Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crap cars top 10;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,668 ✭✭✭maidhc

netwhizkid wrote:
    5) Fiat Punto, I have seen better gear changes in my fathers 50 year old Vintage Massey Ferguson 35 tractor.

The Ferguson 35 has a fine gearbox!

Your post sums up what is wrong with this entire thread. Your post justifying your hatred of Micras is stupid. A person having a small problem starting an 8 yr old car? Wow, they must be bad!

Just because you don't like Micras does not mean they are "crap". I don't like the whole noddy car thing myself, but they are a very simple and very reliable car that provide transport for thousands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Fey! wrote:
    A few people have added the Kia Sedona - we've had one for 4 years now (the combi version) and have had no major problems. It's the 2.9TD manual (ES?), is relatively economical, comfortable to drive, and well specced. Why are people putting them in their "worst" lists?

I test drove the Combi version, with the intention of possibly buying it because it was a nice package, leather and all, nice big boot.

I'm six foot one and the electric seat did not allow me to find a comfortable and safe driving position. I was sitting about as comfortably as the organ grinder's monkey. The steering is soggy and unresponsive at first and then turns in far too hard and the supension is all over the place, the wheels hobble one way while the massive body wallows another

CRAP

I found one today that's even worse though:

Landrover Freelander TD4
    The engine has now low grunt whatsoever ...you want to open the door and push with your foot, it's so bad.
    The suspension is rock hard yet soft at the same time ...you feel every bump and still the yoke wallows every which way
    And the seating position is way too high and awful ..like sitting on a barstool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭IrishRover

maidhc wrote:
    The Ferguson 35 has a fine gearbox!

Your post sums up what is wrong with this entire thread. Your post justifying your hatred of Micras is stupid. A person having a small problem starting an 8 yr old car? Wow, they must be bad!
    No I think he's talking about using the gearbox, not moving off. It was quite a long time for me between driving a Fiat Ritmo and a Punto, but as soon as I used the gearbox in the Punto that familiar old "stirring a pudding bowl" sensation came back when changing gears.

As for Micras I think they do what they're supposed to do just fine and very reliably and probably comfortably too for a small car. However, I don't like them myself because I think they look gay and I couldn't drive one myself because I would be afraid people would assume I was a raging homosexual. That's just me showing my homophobia though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭BrianD3

maidhc wrote:
    I agree - and this thread sums up what is wrong with the boards.ie Motors forum recently. There's an awful lot of rubbish being posted and the signal to noise ratio here now is crap. I've been posting here for almost 4 years and it's worse now than ever. TBH reading this forum is like sitting in a taxi and listening to some eejit of a driver talking ***** about something he knows nothing about

It's clear that many posters here know **** all about cars, many posts are stupid, uninformed, unreasonable etc. There's contast exaggerated bashing of certain car makes along with constant exaggerated fanboyism when it comes to other makes. There's also very little constructive advice on offer. Eg if you ask about a problem with your Alfa or Renault and you might get one or two constructive replies, which wil be drowned out by "wouldn't touch one of them yokes with a bargepole" posts.

So basically I agree with Prospect's earlier post in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Draw up a list Brian and we'll ban the spoofers

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I don't know if banning is an option as it seems on boards.ie you can basically say whatever you like as long as you don't start personal abuse or namecalling. It is up to other users to rebut stuff that is nonsensical, silly, exaggerated or plain wrong.

However if enough sh1te gets posted in a forum the informed people get sick of posting rebuttals and just start to lose interest.

One thing I would ask for is - if someone posts a thread asking for advice because their Punto's head gasket has gone anyone that posts unconstructive stuff like "told you so" or "dem Fiats really are sh1te" should be banned for going off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Villaricos

joeblogg1 wrote:

Anything by Daewoo, Daihatsu or Suzuki (they should stick to making bikes)

ok, dont know about Daewoo & Suzuki (and unlike many here I will keep my mouth shut on what I dont know about) but Ive been driving an 02 Dahaitsu Cuore for a year now and it is far from "crap". Ok not the most exiting car to ever enter the market but it is reliable. A perfect little car and Dahaitsu are known for making reliable trustworthy cars. My mums been driving Dahaitsu's since 98 and hasnt a day of trouble with them. Would never consider them crap at all.

