Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Villa Signings and General Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

or an arrogant black frenchman...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Helix wrote: »
    or an arrogant black frenchman...

careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Defoe told the media that the reason he wants to move to Pompy is because he wants first team football and to get back into the England squad. I'm starting to think that he is not the sharpest tool in the shed because he could achieve both those goals quicker at Villa :confused:

Also rumour is that MON is looking at Tottenham's Darren Bent now, but it is more of a 'my mates dad knows the grounds man at Bodymoor' type story so probably nothing in it at all.

Btw Savman, I hope that rabbit up MON's sleeve can play rightback ;)

DSB wrote: »
    careful now.

talk is we're getting him on loan unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,102 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Raekwon wrote: »
    Btw Savman, I hope that rabbit up MON's sleeve can play rightback ;)

Will a squirrel do?
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=RaWA1vKmSNQ

So em 30 minutes past the transfer deadline and our squad is no larger than it was at the beginning. Hopefully it changes but still if it does I can't see it being more than 1 player. And I definitely think Cahill is a more impressive player than Routledge. I know Martin O'Neill has done a great job with the players that he does have but this put simply isn't good enough and if we do get a flow of injuries which thankfully we haven't so far, then we can kiss the idea of European football goodbye. Not exactly panic stations, but really dissappointing nonetheless, especially considering the money is there apparently. Add to that the fact that Mellberg won't be our player next season, and Davies (i think?) and Carson aren't our players yet and it seems like we still have mountains to climb as regards being a good squad as opposed to a good team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Confirmed Defoe has signed for Pompey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Very disappointing transfer window, an opportunity missed tbh. I swear I'm going on holiday next January and just burying my head in the sand til it's all over.

I'm disgusted. I actually think I'll feel worse if I wake upto some loan signing from Tottenham be it Chimbonda or Boateng. Does nothing for us longterm really. We've looked poor lately as the small squad has been stretched to the absolute limits and look tired. But O'Neill has done nothing to strengthen the squad. Can't argue with how he has had the side perform this season but his transfer policy stinks.

I'm probably more peeved this time round because we are sitting nicely and had a real chance to add some strength to the squad for the final push for Europe. Just a pain in the arse.

On the positive side, none of our main rivals really strengthened significantly except maybe Pompey who now have Defoe, Benjani, Kanu, Baros and Nugent. Other than that, Citeh, Everton & Pool are all pretty much in the same shape they were a week ago.

I'd say 6th place has our name on it, maybe behind Everton who seem very strong this year and maybe Liverpool if they don't hit the self destruct button. I think Man City have real problems up front and would kill for a Carew or Gabby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

3 out (1 sold, 2 loaned) and 1 in for the smallest squad in the Premiership...

Anybody else think O'Neill slipped Don Fabio a few quid to call up Davies, diverting media attention from this failure?

Yet again another rubbish transfer window, If you had told me on January 1st that we would only sign 1 player then balance that out by selling 1 off making a profit of around £3.75m I wouldn't have believed a word of it.

Call me naive but I honestly though MON had a few players ear marked from the summer and he would simply dot a few I's and cross a few T's to get them. He said in the summer that his 'number one target' was not available until January, I assume he was talking about Justin Hoyte, but surely when Wenger told him that he was still not available plan B would be put into action? The club are still without a right-back and the management have had 4 months of transfer windows to sort the problem out. I am beginning to wonder what our chief scout Ian Storey-Moore is getting paid for :confused:

Hopefully we can till nick a UEFA Cup place because our away run in looks daunghting to say the least. Hopefully we can get the ball rolling at Fulham on Sunday but without the suspended Ashley Young it could be a difficult game for us and we will probably have to settle for 1 point.

a uefa cup spot could well be wasted

we realistically need about 7 players (both first team and squad) in the summer if theres going to be any point at all in us even bothering to show up for our european ties

i for one cant see that happening

I think MON is playing a very dangerous game with his scrooge like transfer policy. He has been extremely lucky with injuries so far this season with only Berger (long term) and Carew (on and off) being the only real injury worries. But what if Laursen or Mellberg get a bad injury and are ruled out for a few weeks/months? We would most likely get sucked back into midtable obsurity.

