Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Everton FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Voltwad wrote:
    We've denied a bid of 2million for Etherington, any comments?

well thats a relief , he a good Championship player no more , about as usefull to us as Simon Davies has been :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Perhaps a little more pacy. But yeah he's not good enough if we want to push on. My tips are:
    We're short on strikers now, send Vaughan out on loan and bring in someone from the championship, maybe that youngfella from Crewe.
    Sell davies and add that to the money we got for Kilbane, bring in Barton or Reo-Coker.

Voltwad wrote:
    Perhaps a little more pacy. But yeah he's not good enough if we want to push on. My tips are:
    We're short on strikers now, send Vaughan out on loan and bring in someone from the championship, maybe that youngfella from Crewe.
    Sell davies and add that to the money we got for Kilbane, bring in Barton or Reo-Coker.

Vaughan reminds me of Danny Cadarmatti , potential but just not good eneogh , and cursed with the new Rooney label .
    But i think this guy Victor Anichebe looks the real deal , and could prove a serious replacement for Beattie , once we off load him , unfortunatly at a loss, hes been a complete waste of space !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

thebaz wrote:
    Vaughan reminds me of Danny Cadarmatti , potential but just not good eneogh , and cursed with the new Rooney label .
    I don't that that's fair to be honest... He has played a handful of games in the first team and then got that bad injury from which he has been sidelined for ages. Any game I saw him in he looked pretty good.
    thebaz wrote:
    But i think this guy Victor Anichebe looks the real deal , and could prove a serious replacement for Beattie , once we off load him , unfortunatly at a loss, hes been a complete waste of space !
    Yeah, Anichebe is a really good player. He's strong, has pace and knows where the goal is. He has proven a handful for every defence that he has played against, most noteably Chelsea, Newcastle (even though they dont have a defence ;) ) and against Wigan he was very influencial...

I think that Beattie and Anichebe together up-front might be an interesting experiment to play around with now that Johnson may be out for a few weeks with the knock that he picked up. They may be similar enough players (JB & VA), but they would batter a defence into submission. I'd like to see this in the upcoming derby game in a few weeks, though I think Moyes will go for the 5 man midfield with Anichebe up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Also hearing rumours he wants to sign David Healy !!!:eek:

Not too sure about him either. But Moyes had him at Preston so I suppose he knows what he is getting.

we've got rid of Davies to Fulham, hopefully Barton and Fernandes come as replacements !

Apparently it should be easier now to travel to Everton games thanks to some travel link up with EFC
    http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/-everton-in-ireland-launched.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

thebaz wrote:
    Apparently it should be easier now to travel to Everton games thanks to some travel link up with EFC
    http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/-everton-in-ireland-launched.html

Lets be honest, they couldn't be any more accessible than they are already. I've been going to Liverpool regularly since the mid 1990s and I've never had even the smallest bit of difficulty in getting over there, find accommodation or getting tickets for any matches.

Celtic Horizon Tours have been doing packages to see Everton for a couple of years now and if charging a much higher price than those than can be got independently with as much ease is the way to "make Everton games more accessible to our Irish supporters" then I wouldn't like to see how Buster would make them less accessible. Far better to provide fans with a list of transport, accommodation and ticket details they can book themselves rather than lining the pockets of a travel agency.

Are there any Evertonians who've found any difficulties with accessibility to Everton games in the past?

Bluetonic wrote:
    Are there any Evertonians who've found any difficulties with accessibility to Everton games in the past?

I think you should add that if you know what game you are going over for and also not trying to get a flight a week or 2 before the game as that is just silly.
    But have to agree that I would never use the travel agent for this as I find it just a easy and cheaper to do it myself. But as you know there are many people out there who still don't use the net or would know where to start and prefer to have it all done for them.

Yeah its easy enough to get over and back...

If you join the supporters club (£20 for the season), you can get a few weeks advance of general sale, so the flights are reasonable. You are pretty much guaranteed a ticket for every home game anyway, so booking flights a few months in advance isn't much of a gamble.

Plenty of places to stay as well.....

http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/faddy-injury-blow.html
    James McFadden has broken his fifth metatarsal and faces a lengthy spell on sidelines.

It is too early for a full diagnosis or an estimation of how long the Scottish international will be out.

But McFadden left Bellefield on crutches on Wednesday afternoon.

He picked up the injury in a freak accident during a game of head tennis at the training ground.

The Toffees now have both McFadden and Andy Johnson sidelined through injury.

