Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official "rant/bitch/moan" Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

what course has started already then?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

The woman found dead in Lucan this morning was a former teacher of mine.

Ed i actually found the first comment really out of line. One of the most influential teachers i ever had either commited suicide or was murdered and was dead in her house for a week before someone found her.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Ed, out of ****ing line. cop on. posts deleted.

Really sorry to hear that hils.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

maybe a little. Oopsie. I had an ex teacher get a fatal dose of the cancer and wasn't too bothered, so was assuming teachers didn't figure too highly on the old "sad when they're dead" list. Lookin at it now, I suppose it's different, especially seein as you liked her and she was actually murdered and not found for a week. Sorry about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

God damn wild kittens in the hedge in my back garden. I only caught one and it clawed the ****ing hands off me. My friend's meant to be picking them up tomorrow, and eh, they're completely wild, and in my hedge, where I can't get them. ****.

Dear Exams/Science Faculty offices,

GIVE

ME

MY

****ING

RESULTS

YOU

PACK

OF

TWATWAFFLES,

BEFORE

I

STAB

YOUR

EYES

OUT

WITH

SEA

URCHINS.

That is all.

Sorry to add to your misery, but the results for Engineering were up today. around 90% passed from the look of things.

Still homeless. Need house by tuesday. Show up to view house, shake hands with potential housemate, look at house, offer deposit "hmmm, well I've arranged to talk to some more people this evening", see woman entering house to view after I leave. Shit. Yet another reason to embrace mysoginy.grrrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭sully-gormo

Having to get up at 5.30 in order to make first train at c. 6.17 in order to get to trinity for 7 in order to get locker. What a pain in the arsé. I first said: " 7, no bother"; now ive actually realised what a pain it is. End of Moan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭WunderFull

Grrr Goddamn repeats. All my friends are gone on ahead. It's like starting college all over again. Bo-rse. (It's a cross between b*llox and arse).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 misefreisin

i have been turfed out of my degree. apparently you need a 35% average in repeats to be allowed repeat the year. that is two years of my life i am never getting back. pissed off? MUCH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭The_Radiator

What course and year are you going into? Is it your second time repeating Misefresin?

It is now October, which means that college is starting soon, which also means that study is starting soon. Bah.

i have been turfed out of my degree. apparently you need a 35% average in repeats to be allowed repeat the year. that is two years of my life i am never getting back. pissed off? MUCH.
    Get onto your tutor and be prepared to put on your best puppydog eyes/cry. Make it look like you want to do the course more than you want your next meal/a full house of limbs. I know some people for whom this worked.

Edit. Still homeless. Must wait till every house seeking female is accomodated before I even get a bloody chance. What people don't seem to realise is that chicks are as messy, if not moreso, than lads. Damn them all (except for recreational purposes).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Dead Ed wrote:
    Damn them all (except for recreational purposes).
    What he said.

Having to get up at 5.30 in order to make first train at c. 6.17 in order to get to trinity for 7 in order to get locker. What a pain in the arsé. I first said: " 7, no bother"; now ive actually realised what a pain it is. End of Moan

Emm lockers are given out on the ifrst monday of term, tomorrow is Freshers week, week one of term is the week after. I hope you see this in time.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Ow, hangover. And I'm up already. Ow.

To lighten things up a bit, College is back!! Woohoo!

Oh and Freshers' Week has started. Europerson and b.ie curious came out the schticks with me. I hereby bags the first October 2nd party photo.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Moan I'm up too, but only cos I have to be in work (well project work, sitting in an office reading scientific papers or in a lab fiddlin with laser and other instruments) at 9. Which is 8am GMT. Not exactly much of a time difference but it's enough to make you grumpy

• Registered Users Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I'm up three. I've got classes in TCD all day today and tomorrow. So I'll be there for fresher's week but stuck in the Hamilton building :(

I was up early too, I have loads of **** To Do today; find a stand in tutor, explain my tale of woe, get my **** from home to halls, hope to god my internet has been switched on, unpack, etc. No fun fresher's week for me. :-/

Rental industry's a sellers' market now, is it? Kill all landlords. Still homeless. Gonna get roaring drunk if not housed by this evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Troglodyte

Dead Ed wrote:
    Rental industry's a sellers' market now, is it? Kill all landlords. Still homeless. Gonna get roaring drunk if not housed by this evening.

There are still options out there that don't require living in a house / apartment. You could:

1. Buy a barge and live on the Grand Canal.

2. Buy a tent and camp out on the cricket grounds.

3. Squat in the SU place in house 6, tell them you're an anarcho-socialist living a lifestyle contrary to societal norms to fight the system, they'll probably let you stay.

4. Become a member of the travelling community

5. Live on the streets

You see, no need to panic at all :D

Troglodyte wrote:
    1. Buy a barge and live on the Grand Canal.
    I got a mate who's actually seriously talking about doing that in oxford
    2. Buy a tent and camp out on the cricket grounds.
    Might do that. Gonna plough it and sew spuds on it too, and protect the tent with landmines.
    3. Squat in the SU place in house 6, tell them you're an anarcho-socialist living a lifestyle contrary to societal norms to fight the system, they'll probably let you stay.
    I ain't no hippy. I'll shoot the ****ers and take the place over though...
    4. Become a member of the travelling community
    I hate travellers
    5. Live on the streets
    Slept rough before by accident (got coma'd up drinking) no plans to do it again any time soon.

Got the sister's couch for the week. Gotta move before the inevitible fight!

Damn freshers. Jailbait standards are down too :( !

Pet wrote:
    find a stand in tutor

If you can't get one, go to the Senior Tutor's Office here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

My timetable is meh at best. Looks like I'm going to have to quit my job - I'm in until 7pm two evenings, 6pm on Tuesday and 5pm on Monday. My shifts generally start at 6pm and it takes more than an hour and a half to get home at peak traffic times.

And after I went in to the library to see what the story was for a job they informed me today that the queue to work for them is about twelve months' long. So much for me and my six weeks.

Shit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Seriously dodgy picture, Enda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭RagShagBill

So here's the thing.

In my morning fervour, this JF forgot to recheck the list of things I had to attend. I knew Italian was on at 12pm, and I knew it was on the 5th floor of the Arts Block. However, I couldn't remember the exact room, and being - at that stage - an entirely sober JF, I was too shy to approach anyone. In brief, I missed the hour long Italian thing.

Will this prove fatal? Or is it All Good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

europerson wrote:
    Seriously dodgy picture, Enda.
    Why does it look like mr.person is crying?