Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ruth Scott and Other 2FM Presenters

• 15-09-2006 1:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 48

The title says it all. Do you think she has the personality to present one of RTE's prime-time shows?
    Also, what is the general consensus on 2fm's lesser known DJ's - Cormac Battle, Nikki Hayes, Damien Farrelly, Rick O'Shea etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

No way !! Its a crime against the folk who are just trying to make their own way home from work in the evenings. Shes so lazy that from 530-6pm she lets the listeners "take over", ingenious :rolleyes:
    She left 2fm to go to 98fm and 98fm saw the error of their ways by waving bye bye after an embarassinf stint on their breakfast show...and thats saying something cos it was pretty bad before that lol

Dont know yer man Cormac.

Damien Farrelly aint bad, young decent honest presenter.
    Nikki hayes was a good take from Spin, good fun and always outgoing no matter how late she was up the night before !
    Rick O'Shea....only a matter of time before he moves to Q102! Hes done his time now but is slipping into the trap of being too dated now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Ah, her Take Over slot....yet another concept "borrowed" (read stolen) from the Scott Mills show which airs at the same time on radio 1...he's had a slot called Your Call, basically a call in and request stuff from the current playlist or something a bit off the beaten track.
    Not a new concept I grant you, but the two air almost simultaneously. Hardly a cooincidence...

As for the rest of Ms Scott's slot (no innuendo please) it's brutal to be frank...about the only DJ in that whole station that I have any respect for is Larry Gogan and it's more out of a "respect for my elders" thing than anything else

Can we PLEASE have someone normal, either from Dublin or around the country who can form their own opinions about something, have some sort of down to earth humour, doesn't talk with a put on accent, has some decent taste in music and for the love of god, actually knows how to mix tracks (not necessarily just dance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Yourself and sizzler seem to have an obsession with Ruth Scott.

What is wrong with people being allowed to chose what songs they want to hear on the radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭charlie@w.d

i think they might fancy her:) or are they jealous!

Yourself and sizzler seem to have an obsession with Ruth Scott.

What is wrong with people being allowed to chose what songs they want to hear on the radio.
    Nothing. The thread was about 2fm dj's and peoples opinions :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

She definitely has the face for radio alright but other than that she shouldnt be allowed near a microphone, same as pretty much all the presenters on daytime radio in this country, their all the exact same as one and other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 the_porn_baby

Great post Wertz - you hit the nail on the head.
    I think Cormac Battle is the future for 2fm. Very good taste in music and a decent personality.

By the way, Larry Gogan is a legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 HowllinPelle

cormac is very good, i like him, and i won a nintendo ds of nikki so ill be nice, but the rest, same aul s h i t e always...andwhats with the constant playing of dated 80's music during the day, c'mon try harder people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

I think Ruth's OK she's a bit of fun and doesn't take herself too seriously she's a lot better than most of the Smashies and Nicey's circulating at the moment.
    Cormac's great and Kerbdog was a great band but for Jesus' sake who's idea was it to put him in Larry's slot while he was off??? Hearing him do the just a minute quiz just wasn't right!! He's way to cool for that.
    I find Nikki Hayes kind of annoying she's a bit of a ligger always name dropping that gets annoying after a while and for some reason every second song she plays is some crap 90's track what's with that?
    Rick is dead sound and is a t least capable of holding an intelligent conversation while also playing some decent music I think his new slot suits him much better
    Does anyone know why 2FM is so crap on a Sunday? That bloody John Clarke should be strung up he's the most boring person in the universe. Why does 2FM think that just because it's Sunday I all of a sudden want to listen to golden feckin' oldies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Alan Smith

Wertz wrote:
    Ah, her Take Over slot....yet another concept "borrowed" (read stolen) from the Scott Mills show which airs at the same time on radio 1...he's had a slot called Your Call, basically a call in and request stuff from the current playlist or something a bit off the beaten track.
    Not a new concept I grant you, but the two air almost simultaneously. Hardly a cooincidence...

