, it just doesn't rock my boat.
    I'd put it in the category of 'Things I'd Like a Go of, Sometime', along with a .50BMG sniper rifle, a GE Minigun, a Glock 18, a Thompson M1, a Boys or Lahti or similar anti-tank rifle, a Streetsweeper, etc, etc.
    Stuff I'd gladly purchase ammunition and beer to have a go of, but would never be able to justify the expense and legal complications of actually going out and buying.

The thing is, someone has to buy these guns for the rest of us tightwads to have a go of, so if you ever do manage to get ahold of one of these whupass, I'd like to right now register my willingness to help you get rid of ammunition. :D

Rovi wrote:
    I'd put it in the category of 'Things I'd Like a Go of, Sometime', along with a .50BMG sniper rifle, a GE Minigun, a Glock 18, a Thompson M1, a Boys or Lahti or similar anti-tank rifle, a Streetsweeper, etc, etc.

em.... streetsweepers are perfectly legal in this country

;) Only kidding a 20 round automatic shotgun is something id very much like a go of

brent.6.gif

thing is it's a rifle and i'll never get the p-90, even in america, because it was made in 1989 (SO close) but this is the gun that does it fo me and i would crawl over burning coals to get it so if that means a bit more complicated than usual paperwork or even moving to america so be it. if the ammunition is discontinued i can still mount it on my wall and go "there I did it, i have a p-90!!" and you can get the body painted and the black SBR version is exactly like the p-90, so for me that would be on of those thing ticked off the list of things to do before i die. you understand why i want this gun now? why i keep asking about it? for me it's a life long (even if it's been a short one) dream!

edit: you mean a jackhammer? i saw a video of that on the web fantstic!

No streetsweeper and very appropatly named used by US in iraq for "cleaning up the streets"

hmmm ok i always called it a jackhammer, you live and learn right?

i thought he meant a road sweper as in drive one, not exactly on my list but hey, to each his own

a ge minigun in america $65000, or $399.999 on imbact guns with a #0001 serial number:) the $65000 one is from the thread " Ultimate in gun porn?"

em.... streetsweepers are perfectly legal in this country

;) Only kidding a 20 round automatic shotgun is something id very much like a go of

brent.6.gif

Yeah,if it has a 24in barrel it is legal.But belive me you only want to fire it ONCE!It is a really total POS!It feels tinny,it handles dire,the top folder really is designed for a midget.The winder key,I have seen better on a clockwork toy.It can empty it's 12 rounds in 3.5 seconds.But it takes about a full 120 secs to reload,if you practise alot and it holds together. and you reload it trru a gate like an old colt peacemaker .45
    If you get one make sure it is the STRIKER12 not the Streetsweeper.The striker is a marginally better POS than the Streetsweeper.
    If you want a gun that will work with 20 rounds get either the Russian Saiga12 shotgun[looks like an AK on steroids] or the USAS12.That has a 20 round drum,but it is so damn heavy,I would consider it a point saturation weapon rather than a shotgun.All of them handle like birick outhouses,they are no nos for game shooting,but brilliant attitude readjusters:D

whupass wrote:
    hmmm ok i always called it a jackhammer, you live and learn right?

i thought he meant a road sweper as in drive one, not exactly on my list but hey, to each his own

a ge minigun in america $65000, or $399.999 on imbact guns with a #0001 serial number:) the $65000 one is from the thread " Ultimate in gun porn?"

Pretty cheap for a Class 3 ultimate weapon.;) The Jackhammer shotgun,there are only three working prototypes and would be in proably the same price leauge.Again another weird gun that used prepacked shotgun ammo,again not very practical.But the pre packed ammo could be turned into an AP mine called the "bear trap" if needed.

The term "streetsweeper" according to The Worlds Fighting shotguns has been around since the 1920s where it was coined by the US police depts for ,well street sweeping.It is now a generic term for a pump shotgun.
    Whupas
    You could own the semi version in the US,no problem.The 1989 only applies to Full Auto.Belive me full auto is not as cracked up as it made out to be.It is expensive even by US standards.

i know i could buy it in america what i meant was i couldn't buy the P90 the full auto one. the pS90 is semi auto, the civilian one

if you are in the army or guards is the law different at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

whupass wrote:
    if you are in the army or guards is the law different at all?

Absolutely not.