More details will appear on evertonfc.com when they are available

http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/davies-departs-for-fulham.html
    Simon Davies has completed his transfer to Fulham.

The 27-year old midfielder has joined Chris Coleman's side for an undisclosed fee.

The Wales international has put pen to paper on a three-and-a-half year deal for the Craven Cottage outfit, bringing an end to his 18 month association with the Blues.

Davies was signed from Tottenham in the summer of 2005 for £3.5m. He made 53 appearances for the club during his time at Goodison, netting one goal - a crucial winner at Birmingham in the autumn of 2005.

His move to Fulham means a return to London for the player who established himself as a top flight regular with Spurs.

He moved to Tottenham from Peterborough at the age of 20. George Graham signed him for £700,000 on New Year's Eve 1999 in a deal which also saw Matthew Etherington making the switch to White Hart Lane.

Upon joining the Cottagers, Davies said: "I’m really happy to have joined Fulham as Chris is a manager I know and admire very much, and I think the style of play that he has developed here will suit my game."

And Coleman added: "He is a very good passer of the ball with a great engine. He’s at a good age, and I think his best years are still to come, and I am confident that he will do well for us."

Oh to be in the G-14 and not to have to worry about silly little rules and regulations.
    Everton cry foul in battle to sign Fernandes

Dominic Fifield
    Wednesday January 31, 2007
    The Guardian

Everton have effectively accused the Premier League of double standards after it continued to block the transfer of Manuel Fernandes from Benfica on the grounds that the player was to be joint-owned.

Fernandes' registration is the property of the Portuguese club and an investment fund, and the Premier League have denied Everton the opportunity to sign him on the grounds that Premiership players must be owned entirely by a single party. The League's chief executive, Richard Scudamore, emailed a reminder to all 20 clubs on Monday reminding them of the rule and asking for details of any players on their books who may be joint owned.

Article continues
    However, Everton have pointed out that Fernandes spent the first half of this season on loan at Portsmouth featuring in, among other matches, the 2-0 victory over the Merseysiders at Fratton Park last month.

Everton had hoped to sign the 20-year-old on a six-month deal with a view to a permanent transfer, the same arrangement Portsmouth struck with Benfica last summer, and are baffled that an identical deal has now been vetoed.

Indeed, during their talks with the Premier League, Everton have questioned whether Fernandes' participation for Portsmouth in 10 top-flight matches amounted to their opponents fielding an ineligible player, an offence which can prompt a points' deduction. With that in mind, Scudamore's email could have further repercussions if clubs turn out to have fielded players in the first half of the season who were jointly owned.

Everton, who sanctioned the sale of Simon Davies to Fulham on the understanding that Fernandes would sign, are privately optimistic that a compromise can be reached today which would see the Portuguese join on loan before the transfer window closes tonight. Benfica have already confirmed that the midfielder has signed a new contract at the club, which runs to 2011, but are willing to allow him to continue his immediate development in the Premiership.

Andrew Johnson could make a surprise return for Everton in Saturday's 205th derby. The striker injured an ankle against Wigan last Sunday, although initial fears that he had broken the joint proved to be unfounded when he was diagnosed with a sprain needing a month's recovery.

Johnson has made excellent progress and, although David Moyes will be wary about starting him at Anfield, he may be on the bench as Everton seek a first win at Liverpool in eight years. Johnson would also hope to earn inclusion in Steve McClaren's England squad for next week's friendly with Spain at Old Trafford, to be announced on Friday.

Everton's head physiotherapist Mick Rathbone offered only a cautious assessment. "AJ is making good progress," he said, although the club had good news on three other fronts with Rathbone confirming that Nuno Valente, Tony Hibbert and Tim Cahill will all be fit for Anfield

Sounds very dodgy

Northampton Town have signed Everton defender Mark Hughes, who has been the regular captain of the Toffees' reserves, for an undisclosed fee.
    The 20-year-old had made just three appearances for Everton's first team.

I thought he was one for thr future but seems he wanted to move. Strange deal indeed.

4 points from 6 against Liverpool is not too bad.
    Also heard Benitez after the game...made me laugh anyway he starting to turn more amd more into a whinger.

Upto 6th now but with a few tough games coming up so fingers crossed.

Timmy being out is a massive blow though.. Beattie better cop on

I reckon Osman will be thrown into that postion now maybe it will force Moyes into changing his tactics ?

Good display from Everton last night.

Thought Arteta was out of this world last night and Lescott seems to be turning into the bargain of the century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

ciaran76 wrote:
    Lescott seems to be turning into the bargain of the century.

