Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland vs Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Hasn't Carsley retired?

He temporarily said he was leaving the set up to re-establish his place in the Everton team but when he became a regular for them again he announced that he was available for selection again, I'd say it was about a year ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

It's ok everyone. I had a preminition last night that Ireland were going to win this one.:D

A very shakey one nil!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭MonkeyWrench

I hope you are right :rolleyes:

Should be interesting to see how Stauntons men perform during a real competitive game.

I reckon they might pull off a 1-1 draw with 70% of the possession going to the germans...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I think its time for Big Jack tactics again. Did I hear someone say Gary Doherty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

anyone got a link to watch the game online?
    a mate is stuck abroad and net is his only chance to watch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

micks wrote:
    anyone got a link to watch the game online?
    a mate is stuck abroad and net is his only chance to watch it

If he has nothing else sorted try http://www.rojadirecta.com/ on the day of the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

i think he might play Carr at RB and finnan RM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Would prefer Finnan at RB, he's wasted anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    If he has nothing else sorted try http://www.rojadirecta.com/ on the day of the game.
    cheers ;)

Starting XI:

Given, Carr, Dunne, O'Brien, Finnan, Kilbane, S. Reid, O'Shea, Duff, Keane, Doyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Finnan at LB then?

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Two right backs and two left wingers. At least Doyle is starting I guess...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

who are you thinking will win today?
    I hate to be a pessimist but I think that if Germany play like in the World Cup they will win this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

ye but if they play bad and we paly better, then we SHOULD win.:rolleyes:

I actually think it's a decent team. I'd rather Finnan at right back but I'd prefer to have him at left back than right mid. I also hope Kilbane won't be on the right wing, there's a few permutations with those 4. But I'm not complaining too much. McGeady could be a good impact sub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

WTF Kilbane again, seriously its time McGeady starts. Rest of the team looks good. Seriously dissapointed McGeady isnt starting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭finnpark

Given

Carr Finnan O'Brien Dunne O'Shea

S Reid Kilbane Duff

Doyle Keane

Lets hope its not a rectangular pitch :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Glad Doyle is starting. A big test for him but i believe he can come through it. Were really gona need to summon up that underdog spirit that has been a big feature of Irish teams over the years. If we can do that we have a chance. No early goals and no easy headers/tackles/passes and we have a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Kilbane and O Shea in the centre??

Surely Reid and O'Shea would be better in centre mid?

Actually I would prefer Reid and Ireland, but thats not going to happen.

Hopefully Kilbane and O'Shea don't have a bad game. If they do we will be run over.

I'm cautiously optimistic of a 1-1 draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,071 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Glad with the team except for Kilbane. Id probably have put in harte at LB and finnan at RB, just for the whole free kick thing, but no probs with the way the back is either.. which side of the centre will O Brien be on? id prefer finnan on which ever side this is as he's more solid to cover then Carr is.

Kilbane frightens me though. Against lower opposition he's grand, he battles away and runs around a lot, but against a decent midfield its so easy to pass around him and stop him getting involved at all, as we saw against France. At least hes not gonna be in the center (i assume) so he can "kilbane" it up the wing (start running right by the line, slow down for a second as though maybe hes gonna cut in, and then speed up and sprint in a stright line till he either loses control, is dispossessed or wins a free - every time!) Hopefully the germans wont have done their homework and dont realise that zinedine kilbane is the most predictable player of all time.

A lot depends on O Shea to protect the back 4. Hopefully he's up to the job. Id nearly prefer kavanagh in there as less likely to commit a crucial error, but then all the best performances ive seen of kavanaghs were for wigan, not sure how muvh he can replicate this for ireland. At least we have him on the bench in case o shea looks dodgy.

Fingers crossed McGeady gets on with a decent amount of time left anyway, he's in great form and full of confidence and this will be his first real chance to show what hes made of for ireland.

Now Everybody pray that our one great chance falls to Keane, Duff or Doyle - just not O Shea!

P.S nice to see the scots doin well, 2 nill up already.

• Registered Users Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Macker

Harte is not in the squad

So, im guessing its:

Given
    Carr -- Dunne
    O'Brien ---- Finnan
    Duff ---- O'Shea ---- Reid ---- Kilbane
    Keane
    Doyle

Duff on the RW, as he's done well there for Newcastle recently.
    I think Finnan is wasted at LB.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Despite the fact that O'Shea has been Mr Utility for the past year and a half isnt he a left back why not drop one of our two right back (Carr IMO) and have O'Shea left back, Kilbane center with Reid and McGready right mid.

tho i predict a 1-1 draw giving Ireland some optimism again as Germany in Stuttgart should be our toughest oppenents in most peoples eyes after the draw

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

I think its a good team tbh but we will have to play extremely well to even get the draw. Im cautiously optimistic but maybe, after the Dutch game ive no right to be:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Lahm will run riot down the left wing with duff and carr there. if our players play to their potential as individuals and as a team then we can get at least a draw .

