Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Staunton threatened by gunman

• 14-08-2006 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭

Someone got into the team hotel in Portmarnock and threatened him with a gun. Was later apprehended. Just breaking on Newstalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Someone got into the team hotel in Portmarnock and threatened him with a gun. Was later apprehended. Just breaking on Newstalk.

Was it win or else Stan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,961 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Coverage on Sky Sports News at the moment. Malahide Gardai have arrested someone and are holding him under Section 30. Currently searching the beach for the gun, but Staunton is unharmed they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Didnt think the shels fans were this upset over Jayo being left out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    thats just crazy sh1t:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Didnt think the shels fans were this upset over Jayo being left out...

It was Oily Byrne!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,982 ✭✭✭Big Ears

TheGooner wrote:
    It was Oily Byrne!!!

Wanted Byrne to get another cap , so he could up the fee for some Scandinavian club to pay for him .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

WTF :eek: Security a bit lax me thinks :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Jason Byrne Is Injured !!!! He turned down the call-up !!!!

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Jason Byrne Is Injured !!!! He turned down the call-up !!!!

we know , just throwing in a few un humourous jokes .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Proberly care in the community desperado. Can't think why else this sort of thing would happen.

Mike.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Someone hasn't taken too kindly to Kilbane being in the squad again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭eoinf

i know this isnt gonna go down well but he could have done us a favour by taking out a few of the lame donkeys we have called up . wont mention any names.

steven carr

john o shea

oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Someone hasn't taken too kindly to Kilbane being in the squad again...
    and are they wrong? :D

evad_lhorg wrote:
    and are they wrong? :D
    Well they went for the wrong man! Why not solve the problem at its source ;) *

* I'm only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Well they went for the wrong man! Why not solve the problem at its source ;) *

* I'm only joking.

No you're not! :D

Einst&#252 wrote: »
    No you're not! :D

Shhhh... libel reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

Lol, that hotel is like a two minute walk from my house. Zany old gunmen, always good for a laugh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭OY

What's next.... drive by shootings in the night!

I love how absolutely nobody has a serious remark to make about this. It is great stuff! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Turned and fled eh? I thought he was a winnor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Isn't the first time either. IIRC another fella went into that hotel once when the irish team were there and fired a couple of shots into the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

turns out it was a replica gun! crazy fecker. and it was down the road from the hotel. he was makin a phone call.

/EDIT: A replica UZI sub-machine GUN!!! haha

DapperGent wrote:
    Turned and fled eh? I thought he was a winnor!
    :D The gaffor doesn't back dowwwwn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Where did Roy Keane get an Uzi from?

Brian Kerr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭s8n

Gardai have just released picture of culprit.....

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Nice pic :D

Seriously though, it is a bit mad. Did the fellow with the fake gun actually target Stan or was it just chance... i.e. if someone else had been standing there he would haev done the same thing?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

From news reports this morning it seemed to be a completely random thing, not actually aimed at Stan at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Youre all wrong! It was an Al Queda gunman, sent by Osama coz we are letting the Yanks land in Shannon! This is only the beginning. Ireland is now part of the War on Terror!
    (I should probably cut back on Sky News.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

A handy excuse for Stan the Gaffor if the Dutch hammer us. :)

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    :D The gaffor doesn't back dowwwwn!

Stan: I am the boss , I am the gaffer , the buck stops with me .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

The shock on poor Stan's face !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

C'mon, any Louth man should be used to seeing guns. Wouldnt have phased him

wait, hold on. its cool. ur man apologised. everythings grand now!

if only Hitler had've thought of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

It was a plastic gun and your man was looking for some caps. Someone told him Stan had a load of em...

Yes, Ill get my coat!

he seems to be givin them out left right and centre anyway. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

i think that's one of the few times i can give a genuine LOL at a post. Thoug still not upt to the standard of either ROTFL or LMAO

anyway, well done, sir!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Marcais

And all this BEFORE the 4-0 drubbing!