At the moment our first team (not that we have a second team or anything) is looking jaded. If this set of players can muster up the energy to take us into Europe, they all deserve medals. I know they are good enough, but how long they can keep going on for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Like the rest of ye I am also disappointed with our transfer window activity however I do think that if the players he wants aren't available why bother buy someone you have your doubts about in the first place.
    The truth is bar Petrov (and that is arguably) all MON's signing have been a huge success and I am including Maloney and Harewood in that category because when they have been used they have done well.
    If anyone can bring the best out of Routledge it will be MON. He showed great promise at Palace and is still young enough to turn career around again.
    Sad to see Cahill go. I really think he is a future England centre half. However I was said to see Davis go also but given that Fulham have now offloaded him also maybe MON done the right thing.
    I know the squad is small but we only have to play 14 games between now and the middle of May. Unless we are really unlucky we should be able to cope and if Gabby and Carew can start scoring a little more freely 5th is possible although I would take 6th.

Tomthepost you're kinda vindicating our greivances here. Yes, MON signings generally work out well, that's why we want to see more of them. I've no beef with his eye for the bargain and I reckon Routledge could prove to be a great deal for the club, but we woulda liked to see some extra quality in. Or at least even an attempt.
    Were we ever in for Defoe? Did MON not want him? Did Defoe not fancy Villa? Was he overpriced? Personal terms? What? Driving us mad tbh. It seems nobody has any clue who MON was chasing, at least if a move fell thru we could acknowledge his effort and accept it wasn't to be.

Savman wrote: »
    Tomthepost you're kinda vindicating our greivances here. Yes, MON signings generally work out well, that's why we want to see more of them. I've no beef with his eye for the bargain and I reckon Routledge could prove to be a great deal for the club, but we woulda liked to see some extra quality in. Or at least even an attempt.
    Were we ever in for Defoe? Did MON not want him? Did Defoe not fancy Villa? Was he overpriced? Personal terms? What? Driving us mad tbh. It seems nobody has any clue who MON was chasing, at least if a move fell thru we could acknowledge his effort and accept it wasn't to be.

I honestly think MON couldn't guarantee Defoe a place in the first 11. I dont think that Gabby and Defoe would work and do you drop Gabby for him. He obviously couldn't find a right back. I doubt Hutton would have joined up with a former Celtic manager and Spurs were ripped off at 9 million anyway.
    I think Routledge will get his game on the right Barry and Reo-Coker will fill the centre and Petrov will go back on the bench for a while. I guess what im trying to say is that if no options out there will improve the first 11 why bother paying inflated Jan prices for them.
    I think we will just get by to the end of season and hopefully then get a few players that are good enough for Villa in.

Let's move on shall we, this transfer biz will drive a man crazy.

It's essential we get max points from Craven Cottage on Sunday, looking at our overall form we are having quite a respectable season. In the league we've only lost to Pool (H), ManU (H), Arsenal (H), Pompey(H) and City (A). So from 24 games we've only lost 5 games to very decent opposition, you have to say that's quite a good stat. We've only lost once away from home :)

Dunno if Maloney is still injured or wha but if he's fit for Sunday he might start cos Young is suspended (big big loss). Could defo do with Shaun in there, a bit too soon for Wayne methinks.

Exactly. MON has done well with the players he has signed so far but he simply just not signed enough of them. I think Routledge was a very shrewd signing by MON and he gives the team more balance so we can use to full width of the pitch instead of sticking exclusively to the left (which was sooooo predictable!)

My main gripe is with the right-back situation. I cannot for the life of me understand why MON refuses to sign a right-back, it's not like Mellberg has signed a new 3 year deal at Villa Park and Gardner was being groomed to be his understudy.
    Pompey who now have Defoe, Benjani, Kanu, Baros and Nugent.

You can add Nigerian International striker John Utaka to that list too. Harry really wants a UEFA Cup spot this season it seems.

The only conclusion I can reach is that MON believes in Mellberg and Gardner he has enough cover to last until May. Neither players are really desirable in that position but both can "do a job". At the very least, MON's hand will be forced in the summer with Mellberg leaving.

But don't be surprised if MON is grooming Craig for that RB spot :eek:

did we get chimbonda or what? the red tops seem to have differing ideas about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

WTF is MON thinking, how on earth have we not improved the squad. It was already the smallest in the league, he has the resources to improve it, he delayed making transfers in the summer claiming they werent available till the summer.

WIth none of our rivals really improving their squad this was the perfect opportunity to strengthen and kick on from the rest of the pack.

Im sickened, are we trying to raise funds for the summer???

If we fade away now we only have the manager to blame.

Im sick of hearing we will sign players, and have patience, the situation is a joke.

On a positive note well done to the 5 England call ups.

The only conclusion I can reach is that MON believes in Mellberg and Gardner he has enough cover to last until May. Neither players are really desirable in that position but both can "do a job". At the very least, MON's hand will be forced in the summer with Mellberg leaving.

