Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

people search

• 19-08-2006 8:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

What is the best way to look for a long lost friend in Dublin?
    i dun think tht person has my space.......
    its seems hopeless.........
    any good ideas? please help..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭JaysusMacfeck

bebo.com has lots of dumb micks on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Dunno why bebo doesnt let you search for users by name. Instead stalkerage involves trawling through the friends lists of people you are linked to who might know the person you are looking for. Try typing "bebo.com" followed by the persons real name into Google. Only some Bebo pages are google linked, mine isnt for some reason (i looked in the history, my mam was trying to find mine. Ffs im 19! Anyway, the page can contain references to alcohol and drug use, she can feck off)

Bebo doesnt show up on your history, which is quite annoying when tryna find a page you were lookin at previous.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

www.bebo.com would be a good place to look. not sure about myspace but i probably wouldnt lose a friend

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Bebo doesnt show up on your history, which is quite annoying when tryna find a page you were lookin at previous.
    Yes it does.

Not on mine it doesnt. Entering the word bebo in the search merely brings up related links, not anything from the site itself.

Mind you, Im still on Windows 98 and using whatever browser * was on PCs back in the year 2000, my mams not really huge into upgrading and tbh I cant be arsed seeing as it still works relatively alright. But no, it doesnt show up in my history.

*: I make no bones about it, I know nothing about PCs except how to use one. If i was buying one im the type that would tell the salesman to shut up with his 56 gigabytes per minute bollix and cut to the chase

"so how long would it take your average porno to download on this yoke" and so forth.

OP, try the phone book either, though these days alot of people arent listed. Dont get it at all, ffs do they think some psycho who has been watching terminator is going to go house to house gunning down everyone of a particular name?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Dont get it at all, ffs do they think some psycho who has been watching terminator is going to go house to house gunning down everyone of a particular name?
    In the Dublin directory the only Connors with an S are all guys! So maybe the paranoia is there !:p (Seriously there has to be at least 10-20 Sarah Connors in Dublin - expect all born before 1985!)

Googled for friends of mine. The only ones that show up are those with own websites or at least a web presence.

Think the best way to find someone is start with the people you know they know and see if they have a web presence...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Linky 1

Linky 2
    You're probably best staying away :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Third thread you've started in relation to finding this one guy...quite worrying tbh.

For the help you need, go to google and search "counseling".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭Alkers

You can search google for people. When you log in, up top R.H.S. of the page there is as search button, you can then either search bebo or google. You can normally find who you're looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Why don't you find someone with a slightly simular face and over time have them cut their hair like him, dress like him, you can even get them to mould a simular body shape to him and then once you have a replica you can stab him.

ALTERNATIVELY

You could get over it and seek professional help. I'm being serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭rahenyguy

try gumtree.ie they have a searching for or missed connections section

tbh ya can find anyone on bebo if theyre on it. It would actually be a fun form of gambling, challenging people to find someone within 20 minutes working off only 2 or 3 pieces of information e.g their college/old school, the name of one person they vaguely know, that kind of thing.

I hardly ever use the yoke (it badly spammed my email, and tbh i got sick of the internal messages "pass this on or yil have bad luck" type bollix) but tonight with nothing to do i decided to trawl through page after page of locals, some i know some i dont, just to see whos up on it, and I found some cracking bird Id pulled last February. She had a muslim name and looked like half Arab, I always liked to think she was some innocent little good girl who was out on her first night on the razz and I, I was the only dude she had ever scored (ah racial stereotyping, ya cant bate it) :)

Afer reading her homepage and the accompanying pictures its become apparent shes a hard drinking rave enthusiast who probably likes a mad bleedin raphid buzz. This line on her "Hate List" in particular made me laugh

HATE- sleazy blokes who r after 1 thing

Clearly her bastard detector was turned off that night. I must go post a comment (when drunk mind you, "ere, rmember me gorgjis...." ). Quite pissed off I didnt get her number, as from her profile it seems shes pretty much into my kind of thing music wise.

And shes a ride....

Yid be suprised at who knows who. People from here who know people I know in Cavan (the ancestral homeland, before they decided it was sh1te and headed for the big smoke) and your like "how the fcuk you know them?"

