Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Villa Signings and General Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,098 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

You might not have noticed (and i wouldnt blame you with Mr Alan seemingly camped out on this thread despite promises he'd go;)) but this is a Villa thread not a Liverpool one, Villa fans arent exactly happy their tapped up captain has his eyes elsewhere and they are especially not happy with the actions of Liverpool PLC.

So when you come onto this thread talking about how

You draw my ire anyway because your glossing over Liverpools disgraceful way in which they are conducting this transfer.

If you want to talk about how well Barry is going to settle in the Liverpool team, do it in the Liverpool thread.

In all fairness its a discussion board and he's a Villa player. That bit you quoted was a very relevent point as to why he might want to move. Just because you dont like it doesn't make it untrue. I haven't belittled Villa in any way. And as for Liverpool's disgraceful beheaviour, i've yet to see anything worse then the Echo releasing word a bid had been made. Just as the Birmingham press did. Rafa when asked just said "i contaced them, we'll talk again later". If theres anything concrete that Liverpool have acted in such a disgusting evil conniving way, i'd like to see it as it would be very relevent to the discussion.

Gerrard shouldn't have said "id love it if he joined", but in all fairness as a comment does that make any difference?! I've no doubt he was chattin with him in the england camp saying "ah come on it'll be great craic". Again, Barry's not a child, he's not just gonna go "oh ok stevie, fuk villa, im off with you my bestest bestest buddy". He's not gonna do what suits Steven Gerrard or Liverpool football club, he's gonna do what suits Gareth Barry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

but the manner in how they are getting their man is nefarious and speaks volumes the way football is going.

how football is going?!

Players leave clubs for bigger clubs a lot. Its always the way football has been. nothing new there.

that doesnt mean that liverpool have tapped him up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Why on earth are people talking about Tom Huddlestone as a serious target for villa?
    Has anyone actually seen how truely awful he is for Spurs every time he plays?
    My grandmother has more speed than him, awful awful player and to think MON would
    spend £7m on him is shocking
    Cant for the life of me believe it so will persume its not true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

If I take a step back and try and look at this in an unbiased fashion, I can painfully admit that I can't begrudge Liverpool for wanting to sign Barry, or the way they went about it.

Yes, I’m changing my tune somewhat, but it's the sad nature of football that clubs already established with a cohort of world class players, a greater prestige and a regular position in the Champion's League can lure the best player, even captain, from a smaller team. And we are a smaller team, there is no use in contending that point.

Personal success, legacy and, of course, money will win out over loyalty in the bulk of cases. Barry is 27 years of age, and has the chance to play in the Champion’s League, in a team with world-class players, possibly contend for a Premiership title and earn an awful lot more money. All these factors combine to make the decision to leave a no-brainer, provided you prioritise your personal situation over loyalty to your club, which is what he did. And he shouldn’t be blamed for that.

The sting, for me, isn’t in the nature through which Liverpool conducted their desire to sign Barry either. They offered us an insulting deal initially, that’s just how deals work; they’re hardly going to table a cool £20m cash as their first proposal. A few papers then picked up the leaked story, maybe through a source in Liverpool, maybe not. MON then went rasher, quite admirably in my opinion, and did his best to defend the integrity of his club and the whole thing got out of hand, arguably catalysed by the press as a result of the complete dearth in stories worth reporting at the time.

But Barry probably had his mind made up that he’d leave long before this situation even arose, or before Gerrard said anything to the BBC. And if I’m honest, I think MON knew this, and a lot of the rationale behind his public defiance was to boost the price he’d receive for Barry.

So the most annoying part of this whole debacle isn’t necessarily that we’re specifically losing Barry, or that Liverpool may or may not have acted disrespectfully, it’s what it means in the bigger picture for Aston Villa. Basically, our captain doesn’t believe that Champion’s League Football is a realistic prospect for the club before he is over the hill. This is a body shot to the Martin O’Neill Renaissance, and it sends out a subconscious message to younger players at the club that the best they can hope for is an eventual move to a bigger club.

And when you throw in the added bonus that MON hasn’t exactly established himself as a powerhouse in the transfer market, it’s all the more ominous. Whatever about adding to last year’s squad, we’re now starting with a significant handicap to overcome and it will be, to quote someone earlier in this thread, the litmus test to the MON era. In the aftermath of losing our skipper, he has to convince the fans and the rest of his players that Villa can still some day compete for a place in the top 4.

