Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad News 4 Dub Fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The real fans often don't get tickets. Then of course there is the way people classify fans as real fans. Different criteria are used. I am a member of a club, but I am not actively involved. On that criteria I would not be regarded as a real fan and not be entitled to a ticket. On the other hand, I never miss a match in Croke Park, no matter who is playing. I grew up spending summer Sunday afternoons in Croke Park and I still do. On that basis I would be regarded as a real fan and be entitled to one. So which am I and do I deserve one?

It is only really when it comes to the final that you need contacts, though this year the Dublin semi-final seems as if it will be in the same bracket. You can usually get a few on ticketmaster or outside the ground in the earlier stages of the championship, or queue up a few days beforehand in one of those long and winding queues outside the ticket office outside the Cusack Stand, for a semi-final. Remember 2002?

A lot of new fans have jumped on the band wagon since Dublin last played in the final in 1995. With increased media coverage, each year more and more do. Some of you may not remember when only the semi-finals and finals were shown live on TV. Showing matches from earlier in the season was then regarded as a threat to attendances. In fact the reverse has been the case. Now so many games are all-ticket.

I can remember when the All-Ireland final was not even all-ticket. 1977, Dublin v Armagh, was the first, though there were some after that at which cash was taken, before all-ticket became the norm for finals. Older people will tell you that back in the 40s or 50s that there were ads in Clery's window for tickets for All-Ireland finals. Back then, it was hard to sell them. How things have changed. Even though we now do have a bigger stadium, it is still hard to get tickets for the games in August and September. There will be a lot of disappointed fans, genuine ones, next week, while less deserving people will be in Croke Park watching. Still, I expect that some tickets will go on sale next week and that I, and other real fans, will get one. I certainly hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

This problem rolls around every year, Dublin, with the help of a lot of fans who don't go to league games (but who do like dublin and a day out in Croker as well) could easily fill the stadium entirely on their own.

This can't happen, but it's very frustrating for Dubs when they get allocated 25% of the total capcity, despite having 90% of the demand.

Its also very frustrating that many tickets end up in the hands of people from outside four semi-finalists, but know a what a semi (and God willing final) ticket are worth on E-bay.

That is the distribution system and time after time we have debated it here, and we will again, but there is no perfect system. No idea or suggestion that anyone can come up with will satisfy everyone that wants to go, even if you exclude the sunshine supporters. They could add another 20,000 to the capacity of Croke Park (as they have done with the new stadium compared to the old one) and you'd still have the same problem. So unfortunately, we just have to grin and bear it and hope to scrape up a ticket from somewhere. There are over 80,000 of them out there after all! One will do me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Bluetonic wrote:
    If I remember correctly, from being there, Dublin took 100% of their allocation for this match and sold 100% of that allocation. It was impossible to fit anymore Dublin fans in Flancare Park than the few thousand that took up the tickets. The match was a sell out.

Sorry, just reading through this thread and seen above. Is this meant as a joke Bluetonic or did you really think that match was in Flancare (i.e. the home of Longford Town FC)???

Was at that game myself and have to say was a great day out with a lot of genuine dubs. Think there were about 10k tickets given to dubs for that game and although some were disappointed there was no where near the demand/outcry about that. If you are bothered you can see my opinions on ticket allocations on my other posts but I think the fact that a thread on this board about the Dublin SFC has 11 replies whereas there must be hundreds of posts on various threads whinging about ticket allocations speaks volumes on the people involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

monosharp wrote:
    And thats how counties fill Croker on all-ireland day and how Dublin fill Croker regularly, 40K tosser + maybe 20K real fans.

What is the problem ? Less allocation means less summertime bandwagon tosspots are going to be taking up space/time/air from everyone else.

What a joker. I'm one of these bandwagon supporters, although I did play GAA for 10odd years, and am good friends with 'proper' supporters, 1 with a family member even on the team. I've a decent interest in it, and during the summer months I join my mates and go to most games. I enjoy them, and the craic that ensues.

It's a shame I won't be able to get a ticket for the next game, but so be it, I wouldn't take one even if was offered, as there are enough 'serious' fans out there to take them.

But am I a tosser and tosspot and whatever else you like to call people like me, just because I enjoy going to the games when there are plenty of tickets, and have a good day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

jackbhoy wrote:
    Sorry, just reading through this thread and seen above. Is this meant as a joke Bluetonic or did you really think that match was in Flancare (i.e. the home of Longford Town FC)???

I was indeed joking, it was to add fuel to the fire of those who already think Dublin GAA fans don't know their arse from their elbow.
    jackbhoy wrote:
    If you are bothered you can see my opinions on ticket allocations on my other posts but I think the fact that a thread on this board about the Dublin SFC has 11 replies whereas there must be hundreds of posts on various threads whinging about ticket allocations speaks volumes on the people involved

Something which I have already pointed out in that thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

they usuallly get 60k there is going to be 40K very loyal hardcore fans that will have to do without.

4 other teams involved in 2 other matches
    Teams that wouldnt probably attract a crowd of 20,000 if put on a day on their own. Being the Tommy Murphy cup and Minor Semi-Final.

Whats the point in having secondary competitions for the weaker counties if they get played in an empty croke park? As for the minors - same point.