He really is a fantastic player.

Mossy Monk wrote:
    He really is a fantastic player.

Carsley aswell I have to say after reviewing the game again this morning.
    He really does play for the team and his role is almost unnoticed but all for the benefit for the team.

Made all the people out there realise that Gravesen wasn't the player he was hyped up to be too I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

CYRUS,
    what's that about being surprised if Everton finish in the top 10,

beattie should be flogged immediately, vaughan,anichebe,osman are miles better than him.
    fernandez and arteta are world class and its a joke that arteta isnt in the spanish team. you'd swear they are world champions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Another great season for the Toffees. Moyes has really brought the team from the brink to a contender for european places. I was suprised with comments for Charlton's manager after the game. He really thought they were going to Goodison for 3 points and no less. I think that's how they left with none. Didn't show enough respect to a club in form.

bbability wrote:
    Another great season for the Toffees. Moyes has really brought the team from the brink to a contender for european places. I was suprised with comments for Charlton's manager after the game. He really thought they were going to Goodison for 3 points and no less. I think that's how they left with none. Didn't show enough respect to a club in form.

Thats Alan Pardews problem. He talks too much !!!;)

As someone who was at the game I don't know why he didn't start with Matt Holland because as soon as he came on the pitch Everton were on the back foot a little.

Anyway I am happy with the 3 points becasue I thought we had fcuked it up by letting in another late goal !

bbability wrote:
    Another great season for the Toffees.
    You obviously have your expectations set very low.

RIP Alan Ball.

Died this morning, very sad news, way too young.

Bluetonic wrote:
    RIP Alan Ball.

Died this morning, very sad news, way too young.

RIP Alan.

Thoughts and best wishes to your family and friends.

A nice review of the year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSXLPTD2nss

A great season for the blues, we should have finished higher but for stupid refs.

but not bad for a 'small' club........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

at least ya can admit it

good season all round -- europe was our goal and thats achieved - over the summer we must off load Beattie , and keep Fernandes , bring in Nugent and Barton (long term replacement for Carsley , who has been immense , but don't think he'll do it for another year) --
    Our best players this year for me
    Howard,
    Neville,
    Yobbo,
    Stubbs,
    Lescott,
    Arteta,
    Carsley,
    Osman,
    McFadden,
    Johnson,
    Anichebe,

So who will be our summer signings?

I think Jagielka(sp?) , Nugent,Fernandes on loan again and I reckon 1 or 2 players from the Championship again.

Would like to see 1 or 2 more European players brought in for the UEFA games as we clearly lacked this the last time we were there 2 years ago.

Good start to the season. Pity about conceeding the goal but good start anyway.

I heard there was a Wyness out banner in the crowd today. Wonder how that went down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Interesting game tonight, are Evertonians feeling confident ahead the trip to Fortress Lane?

kinaldo wrote:
    Interesting game tonight, are Evertonians feeling confident ahead the trip to Fortress Lane?

Everton have a terrible record there over the last 30 years or so. I think last year was the first time in 25 years that they actually won there.

As an Everton fan I would take a draw now. But if Spurs still have that dodgy/shaky looking defense then I could see Everton scoring 1 or 2.

If Everton play with Stubbs in defence then I could see the pace of Spurs using it to their advantage too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

looks like Manny is ours...terrific addition if so.

and with Mido going to Boro hopefully we can tie up the Yak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

I think you guys will be very good if you manage to get Yakubu, and Fernandez. You already have a strong and creative midfield, and those players will only improve it. Not too familiiar with your defence, but from memory you are pretty solid anyway?

Looking forward to the game tonight. I'm nervous though as we had a crap start against Sunderland on Saturday and were beaten by you in this fixture last season. Still, should be an interesting game and fingers crossed it'll be Spurs & Everton fighting against Arsenal for that 4th spot, with Spurs just about winning out of course :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

SuprSi wrote:
    I think you guys will be very good if you manage to get Yakubu, and Fernandez. You already have a strong and creative midfield, and those players will only improve it. Not too familiiar with your defence, but from memory you are pretty solid anyway?

Looking forward to the game tonight. I'm nervous though as we had a crap start against Sunderland on Saturday and were beaten by you in this fixture last season. Still, should be an interesting game and fingers crossed it'll be Spurs & Everton fighting against Arsenal for that 4th spot, with Spurs just about winning out of course :D

yeah things look hopeful for both clubs...i reckon 1-1 tonight too

Played very well tonight. Happy with that result. Deserved it by far.