This is the last I’m going to say on the affair until Barry either commits or leaves. It’s really dragging out now and I just want shut of it. That cryogenic chamber just keeps getting all the more attractive…

Excellent post Neil.

IrishMike wrote: »
    Why on earth are people talking about Tom Huddlestone as a serious target for villa?
    My grandmother has more speed than him, awful awful player and to think MON would

Perfect MON signing IMO. OK, they may come younger, but they don't come any hungrier than the Hudd. :)

But jokes aside his passing from deep is very impressive.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Invincible_ please leave off with the telling people to gett out of this thread, its for Villa related talk not just for Villa fans. Having people with a different perspective than our own Villa fan view is important IMO.

im 50/50 on The Hudd (like the abbreviated nick) but thats because his performances seem like that at times. Sometimes a real prospect with great passing and a real presence about him, but sometimes an anomonous player in games who's concentration seems to wonder. He's still young though and if signed could hopefully reach his potential under MON.

Re: Barry
    as ive sad before with Barry atm I would just hope its made clear IF Barry wants to leave that we (Villa) are not stopping him, the only thing stopping him is Liverpool not bidding his asking price, an asking price which isnt low as this is the time when we should decide that we will only sell or best if we are given rediculously high fees for them.

Then the important thing is that these recieved fees (along with more £$£) is reinvested immediatley into the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

New Jersey to be launched on 24th of July.

Just thought I'd let everyone know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

shoutman wrote: »
    New Jersey to be launched on 24th of July.

Just thought I'd let everyone know.
    Where'd you hear that then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

shoutman wrote: »

Would they just release pics of the actual shirt instead of blacking it out FFS! give us something to pore over instead of Barry!

Invincible_ please leave off with the telling people to gett out of this thread, its for Villa related talk not just for Villa fans. Having people with a different perspective than our own Villa fan view is important IMO.

Im only jibing the Liverpool fans who are sycophantic in their appraisal of Liverpools Barry transfer bid, this thread goes off topic when Liverpool fans start discussing how Barry fits into their set up and what specialist fitness routines he can look farword to apparently, he is still a Villa player!

C'mon this is the worst kept secret in football. AFAIC, he can shut the door on his way out. I won't wish him any ill health, but if he should end up in the Liverpool reserves and out of the England set-up, I don't think I'll be shedding a tear for the guy. And yes, I'll boo the bejaysis out of him if I'm there for his return. bah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Right http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56205562

Now lets keep this thread about Villa news other than Liverpool and the paper talk of a Barry Transfer

Savman wrote: »
    C'mon this is the worst kept secret in football. AFAIC, he can shut the door on his way out. I won't wish him any ill health, but if he should end up in the Liverpool reserves and out of the England set-up, I don't think I'll be shedding a tear for the guy. And yes, I'll boo the bejaysis out of him if I'm there for his return. bah.

first time ive ever 100% disagreed (i think as i usually agree with your opinion on here) with what you have said in a post. You will boo the bejaysis out of a man who has given 10years service of a consistantley good quality to our club just because he moves on to another club? Players leave its a reality and although it will pain me to see him in a Liverpool jersey next year if he does indeed move (not that id or almost anyone would "be shedding a tear" I would certainly not boo last seasons Villa captain. Why boo him really? he is often described as a model pro and has not (and imo wouldent) said anything disrespectful about Villa, The worst thing he has done is be honest and say that at his age unless Villa were to make gigantic strides forward he would need a move if he wants to play at the pinnacle of Club football. It isnt Barrys fault this possible transfer has turned into such a damn saga he didnt table a stupidly low bid, or start the media circus with MON/Rafa infact he did exactley what i woulda hoped hed do and kept well clear till the clubs decide whats happening.

So for those watching Sweden - Greece, did Mellberg look tonite a player past it? he had one dodgy pass which would probably be punished by a better team, but he looked solid overall. What a shame he's gone.

The worst thing he has done is be honest and say that at his age unless Villa were to make gigantic strides forward he would need a move if he wants to play at the pinnacle of Club football.