I would suggest that given the nature of the competitions any supporters travelling from these counties will be proper GAA people. Are you suggesting they dont get tickets?

Take Croke park anyday the Dubs are playing. I would suggest that 80% (generous) of the Dub fans have never been to a club match, never been to a match in the winter, probably couldnt name 4 club teams in the Dublin championship.
    nevermind actually being actively involved in their local clubs or playing GAA

And usually never never never never give even the slightest bit of a toss about any other county bar their own.

I.e how many will head into watch the earlier matches. Whats the bet the match will be delayed for the Dubs to finish their ScrumpyJack?

This is getting very old, give it a rest. It has nothing to do with this debate (to be a bit loose with the language) on whether Dublin fans who don't turn out to watch club matches are allowed to want to go to semi finals

Every second post on this thread is now an echo, "There's loads of proper dubs fans" - "oh no there isn't" - "oh yes there is"

Whats the point in having secondary competitions for the weaker counties if they get played in an empty croke park? As for the minors - same point.

Your living in another planet if you think there is going to be anything more than 15k in the stadium for the 1st match and 35k for the second match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

chump wrote:
    What a joker. I'm one of these bandwagon supporters, although I did play GAA for 10odd years, and am good friends with 'proper' supporters, 1 with a family member even on the team. I've a decent interest in it, and during the summer months I join my mates and go to most games. I enjoy them, and the craic that ensues.

It's a shame I won't be able to get a ticket for the next game, but so be it, I wouldn't take one even if was offered, as there are enough 'serious' fans out there to take them.

How generous of you. Unfortunately we all know that there will be genuine fans left without tickets and a good crowd of drunken louts who are there solely for the craic with feck all interest in the match.

edit > Ah i forgot the premiership has started so if Man Utd/Liverpool/Newcastle etc are playing in some charity cup or challenge match we'll see a whole lot less blue on the hill. Maybe thats why the GAA have not given dublin their own day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

monosharp wrote:
    edit > Ah i forgot the premiership has started so if Man Utd/Liverpool/Newcastle etc are playing in some charity cup or challenge match we'll see a whole lot less blue on the hill. Maybe thats why the GAA have not given dublin their own day.

Now now, don't be getting all bitchy! It'd be a sell out if it was a stand alone fixture and well you know it. They've decided it isnt, so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

I don't know if I am speaking for the majority of fans living outside of Dublin especially the rest of Leinster but my first real expierience of the "marvellous, colourful hill" was when a young Westmeath side played the first of a double header LSFC QF against Dublin in 1999. There was about 40-50,000 at the game maybe about 15-20,000 Dubs if that many, most of whom went home after the 1st game. Westmeath were about 12 points down in the second half and had a free into the hill. Next thing a massive cocophony of boos and jeers came from the hill followed by roars of laughter when the ball went wide. Ever since then I have always wanted Dublin to lose regardless of who they play. When Dublin followers start behaving like proper GAA fans (which will be never) then maybe I will give a shíte about how many tickets they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

The amount of moronic, anti-Dublin drivel posted on this thread is enough to make me weep. "Scrumpy Jack"? C'mon, you can do better than that, what are you, soccer fans?

To the real fans, those of you who are mature enough to discuss the opposing teams with out foaming at the mouth, thanks for showing some maturity.

I'll be at the match wearing both my Dublin and Mayo jerseys (like I did last week).

Mod note: I'll ban myself from GAA after this post. My stomach can't handle reading too much of this rubbish anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

a young Westmeath side played the first of a double header LSFC QF against Dublin in 1999. There was about 40-50,000 at the game maybe about 15-20,000 Dubs if that many, most of whom went home after the 1st game. Westmeath were about 12 points down in the second half and had a free into the hill.

That happens with every match, happened all of the time into the canal end when opposing fans were standing there, happend at every match this year as well. Westmeath fans did it this year, in fact.

As for fans who dont know anything and are loutish, you find them in every county and in all parts of the ground, not just the hill. There are plenty of people in the stands that no nothing as well, and they pay a lot more money for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Carb

I can understand the frustration of supporters who've been to all the championship games, but now can't get tickets. What I can't understand is why anybody thinks it unique. Its the same problem for every county that reaches the later stages of the championship. Tyrone last year springs to mind. They travelled to Croke Park in their thousands last year on about 5 different occasions at what I can only assume was a massive expense. Then when all ireland final day came, like every other county, they didn't have enough tickets.

At the end of the day, I can't see how it can be done fairer, except maybe giving both teams larger allocations. Even if it was a stand alone fixture, I don't think it would be fair to give one team a larger allocation, after all, at this stage of the championship it should be a level playing field, which means having roughly the same amount of supporters. Its the same in the final stages of any sporting competition in the world.

Patmac, every county has fans like that, without exception. Because Dublin has a larger amount of fans and because when they play the Hill is almost exclusively Dublin fans it is more pronounced coming from there. If you were ever at a soccer match in England, where fans of the each team are all put together, that effect is very noticeable too. Any fans of the competing county who have been on the Hill will always speak of the great craic on the there. As with almost any area of society or topic you discuss, a minority often give the majority a bad name.

