Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trek 7500FX as daily commuter

• Registered Users Posts: 6,501 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Actually, you linked to two different bikes. The CycleSuperStore one has front suspension (Trek 7500 FXS) and the UK one doesn't (Trek 7500 FX [no 'S']).
    The Trek 7500 FX is e800 in CycleSuperStore. If you join the Loyalty Club (it's free, no committment), the price comes down to e759. So, minimal price difference.

Others will recommend that you get the FX version, the one without suspension as suspenson only adds weight.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,383 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

daymobrew wrote:
    Actually, you linked to two different bikes. The CycleSuperStore one has front suspension (Trek 7500 FXS) and the UK one doesn't (Trek 7500 FX [no 'S']).
    The Trek 7500 FX is e800 in CycleSuperStore. If you join the Loyalty Club (it's free, no committment), the price comes down to e759. So, minimal price difference.

Others will recommend that you get the FX version, the one without suspension as suspenson only adds weight.

Thanks for that daymobrew, exactly why I love boards, is the great knowledgeable helpful people on here :)

Whats your opinion on the bike, what would you go for under 800 euro, for a daily 10 mile each way commute (Dublin roads)?

Have been reading more reviews on the web than I could shake a stick at but given the sheer amount of different varieties out there , its hard to get an overall opinion on what good and available here in Ireland (and the quality of our roads) for the kind of usage I'm going to have it for.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Captain Trips

It depends on the type of road you are going to be travelling on. You will need to be sensible in tyre choices and so on.

Suspension is handy when commuting in Dublin as some cycle paths are awful and road can be rough - it's nicer to have a little less harsh feedback when all you are doin is getting to work or college (IMHO).

All bikes at this price range will be pretty similar and components won't change much. I use a Crossroads Sport and a LaPierre Cherokee for commuting. Both are fine, the LaPierre is cheaper and I prefer it for some reason. Dublin roads are aweful in some places and great in others, you will find that on the bike you could detour through an estate with great surfacing, or by a park you never see when in the car, so the tyres will be important. Some people say get Armadillo/puncture proof ones, TBH - just make sure your wheels are pumped properly every weekend and you will be fine.

Take a few bikes for a spin in Cyclesuperstore or something. The important thing in commuting is basically being comfortable, not getting sweaty as hell (hence proper attire helps) and gears that are suited to taking off from lights easily, going up on the footpath tracks and so on. You really need to take a few for a spin and I think it's worth buying from a local dealer like Cycleways or Cyclesuperstore as you have a place to get advice and servicing and they know you and the bike; customer service is superb in both of those places.

If you are starting commuting there's a few things to think about (not just the bike!) ( I learned from experience!) when looking at your budget.

1. Lights: you need a solid red rear light and white front light by law. Good ones are around 30-40 quid and are worth it with autumn weather.

2. Locks: Don't skimp on locks. Get two - a chain type and a D-lock. The combination of both will put off thieves. Two good locks can run to at least €100. Have a look at getting the Kryptonite NY ones, but basically don't go cheap!

3. Rack: it's not essential and you could use a backpack but a rear rack and panniers are another €100 or so.

4. Misc: allen key set, spare tubes, pump, tyre levers: another €20-30

5. Mudguards: another €30 for proper ones, not the plastic crap ones which are basically ...crap

6. Clothes: worth spending a bit on proper pants/shorts, will make 30km/day a lot more comfortable. You could easily spend €100+ to get a basic pair of shorts and some sort of layering for winter.

OK, you might know all this but I thought I'd throw it in anyway - I startewd commuting a year ago aroudn the same distance. Needed to spend an extra €300 or so just to get it all kitted out properly.

Thanks Captain Trips, great to hear the voice of experience.

I used to cycle into work many years ago in my pre car and motorbike days but was always broke and never was able any decent gear.

The motorbike is gone now and have the car, but really miss just riding on two wheels, apart from the fitness element its just a much nicer way to travel than cocooned in a car imho.

