Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Am i a Last resort?

• 28-08-2006 1:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

a few months ago i met someone and we hit it off really well. i then made the mistake of askin her out the very next day. we still had good fun and stuff but when i asked her out again, she said she would rather be friends.

now recently she just asked me to her debs with a weeks notice. ???

i remember wen i met her the second time i said something about the debs being full of assholes i hated all thru school, idiots who got thrown out of my school and the people who you really want to see that are preoccupied with showing off to their date.

do u think the reason she told me she would rather be friends is because she wanted to try and find someone she knew would want to go with her?
    do u think i should go and expect more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

She likes you enough to have asked you to go to her Debs with her, albeit perhaps as a friend. Why don't you go with her, see how you get on and just take it from there. I wouldn't analyse it too much if I were you.

If she's left it this late, she's just looking for someone who will be able to escort her, nothing serious.

if i was in your shoes, i'd definitely go along, show her a great night, maybe she'll see the light!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Nickibaby*

I'd say go along you might as well. Maybe she still wants yous to be just friends but it could be a good night. And if you are her friend you should be her date/escort for the evening and get her out of a pickle of trying to find someone at the last minute!

You never know sparks might fly on the night between yous :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kell

do u think i should go and expect more?

No- and yes you are a last resort.

Dont worry about the if's ands and maybe's. Ruminating gets you no-where. Fact is, ye get along so thats why she invited you.

K-

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,272 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

With a week to go, you're a last resort, but don't let that put you off. Make sure she has a great night - often things happen when people least expect them.

And if nothing happens, well have a great night anyway, with a mate.

Boyfriends and girlfriends come and go - mates stick around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Don't you think its great that you two are still good friends? Not many people can say that especially how awkward it is when friendship turns into a relationship (or didn't in this case). Go along with it and have fun with your friend, treat her like a lady and see what happens after. Have a good time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Yep, you're a last resort. Seems shes panicking that she has noone else to go with her considering shes left it so late. She needs someone badly to avoid being humiliated and perhaps not being able to go to her own debs, so she asked you.
    If you're happy knowing that, then go. Personally, I wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I'd still go. Who knows? If shes drunk even enough you might get a ride out of it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,356 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Debs escort? Got better plans? If not, why not? Who knows, you might have fun. Her motives? We can only guess. We do not know her. Maybe she will think more of you after, then again, maybe not? What's to lose? Life is short. Whatever you do, have fun!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

I believe you're overthinking this. You can invent many a logical and plausible reason why she seemed to change her mind. In all likelyhood whatever you think will not be correct.

Are you paying for your part of the ticket? If so then tell her to go stuff herself. If not then go definitely. Go with the flow, if it happens with her then it happens, if not then screw it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

If you're going to go, make sure she pays for your tux rental. If she refuses turn up in a tracksuit.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I'd still go. Who knows? If shes drunk even enough you might get a ride out of it.

Chucky
    You are here long enough to know that unhelpful comments get you banned in this forum.
    Consider this your warning.
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I think she's just asking you as a friend because she couldn't get a date. There is a chance something could come out of this, but I'd say she isn't looking for anything to happen and just needs an escort

Look, just go to the debs and have fun, Something could happen, but don't worry if nothing does. just make sure you and her both have great nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I agree entirely with Miss Fluff.
    Be a gentleman and go, have a good
    night out and see how it goes. No
    huge expectations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭This is

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

This is wrote:
    LOL

Don't feed the troll.
    OP, make sure you have a good night out regardless of whatever reason she asked you. Enjoy yourself as it possibly could be the last time to see some of your school friends. Good luck.