The late fans pouring out of the pub is another thing that all counties are prone to. I always go in for the first game and on any day, no matter who is playing, there is always a lot of free space 20 minutes before the beginning of the big match and then the crowds really pour in. There is always talk about minor teams or secondary counties playing in front of big crowds in Croke Park. It is always terrible to see the ball thrown in at the beginning of the match and the place is so empty that you can hear an individual voice shouting on the other side of the ground. Even by the end of the game, while there is now a sizable crowd, there is still a lot of space around.

The way some people go on over this you'd think that on a day on which Dublin are not playing that every pub in Drumcondra and Ballybough and the North Strand etc. could close their doors due to no customers being there from before the throw-in of the minor match. If you are on the top deck of the Hogan or Cusack, you will see plenty of fans outside the ground coming in, on any day, after the last game has started.

The point about the Dublin SFC is true. I admit that I have not posted in it yet, though I have looked in on more than one occasion. This week and for another few weeks and for the past few months the focus is on the inter-county games. After that, although the club scene is active, when the club competitions really get into their stride without their position in the spotlight being stolen by inter-county football, interest will increase.

There are plenty of the Dubs here posting in the other threads around, that don't have anything to do with Dublin. Dublin v Mayo, the tickets, the two championships, the state of the game in various counties in relation to the county team, are the things foremost in people's thoughts now, and they are the majority of and the busiest threads. There is not a lot of posting now about the Aussie Rules or the League, but their time will come too. Come November and December, there won't be much talk about the Liam McCarthy Cup or the Sam Maguire Cup either, wth the exception of when the draws are made. Our sports are seasonal, and the posts and threads here, and on the big GAA boards on the net, run in line with that.

Flukey wrote:
    Patmac, every county has fans like that, without exception. Because Dublin has a larger amount of fans and because when they play the Hill is almost exclusively Dublin fans it is more pronounced coming from there. If you were ever at a soccer match in England, where fans of the each team are all put together, that effect is very noticeable too. Any fans of the competing county who have been on the Hill will always speak of the great craic on the there. As with almost any area of society or topic you discuss, a minority often give the majority a bad name.
    I lived in England when a large minority of the soccer fans went to the games to wreak havoc. I have been to a lot of Westmeath and Roscommon matches and cannot remember any of us or opposing fans booing the opposing free takers en mass except on the hill. Irish soccer and Rugby fans are renowned for their good manners to opposition penalty takers/ national anthems etc, the only Irish fans I know that behave boorishly are the Dubs on the hill. I stood on the hill in the early eighties and whilst it was great craic during the game when Meath beat them it got very ugly. Also I work in Offaly and the local people said they got serious abuse when leaving the match after this years Leinster final. I could go on but its a waste of time if Dublin fans think that 20,000 people booing free takers and then cheering when they miss is acceptable behaviour.

Can a mod please ban my access to this thread? It's for my own saftey I assure you.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

Bluetonic wrote:
    Can a mod please ban my access to this thread? It's for my own saftey I assure you.

ROFL:D :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Bluetonic wrote:

Sitewide ban I think it's called.

This thread lives until this Sunday at the very latest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Right here's what should be done:

1. No girlfriends allowed* (Why do so many lads bring their women to games....its not a fashion parade!)

2. No Wives allowed*

3. No Daughters...again the same reason*

* Unless they are in some way involved with the GAA!

I'm serious here, there is nothing worse than a lad bring his missus to a game when she hasn't the first notion of the game. This was a country thing then it spread to the dubs. I have no problem with girls coming if they have an interest in the games but I'd say over 50% think its a bloody fashion show!

I am one of the lucky ones, I have a few tickets for sunday, and a guaranteed ticket for the final (provided we get there). But I know so many of my friend who go to every match who can't get them.

I know I'll be paying for my county grounds ticket next year. Then I won't have to worry about all this ticket shambles.

....thats what grinds my gears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

You know I am almost 30 years following Dublin football and it’s amazing to think that despite how much this country is suppose to have changed, modernised, grown up whatever, we still have such an anti Dublin bias when it comes to the Dublin Football team, Most Country People still hate to see us do well no matter how good the team is or plays, its always the same stuff gets brought up. When they cannot think of anything bad to say about the team it’s about Dublin supporters
    Lads when are you going to learn we don’t care what you think .We are the Dubs Please god we will win on Sunday and then beat the Kerry in the Final, any make ye even more pissed off,

Up the Dubs :D

Patmac, I've been going to matches for as long as I can remember. In that time I can remember occasions when Dublin were not playing and there were boos. Unfortunately it is a common thing, in many sports. The dynamic of a rugby match is different and it is great to hear a pin drop when a kick at goal is being taken, but you do get some booing at certain players on occasions. Similarly we've seen and heard idiots booing Rangers players when they have played for their international side against Ireland in Lansdowne Road. At GAA matches, like in soccer and rugby, you'll get players being booed for the rest of a match after they have been involved in an incident. There are boo boys on the Hill and they are more evident because they are all together and not spread around the ground.

For the most part there is little trouble at GAA games, unlike the soccer matches that you yourself referred to. There is more trouble on the pitch or in the queues for those awful hotdogs that they sell. :) People coming from England can never believe the way the rival fans mix before, during and after games and it is almost alien to them that they are not segragated. I've not been to many but a soccer match is very different in England and Scotland when you are used to the atmosphere at a GAA game. When a soccer goal is scored, all the cheering comes from one specific part of the ground, with silence everywhere else.