Im sorry but have Villa not made gigantic steps forward? isnt the MON/Lerner dream not CL football eventually?, Villa are on an upwards trajectory, going by 2007/08 Villa are ahead of expectations. If Villa are serious about taking the next step is keeping hold of and fighting to keep Villas best players both publicly and privately.

We'll never get anywhere if there is just going to be a cull of our best players every post season,i said on this thread ages ago that how Villa resist this transfer will be indicative of where the club is at, so far in my eyes this transfer is merely a depressing reminder of how times *used* to be at VP.

Im sorry but have Villa not made gigantic steps forward? isnt the MON/Lerner dream not CL football eventually?, Villa are on an upwards trajectory, going by 2007/08 Villa are ahead of expectations. If Villa are serious about taking the next step is keeping hold of and fighting to keep Villas best players both publicly and privately.

We'll never get anywhere if there is just going to be a cull of our best players every post season,i said on this thread ages ago that how Villa resist this transfer will be indicative of where the club is at, so far in my eyes this transfer is merely a depressing reminder of how times *used* to be at VP.

Villa have made huge strides under MON/Lerner but the key word ou used is eventually and I was just saying that if he has done anything bad personally its thinking that eventually will be too far down the road. Anyway the only point I was trying to make is that I would never boo Barry at VP (unless something major changed) as i def dont think he deserves it but if any Villa fans disagree thats their perogative

I think on the booing point, lets wait and let the transfer be completed first and see how GB and his **** agent acts if Villa play hardball with Liverpool

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/view/40482/Barry-will-cost-Kop-20m/

*EDIT* and 'eventually' has to start sometime, Villa finished 6th as you well know, what better time to mount a bid for 4th then on off the back of that and try and keep our Captain & Ex Captain

Hey, I've been Barry's biggest fan in recent times, make no mistake. Him leaving is a huge blow, but not one we can't recover from. You have to ask yourself why would there be such hostility toward him when other players have left quietly thru the back door? It's because he's the friggin club captain, so fans have a right to feel betrayed. It's not like he has stagnated and it's "time to move on" is it? He has reached his best form ever under MON @ VP, and this is how he repays the same fans who chanted Barry for England when nobody up or down the country gave him any time of day?

Rafa was appointed LFC manager 4yrs ago, why hasn't he shown any interest in Barry before now? Why all of a sudden is Barry the one player him and Gerrard think Liverpool need? This is Barry's first time being flattered by big club interest and the first time his "loyalty" has been tested, and look at his reaction. In reality he never had any really tempting offers come his way before so his supposed holier than thou status could never be called into question. I mean, why leave Villa for Pompey or Spurs or some other mid table club? But as soon as Pool come knocking, it's sod Villa and off he goes. If that's the way it is, then he cannot expect a rousing reception upon his VP return because like I say he was captain for 2 bloody years and fans will see this as a betrayal.

The fundamental issue here is that a big player in the Premiership is strengthening at the expense of Aston Villa Football Club, yet again, and Barry is playing a significant part in that so he will bear the brunt of it. Hey, we're hurtin here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

IrishMike wrote: »

Fully agree. If we do buy him at all, I'd be shocked if we pay more than about 4mil (which in itself is too, but with the price of English players these days, you'd never know!). Anytime I've seen him I've not been impressed at all. He'd be the Zat Knight of last year. Filler for the squad at most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

More bad news:

Jussi Jaaskelainen has agreed a new deal to stay at Bolton Wanderers.

The Finland international is out of contract at the Reebok, and a host of clubs had shown an interest.

Half-a-dozen Premier League clubs are understood to have made contact, while Bayern Munich and Galatasaray were also linked with bids.

However, Bolton have now persuaded Jaaskelainen to extend his stay 11-year stay with the club.

Jaaskelainen's agent Peter Harrison has now confirmed that a deal is in place to keep the 33-year-old at Bolton.

"We have agreed terms," he told skysports.com.

"The deal is for four years but it is not signed yet as Jussi is away on holiday.

"He is very happy to be staying as he loves the fans and the club."

http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_3676663,00.html

Ah not the end of the world tbh. Would rather see us planning for the future as far as GK position is concerned.

Still holding out hope on Joe Hart, but I reckon Sparky would have him in his plans.

