Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Make computer go faster now (805)

• 28-08-2006 2:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭

Hi
    I am totally totally new to this.. I bought a cheapish pc, but it has a Pentium D 805 dual core chip (with stock intel cooler) which is 2x2.66 and I was wondering what you guys think is safe to go up to with that cooler..

The board is ASUS P5P800-VM SKT 775 board (i865 chipset i think)
    Its got 1 gig ddr 333 ram (not great)
    I'll be putting an old fx 5900 xt into it

You think its possible to get it running at about 3.3 ghz with the stock cooler? I read that it doesnt need extra voltage at around 3.2/3.3

Will the ram and/or motherboard bottleneck it? (I know nothing about this really)

And if I was to get a cooler from komplett which is a good cheap one to get for that kind of chip?

thanks

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭SickBoy

Up the FSB to 166Mhz and run your RAM at 1:1
    This should be a nice boost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Bunny

I don't know how to do that, can the fan take it at 166?
    ram 1:1 in the what now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

If you don't know how to change your FSB then you need to do a lot more research on Overclocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Sean^DCT4

Bunny wrote:
    Hi