As for the rest of Ms Scott's slot (no innuendo please) it's brutal to be frank...about the only DJ in that whole station that I have any respect for is Larry Gogan and it's more out of a "respect for my elders" thing than anything else

Can we PLEASE have someone normal, either from Dublin or around the country who can form their own opinions about something, have some sort of down to earth humour, doesn't talk with a put on accent, has some decent taste in music and for the love of god, actually knows how to mix tracks (not necessarily just dance)
    Alot of daytime radio is now playlisted ;) and set ups in the studios dont have a mixer as in a one a dj would use in a club they just have a few faders

Where did I mention mixers or club set ups?
    I meant as much blending styles of music, not talking over the lyrics, timing intros with their introductions, timing their jingles, a whole litany of stuff that when done well is very pleasing to the ear and when done badly just sounds horrible and amateurish.
    Take a listen to any of the radio 1 daytime shows to see what I mean....and given the fact that the majority of Irish radio also runs commercial breaks, their use of fading is absolutely horrible...how many times have you heard a badly placed jingle, a track that hasn't been mixed out properly playing into the first advert or the worst one, news break intros running uover the top of whatever else is playing.

The whole fact that it's playlisted is a shame in itself but that's the way of commercial radio...it shouldn't mean that the "DJ" is only some monkey who chirps the track title and between pressing play/pause...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Alan Smith

Wertz wrote:
    Where did I mention mixers or club set ups?
    I meant as much blending styles of music, not talking over the lyrics, timing intros with their introductions, timing their jingles, a whole litany of stuff that when done well is very pleasing to the ear and when done badly just sounds horrible and amateurish.
    Take a listen to any of the radio 1 daytime shows to see what I mean....and given the fact that the majority of Irish radio also runs commercial breaks, their use of fading is absolutely horrible...how many times have you heard a badly placed jingle, a track that hasn't been mixed out properly playing into the first advert or the worst one, news break intros running uover the top of whatever else is playing.

The whole fact that it's playlisted is a shame in itself but that's the way of commercial radio...it shouldn't mean that the "DJ" is only some monkey who chirps the track title and between pressing play/pause...
    Thought you meant as in mixing two tracks together apologies ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Ruth Scott: Terrible, parochial rubbish
    Marty: Don't mind him, harmless enough
    Nicki Hayes: Meh.....Her 'everything is always brilliant' attitude is annoying
    Damian Farrelly: I dunno, he's just too nice or something. Better suited to the slot he's in now.
    Larry: Just Larry, love JAM quiz.
    Michael Cahill: Used to be good years ago....drives me nuts now.
    Rick O'Shea: Hate the way he sits so close to the mic that you hear his salivery noises. A bit too 'cool' for me.
    Evelyn O'Rourke: DIE DIE DIE
    Gerry Ryan: Ego bigger than his waistline. I DONT CARE ABOUT CLONTARF OF MRS. RYAN! Still listen occasionally
    Dave Fanning: Best by a MILE and they got rid of them. That old 6pm show was the only prog I'd turn on at home and turn off the TV for.

Anyone noticed the amount of screw ups with callers/miscues/computer erros lately.........and why are they playing half-songs much more regularly now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

eamon234 wrote:
    Cormac's great and Kerbdog was a great band but for Jesus' sake who's idea was it to put him in Larry's slot while he was off??? Hearing him do the just a minute quiz just wasn't right!! He's way to cool for that.
    nah I wouldn't agree that Cormac Battle is "too cool" for the just a minute quiz.

and the name "Cormac Battle". that's NOT cool......:rolleyes:

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

Ruth Scott should be taken off the radio and banned from even looking at a microphone for the rest of her life , shes absolutely brutal and she can take Michael Cahill with her .
    The best presenter on that station by a mile is Will Leahy they should definitely give him a good midweek slot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Will Leahy is a full time solicitor in Limerick so don't think he'd be intrested in a full time slot. Certainly one of the best they have though.

Anyone like to tell us why the thread title of this was changed?

Poor moderation decision IMO.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

I changed it because the discussion in this thread is more about other 2FM presenters than just about Ruth Scott's abilities. It seemed like a more suitable and accurate title.

If you have any other questions about moderation in this forum please PM either myself or monkeyfudge and keep it off the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

She (Ruth) is the only 2fm presenter that I dislike. And I dislike her with a passion. I, unlike the vast, vast majority here, really like Gerry Ryan(I can see the insults coming my way already). It's the only show that I'll actually make an effort to tune in to every day, while I'll happily listen away to the rest of them in the background at work. Once 4pm hits, though, the ipod comes out. Can't f*cking stand her. Bring back Gareth o Callaghan, I say.
    I presume he's well hated here, too?:D

She (Ruth) is the only 2fm presenter that I dislike. And I dislike her with a passion. I, unlike the vast, vast majority here, really like Gerry Ryan(I can see the insults coming my way already). It's the only show that I'll actually make an effort to tune in to every day, while I'll happily listen away to the rest of them in the background at work. Once 4pm hits, though, the ipod comes out. Can't f*cking stand her. Bring back Gareth o Callaghan, I say.
    I presume he's well hated here, too?:D
    yep, I hate Gareth O'Callaghan. I especially hated when he used to sing along to his theme tune at the start of each show.... na na na la la na na na :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

el diablo wrote:
    yep, I hate Gareth O'Callaghan. I especially hated when he used to sing along to his theme tune at the start of each show.... na na na la la na na na :mad:

Ha....remember that, I used to like that....he'd shout along with it really loudly....made him sound a bit bananas.

zuutroy wrote:
    Ha....remember that, I used to like that....he'd shout along with it really loudly....made him sound a bit bananas.
    Even worse than that he had fake sound bytes to make it sound like he had people in the studio :o

Don't even get me started on his crank calls !!

Ah Gareth O Callagahan....didn't he invent the internet? Or did he just think he did?

In fairness to Ruth, even she's a step up from that eejit...

Wertz wrote:
    Ah Gareth O Callagahan....didn't he invent the internet? Or did he just think he did?

In fairness to Ruth, even she's a step up from that eejit...

yes, he was seriously embarrassing. glad he's gone....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Too much hate at this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Too much hate at this forum.

well said.

Hey instead of criticising the negative opinions, why not try making a case for the defence?
    It's easy to just turn around and cite negative views as being "hate"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I like Jennie Huston. Comes across as a bit of an airhead but at least her upbeatness isn't annoying. Pity her taste in music is so **** tho. I usually end up turning her off for this reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

God, all those posts about Gareth O'Callaghan "Irelands biggest afternoon radio show... by a long shot" and those horrible horrible long long jingles that sounded like they were taped at home in a kitchen off Radio Nova... Jesus Christ!

But, Rick O'Shea is by far the best during the week. Remember his old evening show (before he got moved to Brekkie and moved back, and, er, moved again) when he had these loonies ringing into a recorded line and then broadcasting it? Very funny stuff.

Will Leahy, there's quality.

Gerry Ryan is so good he has his own thread here :D

As for Larry.... was listening to him this week. He sounded YOUNGER!!!! He'll be the one to turn off the lights, believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Larry doesn't age, that's the key. He doesn't talk over the music, he doesn't mention if he loves or hates a song. He doesn't say when he had his last period.

He simply plays the music, has a quiz that everyone understands, and its as pure a radio programme you can hear anywhere.

DMC wrote:
    Larry doesn't age, that's the key. He doesn't talk over the music, he doesn't mention if he loves or hates a song. He doesn't say when he had his last period.

He simply plays the music, has a quiz that everyone understands, and its as pure a radio programme you can hear anywhere.

ah yeah, Larry's cool. and when someone is crap at the Just a Minute Quiz, he'll tell them, "ah, there was a few sticky ones in there today".....I'll miss him when he dies....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭betelgeuse

el diablo wrote:
    Same here but I read his depression book a few years ago (for shame) and in it he talks about why he used to do that, to help lift his mood and get him in form for the show because he'd be in the depths of despair going on air. I kinda forgave him after that.

betelgeuse wrote:
    Same here but I read his depression book a few years ago (for shame) and in it he talks about why he used to do that, to help lift his mood and get him in form for the show because he'd be in the depths of despair going on air. I kinda forgave him after that.
    oh, I didn't know that. where is he now anyway? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭betelgeuse

el diablo wrote:
    where is he now anyway? :confused:
    He's a full-time counsellor and I think he does talks and stuff as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

betelgeuse wrote:

I dunno how true all that might seem, because the way he broadcast his show its sounded vaguely familiar..... to Steve Wright in the Afternoon, and he's been doing the same thing since the 80's on BBC R1 and now R2.... big long jingles, themes, everyone clapping in the background, giving it loads... have a listen to the BBC Radio "Listen again" at www.bbc.co.uk/radio/ for Steve Wright on Radio 2.

I'm not denying that the man was ill with depression, but he sounded like he popped a can of "Steve Wright patented zoo radio and jingles" on 2FM.