Villa boss O'Neill: Benzema helped us land Carew

Aston Villa boss Martin O'Neill has revealed the emergence of Lyon ace Karim Benzema helped him to land John Carew last year.

O'Neill - who is working as a pundit for the BBC - said: "Gerard Houllier told me 18 months ago he could let Carew out because he had someone emerging through of a similar nature.

"He did not say it was Benzema at the time, but soon afterwards he was brought into the team so it was obviously him."

So.... hopefully the emergence of Bojan will see us land Henry then ;)

Neil3030 wrote: »
    So.... hopefully the emergence of Bojan will see us land Henry then ;)

No, it was Baros!!! Ha ha ha!!

According to F365:
    'POOL HOPE TO BE THIRD TIME LUCKY
    Following confirmation from Aston Villa Gareth Barry wants to leave the club, Liverpool are expected to make a £14m bid for his services in the next few days.

Pool have already had a £10m offer for Barry rejected, and, according to The Guardian, a follow-up £12m bid which was also rebuffed.

Villa remain defiant that Barry will not leave but his plea to leave marks a significant development in the saga and The Guardian says 'Liverpool are prepared to test that resolve with another cash-only bid but such is their determination to sign Barry that they will also consider a player-exchange deal that, unlike previous offers, would be on the Villa manager's terms. Villa, however, want in excess of £15m for their captain.'

AND IT JUST GETS WORSE FOR THE VILLA
    Poor Villa. Not only does their captain want to leave but they are now set to sign the awful Justin Hoyte.

According to The Daily Telegraph, the Arsenal reserve has been in talks about a transfer and yesterday 'approached an agreement to leave for Aston Villa'.

Oh dear.

Wow. Justin Hoyte. I'm SOOO happy.

Cartainly not a signing that will inspire a lot of confidence alright, but we'll wait and see...

Admittedly I've not seen much of Hoyte at all, but I'm struggling to see why it's such gloomy news if it is true? A 23yo RB (a real Right Back...wow) who came thru the Arsenal youth system and signed professionally for them which shows that Wenger obviously rates him to some degree. Also capped 21 times for the England U21's according to wikipedia.

Why is this so bad? Even if he hasn't made headlines, surely all the right ingredients are there for mercurial Martin to turn him into a decent player?

Young, british, etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Graham Barrett and Anthony Stokes signed professionally with Arsenal.

In fact I know for a fact Barrett was supposed to make it at Arsenal. My dad had Chippy in his taxi one night, and he said Barrett was the next big thing....

He also mentioned McGeady and this was about 2002/2003

Yep, a RB is whats needed, lets get Hoyte and consider him a stop gap replacement. I never thought id pine for the days of Mark Delaney.

Mirror is reporting today that MON is looking to sign Yossi Benayoun from Liverpool but not as part of the Barry deal.
    Wasnt he not one of the "mismash of nothing players" originally offered to Villa?
    Decent player though and could definitely see him doing a job for any team he goes to.
    Also doesnt seem to have any problem being a squad player and always performs when
    he starts/is brought on.
    A loss to Liverpool and a good signing for Villa if it happens IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Savman wrote: »
    Admittedly I've not seen much of Hoyte at all, but I'm struggling to see why it's such gloomy news if it is true? A 23yo RB (a real Right Back...wow) who came thru the Arsenal youth system and signed professionally for them which shows that Wenger obviously rates him to some degree. Also capped 21 times for the England U21's according to wikipedia.

Why is this so bad? Even if he hasn't made headlines, surely all the right ingredients are there for mercurial Martin to turn him into a decent player?

Young, british, etc etc.

I agree with you completely on this matter. The guy hasn't been given a proper run in the Arsenal team ever, has come through probably the best youth coaching in the world right now.
    Give him a chance and well worth taking a chance on.

I wouldnt be keen on Benayoun, dont know where that story came from.

I wouldnt mind Hoyte as an understudy but not to go straight into the first team, same applies with Huddlestone.

The last few months remind me of the Doug Ellis era:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Benayoun is class. If he was part of the Villa deal for Barry, and you got 2 million, I would be delighted.

Are you taking the p1ss?

So you rate Barry worth only £2mill more than the value of Benayoun?

Well thankfully you wont have any influence on the deal:p

I can see light at the end of the tunnel, Benayoun + £15m(is there a still a sell on clause to Brighton?) is great business, although who will MON buy?

