Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are these illegal??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Can you even get them here? Have to be carefull you dont start fires with tracer.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 garmac

Dunno bout over here but I could import them. The company I work for does a lot of Haz-Mat surface shipments between Ireland/UK and the USA.
    If they could start fires what 'bout these- Mental!!:
    http://www.firequest.com/catalog/flamethrowermoreinfo.html
    The pepper spray or extra loud blank rounds could be handy too.
    Might stop someone being the next Mr Lally, if they were available here.
    And before anyone starts I neither condone nor condemn what he did, its not for me to say either way.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Pepper spray rounds would definitely be illegal, as they'd be classed as "prohibited weapons" under both the old and new Firearms Act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

Ah!Somone else has discoverd Firequest!:D :D .
    To answer you about legality/illegality.As it stands at the moment.No there is ASFIK any type of prohibited shotgun /rifle ammo mentioned in the statue books or firearms laws.This COULD change under the new law as certain types of firearms can be restricted[not banned,butas we all know a restriction can be a defacto ban here:rolleyes: ].So the powers that be could "restrict" certain types of ammo.I mean,I could imagine DOJ eyes going to heaven and alarm bells being rung if they got in a import request for 1000 Dragon rounds and a few hundred 12 GA AP/tracer.:D

Next problem is;will Uncle Sam let it out of CONUS????Despite having a hazmat clearence,you might find that BATF or State dept classifies this amo as war munition or riot control equipment[dont laugh,thank mr Klintoon and the UN for this legislation]. Plus if firequest will sell it,I assume it will be a huge amount to justify costs??Considering I was quoted $200 USD to ship a $30 can of parkerising fluid from Brownells,because of Hazmat restrictions,what will the costs be for 2000 rnds of various types of ammo?

INMHO,some of that stuff could be put together cheaper by somone who is competant in reloading and has an average brain knows a little about chemistry and isnt a total slob,with acess to some chemicals that are legally available.There are plenty of instruction manuals out there that describe making this stuff.Firequest just does in commerically,and has a better product.

Hmm,the thought that there is rubber buckshot or a solid rubber ball,or bolas ammo,and this stuff has been on the market for years now.One wonders how different the Nally or Abbylara affairs might have ended if Nally or the ERU had had this non leathl[relatively speaking] ammo to hand????
    But thanks to various do gooder groups who bawl at the thought of anyone having anything more leathl than a feather duster,this no doubt would have been classed as "rubber bullets" and with the NI memories of it ensued it's immediate ban from public sight.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Fiocchi make an anti-crime shotshell and have done for years.
    From memory it has 9mm rubber balls inside.
    made in Italy so it may be possible to obtain here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭hillybilly

What do you want to import them for ? Are the foxes starting riots in your back garden ?

Ah!Somone else has discoverd Firequest!:D :D .
    To answer you about legality/illegality.As it stands at the moment.No there is ASFIK any type of prohibited shotgun /rifle ammo mentioned in the statue books or firearms laws.

Yes there is. From the Firequest website, about the "flamethrower" and "pepper blast" shotgun ammunition:
    12 GA. Flame Thower
    The 12 Ga. "Flame Thrower" round as pictured produces an enormous wall of fire for 250+ feet. The incendiary metal compound contained inside burns when fired at over 4000 degrees fahrenheit, showering your target in a momentary wall of flame. WARNING! Extreme fire hazard. Do not shoot in any dry grass foliage, trees, or near flammable materials. Don’t shoot indoors. Use extreme caution. 23/4 round (Can’t be shipped to California, Florida, Iowa, or New York City addresses.) NOTE: This round is considered to contain hazardous material (HAZMAT) requiring special shipping and handling charge. Please click here for more details.
    12 GA. "Pepper Blast"
    A shot that will bring tears to your eyes. This 12 gauge shell will spread a blast of cayenne pepper directly from the barrel of your gun, disabling your target and allowing you to get away or take control of the situation. A blinding blast of Cayenne pepper can make that unwanted pest think twice. 1.75" round. 3 units per package.