But don't be surprised if MON is grooming Craig for that RB spot :eek:

Yeah it seems like MON is happy enough to stick with Mellberg and Gardner for the rest of the season which is a bizarre decision but I'm sure he knows what he is doing.

I would personally like to have seen Laursen & Mellberg in the middle of our defense playing along side two specialist full backs because our defensive hasn't been the soundest this season (leaking 31 goals in 24 games) but our scoring has over shadowed that fact.

One thing is for sure though, MON is no Harry Redkanpp when it comes to dealing with transfers ;)

Esse85 wrote: »
    the situation is a joke.
    While I feel your pain, I think you should take a step back here and look at the overall picture. I mean, in all honesty, short of winning a trophy he could not have done any better since taking over.

Maybe he underestimated the huge expectations at AVFC, that comes from our nearly men who chased ManU all the way back in '94 and we've struggled to keep up ever since. MON can't make up for the years we spent in mid table abyss, but already he's pushed us back up to within touching distance of the big boys. It's obvious looking at the team in action that it needs another Ashley Young or 2 before we can really beat the top sides in a footballing sense. Progress sure is frustrating.

Raekwon wrote: »

One thing is for sure though, MON is no Harry Redkanpp when it comes to dealing with transfers ;)
    Redknapp is an old fox. I've been reading some of the Man City forums and they seem to think he orchestrated the whole Defoe/Benjani thing. I'm sure he killed JFK too :D
    Still tho, wouldn't like him managing my club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Who moved in the transfer window that we would have loved to have had?

Defoe? would have been nice but i dont think he has the right attitude for Villa
    Woodgate? we dont need him,
    Hutton? another hyped up SPL player like the last 2 have blown us away? Chimbonda? see Defoe

Reid, Alfonso Alves the rest nothing we dont already have.

If a player like SWP had become available and Villa missed out then yeah we could ask questions, i think too many people have got panicked about making big name signings, just because the money is there doesnt mean it should be spent on every tom, dick & harry, look at Sunderland and Man City, below Villa.

as for injuries, there are less then 15 games left, if Villa get an injury crisis and lose Barry, Agbonlahor, Young & Laursen then were probably gonna do crap, but if we had bought Defoe & Chimbonda do you think that would compensate? hell no!, Villa have had nasty injury crises before but lets hope we dont get a run of them.

If your still questioning MON have a bit of cop on, 2 years ago we were in the relegation dogfight now Europe is in sight, MON is responsible for this, so he didnt buy the prima donna from spurs or whatever RBs we were linked to, you think you know more about transfer policy and who he should and shouldnt be signing? get a grip...

Savman wrote:
    Redknapp is an old fox. I've been reading some of the Man City forums and they seem to think he orchestrated the whole Defoe/Benjani thing. I'm sure he killed JFK too
    Still tho, wouldn't like him managing my club.

Nothing would surprise me about ol' 'arry ;) But you have to admire the attacking players that he has assembled down on the west coast (Baros excluded of course).

I'd take MON over him anyday of the week though, at least MON seems to have a plan, Harry just throws money at situations hoping he can come up trumps. I doubt Mr Lerner would like that sort of attitude :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

From here:
    MON On Transfer Window

Martin O'Neill has revealed the quality players he wanted to sign simply weren't available in the January transfer window.

But MON hopes he can resurrect some deals when the season is over.

"I enquired about some players who I felt could significantly improve the team but it wasn't to be," said the Villa manager. "I was spurned in those advances.

"But those players may well be available in the summer. They weren't available now and I can totally understand that.

"I have great faith in these players and my only concern is picking up serious injuries between now and the end of the season.

"That's where we have been lucky before and let's hope it's the same now.

"We simply didn't have the transfer bonanza like we did last year."

"I enquired about some players who I felt could significantly improve the team but it wasn't to be," said the Villa manager. "I was spurned in those advances".

"But those players may well be available in the summer. They weren't available now and I can totally understand that".

Didn't he say something very similar after the summer window closed when he reassured fans that his main targets would be available in January? Hopefully this will not turn into a post transfer window trend :rolleyes:

did we get chimbonda or what? the red tops seem to have differing ideas about it

I certainly hope not. We don't need the kinda guy that carries a transfer request in his shorts and hands it to his manager at the end of a game.
    No trouble-makers in the Villa squad a bit like Everton. Just 2 good managers with low maintenance players and look at the league table and you can see what that leads to.
    Good luck to Old Arry with that waste of space Baros!

