Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official "rant/bitch/moan" Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Btw... Hi lurking members of academic staff!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

obl wrote: »
    Simms or something, isn't it?

Nah, Buttimore. Though now you mention it Simms set more or less the same schols papers every year, which was awesome. It did indeed change after my year as well, but that's cause the course changed to combine his two subjects into one.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Jonathan wrote: »
    According to this post it was waaay before your attempt late last year. I'm trying to find the photos of my first attempt. Approximately September 2007 I'm guessing as I lost one of my first batch that Freshers' Week.
    Baza210 wrote: »
    That is a terrible attempt, it's fat and ugly. 2x6/2x8 for the win.
    Which exam was this?!
    SF in general. Failed summer exams in 2006. Decided not to bother doing resits that summer and do the entire year over instead.
    Failed SF summer exams again in 2007, sat resits September 2007, failed again. Ah well, wasn't to be.
    Though in fairness, I should have studied.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭dabh

Well, if it were that predictable, this would surely not be necessary:

http://www.maths.tcd.ie/~cblair/224/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

dabh wrote: »

That was from after the course was changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Ciaran B

I'm sure it's been mentioned a million times but those owls at the desk in the Lecky irritate the Hell out of me. What kind of sane, adult would cover their work place in wooden owls?

Anger +15

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭rjt

dabh wrote: »

It's still remarkably predictable. The paper was today, and every question was on the list that is used by that script (which is only 25 or so questions whn you exclude the ones no longer on the course).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

ii) You are being attacked by zombies. Prove the Hamilton-Cayley Theorem

Wut.

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭ilovemybrick

Ron DMC wrote: »
    According to this post it was waaay before your attempt late last year. I'm trying to find the photos of my first attempt. Approximately September 2007 I'm guessing as I lost one of my first batch that Freshers' Week.

Ask and ye shall receive. Link
    Though in fairness, I should have studied.

Like that was EVER going to happen.

Ask and ye shall receive. Link
    Ah yes, A 5x2+1x2 and the spinny around thingy. That was a good one.

Did I make a lid for that one?
    Like that was EVER going to happen.
    Too true.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Ah yes, A 5x2+1x2 and the spinny around thingy. That was a good one.
    Did the 2x2x1 spinny around thiny retract it?

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭ilovemybrick

That would be awesome.
    Did I make a lid for that one

Yup but I promptly lost it.

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭rjt

Wut.

I'm sure antiselfdual can elaborate (he's the guy that wrote the list/script linked to).

Nope. It was to cover the join between the 2x1 and 2x4 to create the illusion of a 2x5. It also brought the height in line with the flat 5x2 that went from it to 2 beyond the tip and acted as a click for a 2x2 cap to create a long 7x2 brick with the USB completely enclosed.

Like this (in layers)
    Layer one (thin)
    oo|ooooo
    oo|ooooo

Layer 2 (normal) - actual usb container
    o|oooo oo
    o|oooo oo

And then a (thin) base of 
    ooooooo
    ooooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Ciaran B wrote: »
    I'm sure it's been mentioned a million times but those owls at the desk in the Lecky irritate the Hell out of me. What kind of sane, adult would cover their work place in wooden owls?

Anger +15
    No, surprisingly enough this has never been mentioned. I suppose that it might be just that most people aren't annoyed by owl figurines. They belong to the BESS librarian. I think she's awesome. Helped me out majorly with a project in 2nd year.

Too true.

If I said "Barwise and Cooper", you'd say...

something to do with semantics. Can't remember precisely.

Generalised Quantifier Theory. It's a load of cock in fairness. DRT ftw.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

I got my avatar back \o/

<---- Mario

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭House of Wolves

my laptop and ipod were stolen from the library :( people be aware, I just went to fill my bottle and it was gone when I came back alongside another girls laptop and bag (phone pursue etc in it)....
    really f**ked me up for tomo, and law next week too, as all my notes were on, even the hints for the exam.....:mad::(:mad::(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

I got my avatar back \o/

<---- Mario
    Wrong thread there... :P
    Did you reregister..

my laptop and ipod were stolen from the library :( people be aware, I just went to fill my bottle and it was gone when I came back alongside another girls laptop and bag (phone pursue etc in it)....
    really f**ked me up for tomo, and law next week too, as all my notes were on, even the hints for the exam.....:mad::(:mad::(

Ooooh, that sucks man, have security got any leads? Did anyone near you notice anyone suspicious?

mathew wrote: »
    Wrong thread there... :P
    Did you reregister..
    Well I was giving out about it earlier in this thread so I thought i'd update people. :P

Na, a bug apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭bright

@ House of Wolves- that absolutely sucks. Stealing a laptop is bad but during exams is horrible.

