Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Someone Explain Irish Women to Me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

Fair play to ye OP for taking the bull by the horns.

Now, that just leaves the rest of the bull to deal with....

Irish women are the business. If you think otherwise, I'd guess you've no personal experience on which to base your statement, or more likely you've been dumped by one in the past. Of course, you'll only have the chance to find out how wonderful they are if she actually likes you in the first place - If she doesn't, you'll get nowhere....

That said, it gives you a jump right to the point where you can be bitter about it and criticise them en masse, eh? ;)

I tip my hat to all you wonderful Irish women who frequent these boards. You're all lovely. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Unreg xcer wrote:
    So I decided to ask her out on a night out last night. She said no. As we work together, I left it at that.

She told some of the other ladies at work that I asked her out. Our mutual friend came to me an hour ago and told me "to be happy that she said no". Apparently, she does have some sort problem with my nationality....seems, I am "cute" but she has an issue with my accent(WTF?) and she feels that she would have to explain to friends and family why she is dating someone non-Irish. I laughed. :P

Gonna ask the Israeli lass that just started...she thinks I'm funny and different. :)

Yeah, it sounds like you're better off without having to live with this provincialism. If her friends and family are like that too.... it means she hangs out with small minded hicks also. You dont want to deal with that do you?

As for accents, there are plenty from both sides of the pond which are just intolerable. I couldnt deal with anyone with a Cork accent or a Long Island one for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Magic Pips

Gil_Dub wrote:
    ...If you think otherwise, I'd guess you've no personal experience on which to base your statement, or more likely you've been dumped by one in the past....

Never been dumped by an irish girl, honestly they just bore me. i think it may be just my tastes... hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

If you really like this irish girl, don't take any bull**** from her.

Try this:

Go up to her and ask her if only she lives to please her family instead of herself, how is she ever going to be happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

Magic Pips wrote:
    Never been dumped by an irish girl, honestly they just bore me. i think it may be just my tastes... hmmm

i think in your case you like the chase, the further the better :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Ha! What a bee-atch! Seriously, she sounds like a fu*king twat!! That's the "up-arseness" I was talking about earlier...she says no, but has to go and boast to her mates about how she shot you down! Social Masterbation!

Well, that'd be all folks from me if i was in your shoes. Welcome to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭small

I would whole heartedly disagree with, and be ashamed of comments pertaining that all Irish women/people tar all americans with the same brush as regards the politics angle. I have never seen any racism towards americans for this, or any other reason....even if it's for no other reason that I think Irish people have learned to be very laid back about politics.

It's a different culture here, perhaps the approach you're taking works great for american girls but just isnt sending the same messege to irish girls. Also, all the other nationalities you've met up with I presume was in Ireland...people act different when they're away from their homes and when they're in their homes....I could certainly give you a long list of americans I met when living in Chicago that would have a very different opinion of Irish Girls than you have!

And for the record, in general, I would choose a date with an american guy over an irish guy any day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

small wrote:
    even if it's for no other reason that I think Irish people have learned to be very laid back about politics.

lol

Sorry, just had to throw that in their, but yeah, I agree about acting different in other countrys etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Magic Pips

cance wrote:
    i think in your case you like the chase, the further the better :D

haha... maybe!