At our games, as we all know, cheering comes from every part of the ground because of the way the fans are mixed. The only time you see a mass silence is on the Hill when Dublin are playing, because 99.99% of fans there are supporting Dublin. All around the rest of the ground you have the mix of silence and cheering.

Hill 16 is the most identifiable part of any sports venue in the country, especially when Dublin are playing. All counties have their boo boys but they are mixed around the grounds, so not as evident. Even on the Hill itself, the boo boys tend to be in a more concentrated area of the Hill itself with the majority not participating. You only hear that en masse booing because they are together, but at many games there is booing. It's just more spread about, but it is there. If you segregated fans at GAA matches, like in England or Scotland for soccer matches, then the boos would be more evident. Outside of Dublin games, at any other match in Croke Park or any GAA venue around the country, you do not get that concentration of one team's fans together. It is not even official segregation, it is tradition. Most Dublin fans at Croke Park on Sunday will not be on Hill 16, they'll just be mixed in with everyone else.

:D:D I am now glad to report, that I will be in Croke Park on Sunday! :) I got a ticket!:D :D

I suppose I better point out that it is for the Upper Hogan, and not Hill 16. So if anyone else is up there, you may see me. I'll be easy to spot. I'll be wearing a blue shirt! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Carb wrote:
    I can understand the frustration of supporters who've been to all the championship games, but now can't get tickets. What I can't understand is why anybody thinks it unique. Its the same problem for every county that reaches the later stages of the championship. Tyrone last year springs to mind. They travelled to Croke Park in their thousands last year on about 5 different occasions at what I can only assume was a massive expense. Then when all ireland final day came, like every other county, they didn't have enough tickets.
    Apples and oranges Carb. You're talking about an All Ireland final.

All Ireland semis are rarely sold out. The fact that Dublin can only satisfy about 50% of the demand from club members for a semi-final is extraordinary - never mind the numbers who'd like to go who arent club members.

14,000 tickets have been allocated to counties who arent competing on the day. Seems a very big number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Carb wrote:
    I can understand the frustration of supporters who've been to all the championship games, but now can't get tickets.

I cannot understand this at all!! Dublin have played what, 14/15 competitive games this year (not to mention all the challenge matches) and being to every c'ship game means you've been to what 4! (3 for most who couldnt or didnt bother to get ticket for Longford. It sickens my ars@ to listen to all of you moan about "going to every game" and then not getting a ticket. How many of you were in the park for the Monaghan game last Febuary or travelled to Enniskillen/Omagh???
    Many of you out there should realise that though you may be more deserving that many of the late coming bandwagon bridgade, you yourselves represent a bandwagon to those of us who realise the dubs season doesnt begin in July and are therefore less deserving of a ticket than you might think!!
    Sure it'll be like Munster/Leinster rugby now with people who missed out on semi final tickets last season all signing up to the supporters club this season, interseting to see the number of Parnell Park passes sold in the coming year against the number that will actually use them for something else other than a shot at big match tickets.
    A friend of mine summed up the countrys feeling towards the dubs when he said this (paraphrase) "they are the England of the GAA, its not really the players we hate or the genuine fans. its all the media hype and arrogance that goes with those supporters who dont have a clue but think they have a god given right to win everything. England had the largest number and loudest of fans at the WC(after Germany) but did that mean they were the best fans??"

14,000 tickets have been allocated to counties who arent competing on the day. Seems a very big number.

That's the root of my gripe.

In additon, I really can't understand people like jackbhoy who seem to be very upset over something that doesn't seem to concern them in slightest. This thread is heading for lockdown.

OK maybe this is all getting out of hand, calling the Dubs fans the England of the GAA is going a bit far and I can see the blue half of boards going ballistic. Its just that Croke park is worth at least 4-5 points to Dublin and there is an awful amount of hype surrounding them this time of year. There was twice as many Dubs at the Westmeath match two weeks ago than there was in the LSFC QF in 2004 when they played them. The delaying of the kick off is becoming more frequent lately, and there is a boorish element more prevalent amongst the hill than anywhere else which is very intimatating for opposing amateur players to have to deal with. Having said that I do hope the genuine Dublin fans do get tickets for Sunday, that 3 matches on the one day is too much and that the GAA should realise that the Tommy Cooper cup despite being a noble idea is a failed experiment the way the counties have been forced to enter teams under the threat of withheld funds is laughable no one wants it. So peace and may the best team win (as long as its Mayo:) ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

As a Dublin fan I am very close to not visiting this forum anymore. I used to post on the soccer forum but it just got too bitchy so I quit, now the GAA forum is going the same way. I have been posting on boards for over 6 years now, and I am one of the people who repeatedly requested a GAA forum before there was one, and now I have just completed my first ban on any of the fora. I am sick and tired of ignorant arseholes looking down their noses at me because I am a Dublin fan. I think about half the posters on this forum are Dublin fans, and I also think allot of them are getting just a pissed off as me. I have read in the last week that Dublin fans are Scrumpy Jack dring scumbags, that they are not real GAA fans because they are also interested in the premiership (by the way, how many posters here also post on the soccer forum?) amongst other things.