In my work, because its a large financial type company I can find info on pretty much anyone who deals with us, and thats A LOT of people. The OP sounds desperate, so heres a quote- 4 grand for me to acually search and see if we have his details, 10 grand to hand them over.:) *

*: if my work are reviewing my internet activity and read this, i swear that was in jest

• Registered Users Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭Alkers

Tha Gopher wrote:
    tbh ya can find anyone on bebo if theyre on it. I hardly ever use the yoke (it badly spammed my email, and tbh i got sick of the internal messages "pass this on or yil have bad luck" type bollix) but tonight with nothing to do i decided to trawl through page after page of locals, some i know some i dont, just to see whos up on it, and I found some cracking bird Id pulled last February. She had a muslim name and looked like half Arab, I always liked to think she was some innocent little good girl who was out on her first night on the razz and I, I was the only dude she had ever had.

Afer reading her homepage and the accompanying pictures its become apparent shes a hard drinking rave enthusiast who probably likes a mad bleedin raphid buzz. This line on her "Hate List" in particular made me laugh

Clearly her bastard detector was turned off that night. I must go post a comment (when drunk mind you, "ere, rmember me gorgjis...." )

In my work, because its a large financial type company I can find info on pretty much anyone who deals with us, and thats A LOT of people. The OP sounds desperate, so heres a quote- 4 grand for me to acually search and see if we have his details, 10 grand to hand them over.:) *

*: if my work are reviewing my internet activity and read this, i swear that was in jest
    rofl

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Did you not use the link to his bebo page I gave you stalker girl?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Tha Gopher wrote:
    I hardly ever use the yoke (it badly spammed my email, and tbh i got sick of the internal messages "pass this on or yil have bad luck" type bollix) but tonight with nothing to do i decided to trawl through page after page of locals, some i know some i dont, just to see whos up on it, and I found some cracking bird Id pulled last February. She had a muslim name and looked like half Arab, I always liked to think she was some innocent little good girl who was out on her first night on the razz and I, I was the only dude she had ever scored (ah racial stereotyping, ya cant bate it) :)

LOL.....you should not have opened her page,you fcuked up your little dream/fantasy.

Dub13 wrote:
    LOL.....you should not have opened her page,you fcuked up your little dream/fantasy.

Actually with her taste in rave and rap music she seems right up my street, fcuk she seems to have been at every recent gig Ive been to juding from the photo album bit :) As said, alcohol plus a keyboard will result in stupidity some night.....

Aside from that though, been doing more bored trawling and Ive found the little sister on it :eek: Bad thing is shes blocked off non friends from viewing, so unless any of yis know how to get around the blockage I cant view it. I recall her previously mentioning she had an account, but as said after signing up for Bebo initially the spam and sh1tty chain emails that people kept forwarding meant I pretty much stopped using it after a month, so i wasnt hugely interested. Its only the last fortnight ive bothered taking it up again (after a work colleague posted up some scandalous work social pictures, thankfully I was merely drunk in mine but oh god some were good :):D )

And there was me after seeing her name on her mates bebo page, ready with pen, paper and shotgun for any male names posting on hers. Ill get yis yet you bastards. *tries to think of anyone lil sis palled around with years ago who moved away, then set up bebo page pretending to be that girl and get invite*

Genius.

I feel sorry for the OP- Ive completely coincidently come across a few people I wasnt even actually searching for, shes probably spent days trawling and no luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

kiki82524 wrote:
    What is the best way to look for a long lost friend in Dublin?
    i dun think tht person has my space.......
    its seems hopeless.........

I'm almost certain that people managed to find long lost friends before Myspace and Bebo and yes (shock!) before the internet.

Is the person from Dublin originally? Chances are then that their family is still around. If you know their surname (which you should do if they are indeed a friend) and roughly where they lived then try looking them up in the phone book. (Phone Book? Go ask your parents if you don't know what it is)

Then if you find the number call the house and say "Hi. I'm an old friend of X - I'm trying to get in touch with him, I was wondering do you have his phone number or could you pass on a message to him for me?"

TA-DA!

Easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Wing Walker

kiki82524 wrote:

LEAVE THE GUY ALONE. He doesn't want to be found by you!