I can afford a semi decent bike these days and the proper gear. From driving a motorbike and car, fully appreciate the value of decent front and rear lights in terms of being visable on the road, thats one area I won't skimp on like I did in the past (batteries nearly dead..barely any glow..)

I used to wair wellies when cycling in the rain, not joking!!, what footwair would you recommend for wet weather cycling?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Captain Trips

Longfield wrote:
    I used to wair wellies when cycling in the rain, not joking!!, what footwair would you recommend for wet weather cycling?

I just use some trainers and have the covers that clip on and off like overshoes for commuting. There are some fancy dedicated ones, although I only have one real pair of the clip shoes (like the ski shoes) but that is for road biking.

I used to have a tracksuit as well to wear, but getting proper shorts makes a massive difference and are well worth it even though it's weird the first time.

I know what you mean about being cocooned in a car - if I take the car to work, I feel like a moron just sitting in traffic as I see a cyclist fly by!

Longfield wrote:
    I used to wear CycleSpats (gaiters). They were cheap, effective but ugly as hell. Now I have Altura overshoes. Keep my feet warm and dry. They open at the back with a large velcro patch holding them closed.
    Earlier this year I bought a bright yellow Altura windproof jacket (though only available in grey now). The windproofing really takes the sting out of the cold. Similar with the windproof gloves.

Thanks Captain Trips and daymobrew.

Signed up for the Loyalty Club (thanks for the tip), hope the keyring arrives by Friday, have book marked Saturday as kit out day and have a long list of stuff to buy.

daymobrew, do you still have the Buff thingy for winter wair, I was reading a post from 2004 ( http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=193742 ) where you mentioned you had one of them. Sounds like a useful product to add to my wish list, unless in the last couple of years you've seen something better ?

Also the Altura overshoes you mention, can they be worn over say normal runners? - might this result in soggy feet in proper winter type rain?
    I tried shopping bags over my shoes in the past before moving on to wellies for wet weather cycling, but that was a cost solution rather than an ideal one.

Thanks again for all the great advice :)

Longfield wrote:
    Signed up for the Loyalty Club (thanks for the tip), hope the keyring arrives by Friday
    They can look up your details at the register if it doesn't arrive.
    Longfield wrote:
    daymobrew, do you still have the Buff thingy for winter wear
    Yes, I definitely still use it. I haven't gone looking for anything better. It is small, versatile and washable. At e17 I felt that it was a bit expensive, but I've gotten loads of use out of it. I add a really thin balaclava for the really cold days.
    There are similar items on Chain Reaction Cycles. Balaclava for e6 or Oxford Comfy Triple pack (similar to the Buff) for e11.67.
    Longfield wrote:
    Also the Altura overshoes you mention, can they be worn over say normal runners? - might this result in soggy feet in proper winter type rain?
    I don't see any problems wearing them over runners. I have clipless shoes but they are the same size as runners. There are two large holes in the base - one for pedal area and one for your heel. You can always try them on at the shop.
    Longfield wrote:
    Thanks again for all the great advice :)
    Happy to help.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,989 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I was making the choice between that bike (and a few others) and a Specialized Sirrus a few years ago, went for the Sirrus Elite which I am delighted with. The Sirrus is more towards a road bike while the Trek is more towards a mountain bike (as regards components, gearing, tyre width, etc.) The Sirrus would be a bit faster and it was easier to convert to drop handlebars recently.

But when I was making that decision the Trek 7500 was well over €1,000 so price certainly seems to have dropped a fair bit. Certainly it should be a grand bike for commuting; I would avoid the suspension if I were you, it really isn't necessary even on Dublin's roads. You are getting 700x35 tyres as standard which should provide quite a comfy ride. Unless you are x23 or below and using drops I don't think you are going to have a problem.