The people who come to this forum to post, go out of their way specifically to discuss the happenings in GAA. They are all GAA fans. There are plenty of posters here, whom I dont like, and who I disagree with just about everything they say, and that is fair enough, discussions would be fairly bland and pointless if everyone agreed all the time.

Jackbhoy, if you think all the fans of every other county go to every competitive game the county is involved in you are crazy. It is pointed out in Kaimeras rules thread that Dublin do have more sunshine fans, and noone debates this, but maybe you should save your self righteous indignation for your own county colleagues who do not fit into your narrow definition of a GAA fan. Also with attitudes like yours, it is amazing we manage to get any new fans to support the game.

So guys if you want to lose about half the posting population of the boards GAA forum, just keep going as you are, creating or as in the case of this thread, hijacking, a new thread weekly to bad mouth the county that contains around 1/3 of the countries population, and the county that adds the most to the GAA coffers year on year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I got my tickets for Sunday thank God.

What I don't like is people jumping on the anti-Dublin bandwagon because its gone to the point where the slagging is going too far.You can slag off Dublin all you like and we acccept it as we can slag you back but some of the posters here are just going too far and showing a sort of racist attitude to a county and their fans who are part of this country.

I enjoy going to the pub before and after the match.I make it on time for throw in (the time its scheduled) and I do enjoy a few pints of Bulmers.Whats wrong with that?Are we supposed to stop enjoying ourselves and give up our traditions because a couple of rednecks hate us for it.

I would like to see a big huge stadium the size of Croke Park being built in Kerry,Galway,Armagh,Tyrone,Cork etc and see how the fans react when their county gets far into the championship.I'm sure the Longford fans were drinking before and after the matches to have some craic etc.

I am also bringing my girlfriend to Croke Park not for a fashion parade.I made her interested in GAA and Dublin and Mayo.I think the fact an Italian girl wants to play gaelic football is good enough for her to go to Croke Park as she also went to the trouble of getting RTE on her digital in Italy when she lived there.So this notion of bringing your girlfriend,wife to Croker as a fashion parade is just ignorant.

mobby wrote:
    ...Most Country People still hate to see us do well no matter how good the team is or plays, its always the same stuff gets brought up. When they cannot think of anything bad to say about the team it’s about Dublin supporters...

Thats not true. I have nothing against Dublin doing well and i have huge respect for the Dublin team, its quite obvious that they are playing their arses off this year and have noticably put in the effort in fitness. Just looking at them you can tell they've hit the gym seriously since last year.

I would have no problem at all seeing Sam going to Dublin or that Dublin team picking up their medals. I feel the same way about Mayo and will probably be leaning on their side come sunday, simply because i think its about time they won the thing and they surely deserve another shot at it.

My problem is with the following, not the dublin team or any of the real fans:

1. The dublin media. I would have no problem seeing Sam going to Dublin or those players getting their medals but i wouldn't be able to touch a newspaper or watch RTE for at least a year. The amount of over-hyping cow dung that the media comes out with about Dublin would make anyone sick to their stomach. I remember near the start of the championship i picked up the star for a review of a hurling match and what do i see ? I think it was nearly 3 whole pages devoted to how Dublin were going to win Sam, and they hadn't even played a match yet!

I can't stand it, its like turning on BBC and hearing "1966" or the patheticly over hyping of the English soccer team.

2. The bandwagon fans, most of whom probably never played or watched a game of club football or hurling in their lives and i'd safely say a large number of them haven't a clue about the rules of the game. These people sicken my hole. They have no interest in the match, no clue of whats happening and even less interest.

I'm not talking about the casual GAA fan who actually has a clue whats going on and starts turning up for a winning team, i'm talking about the tossers who turn up solely for the occasion with no interest/clue of the sport or the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 supercelt

monosharp wrote:
    Thats not true. I have nothing against Dublin doing well and i have huge respect for the Dublin team, its quite obvious that they are playing their arses off this year and have noticably put in the effort in fitness. Just looking at them you can tell they've hit the gym seriously since last year.

I would have no problem at all seeing Sam going to Dublin or that Dublin team picking up their medals. I feel the same way about Mayo and will probably be leaning on their side come sunday, simply because i think its about time they won the thing and they surely deserve another shot at it.

My problem is with the following, not the dublin team or any of the real fans:

1. The dublin media. I would have no problem seeing Sam going to Dublin or those players getting their medals but i wouldn't be able to touch a newspaper or watch RTE for at least a year. The amount of over-hyping cow dung that the media comes out with about Dublin would make anyone sick to their stomach. I remember near the start of the championship i picked up the star for a review of a hurling match and what do i see ? I think it was nearly 3 whole pages devoted to how Dublin were going to win Sam, and they hadn't even played a match yet!

I can't stand it, its like turning on BBC and hearing "1966" or the patheticly over hyping of the English soccer team.

2. The bandwagon fans, most of whom probably never played or watched a game of club football or hurling in their lives and i'd safely say a large number of them haven't a clue about the rules of the game. These people sicken my hole. They have no interest in the match, no clue of whats happening and even less interest.

I'm not talking about the casual GAA fan who actually has a clue whats going on and starts turning up for a winning team, i'm talking about the tossers who turn up solely for the occasion with no interest/clue of the sport or the team.