In your ****ing wet dreams mate, that'd value Barry at least 20million.

The dubious link, is saying any deal would be nothing to do with the Barry deal.

I dont think Yossi will be sold myself, dont want him to be either.

I dont think Liverpool would part with Benayoun.

Id be happy with £15mill straight cash.

Funny funny funny:
    Maggio signs for Napoli

Wednesday 11 June, 2008 - Football Italia Website

Napoli have made a huge swoop to sign rising star Christian Maggio from Sampdoria.

Maggio was one of the surprise packages last term and made a vital contribution to Samp’s sixth-placed finish.

The versatile wide man almost broke into Roberto Donadoni’s squad for Euro 2008 and has now earned a move to Napoli believed to be worth around £6m.

“I am happy to be able to announce the signature of Maggio, who is another big transfer after the arrival of Leandro Rinaudo,” Napoli chief Aurelio De Laurentiis said.

“We have been tracking Maggio for a long time and sporting director Pierpaolo Marino has worked hard to bring him here.

“Amongst other things, his surname correlates with the month I was born in – I hope that is a good omen.”

“I am happy to be able to play at a prestigious and ambitious club like Napoli,” Maggio said. “I can’t wait to get started.”

Maggio is expected to earn around £1.3m per season in a five-year contract.

While at the same time Bill Howell reports:
    Aston Villa still in for Christian Maggio

Jun 11 2008 By Bill Howell

CHRISTIAN Maggio's agent has given Villa fresh hope of sealing a move for the Sampdoria right-back despite reports in Italy which suggest he is on the verge of a £10million switch to AC Milan.

Maggio's club have admitted they have received one bid in the region of £8million that has been turned down, but Villa boss Martin O'Neill is known to have long held an admiration for the player and will not be put off by that price.

"I have never revealed the names of the clubs interested in my client,'' said Massimo Briaschi.

"I have said in the past there are clubs interested in the player but I don't exclude the fact he may stay at Sampdoria.

"He has a contract until 2011, as for Napoli, I have not had any contact from them.

"Maggio is doing well and he is tranquil regarding everything.

"If good offers come our way then we will evaluate them but for now, nothing is concrete."

I mean, ignoring the fact that Howler suggests Villa were still in with a shout while citing absolutely no supportive whatsoever, surely he MIGHT have checked out the player's current situation, i.e., already signed for Napoli... :rolleyes:

Seriously can we keep the Barry bollocks in the other thread.

Stuff like this:
    is just shitstirring. Kindly take it elsewhere :rolleyes:

If only....
    Villa manager Martin O’Neill is reportedly lining up Hamburg midfielder Rafael van der Vaart as a replacement for Liverpool-bound Gareth Barry. - Express and Star

I'll believe it when I see it... :(

The guy is total quality.
    Would be an amazing signing for Villa if ye got him.
    Would cost big money though i would imagine as he has a big reputation and
    id imagine a lot of clubs will be interested.

I'd gladly serve time for breaking and entering into MON's house to hug him, if he makes that signing!

Cant see it happening without smashing the clubs wage structure.
    He will not move to a team not in the CL without massive wages.
    Are villa finally willing to pay big money? I doubt it to be honest

I'd be inclined to agree with you. If (and I really shouldn't even be entertaining this, it's NOT going to happen) MON is to sign Van der Vaart, he'll have to offer him big big money, which is unlikely to happen.

But he did join Hamburg after Ajax, which was a surprising move at the time. Hopefully he fancies the underdog :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If MON wants 20 milliion for Barry then Rafa should buy Van Der Vaart and sell one extra player!

Mike.

Van Der Vaart = this years Wesley Sneijder... champions league bound he should be (hope he shocks us for his 2nd move in a row)

mike65 wrote: »
    If MON wants 20 milliion for Barry then Rafa should buy Van Der Vaart and sell one extra player!

Mike.

That's the thing, if I was a Pool fan I'd be a tad peeped off if Rafa gave Villa 18-20m for Barry, only for Villa to then sign someone like VDV with the money.

Van Der Vaart = this years Wesley Sneijder... champions league bound he should be (hope he shocks us for his 2nd move in a row)

Willy B should be burning the ear off him at the Euros...