I've seen nothing in any Red Tops about Chimbonda joining Villa, where are you getting this from Helix?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Overall like most im slightly dissapointed by Villas January. I had high hopes for Gary Cahill and expected a few signings not just one. I had also hoped that one of those signings would be a RB but to no avail.

However I am still optimistic, the window is now closed and we must look forward. We got £5m for an unproven Premiership Centre back and have finally got a right sided player in Routledge. We only have 15 games left all in the league and argueably an easier 15 league games than our rivals. We also have no European games unlike Everton and Liverpool and with so few games have a good chance of avoiding an injury crisis (although you can never be sure of that). It is also very likely that a big 4(3?) team will win either the F.A cup, Carling cup (Chelsea) or Champions league and mean the top 7 get euro qualification.

I think we will make Europe this year and will be able to attract a higher standard of player in the Summer (prehaps one of the factors that has stopped MON from recruiting a few players he deems suitable targets) when we will bulk out our squad. Prehaps not to the Size of a standard European squad but we will no longer have the smallest premiership squad IMO, instead prehaps the smalest eufa cup squad playing in the prem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Predictions for Fulham anyone?

Now im gonna call this 2-1 to Villa, there is a dozen places between the two teams, we have had an unreal season they are having a terrible time, and we have excellent away form, They struggle to score goals and tend to blow any leads they have.

However the wildcard is a certain Jari Litmanen, i dont know if he is starting or not but one of my pleasures/torments was seeing him in the flesh back in the day destroy Villa in a 3-0 route back when he was at Liverpool, i have heard since that it was his best game in a Liverpool shirt so although he is now 36 and Fulham are crap dont bet against him showing some old magic!

Is Barry fit for this one? If so I see Villa maybe take this one 1-0, probably scoring through a Maloney free-kick (:eek:)

I think Barrys fit, Villa 1-0 for me. If Young was playing i probabl would have went for a bigger win. If I had to guess i think Gabby will get his first goal for a while after the great confidence boost that his inclusion in the full England squad must have been.

edit: actually id say 2-0

nathan delfouneso was given a first team squad number and named in the squad for fulham yesterday. would be great seeing him getting 10 minutes at the end if we're comfortable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Looks like Maloney's gonna play left midfield. :)

excellent, hopefully we dont have someone sent off this time lol

Yes! Another former Villa man does us a favour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

Poor Hughes , Hooray for Villa :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

:o

feckin feck... cmon score a goal

this is what happens when you dont take chances to strengthen the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

The bench looked awful, no quality what so ever.

Harewood's first touch is shocking, he's all heart but no class.

Agbonlahor gone off injured, Davies limping at the end and Bouma one yellow away from suspension, things are not looking so good.

Maloney looked our most dangerous today, id rather see him start on the right next game. Reo-Coker was anonymous again.

worth mentioning barry and agbonlahor are also only 1 booking away from suspension

we may well be in the start of a massive massive disaster

Terrible performace and a result that reflects that. Villa looked lost without Ashley Young, we didn't create anything decent and even our usally relible set pieces were dire today..........and this againt a team who couldn't buy a win up until now.

Hopefully we can bouce back against Newcastle next weekend, if not then we can kiss that UEFA cup spot goodbye.

Absolutely shocking stuff. The squad definitely needed to be strengthened. Carew was awful (which he has been alot lately), Petrov was anonymous (as usual), Mellberg looked good as did Maloney, Gabby coming off was a blow, hopefully he isn't injured for Newcastle, I'd like to see him and Harewood up front vs. Newcastle, Carew needs a boot up the arse while Harewood will give his right arm for the team. If Gabby isn't fit I'd like to see Maloney and Harewood up front with Young and Routledge on the wings. Carew needs to be dropped. Talent is definitely there, but the interest doesn't seem to be at the moment.

i dont think we can blame carew for the supply being so bad

we're the single most one dimensional team ive ever seen

we look great when we're playing a team who cant handle it, but absolutely dreadful against one who can

theres no middleground

i dont think we can blame carew for the supply being so bad

we're the single most one dimensional team ive ever seen

we look great when we're playing a team who cant handle it, but absolutely dreadful against one who can

theres no middleground

I don't blame Carew for the supply. Nor do I think he is a bad player, he just doesn't seem to put that much effort in sometimes, like he knows that his place in the team is safe regardless. Hopefully O'Neill can sort the team out next week for Newcastle. I'm sure he knows that if we slip down to 9th or 10th at the end of the season he'll be the subject of a torrent of abuse.

and deservedly so too

ive been saying for ages on here that itll be criminal if mons inability in the transfer market results in us wasting what we've done so far this season