Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU accomodation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Darz0re

It actually isnt bad in Shanowen, nice comfy bench type thing to sit on if ya want, some grass, i've done a lot of grass lying on over the summer here :)

Dara, making up english grammer as he goes along

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Katieface

haha i just called Shanowen Hall and I got a room, and i was offered on campus too but i took Shanowen, are they as nice as the site looks?

Yeah, Shanowen Hall is nice enough, havent really heard any complaints about the place, but i'm sure simon will be back on here soon enough to give his full opinion on the place,

simon did up a opinion piece on the place some time last year
    its halfway through this post

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=51258215&postcount=2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Yup, thats pretty much my feelings on the matter. Shanowen, be it Hall or Square, is a cool place to live and far superior to campus imo. Enjoy :)

Geez Dara, you'd swear I was some kind of opinionated **** or something. :D

Simon, your so opinionated that your sig says that for good reason!!

Yup, and that smilie at the end is just for you. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Just got a letter, I'm gonna be living in Larkfield! Oh God I hope I'm not living with a weirdo!!
    Can't wait now :-D

when are all the first years moving in?

Our keys are available after noon on Sun 17th sept! Can't believe we have to bring our own pots and pans etc...!

Hey I'm just wondering are you allowed smoke in your room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭markpb

As far as I know, yes. But not in any common areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

deisedolly wrote:
    Our keys are available after noon on Sun 17th sept! Can't believe we have to bring our own pots and pans etc...!

Hey I'm just wondering are you allowed smoke in your room?
    Yes but be careful... When i was in first year and in Larkfield i was smoking in my room with 3 others and the smoke alarm in the "hall" went off because i accidently left the door open.

phreak wrote:
    Yes but be careful... When i was in first year and in Larkfield i was smoking in my room with 3 others and the smoke alarm in the "hall" went off because i accidently left the door open.

anyone one in Shanowen should be fine, even though the smoke detectors are totally over sensitive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

The only guidelines they have about smoking in the room is to make sure your room mate doesn't have any problem with it.

Its common courtesy to ask before you smoke up the room.

Though they won't let you smoke in the halls or common rooms.

thedara wrote:
    anyone one in Shanowen should be fine, even though the smoke detectors are totally over sensitive
    Yeah shanowen is fine. The main problem with Larkfield regarding smoke alarms is if you set it off it sets them off for every room in the building and the place has to be evacuated... In first year we were evacuated a couple of times a week... usually at 4am or thereabouts :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

yay i got a letter today saying i got shanowen :) such a relief to not have to go searching for somewhere to live!

now i just need to figure out how im gonna pay my rent & fees.. :(

phreak wrote:
    Yeah shanowen is fine. The main problem with Larkfield regarding smoke alarms is if you set it off it sets them off for every room in the building and the place has to be evacuated... In first year we were evacuated a couple of times a week... usually at 4am or thereabouts :(
    Unless you've trained yourself to sleep through them, a skill I'm not too sure I'm glad to have acquired. :o

Everything about the campus accomodation seems very strict and consdering the fact I'm only going to be living with 1 other person I'm worrying now whether I will have any fun at all!
    I'm looking forward to making as much friends as possible, being a complete alcoholic and just having a great craic but everyone seems to be making the place out to be quite dull and over strict!!
    Anyone have any words of comfort for a future fresher??

gizmo wrote:
    Unless you've trained yourself to sleep through them, a skill I'm not too sure I'm glad to have acquired. :o

As you know nothing wakes me up usually... but when that fecking alarm was going on for 15 mins straight it usually woke me
    deisedolly wrote:

if the common rooms are open they're great fun. I know the year after i moved out they had them locked most of the year. Dunno if they've changed that or not

youll be fine, youll have much more freedom that you do at home and you have someone just to make sure your newfound drug habit doesnt get totally out of hand. its just a way to keep you a little bit under control

deisedolly wrote:
    Everything about the campus accomodation seems very strict and consdering the fact I'm only going to be living with 1 other person I'm worrying now whether I will have any fun at all!
    I'm looking forward to making as much friends as possible, being a complete alcoholic and just having a great craic but everyone seems to be making the place out to be quite dull and over strict!!
    Yea, we only live across in Shanowen. ;)

Ah no, Larkfield is great craic, you'll be grand over there so don't be worrying about it too much. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Rockerette

yup got my letter today, im in Larkfield. was a bit pissed off, cos it was my last preference... theyre grand 'n all, i saw my brothers there a few years ago.. i just wanted my own bathroom cos im weird like that...
    but anyway, i cant really change it so i'll deal with it!
    i just hope im not living with a spa.. (i love that word :rolleyes: )
    and i hope they dont smoke.. oh god they better not smoke..

Rockerette wrote:
    and i hope they dont smoke.. oh god they better not smoke..

I smoke but if I ended up living with someone who couldn't stand it I'd respect that and keep my little habit for outside!

Meh, closing both doors and smoking by the open window in your room would be enough to stop your room mate from getting it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

Would Shanowen square and hall be sold out by now?