Sorry but the fans of Dublin wonderful as we are do not have any control over the media. And I think if Kerry won the All Ireland it would be all over "The Kerryman" Radio Kerry ect... likewise if Mayo were to win it would be all over " The Western Mail and the like. Get real winning an All Ireland is a huge thing in any county as any fan will now.

So most Dublin fans don't know the rules of the game so they should not be allowed to go to games. Twelve year old kids who follow Dublin go to the games but probalbly don't know ALL the rules. But its only by going to the game they will begin a lifelong love of not just the Dubs but the GAA.

I am a 35 year old female who has followed Dublin from the age of four 1974 to be excate I am a member of a GAA club have played for that club and played camogie in New York and London. I know as much as anyone about the GAA, its traditions, rules ( and God knows there is enough of them) and its great players not just Dubs. Now heres the thing I go to the Munster final every year, have a pass at both Parnell Park and Fitzgerald stadium in Kerry. Why well I support the Dubs and I love to watch Kerry because I love football. I also follow Dublin's ever improving hurlers and the minors. I go to the pub before the match and drink Bulmers I am always in 15 mins before the game at least. But if you saw me in the pub I would just be a bandwagon jummper would'nt I? And of course on Sunday everyone from Mayo will know all the rules and be due twice as much respect because they are not a Dub. Please I would rather be a Dub anyday... bandwagon and all

Media hype
    It does annoy me when people go on about the hype Dublin receive in the media.

RTE do not overhype Dublin.
    The Irish Times, Irish Independent and Examiner do not overhype Dublin.
    Its pure nonsense to suggest they do.

Maybe Dublin papers do. I dont read anything other than the above, but from what I hear the likes of the Herald, Star, Sun and Sunday World have more on Dublin. If that bothers you - then dont buy the bladdy thing. They go after the Dublin audience and dont care about the rest. Thats a fact. Its not just Dublin football. Most of their stories are garbage, rarely get a complaint and people still buy the rags, but someone writes 4 pages about Dublin being the greatest team on earth and some stupid culchies (not you Culchie!) get offended :rolleyes:

I wouldnt read the Castlebar Chronicle expecting them to be raving about Dublin.

Sunshine supporters

Its gas you here throughout the year different people going on about what needs to be done to attract more people to the game. You hear many people saying its a travesty to open up Croke Park to our biggest competitors. Now we have this Dublin team which has literally attracted tens of thousands of extra fans to watch GAA matches. Yes, there have been some problems with too many fans trying to get in for just before throw-in, and therefore it couldnt be done, so 15 minute delay - but really big deal, the fans will cop on in due course. The main thing should surely be - Great News, thousands of extra GAA fans

Now we come to an All Ireland semi-final, which in their wisdom the GAA have made a triple bill. 34,000 tickets have been allocated to counties outside Dublin and Mayo. Dublin fans complain and most of the rest of the GAA complains about Dublin fans complaining. "The real fans will probably get their tickets". "The new fans are not proper GAA people" - so basically sling your hook.

Great way to encourage new people into the GAA alright.

I am sure that most of us here are like Supercelt. As little kids we were brought to games. When really small we just ran around messing with other kids in those 2 hour friendships. Eventually we'd run back to Mammy or Daddy and ask that great question: "Who won?" As time went on we began to realise that there were a group of men running around chasing a ball, sometimes with big sticks. We were almost tall enough to get a good view of the pitch. Soon we were at the stage where we really began to pay attention to what was going on, and now that interest was implanted and grew. Then we got a broader interest and began to take interest in the broader game and began to listen out for results of other games, and now many of us can tell you the history of the game and name great players, now long gone, and maybe actually saw some of them play.

That is what it was like for me. As a kid I was brought to matches around Dublin in places like Parnell Park and O'Toole park. Through the summer if there was a match on in Croke Park I was brought to it. Though I'd have loved to have done so, when it got towards the latter stages and the big crowds, pre all-ticket finals, I was deemed too small to go All-Ireland finals and had to sit home watching it on TV. Eventually though, I went to my first All-Ireland Final, and I've been to quite a few since. I still go to just about every match in Croke Park and in fact it has taken the Pope himself, John Paul II that is, to get me to miss matches there and that is not a joke. I've been at many matches in many grades in many venues in many counties in many competitions. We all have.

Whatever about the Pope part,:) I am sure the rest of you can identify with all of that. We are GAA fans. I've been to the races at Leopardstown, Premiership matches, both English and Scottish, rugby internationals and soccer matches in Lansdowne road, greyhound racing in Shelbourne Park etc. and there are many other sports I'd take an interest in, even if I've never attended an event. I am sure many of you have too. For me, as I am sure it is for everyone else here, none of it tops the excitement and atmosphere of a good GAA match.

We've played it ourselves, know people personally who have played at the highest level, have met legends of the game and all that. When we watch a match, we don't just appreciate that particular match itself, but we know it's context, it's significance, the history of the fixture in terms of previous meetings of the teams, (many of which we would have been at it), what it would mean for one or other of those counties to win etc. We are not just passive supporters.

So wherever we are from, and whatever opinions we have on certain counties and their supporters, first and foremost we share that love of the GAA and its games. That is one thing that unites us. Let's stick together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 supercelt

Totally agree with Flukey and The Rooster and to be honest wish people would just get on with enjoying the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Ahhhhhh, like the last few posters, this thread is p**isng me off too.