Both of these are classed as prohibited weapons under section one of both the Firearms Act 2006:
    “prohibited weapon” means and includes any weapon of whatever description designed for the discharge of any noxious liquid, noxious gas or other noxious thing, and also any ammunition (whether for any such weapon or any other weapon) which contains or is designed or adapted to contain any noxious liquid, noxious gas or other noxious thing;

and the Firearms Acts 1925-1990:
    the expression "prohibited weapon" means and includes any weapon of whatever description designed for the discharge of any noxious liquid, noxious gas, or other noxious thing, and also any ammunition (whether for any such weapon as aforesaid or for any other weapon) which contains or is designed or adapted to contain any noxious liquid, noxious gas, or other noxious thing;

That's why pepper spray and mace aren't legal in this country. Buy either of those products or things like them, and you could end up in serious hot water.

Looks like it's back to rock salt:)
    The only one I would have been seriously interested in was the tracer round.
    I know some of these other rounds cannot be fired from a standard shotgun due to majorly increased chamber pressures.
    Fugly as it is I like my face in it's present state/ location :D
    ........And i can't afford to replace my Browning.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

I know it used to be possible to get tracer rounds here - they were in a couple of gunshops near me. This was a few years ago mind you.
    I thought about getting them but the price tag put me off - afaicr they were about 3 times the price.

Sparks wrote:
    Yes there is. From the Firequest website, about the "flamethrower" and "pepper blast" shotgun ammunition:

Both of these are classed as prohibited weapons under section one of both the Firearms Act 2006:

and the Firearms Acts 1925-1990:

That's why pepper spray and mace aren't legal in this country. Buy either of those products or things like them, and you could end up in serious hot water.

Yup you are right there Sparks,forgot about that bit.:o :o:o
    Funny though,Cayanne pepper is the main ingredient in Tabasco sauce,and it is super refined cayanne pepper oil that is used in pepper spray defence products.So is Tabasco sauce now illegal under the Firearms act??:eek: :D

So is Tabasco sauce now illegal under the Firearms act?
    If you have some way of spraying it out of a barrel, or squirted it at someone's eyes, then technically yes.
    A minor point by the way - pepper spray doesn't use cayanne peppers or any other kind of peppers for that matter. It uses pure capsascin, the compound in peppers that actually causes the burning sensation, and they produce it chemically as far as I know, rather than harvesting it from chillis.

Jaysus lads we might be on to something here. Rocksalt in the top barrel and pepper rounds in the bottom. Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
    Pre-seasoned game, now thats handy. :D:D

Back to reality and I might not be shooting at too many clays soon either.
    Went to the local station to ask about increasing the number of rounds I'm licensed to have yesterday(100 at the mo.) as I predominantly shoot at clays and 100 is sod all. What I was told was "hmmm, we dont like doing that sort of thing. Give me your number and we'll get back to you". For F's sake! Aw dammit there goes my plan for a socialist revolution!

If you mostly shoot at clays and are a member of the ICPSA garmac, you might ask them to write a letter of reference for the local garda confirming that 100 rounds is rather small for clay pigeon shooting purposes. Or you could ask your local club. Or both...

Thanks. That will be next on the agenda I'd say. Realistically 100 rounds for clay shooting is quite a small ammount, isn't it??

I think so, but it's not something I'd have a huge amount of experience in garmac. Maybe one of the other posters who shoots clays can answer?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

I dont think its much of a problem tbh i dont want to be encouraging this sort of thing ( ;) ) but people regularly buy in bulk(1000's) with only 100 on there licence

but people regularly buy in bulk(1000's) with only 100 on there licence
    With my feckin luck..............:)
    I know but I'd rather just keep everything square.

A minor point by the way - pepper spray doesn't use cayanne peppers or any other kind of peppers for that matter. It uses pure capsascin, the compound in peppers that actually causes the burning sensation, and they produce it chemically as far as I know, rather than harvesting it from chillis

Nope,it is made out of the capsascin oil of chilli peppers.Last time I was taken for a tour of one of the companies that produced it,it was anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭de_shadow

garmac wrote:
    Jaysus lads we might be on to something here. Rocksalt in the top barrel and pepper rounds in the bottom. Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
    Pre-seasoned game, now thats handy. :D:D

Back to reality and I might not be shooting at too many clays soon either.
    Went to the local station to ask about increasing the number of rounds I'm licensed to have yesterday(100 at the mo.) as I predominantly shoot at clays and 100 is sod all. What I was told was "hmmm, we dont like doing that sort of thing. Give me your number and we'll get back to you". For F's sake! Aw dammit there goes my plan for a socialist revolution!

Ask your F.A.O for a Europass they're free asik and automatically allows you 500 rounds of ammunition plenty of people i've spoken to who've had similar experience with the Gards have gone this route.;)