If Jansen is playing, the Lahm will probably play at RB. Kilbane 'should' be able to offer Finnan some protection.

Im hoping for a particularly good performance from Keane - can't expect Duff to weave all the magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

i have to agree with another poster: drop Carr (i really don't think he offers anything - nor has he for some time) and play Finnan RB and O'Shea at LB. This may leave us a little weak in the centre of midfeild, but giving a chance to someone like Ireland may be the answer.

For me, Killbane, even over Carr, is the weakest player on the pitch, especially if he playes at right wing. I would have been happy if Stan had dropped Carr and Kilbane and played Ireland and McGready insetead. But then again, I guess he knows a thing or two about football that I don't. I hope I live to eat my words, but i think even a draw is unlikely as the Germans displayed both skill and determination at the WC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Starting XI:

Given, Carr, Dunne, O'Brien, Finnan, Kilbane, S. Reid, O'Shea, Duff, Keane, Doyle.

GK: Given
    RB: Carr
    LB: Finnan
    CB: Dunne
    CB: O'Brien
    RM: Reid
    CM: O'Shea
    CM: Kilbane
    LM: Duff
    CF: Doyle
    CF: Keane

I like stans wisdom in this one. Drop one of our most creative players. Move our best centre mid out wide and put our weakest player in centre mid (take your pick, am I talking about O'Shea or Kilbane?) and drop our set piece specialist...but Carr and Finnan in fairness is probably the safer option but also the far more conservative one...it's a toss up which you'd go for. Still though stan, you never cease to amase me....best case scenario it will be 6 years until Ireland reach a major championship, hopefully, the first one after he's fired. But with FAIlure in charge, you never know.

I havn't been this pesamistic about a Irish side ever, and I've never been so frustrated with the FAI ever (yes this tops saipan appointing Stan)

:(

Team Should be: (IMO)

GK:Given
    RB: Carr
    LB: Finnan
    CB: Dunne
    CB: O'Brien
    RW: McGeafy
    CM: Reid
    CM: Carsley/Kavanagh
    LW: Duff
    CF: Doyle
    CF: Keane

i honestly think we can win this. germany are missing a lot of defenders, new coach, we have the whole underdog thing going on.

looking forward to a great night's football.

come on you boys in green.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Ireland will stroll past these chaps no bother. 3-0 2Keane 1Duff easily, bring on the Czechs:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭finnpark

I would guess the team is:

Given

Carr
    Dunne
    O'Brien
    O'Shea

S Reid

Finnan
    Kilbane
    Duff

R Keane

Doyle

We need a few more new youngsters. I would rather he build for the future rather than go for a respectable campaign. As it is he will do neither just like the 2 useless managers before him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Duff on the right wing and Finnan at left back, Both playing out of their best position, never good at this level. Looking forward to seeing how Doyle works out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

Going for an optimistic 2-2 with Robbie Keane getting at least one stuck a tenner on this at 18/1. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

What was Stan doing during that Houghton interview? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Pigman II wrote:
    What was Stan doing during that Houghton interview? :confused:
    Listening out for some tips I reckon!!!

Ireland to steal a draw I reckon.

Come on Ireland!!!!

Germany haven't beaten Ireland since 1979.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

RE*AC*TOR wrote:

irrelevant.

COME ON IRELAND>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

RE*AC*TOR wrote:

Is that meant to be comforting?

I can see us getting destroyed here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Jesus lads have some faith

ESPN just put up the formation with Kilbane at left back!!

Tell me that's a mistake.

Edit: Phew, Finnan seems to be there.

fade2black wrote:
    irrelevant.

COME ON IRELAND>
    pfft, we'll see how irrelevant it is after they fail to beat us once more.

and by the way, NOTHING George Hamilton says is irrelevant.

good early effort Robbie Keane

C'MON!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Defence looking very shakey. Germans could have had a penalty.

Hold on a second...who am I talking to...everyone is watching this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Carr, you don't hold your hands up that bloody high when the ball is at that height! :eek:

Good effort from the boys so far.

What a save!!!

Go on GIVEN!!!!

what a mother****ing save

And again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Given is some keeper ....Think we are going to lose all the same though

What I wouldn't do for a decent midfield. It's non-existent.