Ok Mayo man speaking here

First things first – It the Connaught Telegraph, The Western People and The Mayo News, not the Castlebar Cronicle, Western Mail etc…:D
    And yes they are packed to the gills with Mayo stuff, hype it may be called by someone from outside the county, and I am sure Mid-West radio is dawn to dusk Mayo football talk also. I don’t see any tread complaining about that !!!

As someone stated the tabloid media is the one that carries all the 5 page Dublin coverage, not the Times, Indo etc.
    And if you have a look at the Star, Herald etc you will notice that feck all of it is substance and all pictures, clichés etc. All generating hype in the city and targeting the ‘bandwagon’. It’s not unlike the hype these papers generate when Ireland is in a World Cup, or playing any important match (it will happen next week for Ireland v Germany)
    The broadsheets have more balanced and analytical coverage, even though they commit more column space to Dublin it is because Dublin has a bigger population and they know there is an interest, but at the same time not prophesizing that the Dubs are brilliant and the greatest thing that ever happened.
    Your really cannot take the tabloids as being national papers when it comes to Dublin coverage.

Now as for country people hating the Dubs well it basically an inferiority complex, it’s a big v small thing, the same way Irish people hate to see England\Britain win anything for no particular reason.
    I used to hate the Dubs and believe the media loved them etc, but that was 1985 and I was 12

If Dublin were playing anyone other than Mayo I would be shouting for them and if they won and were playing anyone other than Kerry (wife is from Kerry) I would be shouting for them. I shouted for them up until now and I wish them the best of luck in next years championship

Oh, and on the topic of it not being a stand alone fixture, this is primarily due to the GAA once again having to give into pressure from other sports and change their schedules.
    Why should the GAA change it’s schedule for a golf event in Kildare that is going to be on a pay TV station, and feck all watching for that matter (the 1 billion audience is a myth).
    It’s almost as bad as them having to play the league final in Limerick at 5.30pm cos a French TV station decided that a rugby match between two Irish team would be played in Dublin at 3 on a Sunday.

supercelt wrote:
    Sorry but the fans of Dublin wonderful as we are do not have any control over the media. And I think if Kerry won the All Ireland it would be all over "The Kerryman" Radio Kerry ect... likewise if Mayo were to win it would be all over " The Western Mail and the like. Get real winning an All Ireland is a huge thing in any county as any fan will now.

Yes. The difference been that the Western mail and "the like" don't go foretelling Mayos (Insert any county here) invincible stride to the final before they've played a match in 3-4 pages on a paper while reviews/previews of actual matches get much less then the current status of the pre-season dublin team.

If Mayo wins it it will be all over the local papers/radio for a good while. It won't be all over RTE and national newspapers for the next 6 months. There won't be 1/10 of the fuss made nationaly about it.
    So most Dublin fans don't know the rules of the game so they should not be allowed to go to games. Twelve year old kids who follow Dublin go to the games but probalbly don't know ALL the rules. But its only by going to the game they will begin a lifelong love of not just the Dubs but the GAA.

I said most of the bandwagon supporters probably don't know the rules of the game, have no clue of the game and have less interest.

I'm assuming any kids that go to the game have an interest.
    I am a 35 year old female who has followed Dublin from the age of four 1974 to be excate I am a member of a GAA club have played for that club and played camogie in New York and London. I know as much as anyone about the GAA, its traditions, rules ( and God knows there is enough of them) and its great players not just Dubs.

Great for you. When did i critise you or any real fans ?
    I also follow Dublin's ever improving hurlers and the minors.

OT of this thread but they need a hell of a lot more improvement if they've going to even think about putting up a performance against the cats. And yes i've seen the minors in action and the U21's and yes they have improved.
    I go to the pub before the match and drink Bulmers I am always in 15 mins before the game at least. But if you saw me in the pub I would just be a bandwagon jummper would'nt I?

Nope. I go to the pub beforehand and i drink guinness and i am always in 15 mins before the game at least. How does that make anyone a bandwagon supporter ? When did i say that ?
    And of course on Sunday everyone from Mayo will know all the rules and be due twice as much respect because they are not a Dub. Please I would rather be a Dub anyday... bandwagon and all

It would be nice if you read what i wrote before answering me and accusing me of saying things i didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Can we just agree that we all hate the lary dublin fanbase who goes off, gets sloshed, arrives late and stands directly behind the hill 16 end goals booing and jeering? I mean we summertime fans are grand, but the ones who go in with the "lager lout" attitude are, plainly, assholes.

