Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First meeting of the boards football team this thurs at 8

• 15-08-2006 12:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭

Right this thread is for people to commit to turning up at 8 on thursday 17/08/06 in the pheonix park for a bit of a kick about and a team meeting.
    We'll need a min of 10 for this to be workable.

So I'll be No1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Uimhir a two. And I've a mate who's available as well. He's on boards as Xavi6, centre half or centre mid.

EDIT - What time does it get dark at these days? Is 8 a bit late?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

3 depending on time i get out of work at, could be late.
    Who picking me up :D

D22 ...sticks out thumb :D

4 Jesus

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

KdjaC wrote:
    3 depending on time i get out of work at, could be late.
    Who picking me up :D

D22 ...sticks out thumb :D

4 Jesus

kdjac

I can swing by that way and grab you.

Grand

1st pitch at Conyghimham road entrace?

Ie Headin from down just drive in the big gates and its on the left, from elsewhere head down parkgate street turn left before Hickeys.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Stekelly wrote:
    I can swing by that way and grab you.
    KdjaC's gonna need a lawyer! :)

Einst&#252 wrote: »

So you in or what ?

It may be only training but possibility of 3 shels fans on the other team excites me :D

kdjac

Einst&#252 wrote: »

You can't play Eins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,838 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I'll be there too:)

How about here?

You can navigate, zoom out etc to see exactly where that is. It's where we played when I organised the last thing. Which started off great but quickly died. The first 2/3 games we got about 20 people, then everyone just stopped coming:(

Here's a list of names who were interested in the ones I organised anyway:

*Tripper*
    blu_sonic
    BOHS
    carpothepunk
    Catch_22
    ciaran76
    Clank
    ColHol
    Conchubar
    daymobrew
    el rabitos
    ferdi
    FrankGrimes
    garred
    Gileadi
    Hippo
    honeymonster
    IDM
    john_dub
    jonny68
    jstokes
    KdjaC
    kearnsr
    kellxor.1337
    Keyser Soze 5
    L5
    Nimrod's Son
    Onkle51
    Peace
    raheny red
    RasTa
    Rockee
    Roddy23
    Savman
    SebtheBum
    Spider_Baby!
    Stekelly
    super_furry
    The Muppet
    Tusky

I wonder if any of them would be interested in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

grrrrr, cant make thursday (in the UK)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

this sounds interesting...whats it for, training with the intention of entering a team in a league, or just kickabouts?

Also it is getting fairly dark by 20:30pm these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Hopefully should be able to make it down. Dont know if I'll be around for the league, but If I am can play in goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

L5 wrote:
    this sounds interesting...whats it for, training with the intention of entering a team in a league, or just kickabouts?

Also it is getting fairly dark by 20:30pm these days!

Its to get the ball rolling.

And to learn where people can play and the level of ability people have etc

I have to go to another footy game for 9 out in ALSAA which is 20min away. So
    ill have to either leave early, not go or maybe we could organise it earlier.

I think it might be getting dark at 8.30 these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I'll be there, w00t, I can't believe this is actually going ahead!

Where exactly in the Park are we meeting?

Or will I just go and wander aimlessly in my Shels jersey waiting for KdjaC to attack from the bushes?

Dont think this is the sort of thing to say about the Phoenix Park, unless of course ye know a certain Mr. Stagg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Spider_Baby!

Meant to be going away on thursday for a few days to galway!! How irritating... Im so dying to play, its not even funny! Grr.

I think we'll meet at the monument at 8. Bit of a get to know you and a small informal kick about if enough people are there, No problems with people leaving early (just this once :) )

A short kick around for half an hour or so then wrap it up when it starts to get dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

id be intrested but unfortunetly im playing a kick about with lads from the college footy team in the same part of the park at 7 on thurs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Well, come on over and say "Hi!" during your game, at least let us know you're there.

Folks, I had to put something off today and arranged it for thursday instead. This may mean I might not be able to make it, but I'll make every effort to make it. And I hope the weather doesn't mean some of you wont turn up;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Anyone in the city centre have a spare bed/couch?

Dont be put off by the weather anyone. If it's crappy we can head to the hole in the wall for a drink r summat

Stekelly wrote:
    Dont be put off by the weather anyone. If it's crappy we can head to the hole in the wall for a drink r summat

I hope you mean AFTER we play footy;) lol, great start to our training, go for a pint:D I don't drink so I'll stay out in the field doing solos if anyone wants to challenge me to a game of two touch!

Lads would it not be better off having it a bit earlier. Those who can't make it till later, could join in whenever they get down.

Ste can you delete some of your PM's please :p

I be there with 3 who are interested in playing for the season.

No contacts so i be a spectator this week :D

kdjac

No contacts so i be a spectator this week

And so the excuses start :D

i should be fairly visible to people in a Juventus jersey with a big yellow "Nedved 11" on the back so if i dont see you lot starting maybe ste or somebody can come over to me

played in CB,CM,RB,RM and a bit of LB last year in the college so im a little bit flexable on the auld positions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Looks like this is who will try to turn up.

Stekelly
    MrJoeSoap
    Xavi6
    KdjaCL - Bringing 3 mates?
    cormie - Maybe
    Roddy23 - Maybe
    seansouth
    Gileadi
    Blackwizard - Myself

Where abouts are we meeting up?

Weather looks fine!
    Tomorrow, scattered heavy or thundery showers will develop again in the South and Southeast - and these may become a bit more widespread later in the day - but for much of the country it will be another largely or completely dry day, with just the odd shower at most, and with some sunshine at times again. Highest temperatures will range 16 to 20 C.
    i should be fairly visible to people in a Juventus jersey

Ill be in a Real Madrid black shirt. 6ft 3inc so you cant miss me! :)

Shels home jersey most likely.

Be the bloke in a home Pats jersey beating some guy in a shels jersey to death with a stick with 9 points written on it.

Go in parkgate street entrace 1st pitch you see on left.

kdjac