Cars that I have driven and consider a tad rubbish would be
    VW Polo - worst thing Ive ever had to drive, no life in it at all!
    Seat Ibiza - made by them same people and had a tad more life than the polo but still not great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

BrianD3 wrote:
    I don't know if banning is an option as it seems on boards.ie you can basically say whatever you like as long as you don't start personal abuse or namecalling. It is up to other users to rebut stuff that is nonsensical, silly, exaggerated or plain wrong.

However if enough sh1te gets posted in a forum the informed people get sick of posting rebuttals and just start to lose interest.

One thing I would ask for is - if someone posts a thread asking for advice because their Punto's head gasket has gone anyone that posts unconstructive stuff like "told you so" or "dem Fiats really are sh1te" should be banned for going off topic.

Yes BrianD3 ban em all! :D

Lots of uninformed opinion on the web, the boards is no exception, and motors seems particularly badly afflicted. The media is partly to blame with poor motoring programs and publications. The majority of both are more like UK tabloids than anything else. Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

1. Fiat Farino. (you thought a ritmo could rust!!!!)
    2. Fiat Ritmo
    3. Rover Metro.
    4. Rover Meastro.
    5. Austin Allegro.
    6. Rover 600's (again except the 618 which has a peach of a honda engine, don't know much aboutthe 620Ti)
    7. Fiat Punto/Brava/Bravo.
    8. Lada Riva
    9. Volvo 460
    10. Ford Orion Diesel

Based on reliability, build quality and I guess for the top 5 inability to galvanise them ;) )

I think a problem that effects some of these cars is they need TLC and often people won't give them that leading to problems. Poor dealers like fiat and rover don't help either. Good servicing and a caring owner makes a bit difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

ninja900 wrote:
    My dad owned a 1969 Austin 1100 (what a fantastic looking car, the only thing that ever went wrong on it was the Lucas fuel pump) and replaced that with a 1981 Austin Metro, which I later learned to drive in. So I feel obliged to leap to its defence!

<snipped for brevity>

Excellent post ninja. I agree with your sentiments in their entirety, factual and with a healthy dose of cop on.

For those who differ, Keith Adam's site www.austin-rover.co.uk gives an excellent unbiased view of events surrounding the company, a great achievement given the unashamedly biased opinions of the site owner.

Oh and BrianD3? Yes there may be a smattering of ill informed posters around these here parts, but your retort smacks just a little of elitism, just a tad you understand...

Should we all present our credentials here, on what is essentially a discussion (hence opinion) forum? The plonkers will get shot down soon enough by those who know better. This is a free flowing forum, thanks to excellent moderation for the most part. Let it flow, and if anything is so objectionable to you, jump in and have your say.

It's quite easy really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭IrishRover

evilhomer wrote:
    1. Fiat Farino. (you thought a ritmo could rust!!!!)
    2. Fiat Ritmo
    3. Rover Metro.
    4. Rover Meastro.
    5. Austin Allegro.
    6. Rover 600's (again except the 618 which has a peach of a honda engine, don't know much aboutthe 620Ti)
    7. Fiat Punto/Brava/Bravo.
    8. Lada Riva
    9. Volvo 460
    10. Ford Orion Diesel

Based on reliability, build quality and I guess for the top 5 inability to galvanise them ;) )

Loads of people seem to spell Maestro wrong in that same way. It and the Montego were badged as Rovers towards the very end of their run when the Austin name was dropped but it just doesn't sound right.

Again, re the Rover 618 having a peach of an engine out of the Rover 600s, what was wrong with the Honda engines in the 620 and 623 then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,668 ✭✭✭maidhc

evilhomer wrote:
    10. Ford Orion Diesel

The New S-Max 1.8 TDCi and forthoming Mondeo use practically the same block!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

peasant wrote:
    I test drove the Combi version, with the intention of possibly buying it because it was a nice package, leather and all, nice big boot.

I'm six foot one and the electric seat did not allow me to find a comfortable and safe driving position. I was sitting about as comfortably as the organ grinder's monkey. The steering is soggy and unresponsive at first and then turns in far too hard and the supension is all over the place, the wheels hobble one way while the massive body wallows another

CRAP

Oddly enough, I'm 6'5" and 19 stone, my dad is 6'3 and 16 stone, and one of its other drivers is 6'4 and 21 stone, and none of us have a problem with the seating position!!!

