Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

Getting a mechanic to look over a car before a sale?

Options
  • 14-08-2006 12:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭

Hi,
    I am looking to buy a car through a private ad in the buy and sell. I've never done this before so I'm not sure what the best way to go about it is regarding getting a reliable mechanic to assess the car.

Do I ask the seller to bring the car somewhere, or should the mechanic go to the seller etc?

Cheers

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 24,239 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I got the seller to bring the car to the mechanic. Most people have no problems doing this if there's a genuine interest to buy and tbh, paying someone to give the car a once over for you is a good indication that you're serious about buying.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Yeah didnt think of it in that way. I live in Rathmines, and dont know any mechanics personally. Does anyone have any recommendations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭gstonesmx5

theaa.ie have a service and you could also check around the net for others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭cargrouch

The AA is a pricey( looked into it but didn't use it in the end). I suppose it's all relative to the sum you're thinking of paying for the car though! But if you don't know any good mechanics then it could be an option.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide