Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dunphy the tv pundit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Which explains how Jamie Redknapp still has a job!

It doesn't really though. There's no reason why you can't get interesting speakers on who are actually talking about football (which they understand to a decent level) who aren't doing it just to get attention or who thinks everybody is nice and only says very very obvious things. I've written letters to complain about Redknapp and his utter crap. He makes no interesting insights whatsoever, ever. That said, sometimes Gray says interesting things, so every once in a while, I'll see something interesting on Sky. I've never seen anything interesting on RTE. All I see is some guy trying to stay in the spotlight, and while he's doing quite well at that, I really have no time for it. I used to think he was right about stuff, but I realised, he doesn't actually think things about football, infact he knows pretty much nothing about football outside of the UK as far as I can tell. I'd wager a large amount of money that the average person on this board watches more foreign football than he does, of course, that won't stop him talking about it.
    He thinks of things that will get people talking about him, and then capitalises on them. That's his reason for the anti-Ronaldo thing, that's his reason why the attacks on Liverpool during the CL run, and it's pretty much the reason for everything he says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

PHB wrote:
    It doesn't really though. There's no reason why you can't get interesting speakers on who are actually talking about football (which they understand to a decent level) who aren't doing it just to get attention or who thinks everybody is nice and only says very very obvious things. I've written letters to complain about Redknapp and his utter crap. He makes no interesting insights whatsoever, ever. That said, sometimes Gray says interesting things, so every once in a while, I'll see something interesting on Sky. I've never seen anything interesting on RTE. All I see is some guy trying to stay in the spotlight, and while he's doing quite well at that, I really have no time for it. I used to think he was right about stuff, but I realised, he doesn't actually think things about football, infact he knows pretty much nothing about football outside of the UK as far as I can tell. I'd wager a large amount of money that the average person on this board watches more foreign football than he does, of course, that won't stop him talking about it.
    He thinks of things that will get people talking about him, and then capitalises on them. That's his reason for the anti-Ronaldo thing, that's his reason why the attacks on Liverpool during the CL run, and it's pretty much the reason for everything he says.

one issue i have with Andy Gray, i think he is just as controversial and outlandish at times as Dunphy. he just expresses it in a different manner and because his rants are aimed primarily at referee's no one gives a damn. I've never garnered anything more insightful from Sky anway than i would from the RTE coverage if you look past Dunphy. Souness, Trevor whatsit (i always forget his name) and sometimes when he's not feeling bitter Brady have some good insights imo. well, as good if not better than what you get from the English channels most of the time.

but tbh i think standards in TV punditry are falling, it's being dumbed down constantly and more time is given to ads every season it seems. they have for the most part stopped treating fans as fans, and now treat them as comsumers, feeding them what they wan't, nothing too challenging or critical so as not to alienate anybody so they'll return for more. if you really want good analysis it's the radio ya turn to imo and if you have time a scour through the broadsheets will yield decent results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

From the BBC sport Quotes page

Eamonn Dunphy: "Look back at the Liverpool of old, the team that Graeme played for...Graeme's won four Champions League titles."
    Graeme Souness: "Actually, three, Eamonn."
    Eamonn: "He's won four English league titles, then!"
    Graeme: "Five, Eamonn."
    Eamonn: "Whatever! It's not bloody Mastermind!!"
    Eamonn Dunphy and Graeme Souness indulge in a bit of banter on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Eamonn Dunphy: "Look back at the Liverpool of old, the team that Graeme played for...Graeme's won four Champions League titles."

that was hilarious actually. sure what would the telly be without this kind of punditry eh? bland, clichéd and homogenous that's what...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

meh who needs punditry when you've got Dunphy-esque acolytes in the form of boards Soccer forum regulars!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

ROFL :D Brilliant, classic.

A few more of my favourite Dunphyisms

'I don't think he's a thousand percent mentally'

"They (Liverpool) should put Garcia where he belongs - in the dustbin."

"We'll all see through Mourinho. We'll find out he's just a Bengal lancer!"

"Fat and a clown. A fat clown for all to see." regarding Harry Kewell

"You need dictatorships and poverty to produce great footballers." Odd that the Iraqi team never made the finals given Saddams sons unique style of football management

"A decision like that, he must be on acid...(pause)...LSD Bill!!!" on a sub decision of Rafas

After a match ran over time a few months back, and the post match had to be rushed to catch up with the scheduling

Bill "Eamon, Im afraid we will have to leave it there, the Desperate Housewives are waiting"
    Eamo (grin on face) "Ill be up in a minute ladies" :D

February/March 2005:
    "If Liverpool win the Champion's League, I'll hand in my resignation."

I agree with what someone said earlier. You watched the match yourself, do you really need someone to tell you how it went? We watch for the arguments and the opinions, but most of all the comedy. He can talk utter bollix about Ronaldo, and I didnt at all agree with his waffle on (imo) Nanis good performance the other night (and Im far from a Man U fan i assure you, thought Roma deserved to at least draw and the Carrick attack in the box was disgraceful). Face it, nothing gives you a better laugh than him comparing Kaka/Messi with the useless Ronaldo in a match that Man U arent even playing in. You will laugh in 8 years when he is still moaning that x y and z captain doesnt "display the outstanding leadership skills on the field as....I dunno......Roy Keane is a good example". He is clearly drunk on screen at irregular intervals. You will love to hear him down Liverpool as ran by a tactically inept coach and with x y and z wrong if they win the treble. And there aint nothing better than him starting his La Liga and Serie A words of wisdom. He waffles, hes often right, often full of bollix, often half cut, but hes entertaining and long may it continue.

Ireland must be the only place where half a pub will stop their talking to get a listen to Eamo. I never bother hanging around for the after banter on an ITV game, but usually will on RTE 2. Someone in a previous thread summed it up perfectly- if the punditry was a film, Eamo is your De Niro or Samuel L, the one the audience ae going to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

If you wont to know what Eamon Dunphy really thinks you have to read his column in the Daily Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭justfortherecor

The rte analysis of the match last night incl. Staunton's interview.

Part1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bMdxULk7QiU

Part2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Je39lfbiAfU

Nothing spectacular from Eamon last night. All the lads just seem depressed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

shane86 wrote: »
    Ireland must be the only place where half a pub will stop their talking to get a listen to Eamo.

Yep. He's a national treasure in a football world of blandness & cliche.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

tdv wrote: »
    If you wont to know what Eamon Dunphy really thinks you have to read his column in the Daily Star.

Is he writing a wine column now? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Okie doke + Giles + Dunphy = <3

:D +1

The RTE coverage is one of the few things I like about RTE, it puts other football pundits to shame. I don't agree with everything that is said, but at least they are opinionated and thrash things out.
    Just spent an entertaining half hour flicking through some of Dunphy's golden moments on Youtube. Here's some of the favourites:

Firstly, THE rant:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Prep4trYNj4

After Liverpool knocked out Barcelona in CL last year:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHTM-abNEyk

"First time I've seen sex between 2 men". Souness looks confused by it all:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cugYQ35vtvQ

"Ronaldo is a Puffball"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nosRxHeiAdA

"Would ya let him drive the train to Cork, Bill?"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2riImtF0tw0

Eamon on what defines greatness:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7mIGM3UeEc

"They think God is English"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUfqp7e7mBI

Great linkage, ty :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Just for the all time classic - "He's the guy that ran away and left his wife for a young one".

I salute you Eamo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

"He turns like a tractor"

Dunphy on Jaap Stam's speed and agility

micmclo wrote: »
    "He turns like a tractor"

Dunphy on Jaap Stam's speed and agility

brilliant, he has some great quotes!

also re:staunton

'Would you let him drive the train to cork?!'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

prob said already but:

"Reality is Kaka"

Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

"We've the greatest Gaelic players in the world"

Typical Dunphy dross. Broken record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

For the Eamon Dunphy & RTE haters you should be thankful you don't live in the USA.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=499TYSKaxKY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psI9w4rE4FY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qDj3-tDHrQ

Oh yes its Ray Hudson!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Who has better Gaelic players?

Oh yeah...Australia :D

He's right though, we do. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Haha Dunphy is great entertainment but I wouldn't be taking a whole lot of what he says too seriously.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

V!alli wrote: »

"Reality is Kaka"

yeah, the quote in which his opinion is that Ronaldo is ****e cos hes not as good as kaka whos about to win the best player in the world, twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Gerry Armstrong, the only pundit / analyst / commentator worth his salt

'Have a look'

Liverpool better win tonight.

The A-Team is out: Dunphy, Giles, Brady.... BANG! BANG!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Good entertainment there tonight. Dunphy reckons they've messed it up already. Anyone see it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

He called the FAI board "clowns" just now. I think he's being generous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭madds

Good entertainment there tonight. Dunphy reckons they've messed it up already. Anyone see it?

"Bill, I've been involved with these clowns I]the FAI[/I since I was 15 years of age. I know them very well."

...or something along those lines. Agree with him to a certain extent in that the FAI are already trying to distance themselves from the selection process.

Anyone notice how quiet Brady was keeping at the beginning of the programme, but eventually Bill dragged him into the discussion. He eventually confessed that he felt the FAI should go for someone with a track record "which probably rules me out of the running".

I love the honesty of the RTE panel.

Did Dunphy get the boot into Liverpool (i.e. Gerrard and Rafa) after full time tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Did Dunphy get the boot into Liverpool (i.e. Gerrard and Rafa) after full time tonight?

He wasn't being too harsh. Just said that he thinks there's a few problems there. Too much tinkering with the team selection, not getting the best out of Gerrard, Rafa being too conservative and not allowing the players to play football in the Liverpool style of old, that sort of thing. He feels they're currently a bit behind Utd,Arsenal and Chelsea.
    madds wrote:
    Anyone notice how quiet Brady was keeping at the beginning of the programme, but eventually Bill dragged him into the discussion. He eventually confessed that he felt the FAI should go for someone with a track record "which probably rules me out of the running".