If you are in SF BESS law (LA2012) pm me your email and ill send you on my notes for that course.

Again, **** buzz. sorry for your trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭House of Wolves

yea i reported to security straight away but they didnt seem to concerned to be honest. the other girl was nearly in tears and doing her finals so she got it way worse than me, Il get over it but the finances for a new laptop and ipod are going to be extremely hard to come by :( just be on the look out and sit in more crowded places rather than the quite ones to laptop carriers!
    Also thanks bright for the offer because I am SF BESS law! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

There was a helicopter hovering over the Rathmines/Cowper area at 2 am last night. This morning at 8am, a man stood right outside my window using a chainsaw-esque hedgetrimmer for an hour and a half. Right in the middle of a student accomodation complex. I could still hear it with my earplugs in. FML.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

There was a helicopter hovering over the Rathmines/Cowper area at 2 am last night. .

Ah, I went for a walk around halls at about that time and I was wondering what that big light in the sky was. Mystery solved. :D
    I didnt hear a chopper though......

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I am trying to study in my apartment for my 9.30 exam tomorrow morning, but I can't concentrate because all I can smell is weed smoke from the apartment beneath me. I seriously feel like reporting them to college security, I have put up with it all bloody year - just because they don't have bloody exams doesn't mean they should ruin it for the rest of us, especially when they are supposed to have a special interest in education

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Kopf

1. Regarding Connors, I do not iintend to kill him on Tara, if he
    wants me to do it, if he drives me, I am no Mel Gibson, could take
    Connors a while to die , up to him.
    2. my American Pitbull off the leash on the Hill
    3. I will break Con 's jaw, tell me where he is.
    4. I will break ConJob Connerses Jaw, I have informed the Gardai that
    I will do it.
    5. You are going to be another sad report on the main evening news.
    6. ( I have a fine pair of sabres, haven't been used in a while) In
    the meantime , enjoy life, before I dispatch you.
    7. In the name of Ireland , in the Honour of Ireland, in the name of
    thhe Clanna Bui of the MacCraith of Portlairge, in the name of every
    Irish Druid who ever lived, it is my duty to despatch you, Con
    8. I shall still crack your jaw, as a coward, just in passing,
    9. look to yolur arms, because I will personally break both of them,
    so help me God :-)
    10. I am telling you, do not be on Tara while I am there, are you that
    Thick, Con ?
    11. Should any decent people you bullied in the past decide to eject
    you forcibly, Connors, we shall not lift a hand to stop them, no
    matter what they do - get the message ? Good ! Personally, I will not
    dirty my hands !!!
    12. Druids specialise in disapearing from view, as you will on 21st
    June. .
    13. You will never enter Tara again, Connors.
    14. Con, you are now staring DEATH in the face on the Hill of Tara. I
    do not look forward to - but you, boy, are going to cease to exist, no
    amount of Gardai are going to saVe you now, and tell the Cops that I
    haVE SAID THIS AND i WILL STAND OVER IT TOO
    15. Am I going to murder you, YES
    16. Think I don't mean it Think I can't do it ? if it was only for
    myself, No. For the Druids of the world, yes.
    17. Otherwise my adopted son is going to take you away strip you
    naked, lash you to a tree, he knows a Baluba who loves sex, when the
    Baluba is thrilled enough, he willl leave, your underpants will be
    left miles away,
    18. You have until June 21st to live, Connors !
    19. I will at least ensure that you will never be able to type again .
    20. I am going to empty an AK 47 straight into your hopeless little
    poor old body, Connors, slap on a mag and keep firing You are GONE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

What the ****? -+