Spurs didn't look fit enough which is unusal since they were great last season.

Great win. Couldn't have asked for more from them...

Onwards and upwards!

Hopefully in the next few days we confirm Fernandes and Yakubu..

yeah super win , following Saturday -- anyone know who's top of the league -- should make pleasant reading ;)

Deelighted :D:D

£40 mil well spent Jol haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

brilliant win, so long as the injuries stay away we'll be fine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9zcQREv2tG0

check this out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

brilliant win, so long as the injuries stay away we'll be fine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9zcQREv2tG0

check this out.
    Robbing the Celtic song? :)

eirebhoy wrote:
    Robbing the Celtic song? :)

They've been singing that for decades at this stage....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Didn't know that. I thought it was just a recent thing along with half the teams in England and Ireland singing it.

Anyway, here's the history of "the Everton song" ;) if you're interested.
    Right here it is folks the (almost) complete history of Hail Hail and The Celtic Song, with links for your listening pleasure!

It all starts in 1853 with the Opera Il Trovatore (The Troubadour), written by Verdi. In act II, scene 1, the gypsies sing the famous Anvil Chorus

You can watch a performance of the Anvil Chorus below. Pay attention at 0:58 in:
    Youtube Link - The Anvil Chorus

Fast forward to 1879. W.S Gilbert and Arthur Sullivan write the comic opera The Pirates of Penzance. They heavily rip off Verdi's Anvil chorus for the song "With cat-like tread, upon our prey we steal", which is sung by the pirates at the climax of the show.

You can watch a performance of "With cat-like tread" below:
    Youtube Link - With Cat-Like Tread

Pay attention to the chorus at 0:37, the words are:

Come, friends, who plough the sea,
    Truce to navigation;
    Take another station;
    Let’s vary piracee
    With a little burglaree!
    Come, friends, who plough the sea,
    Truce to navigation;
    Take another station;
    Let’s vary piracee
    With a little burglaree!

Now fast forward to 1917. A military marching song is written by D.A. Estron and Theodore Morse called "Hail Hail the gangs all here", based on "With Cat-like Tread". The song is first recorded by Irving Kaufman, and becomes a number one hit in 1918.
    Click below to listen to "Hail Hail the gangs all here" as sung by Kaufman in 1917.
    Archive.org link - Hail Hail the gangs all here
    Sounds familiar doesn't?

The lyrics to the chorus are:

Hail! Hail! the gang's all here,
    What the deuce do we care,
    Hail! Hail! we're full of cheer,
    What the deuce do we care Bill!

After this, at some point prior to the 1960's the song is sung on the Parkhead Terraces as:

Hail Hail, the Celts are here,
    What the hell do we care,
    Hail Hail, the Celts are here,
    What the hell do we care now...

Then, in 1961, "Mr Glasgow" Glen Daly records a completely unrelated song called "The Celtic Song". The music is credited as "traditional" and the lyrics are credited to "Liam Mallory". However, nobody seems to know who Liam Mallory is, and it has been suggested that it is actually a pseudonym for Glen Daly himself!
    It is also suggested however, that the song was written by a man called Mick McLaughlin, known as "Garngad Mick", who allegedly also wrote "Hampden in the Sun". The story goes that he sold the rights to the the Celtic Song to Glen Daly for a fiver!

Click below to download the famous Glen Daly version of The Celtic Song:
    Megaupload Link - The Celtic Song
    Album Case
    The Celtic Song lyrics

Glen Daly also released a song called "Hail Hail Celtic" which is another completely original song, obviously inspired by the common "Hail Hail the Celts are Here" terrace chant. It bears some resemblance to Irving Kaufman song above.
    Click below to download Glen Daly singing "Hail Hail Celtic".
    MegaUpload Link - Hail Hail Celtic

So today, when the Celtic fans sing "hail hail the celts are here" followed by "its a grand old team...", we are singing two different songs, of which you now know the (almost) complete history!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Kevster

Hey, yeh, I've been a Toffee all my life. This season has started brilliantly... ...what makes it sweeter is that Tottenham are the team I hate most in the league! Plus, how much have we spent: 6 million so far? How much have Tottenham spent... ...30 million? Point made!

The School Of Science Are back.

Nooone will fancy playing us nowadays, and cahill is out bust. when we get him back, and yak/fernandez we should have a right go for the top spots and a cup this season, long over due.

After this, at some point prior to the 1960's the song is sung on the Parkhead Terraces as: