Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weapons Amnesty Web Site

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

seriously are they just going to destroy every weapon they get.

I would love to browse through the selection and pick out a nice scope or a decent rifle.

It'd be like an oxfam store but for guns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

From the FAQ-
    What happens to guns that are surrendered to the Gardaí?
    The weapon will be forensically tested and where it has been used in a crime the forensic evidence and weapon will be admissible in the prosecution of that crime. The vast majority will be destroyed. Some unusual or rare examples may get passed to museums.
    There's good P.R. mileage in being seen 'rendering eeeevil weapons harmless', so I'd expect to see photo opportunities of various worthies (senior Gardai, the Minister/sundry politicians, etc.) wearing serious but satisfied expressions as they watch assorted ironmongery going into the smelter/crusher.

The bit about "unusual or rare examples may get passed to museums" gives me some hope that someone who knows what they're doing will be looking through the intake, but I'd strongly suspect that the possibility of anything taken in being made available to the public would be close to zero.
    It just wouldn't be politically sustainable for stuff brought in 'in the interests of public safety' to be released back into general circulation again.

Perhaps I'll be pleasantly surprised, but I'm not holding my breath.

• Registered Users Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

Over the last two weeks the Local papers here in Galway have report very little uptake on the weapons amnesty with only a few airguns being handed it.

Any other regional papers pushing this every week?
    Any reports on the amount of weapons being handed in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

Nothing being surrenderd in Limerick sofar.
    I wonder why I am not abit surprised.:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Nothing being surrenderd in Limerick sofar.
    I wonder why I am not abit surprised.:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

:D:D:D:o:p

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hezz700

Would any of you, hand in an original and working Colt Army 1873 that was in the attic since the twentys knowing that it would most probably be detroyed:eek: ???

Hezz.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭BOBTHESHOOTER

Hezz700 wrote:
    Would any of you, hand in an original and working Colt Army 1873 that was in the attic since the twentys knowing that it would most probably be detroyed:eek: ???

Hezz.

If it is an original you would be crazy to hand it in, there is nothing to stop you taking it to a firearsm dealer and he can legally put it on his books, sell it for you if you want, I am sure that you would be able to sell it, PM me and I will let you know how to proceed.

this was i hypothetical Quetion no one has the afor mentioned gun it was just an example

careful now

• Registered Users Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

Why not auction off a few rifle scopes...and even some of the seized weapons come in, in sweet pelican cases... I mean they are not illegal... and they auction off recovered bicycles.

but this country the way it is, it all comes down to who you know....and you just have to know the right garda :mad:

.......that'd be the one who has a massive fireworks display out the back every halloween !!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭benhurt1

What about the extending baton I robbed from a movie set as a souvenir?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Extending batons are illegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

[FONT=Arial, Verdana, Arial][/FONT]Independent Today
    [FONT=Arial, Verdana, Arial] 30 weapons handed in so far under amnesty[/FONT] [FONT=Verdana, Arial] [/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana, Arial] TIRTY illegally held weapons have been handed in to gardai during the first 10 days of the two-month Government amnesty, writes Tom Brady.
    The haul includes a live grenade and a number of firearms, which could be lethal in the possession of crime gangs.
    The Department of Justice said last night that it was pleased with the success rate so far and that it was never anticipated that a huge supply of illegal weapons would become available from criminal sources.
    The amnesty was launched by Justice Minister Michael McDowell at the start of the month and will continue until the end of October.
    On the following day the minister will introduce minimum mandatory custodial sentences of between five and 10 years for a range of serious firearms offences.
    The amnesty is aimed at giving those in possession of offensive weapons an opportunity to surrender them before the tough sentences are implemented by the courts.
    The firearms handed in to date include six shotguns, four rifles, three revolvers, two starter pistols, air pistols, air rifles and pellet guns. The amnesty campaign is being strongly backed by Kathleen and Peter Cleary, whose daughter, Donna (22), the mother of a two-year-old boy, was murdered when shots were fired indiscriminately into a house in the north Dublin suburb of Coolock last March.
    [/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial]
    [/FONT]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

benhurt1 wrote:
    What about the extending baton I robbed from a movie set as a souvenir?

There's no good reason for you to carry this, so it's illegal.

Have a look at the Firearms & Offensive Weapons Act 1990 & decide for yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LB6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭Dvs

30 weapons handed in under Govt’s firearms amnesty
    15/09/2006 - 11:42:26

Thirty weapons ranging from shotguns to starting pistols have been handed in during the first 10 days of a firearms amnesty announced by the Department of Justice earlier this month.

The surrendered weapons include six shotguns, four rifles, three revolvers, two starting pistols, two air pistols, two air rifles, two pellet guns and a stun gun.

A WWI grenade and four knives have also been handed in at garda stations around the country.

The amnesty is due to continue until the end of this month.

It offers people immunity from prosecution for illegally held guns, but not for any offences that may have been committed with those guns.

Minister for Justice Michael McDowell has already said he does not expect the initiative to have any effect on crime as criminals are unlikely to surrender their weapons.

No **** Sherlock!