BTW, the one we have is a cloth interior with manual seats. The only problem is the lack of legroom in the back of the combi, which isn't a problem in the regular 7 seater.

As for steering and suspension, again I haven't found it all that bad. I find that it handles well both empty and loaded. Certainly no worse than many MPVs/vans I've driven which cost more from more "upmarket" brands. The only thing I really don't like is the ncap 2 star rating it got.

What exactly have you compared it to, and what did you buy instead? Also, what was the price difference?

Not every ones the same shape. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Fey

I didn't pitch it against anything in particular, I was just looking at it as it was a very nice package in commercial form ...I just didn't like the way it drove and handled ...not at all ...

but hey ...who am I to judge ...I drive a Jimny :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

peasant wrote:
    Fey

I didn't pitch it against anything in particular, I was just looking at it as it was a very nice package in commercial form ...I just didn't like the way it drove and handled ...not at all ...

but hey ...who am I to judge ...I drive a Jimny :D:D:D

Different strokes et al....

As for the Jimny - did you not need a pair of them to use as rollerskates! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,468 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Hyundai Getz 1.1 Sport CDXi.
    Fiat Scudo 1.9D van
    2005 Mazda 2.5 Diesel twin cab pick-up.
    1996 Opel Omega 2.5 Diesel

colm_mcm wrote:
    1996 Opel Omega 2.5 Diesel

Is that not the one with the BMW diesel?

just quoting Junkyard's stock list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Blue850

From personal experience, having worked in a few garages and in no particular order

1) Fiat Bravo
    2) Fiat Punto 2000 on model, worked in a Fiat dealership when they were launched , appalling build quality compared to the first model.
    3) Alfa 156 beautiful looking car but plagued with stupid problems
    4) 90's Orion/Escort 1.8 diesel, every time you started it you had to wonder would it break the timing belt
    5) Mondeo MK2, first mondeo was an inoffensive looking car but the facelift model is the worst looking car ever
    6) Kadett E an evil handling bowl of jelly
    7) Citreon AX 1.4 diesel
    8) Fiat Regatta remember them? no? thats because they all rusted away by 1989

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

Ah yes, the Fiat Regretta. my mechanic had one. It even broke his heart.

The Kadett E was a decent enough yoke. I had one, and it was very solid on the road, and pretty reliable.

We had a man come into the garage with a Regatta that was wearing front tyres on the inside edges, car was so rusty the front chassis legs had detached from crossmember and were spreading outwards

Just thought of two more
    Corsa 1 litre 3 cylinder, gutless, engine management light forever on, one example I had experience off wouldn't start for 15-20 minutes after you turned it off.

Nissan Almera 1.5, 2 mechanics told me in the last week about stretched timing chains on these, engine management light stays on and they're difficult to change.

Blue850 wrote:
    Just thought of two more
    Corsa 1 litre 3 cylinder, gutless, engine management light forever on, one example I had experience off wouldn't start for 15-20 minutes after you turned it off.

Nissan Almera 1.5, 2 mechanics told me in the last week about stretched timing chains on these, engine management light stays on and they're difficult to change.

So you're listing cars that can have particular problems..... any car can have issues. Crap cars would have to go well beyond that.

Any car can have a problem but the cars I've listed are in my opinion crap because of design flaws/poor engineering , not because of one specific problem car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

Blue850 wrote:
    Any car can have a problem but the cars I've listed are in my opinion crap because of design flaws/poor engineering , not because of one specific problem car.

I think thats a good and useful distinction to make.

Yeah but the timing belt issue on the Almera isn't what makes it a crap car. There are far more reasons than that!
    Also, the reason the engine management light won't switch off on them is that the camshaft position sensor is showing that the belt is stretched, it will stop coming on when a new belt is fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

1. Trabant ( remember the entire East german family kileed in a fender bender with an A8)
    2. Lada Riva (weed bed by any other name)
    3. 80s Mitsubishi Colt
    4. Late 80s Escort
    5. Fiat ****tysmallerpunto (seicento)
    6. Austin Montego
    7. Honda Logo
    8. Kia Pride
    9. Huyndai Pony
    10. Ford Fiesta 70s

Only 1 + 2 are in any particular order the rest I just couldn't decide