Yeah Brady was reluctant to say too much just in case, which is fair enough I suppose. Dunphy and Giles both said they'd like Paul Jewell which is interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Even Giles was at it. See his dig at Tony Cascarino.

Dunphy seems to be embracing the internet and youtube recently.

He's set up quite a large website called Dunphy TV with such segments as 'Dunphy's last word on...' and of course, 'Spoofer of the week'

DunphyTV site

Also has a dedicated user channel on youtube now with all the videos from the above site.

DunphyTV youtube

"Hard-hitting and honest football debate, from Dunphy to the fans..."

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

He took a total U-turn on what he said about Cristiano Ronaldo in the paper a couple of days ago.

Headline: "I was wrong about Ronaldo" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    He took a total U-turn on what he said about Cristiano Ronaldo in the paper a couple of days ago.

Headline: "I was wrong about Ronaldo" :D

Well at least he backed down in the end. He had no choice though, the Ronaldo-bashing was gone beyond ridiculous at this stage. Somewhat justified a couple of years ago, certainly not anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

DSB wrote: »
    Haha Dunphy is great entertainment but I wouldn't be taking a whole lot of what he says too seriously.

Bingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,426 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Watching him doing some punditry on RTE folllowing their coverage of the Ireland-Brazil game.

Did something happen to him? His personality seems to have changed completely.

He was finding positives with loads of things, saying Liam Brady is some sort of footballing god and, most worryingly of all..... John O'Shea is seemingly a top player that someoene like Trapatoni would be delighted to work with.

Scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

You have to love it though!!! He has mellowed for sure, but I could listen to RTE covergae for days.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

He must have been high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Murtinho

Tauren wrote: »
    Watching him doing some punditry on RTE folllowing their coverage of the Ireland-Brazil game.
    Did something happen to him? His personality seems to have changed completely.
    He was finding positives with loads of things, saying Liam Brady is some sort of footballing god and, most worryingly of all..... John O'Shea is seemingly a top player that someoene like Trapatoni would be delighted to work with.
    Scary.

He's just setting himself up until he has a manager to slag, if his Trappatoni/ O'Brady dream team comes in and doesnt do the business he'll be lost.
    He's also set himself firmly in the anti Venables camp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

I think he had, i dunno, maybe 6 in him pre match. Certainly not utterly drunk, but the face looked a bit....I dunno, might get a "not tonight lads" when he heads down to Lillies/Reynards ;) Was it just me or did he mention that El Tel had coached the "Austrians"? :D

I was still nervous about Trapo- his CV over the last 8 years has been decent but shaky, and the Italian lad in work thinks he is an old man playng old football and past his prime, he didnt rate his leadership of the national side at all.

But Trapos youtube rant mixed with Eamos interpretation of his l33t skillz0rs has turned me around- I pray to God, Jesus, Allah, Jah, Buddha and Mohammed that he gets picked. I can live with being managerless until the end of the Austrian season if we bag him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

To me it just shows how he views Man Utd vs Ireland. O'Shea probably wouldn't be good enough for Man Utd in his opinion but he's one of Ireland's best players. Look at PHB and you'll see what I mean. ;)

Shane I loved the last line of that comment, my opinions exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

shane86 wrote: »
    Was it just me or did he mention that El Tel had coached the "Austrians"? :D.

Yeah I caught that. :D Also did he say the name 'Trapateeny' at one point or was I hearing things? :)

Yes he certainly did lol...part of the brilliance though, part of the brilliance.

They can really talk sense though, for example the part about ''Trappateeny'' being 'negative'.....The bottom line is you must score goals to win a football match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

There's no doubt Giles would be loving Venables if it wasn't for Dunphy. He just agrees with him no matter what. I'm starting to think it's the easiest way for him to make a buck.

You think Giles agrees with Dunphy just for the sake of it, really? I think he tries to reason with him, but he has his own spin on things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Dunphy,giles,brady the lot of em are a load of b*ll****.They all just say stuff to get a reaction from idiots who watch the coverage.I mean ffs.They have called T.henry a nothing player,C.ronaldo a puffball,benitez a lucky manager,even when D.Drogba came into the league he was a big fat waste of space.They are a collective of bitter old twits:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Dubit10 wrote: »
    Dunphy,giles,brady the lot of em are a load of b*ll****.They all just say stuff to get a reaction from idiots who watch the coverage.I mean ffs.They have called T.henry a nothing player,C.ronaldo a puffball,benitez a lucky manager,even when D.Drogba came into the league he was a big fat waste of space.They are a collective of bitter old twits:rolleyes:

but this is exactly why rte have them, to create a story so that the likes of us watch it time and time again and then rant about it on ere. its great tv, whatever about good analysis. dunphy sells papers and get viewers. the premiership with the likes of ray houghton, kenny "paintdrying" cunningham and ronnie "pass and move" whelan, is terrible. it should always be dunphy and giles for entertainment and then brady to just pity, along with bill.

nah i like my journalism to be fair and accurate. which is nigh on impossible anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Agreed.They are good entertainment but lets face it they know nothing about modern day football:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Ah but in fairness to Giles and Dunphy, they show great honesty in effort