Also, ON TOPIC, about the tickets theres not a lot Dublin can give out about really, i mean ya cant really complain about the ticket allocation as the 6 counties that have games have to get tickets, sure it'd be peachy if everybody who wanted to go could go, but it would be unfair to give Dublin more tickets than they deserve jsut because theres a greater demand. The president wasnt too far off when he said "tough luck", but i guess he could have been a bit more tactful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

actually this sounds strange coming from me... and its just cause I have my tickets but I am gald dublin wont out number our oppisition 50 to 1 ..theres better craic in the ground and great craic in the pub later that evening.
    bring on the culchies... Hill 16 is dublin ..and Louth..and letrim...and Mayo..only

having said that...the amount of fecking corporate tickets for the semis and finals make me sick.. I have Final tickets, they are printed and all but there for premium... bah, I dont like my gaelic football from there, you tend to here things like "well at lease it will be good when the rugger comes here...but I dont like the area..bit skangery"..and yes I heard that exact thing

Alany wrote:
    well at lease it will be good when the rugger comes here...but I dont like the area..bit skangery"..and yes I heard that exact thing

Don't mind people like that. You will be there for the football. The views are good from the premium level. I've been there a few times, but never in the corporate boxes. Being in Croke Park on an All-Ireland Final day is special, wherever you are! Most people in the premium level do have an interest in the game.

monosharp wrote:
    If Mayo wins it it will be all over the local papers/radio for a good while. It won't be all over RTE and national newspapers for the next 6 months.

So if Dublin win it the national papers will be talking about for 6 months? Don't think so. Every GAA report I've read in the Times has been fairly cool about Dublin, repetition of the "done well so far but haven't been tested" line.

As to the tabloids, if you read those comic books, you have no right to complain about the standard of your reading material. As somebody posted earlier, they're not even good for toilet paper, being full of sh!t already :D

Come on you Dubs! Lets put the bandwagons in a ring :D

monosharp wrote:
    Yes. The difference been that the Western mail and "the like" don't go foretelling Mayos (Insert any county here) invincible stride to the final before they've played a match in 3-4 pages on a paper while reviews/previews of actual matches get much less then the current status of the pre-season dublin team.

If Mayo wins it it will be all over the local papers/radio for a good while. It won't be all over RTE and national newspapers for the next 6 months. There won't be 1/10 of the fuss made nationaly about it.
    Total and utter crap. Nonsense.

If Mayo beat Dublin and Kerry to win an All Ireland, there would be just as much coverage about it in the Times, Examiner, Indo and RTE as Dublin would get.

Did Dublin get more coverage for winning in 1995, than say Donegal got in 92 or Derry in 93? NO.

Change the record monosharp, the one you've got on is spewing nothing but drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Please, Mods, just lock this now, it's turning into a feckin joke.

I'm a Mayo fan and while I've no great love for the Dubs, if I had to pick teams in order of which I did not like them, they would not even be in the top 10. In the exceptionally unlikely event that Mayo do lose on Sunday, I will be shouting for the Dubs. It's unlikely tha I will have to all the same.:)

There are more Dublin fans than there are of any other county, by virtue of population - that's a fact.
    The Dublin Football team is probably one team that is supported more than any other in any sport, with perhaps the exception of Glasgow Celtic (who Hibs might well get a result against this weekend;) ).
    Dublin do not deserve to have any more tickets than anyone else when they play in Croke Park. They should have only the same amount as their opponents, and similarly down the line (of the available tickets) for anyone else playing in other games (minor etc) on the same day.

The GAA will have to on certain occasions play a number of games to complete the fixtures. There is no reason why Dublin should have standalone fixtures, as the "Residents" around Croke park will bitch and moan if there are too many fixtures.

The other teams in other championships deserve their day in Croker too. That is afterall why it was designed, and no matter what the game, if the players are willing to put in their time and effort, they should be rewarded by getting to play in Croker - they above all others deserve this above any fans, no matter how many games the fans who aren't fortunate enough to get a ticket for the final have been to over the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

I've got no problem in the world with the Dubs. Infact if it weren't Mayo who were playing Sunday I'd support them.

My problem with the fans are, they seem to think the GAA owes them something for filling Croke Park in the early rounds. It's as if they are saying "We filled this place when Wexford came and this is how the GAA repays us".

We're all in the same boat lads. Tickets are nigh on impossible to come by early on in the week but when they are finally distributed, those close to the game are normally sorted out.

Tickets are easily gotten in Leitrim.Was offered about six two days ago.

Indeed Leitrim got too many. Louth too. I know a Louth lad who has been to one championship game this year (v Meath). He asked for 6 tickets from his club for this match, and got 6 tickets. Its amazing the sudden interest in the Tommy Murphy Cup.

Any tickets that touts have today won't have come from Dublin or Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I got my tickets for today but I felt really bad asking as the person I know has been swarmed to get them.Its annoying to hear Leitrim and Louth fans touting tickets and getting them so easily when other unfortunate people would kill for them.

What a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

I think about half the posters on this forum are Dublin fans, and I also think allot of them are getting just a pissed off as me. I have read in the last week that Dublin fans are Scrumpy Jack dring scumbags, that they are not real GAA fans because they are also interested in the premiership (by the way, how many posters here also post on the soccer forum?) amongst other things.

I think you should read the thread again. I haven't seen that.

The OP and lots of other Dubs are complaining about ticket allocation. Saying that ye should have Croke Park to yerselves. Which I personally think is ridicolous.
    I think it's fair comment for people to state that :

Most club people and those involved in the GAA eventually get sorted for tickets. And that many Dubs supporters problem is that they are not involved in the GAA

And finally the Dubs will boo every free-kick Mayo take today. I have never seen other support doing this en-masse in any other county. I hate it . I think its wrong and should have no part of GAA culture where amateur players are performing for their love of the game.

Dubs a little sensitive me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Locked as game is over.