Agree with most of Captain Trips' suggestions but a few modifiers: you can get a rack for around €25-30 and you don't need panniers, you can just strap your backpack or whatever onto it. I do have panniers myself but generally only use them for touring. So that brings the cost down and for me a rack really would be essential; I can't stand stuff on my back, very uncomfortable.

You do need mudgards. On the plastic mudguard front, it depends on the type. I have clip-on plastic mudguards on both my bikes (cost €10-15) and they are fine, but they are the ones that are _very_ close to the wheel. I always used fixed ones before my current bikes and there honestly isn't a difference. What you need to avoid are the MTB type that clip onto the seatpost several inches above the wheel.

With regard to locks, agreed if you are going to be leaving the bike out. But if you are commuting from home and have a secure place to leave the bike at work (I am fortunate in this regard) then you don't need to go nuts on the locks. If you have household contents insurance I would look at whether you can put the bike on that; in many cases it is free and will cover the bike against theft throughout Ireland. I have claimed before and got the full bike cost back minus a small (£30) excess.

With regard to clothing, cycle shorts with padding do make longer distances more comfortable, but other than that you can probably just use your own clothes, at least starting off. You can also consider padded undershorts that you just wear under whatever. And while they _do_ make things more comfortable they are not in any case essential for a 10 mile cycle. I would consider suggesting padded cycling gloves but you don't really need them with flat handlebars.

On the Specialized Armadillo tyre front, well I had them for three years from new on the Sirrus and didn't get a single puncture. First puncture on them was this year from cycling over what I think was a bit of pottery (smashed as I rode over it) and from looking at them in any case they obviously needed replacement. If you search on the internet, you will find a lot more stories of people swearing by the Armadillos, probably more than any other kevlar tyre.

Oh, one thing that hasn't been mentioned: you _must_ get bar ends. €10-20 and you get a much better range of hand positions which is important for longer rides. Also they are very good for climbing and starting off from lights.

Some nice pointers there blorg and daymobrew, thanks for taking the time to post all that useful info.

blorg,

I hadn't considered the Specialized bike range until I read your post. Thy do get good reviews but seem to be pretty pricy compaired to the equivalent trek range.

I'm budgeting about €1000 for bike and the rest ..ie helmet, lights , locks etc.
    For the moment I think i'll just use a normal tracksuit for clothing until I get a feel for what I need - at this time of year the cold hasn't really set in so have a couple of months grace (and pay cheques!) before starting to worry about proper winter biking gear.

What are bar ends ? , are these right angled grips at the end of the handle bars and are the brand specific, i.e specialize bar ends for specialise bikes ?

Regarding tyres (jeez have so many noob questions!), have read that the Armadillos are the way to go alright, and from many years cycling to and from school/uni/work in the past punctures are the biggest PITA to any cyclist and definately would want the best prevention means possible.
    If I bought a Trek bike for example in http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/ do you think they would fit these at no extra cost instead of the standard "Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase" ones ..or do these have as good puncture resistance do you think?

Huge thanks lads for the brilliant and patient advise here !

Longfield wrote:
    What are bar ends ? , are these right angled grips at the end of the handle bars and are the brand specific, i.e specialize bar ends for specialise bikes ?
    Yes, the right angled grips. They are not brand specific. There is quite a selection out there.
    Longfield wrote:
    If I bought a Trek bike for example in http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/ do you think they would fit these at no extra cost instead of the standard "Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase" ones ..or do these have as good puncture resistance do you think?
    Probably not as CSS don't stock that brand of tyre. The might put Continental Sport Contact 26x1.3 tyres on them (narrower than Armadillo 26x1.5). I have them (and so do one or two others here) and we like them a lot. Excellent puncture protection (that is the big feature in the advertising). And they are fast. Like blorg, the only punctures I got in those tyres were from things that would go through all tyres (e.g. a nail that went in one side and out the other!).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

Just in relation to your query about weather gear , the monkey hat/lined swimming hat thingy for under your helmet has been a life saver for me, also definately cycle shorts do make a big difference also.