Dvs.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

two pellet guns
    I wonder if they mean airsoft guns - in which case, someone just handed in two non-firearms under the firearms amnesty...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

From the RTE News site-
    [FONT=Arial, Verdana, Helvetica]30 weapons handed over in amnesty[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Verdana, Helvetica]

15 September 2006 09:38
    [/FONT][FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]

Thirty weapons have been handed over to the gardaí in the first ten days of the guns and knives amnesty.
    [/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The weapons include shotguns, rifles, revolvers and a variety of pistols.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Ballistics specialists are also examining a crossbow, a musket, a theatre pistol and a stun gun.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The amnesty will run until the end of October and then mandatory minimum sentences for a range of firearms offences will be introduced.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Four knives have also been handed in along with a grenade, which was live. [/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The gardaí in Cork had gone to collect a gun from a man who also showed them the explosive. [/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The man did not know what it was and gardaí had to call in the army bomb disposal unit.[/FONT]
    ...and an audio link from Morning Ireland-
    http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/2173253.smil
    Go to 5:10 into the segment.

How do you examine a crossbow and stun gun for forensics?????
    BTW the telescoping baton...intresting as that is now becoming part of std equipment with the Gardai.Oh well,a good old piece of lead pipe INMHO is and always be a better head modifier.:rolleyes:

he dident know it was a grenade?
    odd thing to have lying around the house

runn down the hloe when you see me bunny will you i'll fix that

BTW the telescoping baton...intresting as that is now becoming part of std equipment with the Gardai.

What's interesting about that? The Gardaí are entitled to carry them as the state's police force.
    Oh well,a good old piece of lead pipe INMHO is and always be a better head modifier.:rolleyes:

It may well be, but you'd want to have a good reason for carrying it in public or else you may be arrested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Babble

We just finished an amnesty, the media loved it! I saw one report that started with the line "You wont believe what they found" it was a rocket launcher tube from the korean war which for all intents and purposes is just a pipe, no ammunition etc just a tube, but it looks great on the news. Rocket launcher taken off the streets.:)

Minister for Justice Michael McDowell has already said he does not expect the initiative to have any effect on crime as criminals are unlikely to surrender their weapons.
    So who's initiative is this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Babble

cushtac wrote:
    It may well be, but you'd want to have a good reason for carrying it in public or else you may be arrested.

The laws are the same over here, I carry a Spyderco Delica purely for opening packages and CD/DVD boxes. Some people carry pepper spary for dog defence.

[
    QUOTE=cushtac]What's interesting about that? The Gardaí are entitled to carry them as the state's police force.

Errr as a matter of a fact NO!As it is not standard issued equipment YET!!!!They are entitled to a truncheon as PDW nothing else.

It may well be, but you'd want to have a good reason for carrying it in public or else you may be arrested.[/QUOTE]

I am a plumber.:rolleyes: I could walk thru town with a belt load of offensive weapons.Ditto for any tradesman.How many offensive weapons can a carpenter or any builder hang on a tool belt and walk past Gardai and would anyone be any wiser?????People look for the oddity in a pattern,not the commonness in the pattern

Errr as a matter of a fact NO!As it is not standard issued equipment YET!!!!They are entitled to a truncheon as PDW nothing else.

They're on issue to the public order unit and to uniformed Gardaí in certain stations on a trial basis. It's at the Commissioner's discretion to issue these batons to whoever he likes, so if issued they are entitled to carry them.
    I am a plumber.:rolleyes: I could walk thru town with a belt load of offensive weapons.Ditto for any tradesman.How many offensive weapons can a carpenter or any builder hang on a tool belt and walk past Gardaí and would anyone be any wiser?????People look for the oddity in a pattern,not the commonness in the pattern

The carpenter and builder are fine if they're on the job, they might have a problem justifying carrying a hammer on their belt while down the pub. They'd definitely have a problem carrying a hammer while acting the bollox.

cushtac wrote:
    They're on issue to the public order unit and to uniformed Gardaí in certain stations on a trial basis. It's at the Commissioner's discretion to issue these batons to whoever he likes, so if issued they are entitled to carry them.

Didnt say they were not entitled to carry them,just perculiar that the things are now illegal and the cops are allowed to carry them.Apprently they are not liked either.As the training is too complex for the average Garda.
    The carpenter and builder are fine if they're on the job, they might have a problem justifying carrying a hammer on their belt while down the pub. They'd definitely have a problem carrying a hammer while acting the bollox.

Guess you haven't been down to many pubs around lunch time or after 5;30 near a building site these days??:) Plenty of lads sitting around with hammers,stanley knives,etc etc on their belts,in tool boxes or whatever.And not causing anyone any annoyance despite all the deadly weapons in their possesion.

Context's different CG. If they're coming from work, that's one thing. If they wander around on their day off carrying them, that'd be treated differently. As one cop put it, "If I see a lad coming up from the river with a fishing rod, gaff and tacklebox, then that knife on his belt is a tool for fishing. If I see him wearing it at the disco that night, it's an offensive weapon".

Didn't say they were not entitled to carry them,just perculiar that the things are now illegal and the cops are allowed to carry them.

Firstly, the things are not 'now' illegal - the Act has been in force for fifteen years. Secondly, I see nothing perculiar in a police force arming itself (as it is legally entitled to do) with the necessary weapons in order to keep the peace.
    Apprently they are not liked either.As the training is too complex for the average Garda.

Don't know where you're getting that from. Procurement of a new baton is going ahead & training of more instuctors is underway. The average Garda is well capable of using it, depsite your obvious low opinion of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

cushtac wrote:
    Don't know where you're getting that from. Procurement of a new baton is going ahead & training of more instuctors is underway. The average Garda is well capable of using it, depsite your obvious low opinion of them.

well anyone of us could swing a pipe but do they get on going training for all their gear. Or once of instruction cos that doesn't mean squat in fairness

Like if you become a garda how often are refresher courses on self defense etc

Can be daily, depending on what station you're assigned to...