It has finally struck me that i need somewhere to live

Square maybe but you might be able to get into Hall.

Shanowen Hall and Shanowen Square, go go go! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Rockerette

deisedolly wrote:
    I smoke but if I ended up living with someone who couldn't stand it I'd respect that and keep my little habit for outside!

thats fair enough, but not everyone might be that considerate!
    but as someone said, by a window would be grand like, at least youre makin the effort.

i just hate smoking.. one of my little irrational dislikes..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Finch*

i hate smoking too and i've actually asked to be roomed with one of my friends who's a smoker, but she says you're not allowed smoke in the shanowen apartments, and that she'll just do it out her window?

Right. Both Shanowens are sold out.

What do i do?

Either try campus or daft.ie. where do you live?? i bused it from Clondalkin for the first year, wasnt that bad. if you live in Dublin you have loads of time to find somewhere to live. If your from the country i'll recomend daft to find a house to live in

I live in Blackrock. I just fear the commute...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

I got offered a place relatively late and as such have missed out on all the campus accomodation (on a waiting list but that's pretty much pointless):rolleyes: Hopefully I can get a place soon. Don't fancy commuting from Carlow every day!! :p But it is only for one year. Hmmmmmmmmm.

is there a certain date for moving into shanowen or is it just the date you choose on the application? because I am in DCU all next week (on campus) but I haven't gotten my letter from Shanown yet which will give me less than a week to get ready to move up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Finch*

i put down the 16th Sept as my date for move in, i think that's when most people are.

i sent back the contracts and a cheque for the 1st semester but they haven't gotten back to me since, my parents refused to sign the contract because i'm 19 and apparently they shouldn't have to as i'm an "adult"

Finch* wrote:

i sent back the contracts and a cheque for the 1st semester

can you not do a pay at the start of every month thing? like the €440 on the first of the month? or does it have to be in two large payments

two large payments...

On the letter it says "Unfortunately we are unable to facilitate monthly payments"

omg that sucks so much, gah that ruins everything
    how much is the first payment for Hall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

Question about Shanowen Square:
    Are all the rooms set up for internet access? I said on my application form that I wanted it, but im just reading on their website about summer tenants & it says

"There are a limited amount of modems available for internet access, a deposit of €100 is required for their use"

I know its not the same as during the year but still sounded a bit weird. So do only some people get internet? As pathetic as it is, Id be totally lost without it!!

Payment for Hall is the same as Square unfortunately.

As for the internet thing, well that seens to only apply as of this year. I'm not sure about their exact reasons but perhaps a lot of modems went missing after last years tenants moved out? As for the limited part, well that I would guess is rubbish so don't be worrying about it. After all, part of the €13 per month for utilities goes towards the net connection fees. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I've been in Shanowen Hall for the summer. It's a nice place all right, but my God! I pity people who need a night's sleep and are located at the front of the building. It's like a ****ing zoo at night! Very, very unfair. I was in a room at the front of the apartment and was coming into work (Intra) every day like a zombie. Thankfully a guy in one of the rooms at the back moved out so I was able to take his room for the rest of the summer, but I wish people would just bear in mind that there are people who have to get up early.

I'm in the square, right beside the halls front gate, people at night dont really bother me...

its that bin truck in the mornins that does my head in!!

hahaha heyhey
    I am writing to you all from the beautiful school of computing in DCU
    major scandal....a bunch of first years have been ****ed over by the college about accomodation. they were told they had it over the phone only for them to not get their letters and then be told it was a mistake and they don't have on campus so anyone with info regarding rooms available in the area please share
    in other news i finally saw Shanowen Hall, it looks like it rocks hahaha YAY college!!!!

you so crazy :)

hahaha you love it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Ah Campus Res. screwing people over again?

Nothing really new ;)

Gotta love Campus Res for ****ing people over. :rolleyes:

Anyway, tell them to check out the notice board in The Hub. Last time I was there there were loads of people looking for room mates so they might have some luck there.

Other than that I can voucher for Daras couch being really comfortable...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

No, no ... thats wrong.

*I* can vouch for Dara's couch being lovely. You slept in his bed you saucy minx.

Hrm, which reply to give, well I could say either...

a) Yes I was in his bed, thats becuase he was off with you on the couch.

b) Thats a lie, YOU were the one in his bed.

OR

c) I could just post THAT video of you in Fibbers and discredit anything you might say.

oh DECISIONS! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

thedara wrote:
    its that bin truck in the mornins that does my head in!!

Some dumb-ass was wheeling bins around at 1am on Monday ****ing night! I'm just afraid of being kept awake all night, then sleeping in. Not a good thing to do when you're on Intra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robnubis

hey whats the story with shanowen square at the moment, i know its a bit late to be applying, but didnt have a job secured until recently for after summer, got the money together now, is there still places left?

i'm gonna go ahead and apply now anyway, see what happens.:o

when is everyone moving into Shanowen?
    I am on sunday